Do you warn other drivers of Garda speed-traps and the camera van?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Do you even drive?

Calling going at 60 km flooring it .

It would be if you were in first gear. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

I will always flash drivers.

The only time I ever got caught by one of the "safety " vans was heading into Castlemartyr in Cork. I didnt realise that the limit had changed from 100km to 80km for no obvious reason, and there was a van sitting just behind where it changed. I drove past at 93kmph thinking "why would they bother putting the van there".
    Had to go back to the area to check out why I had got a ticket, couldn't believe it..... a pure revenue exercise. I beat the ticket due to them getting my address wrong. If they cannot read the address properly on a computer then it serves them right.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Never. If they're doing something wrong they deserve to be caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

Gosub wrote: »
    Yeah, emotive language. Just what we need.

Ah yes so its ok to define the speeding problem as merely confined to those who drive at the limits of vehicle performance?

Anybody else is just "speeding a little bit" and "sure what harm" even if we are talking about the middle of a village.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Laura Palmer

Ronin247 wrote: »
    I will always flash drivers.
    You should definitely do so too when someone is exceeding the speed limit by 20kmph. Nothing like letting someone get away with dangerous driving in order to "show the guards". ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

I was wondering when you would show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I can never understand the small minded mentality of drivers complaining that certain speed cameras are "just" a revenue generating exercise. The Gardai aren't going to generate much revenue if people just drive within the speed limits.

At the end of the day, you don't get fined if you comply with the law.

I can never understand the small minded mentality of drivers complaining that certain speed cameras are "just" a revenue generating exercise.
    It's a popular thing to say about a lot of stuff people don't like taking responsibility for themselves for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Darn tootin' I do. Its just good manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Some amount of speed vans out around Dublin city centre and the N4 today. There was even one after Heuston station outbound heading towards Con Colbart road, well hidden behind another car, which is a new one on me. I was stuck on 60kph and the cars were flying by me, so I'd say they caught a fair few there. I drive in and out of the city every Sunday morning and I can't remember the last time I saw so many vans.

On the OT, I don't warn other drivers but I do question the positioning of some of the vans. Many are not parked on accident black spots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I think most people who aren't w*nkers would warn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

The w*nkers are the people who do warn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

When people talk about speeding, I don't think they generally mean just two or three kilometres over the limit.

But that is speeding w.r.t the vans. The Garda will probably let you off. If you are caught doing 53kph in a 50kph zone by a van then you will get done for speeding.

Definitely. When a person is driving like a maniac, the person not warning them is the wanker. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    You should definitely do so too when someone is exceeding the speed limit by 20kmph. Nothing like letting someone get away with dangerous driving in order to "show the guards". ;)
    I can never understand the small minded mentality of drivers complaining that certain speed cameras are "just" a revenue generating exercise. The Gardai aren't going to generate much revenue if people just drive within the speed limits.

At the end of the day, you don't get fined if you comply with the law.

It is fine if they are set up in places where excessive speed is dangerous, I was on a wide road with a big hard shoulder and there were no major changes to the road or conditions just a change of limit from 100 to 80 and a partially hidden van. I was doing 93 in what I presumed was a 100, I was mistaken, this was not excessive speeding.

The three posters above make me think of the people who sit in the overtaking lane on a motorway, looking at the speedometer at 120 kph and not moving to let other cars pass because they are driving at what they consider the limit, anyone who wants to pass them is breaking the law by speeding so why should they move?

Ronin247 wrote: »
    The three posters above make me think of the people who sit in the overtaking lane on a motorway, looking at the speedometer at 120 kph and not moving to let other cars pass because they are driving at what they consider the limit, anyone who wants to pass them is breaking the law by speeding so why should they move?
    Wow, people get so personal and ad hominemy on this forum!
    Step back a bit. I said "exceeding the speed limit by 20kmph", not two or three kmph. I also said elsewhere on this thread that I don't have an issue with people flashing warning lights to people who aren't driving dangerously.
    But for people to say they'd flash absolutely anyone, always, then this logically means they'd also flash those who drive like maniacs. Not that there are many of same, but they do exist.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Insulting people for warning/not warning will not be tolerated

Keep things civil or bans will be handed out

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Wow, people get so personal and ad hominemy on this forum!
    Step back a bit. I said "exceeding the speed limit by 20kmph", not two or three kmph. I also said elsewhere on this thread that I don't have an issue with people flashing warning lights to people who aren't driving dangerously.
    But for people to say they'd flash absolutely anyone, always, then this logically means they'd also flash those who drive like maniacs. Not that there are many of same, but they do exist.
    Laura, if i stood you at the side of a road and asked you to accurately guess the speed of the cars going past, i'm pretty sure you wouldn't be very accurate, nor would i be able to tell exactly how fast they were going either.

