Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you warn other drivers of Garda speed-traps and the camera van?

• 22-11-2014 4:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭

Or is it a case of "if you're driving above the speed-limit, tough!"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Na, I'm perfectly capable of breaking the law on my own, and I expect others to do the same.

Always, if only to stop someone panicking and hitting the brakes when they see the van and causing a crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Always, if only to stop someone panicking and hitting the brakes when they see the van and causing a crash.

That reasoning has never occured to me before. Makes sense...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Always

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Pointless exercise, they'll be posting to all their friends on facebook whilst driving as soon as they pass it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Absolutely. I've been warned about speedtraps before so I always warn other drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Always.

Especially when there isn't actually a gard with a radar, or a gatso van in sight.

(it confuses the fcuk outta them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Nope.

If you can't drive within the limits then piss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Triboro

Sure do! Have benefited from others warning me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Always. People are good and let me know in return. It's the way it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭Glebee

I used to always. Dont bother my hole any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Yes - except BMWs - feck them they've got it coming :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

I rarely speed, but I occasionally have had oncoming drivers flash the lights at me. My first thought is a speed check (and I double check that I'm under the limit); then I realise that they could be warning me of an accident or hazard ahead. So, to be safe, I'll slow down a little bit more. (Nothing ridiculous, but enough to give myself more time to react.)

I'm not one to be guilty of lack of progress when driving, by the way, I'm usually driving at the limit - just not over it. But I don't warn other drivers, in case other non-speeding drivers react the same way I do - by slowing down unnecessarily, and clogging up the roads for everyone.

I don't judge those who do exceed the limit, by the way. I've done it myself in the past (just not any more), and I don't think speed limits are set appropriately on many roads - I can see the justification for speeding when road conditions etc suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Always. I appreciate when other drivers warn me, so I'd be a hypocrite not to. Speed traps are often placed at the bottom of hills, so it's fairly easy to find yourself driving slightly over the limit for a few seconds, even if you're not a habitual speeder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Never seen one.. but I always warn folk when there are sheep or cattle loose...or deer or wild goats....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

No. They're usually too busy on their phones to notice anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

Always! Absolutely!

I've never, in all my years driving, saw a speed camera van/Garda set up in an "accident black spot" or outside somewhere like a school where drivers should drive slowly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Nope. I never do and never will.

Speed kills. There are plenty of Muppets who should not be on the road. They fly around like they are on a race track. I see these vans as a means of taking these clowns off the road.

If your concentration is that bad that you can't keep a little needle on a particular number then should you be driving ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Generally no. If they can't read a speedometer, I'm not going to hold their hand for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

For the speed vans yes, it's just a money making exercise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

no one seems to warn you about speed vans

before they used to flash head lights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

Drivers need to stick together
    Its us and them
    And the reason I do this is because of all the parking tickets I have received from gardas AFTER 6 pm
    for purely revenue generating reasons. I will always attempt to even the score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Depends on where it is. On a motorway/dual carriageway, I would warn them.
    In a built-up area with a lot of pedestrians I would hope that they get caught so I would not warn anyone.

For the speed vans yes, it's just a money making exercise.

It's a weirdly ineffective money making exercise insofar as your target audience cam avoid paying you by simply observing the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

No, as I don't drive and its hard to warn motorists when you are on a bus.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

anncoates wrote: »
    It's a weirdly ineffective money making exercise insofar as your target audience cam avoid paying you by simply observing the law.

Ah come off it, most of the people getting caught would be only a few km over the limit.

No fear the boy racers doing donoughts all over the road get caught, it's a lot easier to sit by the side of the road with the speed gun out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Gerinspain

Saw a right tosser in one of those kit cars......top down, overtaking like a lunatic on a windy road with 50 kph limit. Car coming from the opposite direction flashed him and he waved back - he obviously thought they were admiring his car. But the police were waiting up the road and he got pulled in. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Do you warn other drivers of Garda speed-traps and the camera van?

Generally I'll use my own judgement at the time. For example...

A) A good safe stretch of road, driving conditions are good - then yes I'll warn other drivers.

B) An unsafe stretch of road/known accident blackspot area - then no, I won't warn other drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Always warn as many as possible.

Most of the places I'd usually meet speed vans are in sneaky, "fish in a barrel" type spots.

So, warning others is just basic decency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Never, if you're doing something wrong and you get caught then it serves you right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Packrat

I warn others who like me, drive for a living. Except taxis. Fcuk them.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

Ah come off it, most of the people getting caught would be only a few km over the limit.

In my car, I'm able to manually control my driving speed with the pedals and speedometer so it's grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

The long term idea of speed traps is to slow down traffic so if warning other drivers accomplishes that then great. Warning about checkpoints is a completely different matter though.

Unless you're sending CW via your flashing lights, how does the motorist coming the other way know it's a checkpoint and not a camera. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

kkelly77 wrote: »
    Always! Absolutely!

I've never, in all my years driving, saw a speed camera van/Garda set up in an "accident black spot" or outside somewhere like a school where drivers should drive slowly.

Yep, Blanchardstown N3 towards town is a fine example of this. "Special speed limit" of 80 that's quite hard to realise is there. Should it be 80? No way.

Unless you're sending CW via your flashing lights, how does the motorist coming the other way know it's a checkpoint and not a camera. ;)

because if they are the type that are avoiding checkpoints they probably won't take that chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

The only time I havent is when ive seen someone who looks like their going way way over the limit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Of course I do. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

DeadHand wrote: »
    Always warn as many as possible.

Most of the places I'd usually meet speed vans are in sneaky, "fish in a barrel" type spots.

So, warning others is just basic decency.

I don't get this. Our roads are plagued by speed signs, there are actually way too many IMO. How are the speed vans sneaky? Obey the signs, don't get done for speeding, happy days.

I did warn others when I was younger and a bit reckless myself but not anymore, I stick to the speed limit for the most part and if I do venture over and get caught, well that's my own fault, same as everyone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

The speed limit is too low on a LOT of our roads.

And yes, I warn others every time

kkelly77 wrote: »
    Always! Absolutely!

That's interesting. Because I know of a fatal accident that has happened on all the stretches of road they are on in my area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I don't get this. Our roads are plagued by speed signs, there are actually way too many IMO. How are the speed vans sneaky? Obey the signs, don't get done for speeding, happy days.

I did warn others when I was younger and a bit reckless myself but not anymore, I stick to the speed limit for the most part and if I do venture over and get caught, well that's my own fault, same as everyone else

Maybe "sneaky" is the wrong word, but they're on safe, straight stretches with limits that are too low so it's a fish in a barrel style deal. Sparing my fellow man pain over a minor transgression isn't going to harm anyone. My intervention will slow him down anyway and the shock of the close call should do as much to modify his behaviour as the penalties without the suffering the actual penalties may cause him.

What can I say, I'm human. I'm all about the love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

I don't drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

I don't know what he does when there is an actual speed camera but my dad flashes and waves at speeding cars to get them to slow down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭encore1

I always used to until one day I did it and the car did a u turn and came up behind be with flashing blue lights...I had warned an undercover garda car! Never felt like such an eeeeeeejit as I did at that moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yes. I'd pass one in Kildare and I'd still be flashing cars when I get to Kilkenny. I truly deserve a Nobel Peace Prize.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Always,other drivers warning me has saved me from many a fine, especially the sneaky fcuker of a van thats parked behind a hedge on a corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

My OH does, always. I think it's foolish.

A speed limit, is a limit, not a goal to be reached and certainly never to be passed.
    If you're over it, you deserve to be caught simple as.