Do you warn other drivers of Garda speed-traps and the camera van?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

anncoates wrote: »
    I'm well aware of that but it's dumb to flash your lights at somebody in greeting (the hypothetical premise discussed) because it could be misinterpreted by other drivers differently.

In general, these threads just highlight why we'll probably always be a basket case of a country in some ways: we pride ourselves on being 'anti-authoritarian' and 'ungovernable' but it's only ever expressed in utterly nominal me-fein ways that don't benefit wider society so getting away with speeding or clamping is elevated to some heroic riposte against the forces of evil.

And we elect witless, gombeen politicians on exactly the same self-interested, small picture basis while slapping ourselves on the back that we're not as "regimented" as wealthy, civic successes like Germany.

?!...
    'flashing lights as a salute' was a cover-story if ever questioned by the traffic corps in a hypothetical situation. You somehow have interpreted this action as a manifestation of our deeper flaws, personally and collectively.
    Are you reading too much into, what some consider to be a simple gesture which takes a second to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

?!...
    'flashing lights as a salute' was a cover-story if ever questioned by the traffic corps in a hypothetical situation. You somehow have interpreted this action as a manifestation of our deeper flaws, personally and collectively.
    Are you reading too much into, what some consider to be a simple gesture which takes a second to do?

Do you understand the meaning of the phrase, In general, these threads.....?

The flashing lights was an aside and an answer to another poster - that it's not a wise thing to do on the road as a greeting as it can be misinterpreted as something else, for example, giving way to another driver.

Anyway I felt like inserting some windy generalizing as a change from dozens of retarded testimonies about Giving It To The Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Depends on the speed of the next few cars I see coming towards me. If they're belting it, no. In fact I delight at the idea of them getting caught out. If they're doing average speed, I will warn them so they can make sure they're not a few km over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

OK, here's the idea.

Depending on the number of vans they have, you need a few GPS chips and some brave souls to sneakily put them on the vans. Then a smartphone app, with a subscription fee and Bob's your auntie's live-in-lover.

I'll send you a postcard from the Bahamas.

If you can drive a little above the limit, you can drive a little below it too.

It's a limit, not a goal.

But if I drive below the limits it takes me longer to get places and I have less fun driving.

In a lot of cases the limits are stupidly slow as they were made up by a person decades ago when cars could hardly reach them. People are so hung up on the "safety" of these made up numbers its hilarious. If the speed limit was set at 100mph back in the day everyone would be conditioned to think that was the same speed as this his how people are now with 100km/h. 99km/h = safe, 101km/h = dangerous degenerate driver. Absolute and utter nonsense especially in modern cars build for travelling at high speeds very safely.

on topic I often flash people for speed traps etc (though I'm reluctant at times in case I happen to meet an unmarked car etc) and have benefited many many times myself from getting a flash. Probably been save twice in the last month by a flash for a speed van (definitely once).

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Years ago if it was a Guard with a hairdryer you couldn't flash at the scene, you'd have to wait until you were out of range or over the hill for fear of being spotted.

Now though with the vans you can flash in front of their faces as they can do bugger all.
    I'd normally flash for about a mile then it's someone elses job after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

I rarely speed, but I occasionally have had oncoming drivers flash the lights at me. My first thought is a speed check (and I double check that I'm under the limit); then I realise that they could be warning me of an accident or hazard ahead. So, to be safe, I'll slow down a little bit more. (Nothing ridiculous, but enough to give myself more time to react.)

I'm not one to be guilty of lack of progress when driving, by the way, I'm usually driving at the limit - just not over it. But I don't warn other drivers, in case other non-speeding drivers react the same way I do - by slowing down unnecessarily, and clogging up the roads for everyone.

I don't judge those who do exceed the limit, by the way. I've done it myself in the past (just not any more), and I don't think speed limits are set appropriately on many roads - I can see the justification for speeding when road conditions etc suit.
    Your over thinking a simple situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,966 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yep, always .. I only ever see them camped out on wide, well-surfaced roads or motorways so always flash for about a km afterwards.

Another sneaky thing they will do is sit on the on-ramp to motorways so you don't see them until you're already passed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭dutopia

I hate the times when a driver flashes me and I can't find the reason why.

Considering how much of a money making racket some of them are, I definitely would. Costs nothing to be nice.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Yep, always .. I only ever see them camped out on wide, well-surfaced roads or motorways so always flash for about a km afterwards.

Another sneaky thing they will do is sit on the on-ramp to motorways so you don't see them until you're already passed them.

