Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

YES!!!! They very pwetty :P Suit it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Yay her too. They're tasty wheels on a w202.

You must feel every pebble in that yoke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Seems I'll hold onto these so :) the father got them for his W126, but he's after a set of monoblocks/lorinsers so I'll buy them off him....

Reason he got them was to clear the brakes, he upgraded them to W140 S600 brakes because the standard W126 brakes were beyond useless :eek:

Reason I had them on the car is cos I was stealing the tyres off them :pac:
    Yay her too. They're tasty wheels on a w202.

You must feel every pebble in that yoke!

It isn't too bad, hasn't bottomed out yet :D Although I need to be careful with some speed bumps and when turning as the tyres scrape the arches, I haven't had time to roll them yet :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

dgt wrote: »
    Oh look, page 220....

Experimenting with other 17's I have here. Yay or nay?

They look alright on their own for sure.... but without seeing the alternative I can't call them an improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Dartz wrote: »
    They look alright on their own for sure.... but without seeing the alternative I can't call them an improvement.

I normally run the E class sport wheels, lovely looking wheel to my eyes. Sometimes the algenibs, depends on my mood.

A comparison of both, sport on the left, algenibs on the right
    997079_875787782440671_8157689234139634840_n.jpg?oh=824db101d46823910f5b26e2265e4688&oe=551E347C&__gda__=1423312016_2850a671773452ca67ffb915212ff626

Fair enough.

Beats the pants of both of them, the new ones do.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Jesus! I thought my RCZ was low :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Jesus! I thought my RCZ was low :o

Low is slow in Ireland.
    Take enjoyment from beating pretty much anything away from a bad speedbump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Low is slow in Ireland.
    Take enjoyment from beating pretty much anything away from a bad speedbump

I can assure you, low certainly is not slow in Ireland.

What do speed humps have to do with it? Who's racing in a housing estate?

CianRyan wrote: »

Anyone dying to get home before they piss themselves on the leather..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

CianRyan wrote: »

There's new speed bumps on the main road outta limerick to dublin. Its like watching a nonagenarian with pins and needles in their legs trying to get up off the couch watching anything lowered or VAGsumped trying to clear them.

Never mind the state of any roads twisty and turny enough to be interesting. I like my sump the way it left the factory thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

A fail/refusal on a interior brake light bulb. Can I just arrive in with the problem fixed? Or do I need to call to let them know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

job seeker wrote: »
    A fail/refusal on a interior brake light bulb. Can I just arrive in with the problem fixed? Or do I need to call to let them know.

Should be just a visual - no need to book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Should be just a visual - no need to book

Thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm fairly sure at this point that the rattling on acceleration in the Honda isn't bloody normal.
    This weekend I'm bringing it to a diesel specialist and asking him to take a look and if there are any issues with what the mechanic changed to write them down so I can bring the car back to him.
    EML came on last night again after I thought it had been resolved and the car has become sluggish.
    Getting it up to 140 was a task in itself.
    So here is my opinion on what has happened so bare with me.
    Mechanic says 3 of the 4 injectors have been replaced (I'm going to bet on 2nd hand ones or my bill would have been a lot higher), before the car went in it didn't create any noise on acceleration.
    Now I have a very loud ticking noise or metally noise which increases with the revs.
    I may be wrong but I always thought that if you replace the injectors then they need to be timed properly? And that you need a specialist tool for this.
    So could it be plausible that the mechanic simply swapped the broken injectors (they broke as he was removing them) plugged the 2nd hand ones in and away he went?
    If they weren't timed properly could this lead to them causing performance issues plus clanky noises?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

bear1 wrote: »
    I'm fairly sure at this point that the rattling on acceleration in the Honda isn't bloody normal.
    This weekend I'm bringing it to a diesel specialist and asking him to take a look and if there are any issues with what the mechanic changed to write them down so I can bring the car back to him.
    EML came on last night again after I thought it had been resolved and the car has become sluggish.
    Getting it up to 140 was a task in itself.
    So here is my opinion on what has happened so bare with me.
    Mechanic says 3 of the 4 injectors have been replaced (I'm going to bet on 2nd hand ones or my bill would have been a lot higher), before the car went in it didn't create any noise on acceleration.
    Now I have a very loud ticking noise or metally noise which increases with the revs.
    I may be wrong but I always thought that if you replace the injectors then they need to be timed properly? And that you need a specialist tool for this.
    So could it be plausible that the mechanic simply swapped the broken injectors (they broke as he was removing them) plugged the 2nd hand ones in and away he went?
    If they weren't timed properly could this lead to them causing performance issues plus clanky noises?