Yet you seem to think you can tell how fast they are going while driving towards them at 80kmh or so.

I have news for you. You can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

Yep I flash the lights and appreciate when others do it to me
    Im not a speed merchant, though I do consider myself in the top 99.999999999999999999999999% of all drivers skill wise!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I never warn people. I want speedsters to get caught because I want less people to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭SONIC2008

No I never warn people.

Having experienced being in the company of someone who was knocked down by a speeding driver before, I would rather the driver get a fine and a few points and hopefully learn their lesson, than get off scot free, continue to speed and kill someone at a later stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭ROAAAR

I've been warned on a few occasions which is nice. I have never been in the position to warn anyone but doubt it would cross my mind at the time being honest. I generally find a lot of these vans in my area are located not too far from the M50 and on roads where the speed limit changes from 60km/h to 50km/h rather suddenly. It's the sort of all out profit rather than safety approach I think that really grinds people and encourages warning other drivers.

We really need to come up with a definite signal for drivers to warn of speed traps. I've generally seen the flights flashed with the driver making a pulsating hand gesture and just thought, :confused:. It's not until I've seen the speed trap it all clicks with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Drummer1967

I always warn people it's only fair and right as this is mostly a revenue collecting operation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Mostly I would. But I see someone going way too fast, then certainly not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

Rightwing wrote: »
    Mostly I would. But I see someone going way too fast, then certainly not.

For me this hits the nail on the head

Definitely. When a person is driving like a maniac, the person not warning them is the wanker. ;)
    I always warn, but I do make an exception if the motorist coming the other way is driving like a lunatic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I tent to warn people myself.

I'm 90% sure I'm waiting for a letter in the door myself. One of those poxy money making gatso vans tucked into a hedge around the corner from a hill. This was on the Carlow to Athy road (80kmh posted). Copped my needle as I seen him and was at around 85 kmh. In reality, when using gps speed this is closer to about 81/82 on my car.

I wasn't pushing on at all, however I was paying more attention to the road in front of me than staring at the speedo, hence my speed probably wavered between 75 and 85 the whole way.

Wasn't flashed by anyone though (must have been the Dub reg :P )

Ironically I usually end up stuck behind some moron doing 50kmh on that road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's not against the Law to flash your lights, you know?.

I'm well aware of that but it's dumb to flash your lights at somebody in greeting (the hypothetical premise discussed) because it could be misinterpreted by other drivers differently.

In general, these threads just highlight why we'll probably always be a basket case of a country in some ways: we pride ourselves on being 'anti-authoritarian' and 'ungovernable' but it's only ever expressed in utterly nominal me-fein ways that don't benefit wider society so getting away with speeding or clamping is elevated to some heroic riposte against the forces of evil.

And we elect witless, gombeen politicians on exactly the same self-interested, small picture basis while slapping ourselves on the back that we're not as "regimented" as wealthy, civic successes like Germany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

anncoates wrote: »
    I'm well aware of that but it's dumb to flash your lights at somebody in greeting (the hypothetical premise discussed) because it could be misinterpreted by other drivers differently.

In general, these threads just highlight why we'll probably always be a basket case of a country in some ways: we pride ourselves on being 'anti-authoritarian' and 'ungovernable' but it's only ever expressed in utterly nominal me-fein ways that don't benefit wider society so getting away with speeding or clamping is elevated to some heroic riposte against the forces of evil.

And we elect witless, gombeen politicians on exactly the same self-interested, small picture basis while slapping ourselves on the back that we're not as "regimented" as wealthy, civic successes like Germany.
    I agree about the witless, gombeen politicians, but I see Inda as more of a "they deserve the fine if they exceed the limit" kinda guy. Maybe he's one of the Grinches posting previously in this thread. However, Germany is wealthy because of it's policy to nurture and grow it's SME sector. Something we do very badly here.

I sniggered when I saw the connection that we are a poor country because we flash our headlights at fellow motorists. I know that's not what you meant (?) but that's the connection that my brain made. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Gosub wrote: »

I sniggered when I saw the connection that we are a poor country because we flash our headlights at fellow motorists. I know that's not what you meant (?) but that's the connection that my brain made. :D

It's just your brain. :)

We're hardly a poor country. And I was just making a simple observation that the sometimes civic shambles of our country can't always be blamed on governance.