A particular pet hate of mine is when the guards sit just at the point (or even inside) where the speed limit changes pointing into the lower limit. They are desperate for it coming out of the limerick tunnel which has (for absolutely no reason whatsoever) an 80km/h limit, when you exit the tunnel you are driving on perfectly normal dual carraigeway for about 1km but the limit is 80km/h per hour still and the guards love sitting at the 100km/h sign pointing into the 80km/h zone catching people who have started to speed up. Its despicable!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

Gosub wrote: »
    I sniggered when I saw the connection that we are a poor country because we flash our headlights at fellow motorists. I know that's not what you meant (?) but that's the connection that my brain made. :D

Actually its right on the money. If you find yourself stuck in traffic jams when you get to Irish towns and cities then this is in part due to a failure to tackle speeding.

Many Irish adults, teenagers and children live within reasonable walking or cycling distance of work, school or college.

Fear for personal safety is one of the main reasons more people don't walk or cycle and speeding and inappropriate traffic speeds are the main source for that fear.

People who speed in urban areas are a direct cause of avoidable traffic jams and delay for other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

No I wouldn't.

If you are unable or unwilling to drive within the speed limits and happy to put your own and other's lives at risk you deserve to get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Actually its right on the money. If you find yourself stuck in traffic jams when you get to Irish towns and cities then this is in part due to a failure to tackle speeding.

Many Irish adults, teenagers and children live within reasonable walking or cycling distance of work, school or college.

Fear for personal safety is one of the main reasons more people don't walk or cycle and speeding and inappropriate traffic speeds are the main source for that fear.

People who speed in urban areas are a direct cause of avoidable traffic jams and delay for other road users.
    So nothing to do with huge increases in vehicles on the road, or lack of proper infrastructure for pedestrians, or pure laziness on the part of the parents, or the parents driving huge 4X4s to protect their little luvvies?

As I pointed out in an earlier post, speed is the only thin being addressed, ever! You can't pin everything on speed, there must be a variety of factors, not just this one.

I presume you're happy to provide some backup for your assertions bolded in the quote.

So nothing to do with huge increases in vehicles on the road, or lack of proper infrastructure for pedestrians, or pure laziness on the part of the parents, or the parents driving huge 4X4s to protect their little luvvies?

As I pointed out in an earlier post, speed is the only thin being addressed, ever! You can't pin everything on speed, there must be a variety of factors, not just this one.

I presume you're happy to provide some backup for your assertions bolded in the quote.

As I pointed out it is the lack of speed enforcement that is, in part, acting to push people in using cars for all trips. The two are directly related in my view - you can't point at the growth in traffic without examining what is driving that growth.

I did not state that speeding was the only factor - you tried to introduce that straw man yourself. Speeding is however the central topic of this thread.

You have backed it up yourself by pointing out that people feel a need to protect their children.

Protect them from what exactly? What is the most common threat any child walking to school is likely to face?

Edit: Just to help you with the last question at the end of the 1990s Ireland officially had the highest child pedestrian death rate in Western Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

If flashing someone makes them more likely to drive within the speed limit surely that's a good thing?

iDave wrote: »
    If flashing someone makes them more likely to drive within the speed limit surely that's a good thing?

Not if the effect is isolated to a particular location where they think there might be a speed camera.

Epecially not if it means they can assume they arent going to meet any other cameras anywhere else in the vicinity and feel entitled to put the boot down.

As I pointed out it is the lack of speed enforcement that is, in part, acting to push people in using cars for all trips.
    You pointed it out, but you didn't say where your information is coming from.
    The two are directly related in my view - you can't point at the growth in traffic without examining what is driving that growth.
    Increased population, increased car ownership, increased economic activity?
    I did not state that speeding was the only factor - you tried to introduce that straw man yourself. Speeding is however the central topic of this thread.
    Yeah, I should have used 'one' instead of 'you'. I wasn't saying that you in particular were saying this. So, no straw man.
    You have backed it up yourself by pointing out that people feel a need to protect their children.
    No, I haven't. People have become over protective of their children in recent years. I'm sure this isn't all the fault of the odd driver that wanders over the speed limit. I'm pretty sure pear of abduction is in the mix somewhere, among other factors.
    Protect them from what exactly? What is the most common threat any child walking to school is likely to face?
    Dunno. Cyclists flying through red pedestrian crossing lights? Please enlighten me.
    Edit: Just to help you with the last question at the end of the 1990s Ireland officially had the highest child pedestrian death rate in Western Europe.
    Geez 14 years ago? Again, show me where this is totally the fault of speeders. You know, the guys that stray a few kms over some of the most stupid limits that I have seen anywhere in Europe.