Never heard of needing to time common rail injectors. You have to time the fuel pump on older diesels using a bosch type distributor pump, maybe that's what your thinking of :confused:. You have any sort of scanner yourself?

Had a look there and it seems you do have to recode the ecu when you replace the injectors. I can't imagine there being a huge difference between one injector and a replacement though unless they were spurious ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I've often heard a car with fecked injectors ticking awfully, hopefully this can be resolved for you bear.
    Just as i thought you'd had a turn of luck :(

Thanks lads.
    @Interslice - yes you are correct, I was getting mixed up with the fuel pumps :D
    @Ybfocus: I know, can't believe it and this sort of thing always seems to happen on the build up to Christmas.
    The more digging I do the more I'm starting to be convinced it is the injectors causing this.
    I asked on the Honda forums regarding the heat shield and I was told that it shouldn't be that as it is not part of the timing chain replacement process so in other words it shouldn't even be touched.
    What gets me is that why aren't the injectors rattling on idle? Could it be because the engine is under no load and that only the minimum amount of fuel is needed to keep the engine on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Thanks lads.
    @Interslice - yes you are correct, I was getting mixed up with the fuel pumps :D
    @Ybfocus: I know, can't believe it and this sort of thing always seems to happen on the build up to Christmas.
    The more digging I do the more I'm starting to be convinced it is the injectors causing this.
    I asked on the Honda forums regarding the heat shield and I was told that it shouldn't be that as it is not part of the timing chain replacement process so in other words it shouldn't even be touched.
    What gets me is that why aren't the injectors rattling on idle? Could it be because the engine is under no load and that only the minimum amount of fuel is needed to keep the engine on?

Still using a drop to keep it ticking over a idle. Alot of compression still to be done. Does it go away if your going down hill and you lift off the throttle. Injectors should be off then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

So i rang the nct crowd. They said they'll put me on a priority list and will text me with a date and time(I think that's what they said) within the next 4 weeks.

Interslice wrote: »
    Still using a drop to keep it ticking over a idle. Alot of compression still to be done. Does it go away if your going down hill and you lift off the throttle. Injectors should be off then.

I haven't tried the downhill method. Just seems too coincidental that I've got a loss of power and engine speed related noises.

I would have thought it would be constant.
    What about when you come completely off the throttle while travelling?
    Does the sound go away?

If it does then I'd be thinking injectors for sure, in modern diesels the injectors close and the car is essentially off. That'd give an indication.

Could it be tension on the chain? Although I'd assume it'd be louder with no load as the turning force would tighten the chain.

Edit: I was writing this longer than i thought, you beat me to it Interslice :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    I would have thought it would be constant.
    What about when you come completely off the throttle while travelling?
    Does the sound go away?

If it does then I'd be thinking injectors for sure, in modern diesels the injectors close and the car is essentially off. That'd give an indication.

Could it be tension on the chain? Although I'd assume it'd be louder with no load as the turning force would tighten the chain.

Exactly, just cruise normally or braking the noise goes away.
    Tap the accelerator or give it welly then the noise comes on and you have feck all power, well not feck all but nowhere near as powerful as before it went in.

Exactly, just cruise normally or braking the noise goes away.
    Tap the accelerator or give it welly then the noise comes on and you have feck all power, well not feck all but nowhere near as powerful as before it went in.

Sounds awfully like an injector, maybe it has enough flow to idle and help it not be completely missing but enough to hinder the progress as usual?

Jays we're getting to da bottom of dis now lads!
    Fairly sure myself it's either 1 injector or multiple ones. Wouldn't surprise me if all 3 were of utter ****e quality.
    Injector know is what I think they call it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Fairly sure myself it's either 1 injector or multiple ones. Wouldn't surprise me if all 3 were of utter ****e quality.

CSI motors :cool:

Hopefully you get it sorted!

I assume it'd be basically undrivable if it was down on three bad injectors though bear.
    We got injectors flow tested and cleaned before going into an engine before at 20 an injector, maybe that's a possibility?

I assume it'd be basically undrivable if it was down on three bad injectors though bear.
    We got injectors flow tested and cleaned before going into an engine before at 20 an injector, maybe that's a possibility?

Only time I'll have is on Saturday so I'll be getting them to check out each injector.
    It's running on 4 cylinders for sure anyway but guaranteed one of the injectors has failed or is failing.
    I should know by Saturday... unless it gets robbed in the mean time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Lads, anyone know where to get aircon looked at (regassed?), my yoke always has trouble when the cold weather sets in. Takes an age to clear the windscreen with AC on. I've changed the pollen filter, which made no difference. There are also no obvious leaks in the cabin (wheel well, front and rear foot wells checked etc). I suspect that it's the seals in the windows that may let some moisture in, since the doors do not have frames around the windows. But i just don't know.