Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Stheno wrote: »
    Ah jaysus, I saw you posting and went "woohoo, looking forward to hearing how well things are"

Rattling when accelerating? What sort of rattling? Was it doing that before?

Yeah :( I can't be too sure but it sounds tappety and I'm quite sure it wasn't there before. Apart from that it drives great, power seems to have increased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

My dad finally has something bought. We went to newmarket today and he bought a 142 demo golf van they have there a month old 1500 km. a really really nice comfortable car has everything you'd want; mfsw, cruise control, electric auto hold hand brake, stop start, a radio that does everything. A nice bright red colour too. He would have liked a Leon but with seats revenue issues they can't sell you a van and no one knows how long that will take to sort out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Well wear. I think you were hoping for a golf anyway.
    How does it compare to your 1.9. I'm assuming it's the higher bhp 1.6?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Well wear. I think you were hoping for a golf anyway.
    How does it compare to your 1.9. I'm assuming it's the higher bhp 1.6?

It's only 90 bhp that's all any of the vans are. I've had a 90bhp focus and astra as you know and it's a good bit quicker than them. Comparing it to my golf theres not a whole lot in it my one would have the edge. But for a 90bhp it pulls really well in 2nd and 3rd gear. It was quicker than I thought it would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It'll likely get a bit torquier with time. 1500km is nothing.

Is it foreign (county) reg?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It'll likely get a bit torquier with time. 1500km is nothing.

Is it foreign (county) reg?

Yep cork that was the down side :pac: ah it makes no difference to him really. Nice few bob off a 151 for a practically new van although I now the plate isn't 151 but how much If a difference will that make in 5-6 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Bpmull wrote: »
    Yep cork that was the down side :pac: ah it makes no difference to him really. Nice few bob off a 151 for a practically new van although I now the plate isn't 151 but how much If a difference will that make in 5-6 years time.

It has a proper reg so will have good resale :pac:

Well wear with it though.

It has a proper reg so will have good resale :pac:

Well wear with it though.

Infairness credit where credit is due newmarket motors is the best vw garage I've been in really good to deal with a bit in the middle of nowhere but you wouldn't mind that. Also they had a bettle in the showroom and we nearly had to pull my mother out of it :pac: that car seems to have a serious draw on women.

So I just came back from the mechanic and he said that it is perfectly normal.
    The only thing he said I need to change is the drivehaft as it is failing and tbh I did notice it wobbling a lot. So fingers crossed all is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭rubin_spitfire

Looking for help. At the end of this month I have four of my cars to arrive in Dublin. I cannot find any storage place in Dublin for them and keeping them outside is not an option. I have found some storage place in Kilcullen (Co. Kildare) which is around one hour from my house. I will have to organise to keep my cars there this weekend if I cannot find somewhere else. I would like somewhere in Dublin. So, do you know anywhere I could store three cars (one car will stay with me at home) in Dublin? Safe, dry, clean place.

Rubin.

So I now have seven cars arrived in Dublin.....stored in my four car garage.

Nice.

Cough... pictures my good man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I think I'm in love.

http://allegro.pl/bmw-750il-v12-long-i4793500952.html

1992 E32 750iL in Poland. All yours for €5,950...

4793500952_5

bear1, have you got a spare €6k? :D

Although this one is also nice at €2,500.

http://otomoto.pl/bmw-750-wyjatkowy-klasyk-z-niemiec-C35147954.html

9752LsO.jpg?1

//edit: OMG The price went up on the black one as I'm typing this!
    5M22Dh8.jpg
    hxWizPE.jpg

Sobanek wrote: »
    I think I'm in love.

http://allegro.pl/bmw-750il-v12-long-i4793500952.html

1992 E32 750iL in Poland. All yours for €5,950...

4793500952_5

bear1, have you got a spare €6k? :D

Although this one is also nice at €2,500.

http://otomoto.pl/bmw-750-wyjatkowy-klasyk-z-niemiec-C35147954.html

9752LsO.jpg?1

//edit: OMG The price went up on the black one as I'm typing this!
    5M22Dh8.jpg
    hxWizPE.jpg

I sure do, when would you like it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

E32 is so much cooler than the e38, especially the phone. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Whales on the second one are muc!

26 E32s for sale in Poland right now... About 6 good ones.

Well, it's time to save up some $$$ for a proper classic (as in the E32).

E38 will be the last "classic" BMW me thinks :)

I mean this in the nicest way possible, sell it and get a proper car

Unfortunately I'm only seeing this post now, no longer having college lectures mean I can't spend as much time on here
    Anyway If you're being serious about that which I think you might be then I for one, don't appreciate that comment whatsoever.

Only recently did that car leave my ownership and it left me in excellent condition relative to its age. If any car is a proper car it's a 6 cylinder Italian car full of soul and character not a 4 cylinder Vectra.

Given the astonishing list of work carried out on your own car if anybody could be recommended to sell their car it's yourself, and I mean that in the nicest way possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I swear, I passed a garda car a few hours back and I look in the rear view mirror and they gave me winkys!! Right left right left, so I did the same back, that was a good moment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

There are some shots being fired.

If any car is a proper car it's a 6 cylinder Italian car full of soul and character not a 4 cylinder Vectra.