You pointed it out, but you didn't say where your information is coming from.

This is a discussion paper for the UK National Health Service

THE IMPACT OF TRANSPORT AND ROAD TRAFFIC SPEED ON HEALTH

http://www.gserve.nice.org.uk/nicemedia/documents/road_traffic_%20issues%20_270302.pdf
    Speed has important indirect impacts on health:
    * Perception of road danger discourages walking and cycling, two of the
    most important kinds of physical activity.

* This perception restricts social interactions (for example, by cutting
    people off from everyday facilities), affects the quality of life, and can
    induce feelings of stress, particularly among older people.
    · Speeding is more common in less affluent areas. (There is a link between
    level of deprivation and child accident rates.)
    The major deterrent to cycling expressed by non-cyclists is fear of motor
    traffic (Carnall 2000). Vehicle speed is a major factor in perceptions of the
    road environment as hostile by both cyclists and pedestrians.

This is a discussion paper for the UK National Health Service

THE IMPACT OF TRANSPORT AND ROAD TRAFFIC SPEED ON HEALTH

http://www.gserve.nice.org.uk/nicemedia/documents/road_traffic_%20issues%20_270302.pdf
    UK? Is that not another country with different social and infrastructural arrangements?

OK let's look at the UK. That paper leans heavily towards infrastructural changes to encourage a less sedentary lifestyle. It mainly seems to focus on built up areas. I have no problem with speed limits in built up areas, and I stick to them religiously. That's not what we are talking about here though.

Most of the discussion in this thread is about go-safe vans or Garda speed traps that operate on the open road, in Ireland!

All I am saying is that the average motorist that strays a few kms over the limit on the open road is not something akin to a mobile thermo-nuclear device. There are many levels of road abuse by all road users and I would never condone the driver who blasts along at far in excess of the limits or speeds through built up areas. Just as I'm sure you would condemn the cyclists that break the laws regarding traffic lights and use of footpaths.

I'm sure we would all agree that if every vehicle had to have a man with a red flag walking before it, we could wipe out all road fatalities. But we need to live in a modern world and take progress in vehicle safety into account, including the huge advances in pedestrian protection built into modern cars.

I know that cars kill people. Airplanes kill people, boats kill people, smoking kills people, wars kill people. Welcome to modern society.

OK let's look at the UK. That paper leans heavily towards infrastructural changes to encourage a less sedentary lifestyle. It mainly seems to focus on built up areas. I have no problem with speed limits in built up areas, and I stick to them religiously. That's not what we are talking about here though.

Its what I'm talking about - read my posts.

If you want to banter about rural speed limits take it up with someone else

Its what I'm talking about - read my posts.

If you want to banter about rural speed limits take it up with someone else
    But... isn't that what this thread is all about? Flashing motorists to warn them of speed traps that operate almost entirely on rural roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

But... isn't that what this thread is all about? Flashing motorists to warn them of speed traps that operate almost entirely on rural roads.

No, it's about warning drivers about speed vans, wherever they are. Not specifically in one place or the other.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    No, it's about warning drivers about speed vans, wherever they are. Not specifically in one place or the other.
    I think you might have mis-read my post. I meant that the vast majority of speed traps are outside urban areas. Therefore the vast majority of warning flashes take place on rural roads.

Or am I wrong? Are the vast majority of mobile speed traps in urban areas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I think you might have mis-read my post. I meant that the vast majority of speed traps are outside urban areas. Therefore the vast majority of warning flashes take place on rural roads.

Sorry, yeah. I thought you meant the thread was specifically about rural speed vans only. Apologies :)

Yes and this is the problem and this is why in my view the current speed camera regime is a misuse of a vital resource.

However, I involved myself in this thread because someone came on talking about flashing to warn motorists about a Garda with a speed gun in the middle of Craughwell village.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Sorry, yeah. I thought you meant the thread was specifically about rural speed vans only. Apologies :)
    No apology necessary. I'm sure I could have written it a bit betterer. :D

dutopia wrote: »
    I hate the times when a driver flashes me and I can't find the reason why.
    I flashed someone this morning because there was a badly stopped car just around the corner in front of him, hopefully he was a bit more cautious going round the bend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lardy

I drive one of those pesky vans... I still flash people to warn them, even when I'm in the van. I don't like catching people and I never hide the van.

Lardy wrote: »
    I drive one of those pesky vans... I still flash people to warn them, even when I'm in the van. I don't like catching people and I never hide the van.

You obviously don't work in the Midlands so.