I'm dying of laughter here :pac:

Post of the year 2014!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Only recently did that car leave my ownership and it left me in excellent condition relative to its age. If any car is a proper car it's a 6 cylinder Italian car longitudinal 4 cylinder Japanese car full of soul and character not a 4 cylinder Vectra.

was the "soul" an option extra on those Alfas? i give you the ae86 trueno.

AE85%20(46).JPG

I give you the E24 M6 (M635i)

e24m6149K009.jpg

Aston Martin are the only people who give you a soul as standard :pac:

0312200923373567877697_37dcf4dc82_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I do like Alfa's to an extent but I've never gotten them like some of the lads I know, they just go mad for them.

The gear boxes are to long a throw, the clutches are soft and a bit "where am I?" And the steering is very light.

The whole, "it's got soul" thing is just not really applicable to them if you ask me.
    They have as much soul as anything else, they just seem to brake more.
    The go to phrase may have held some truth back when Alfa were competing with Ferrari but they're now just on par with any of the other big names.

Yea they've made some nice engines and stuck them on some decent cars but even at that, the cars (until recently) have been the wrong configuration and the engines seriously lack the power for their size and the rep that they get.
    And I've driven a few of them at this stage, ragged the balls off more than one of them. Decent as they are, I could sense more "soul" when my Almera was screaming at 7,000rpm making no power at all, but by God it was trying and it always made me smile.

Point of my rant?
    Shut up about modern family cars having soul, they have as much as a 1.4 Nissan hatch back from the 90's. :p

If you want soul, buy a classic with a rich history.
    No car has ever left the factory with soul.

And yes, you should both sell your cars and buy real ones.
    Alfa's aren't good enough to warrant breaking that much and neither are Saabs.
    Both have more displacent than an SR20/3SGTE/13B/4G63/EJ20, ect... And both make less power and send the power to the wrong wheels.

Real car, please. :p

If you're gonna get the nails out at your mates...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That's horrid lousy to say about someones car, let alone 2 boardsies who have owned it and myself who has put plenty of hours into keeping it right.

Like them or not thats no way to carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

CianRyan wrote: »
    I do like Alfa's to an extent but I've never gotten them like some of the lads I know, they just go mad for them.

The gear boxes are to long a throw, the clutches are soft and a bit "where am I?" And the steering is very light.

The whole, "it's got soul" thing is just not really applicable to them if you ask me.
    They have as much soul as anything else, they just seem to brake more.
    The go to phrase may have held some truth back when Alfa were competing with Ferrari but they're now just on par with any of the other big names.

Yea they've made some nice engines and stuck them on some decent cars but even at that, the cars (until recently) have been the wrong configuration and the engines seriously lack the power for their size and the rep that they get.
    And I've driven a few of them at this stage, ragged the balls off more than one of them. Decent as they are, I could sense more "soul" when my Almera was screaming at 7,000rpm making no power at all, but by God it was trying and it always made me smile.

Point of my rant?
    Shut up about modern family cars having soul, they have as much as a 1.4 Nissan hatch back from the 90's. :p

If you want soul, buy a classic with a rich history.
    No car has ever left the factory with soul.

And yes, you should both sell your cars and buy real ones.
    Alfa's aren't good enough to warrant breaking that much and neither are Saabs.
    Both have more displacent than an SR20/3SGTE/13B/4G63/EJ20, ect... And both make less power and send the power to the wrong wheels.

Real car, please. :p

If you're gonna get the nails out at your mates...

Look.

Let others believe what they want to believe. It's not up to anyone to force their opinion on anyone else, be it outrageous/wacky/downright silly let them have what they wish.

I hate this sensless bickering. It does no one any use and in most cases no one deserves it

dgt wrote: »
    Look.

Let others believe what they want to believe. It's not up to anyone to force their opinion on anyone else, be it outrageous/wacky/downright silly let them have what they wish.

I hate this sensless bickering. It does no one any use and in most cases no one deserves it

Man, I'm just ripping the piss because I'm sick of hearing four leaf clover go on about All fistings and our hat wearing architect trying to have us believe that all that isn't Swedish is ****e. :p

Playing the devils advocate if you will. :D

was the "soul" an option extra on those Alfas? i give you the ae86 trueno.

AE85%20(46).JPG

Nah it comes with all of them. I'm sorry but I was seriously pissed off when I saw that post, that 156 meant so much to me and a lot of time and effort was put in by dgt to get it handling right for someone to come along and suggest buy a proper car really pissed me off.
    If I could I'd have kept it, but when it was bringing another Alfa enthusiast enjoyment, enjoyment that only those who've caught the disease get, I was willing to let it go.
    Hopefully, at some stage in the future, I'll be able to buy another one, it was one amazing car to drive

You're both wrong.

They don't call BMWs the "Ultimate Driving Machines" for nothing :pac:

Sobanek wrote: »
    You're both wrong.

They don't call BMWs the "Ultimate Driving Machines" for nothing :pac:

Last time I drove a BM it would barely drive, never mind it being the ultimate driving machine. :p

Probably better than an Alfa though, I'll give you that. :pac:

I should stop while I still have at least one friend left. Haha

Haven't driven an Alfa myself, but I prefer the BMW Straight-Six sound to that of an Alfa V6.

My E46 is by far one of the best cars I've ever driven, and I've driven some, including an F10 535d which is nowhere near the E46 in terms of driveability :)