Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

So got 2 new tyres, a new Number plate for front ( the current one is all faded out, how it happened, no clue! :confused: ) and I will get my buddy just to do a check over on tuesday, just in case something needs to be done underneath.
    Then its NCT day on 5th... I hate NCT testing, it makes me so nervous. I feel like on Job interview or some exam. I better go and chance 20 girls in a pub at going out then sit in NCT centre and watch my car go through that damn lane! :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ah jeez surely it wouldn't take 20?

One of the lads car was robbed last night. His bangernomics Mazda 323. Cost him all of €350 to get him in and out to his new job and he only had it a month. Will be on the hunt for a replacement that can't be opened and started with a screwdriver soon. I was meant to fit a kill switch on it when he had the time. Too late now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

One of the lads car was robbed last night. His bangernomics Mazda 323. Cost him all of €350 to get him in and out to his new job and he only had it a month. Will be on the hunt for a replacement that can't be opened and started with a screwdriver soon. I was meant to fit a kill switch on it when he had the time. Too late now

Heres an aul jap yolk with an alarm and immobiliser. I go for a look if I was in his situation. http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1999-nissan-primera/8097058

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Two crashes on/just off the M50 one at lucan and one at the M1 interchange.

Traffic fooked

Interslice wrote: »
    Heres an aul jap yolk with an alarm and immobiliser. I go for a look if I was in his situation. http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1999-nissan-primera/8097058

He'll want something with some bit of test at least. His Mazda had a brand new test on it. He'll find something handy enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Stheno wrote: »

Traffic fooked

Crash on the m8 this afternoon guards everywhere trying to slow the traffic down and 3 ambulance it was an e46 in the overtaking lane facing the wrong way. The driver must of lost the back of it and spun it around a few times bouncing it off the crash barrier wall. Front and back was bet in. That's the third BMW I've seem on that m8 after crashing in about 3 months. Everytime it seemed that they had spun around that road is terrible for surface water in the rain.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Crash on the m8 this afternoon guards everywhere trying to slow the traffic down and 3 ambulance it was an e46 in the overtaking lane facing the wrong way. The driver must of lost the back of it and spun it around a few times bouncing it off the crash barrier wall. Front and back was bet in. That's the third BMW I've seem on that m8 after crashing in about 3 months. Everytime it seemed that they had spun around that road is terrible for surface water in the rain.
    Yeah anytime I've driven down it in the rain it's ferocious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Still in college here so I am, not looking forward to going home in this :( trying to stay as late as I can to avoid all the friday numptys

Is the Newlands overpass not reducing your journey time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Wasn't gold was it?

They some of it closed of doing drainage but it's around clonmel there not doing anything on the later exits. I'm kind of used to it but I've experienced some of the worst rain on that road it can get so heavy you'd struggle to see onfront of you.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Wasn't gold was it?

No. Red/pink. Fairly distinguishable due to the amount of laquer missing off it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

No. Red/pink. Fairly distinguishable due to the amount of laquer missing off it

Coolio. Lad I work with recently bought a gold bangernomics 323. Thought he might have got stung!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

For a new road it holds a serious amount of water in places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Mr Pickles, led's arrived today, in and working a charm! The mother opened them (as she does with all my post) and couldn't make head nor tail of them. She was suspicious of them. Must of thought they were going to explode or something. Many thanks again :D

On another note, I brought the mondeo to the main Ford dealer today to get a quote to repair the scrape. They reckoned you would get away without respraying the quarter panel, just a bit of paintless dent removal in that area. I couldn't have stressed enough how much I wanted it flawless, so they quoted me €250 for the job. Very reasonable me thinks!

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Coolio. Lad I work with recently bought a gold bangernomics 323. Thought he might have got stung!

This only happened last night so I'd say he's safe. My friends one is more than likely a rusty brown colour now in a field in Southill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,341 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Bpmull wrote: »
    [...] That's the third BMW I've seem on that m8 after crashing in about 3 months. Everytime it seemed that they had spun around that road is terrible for surface water in the rain.

I wouldn't be surprised if all of them followed the trend to buy as big rims as possible, noticing tyre prices too late and ended up with Chinese ditchfinders. :rolleyes:

joujoujou wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if all of them followed the trend to buy as big rims as possible, noticing tyre prices too late and ended up with Chinese ditchfinders. :rolleyes:

Oh I'd say Chinese and bald tyres were probably the biggest issues with the 3. The other two were e60s. A rwd car isn't as forgiving in the wet on sh!t tyres. Infairness there is a lot of surface water when it does rain and all there seemed to held up well assuming they were bouncing of that concrete crash barrier of 60-70 mph. I'd say all 3 were write offs all the same. Ah sure once all the drivers were ok that's the main thing cars are easily replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Anybody know Are 03 corollas prone to gearbox trouble?
    All info welcome, including the price of a recon gearbox if anyone has any idea?

It's a 1.6 petrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Same gearbox as the Avensis I'd say. Bearings would be a thing alright.

1.6 manual would be very rare in Ireland. Only estates sold here with that combo.
    Few imports alright, but not enough to have an epidemic of failed gearboxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,341 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Yes, they are. Actually quite similar as any other toyotas of that vintage.

I'd say 200-300 notes for reconditioning your broken (if it will break of course) box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Same gearbox as the Avensis I'd say. Bearings would be a thing alright.

1.6 manual would be very rare in Ireland. Only estates sold here with that combo.
    Few imports alright, but not enough to have an epidemic of failed gearboxes

Thanks Colm, car is in England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Is the Newlands overpass not reducing your journey time?

It's taking about 15 minutes off it each way, so i suppose its alright! :)
    Mr Pickles, led's arrived today, in and working a charm! The mother opened them (as she does with all my post) and couldn't make head nor tail of them. She was suspicious of them. Must of thought they were going to explode or something. Many thanks again :D

On another note, I brought the mondeo to the main Ford dealer today to get a quote to repair the scrape. They reckoned you would get away without respraying the quarter panel, just a bit of paintless dent removal in that area. I couldn't have stressed enough how much I wanted it flawless, so they quoted me €250 for the job. Very reasonable me thinks!

Ah lovely! Haha yeah my mother'd be the same now, forever asking what parts are what and where they go and such, glad you got them alright though!

142 c reg around 4200 number when would that have been reged roughly to the month. I don't have a clue how many cars are sold in cork. But they hardly sold over 4k vehicles in July so I'm thinking September October it was reged. Anyone know roughly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Throw similar reg numbers into the motor tax site. Seems to be October.

Screenshot_2014-11-21-22-44-45_zpslccehi8n.png

Thanks mc never thought of that website 17-10-14 is coming up so it's only around a month old. It's a demo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Traffic fooked

I'd like to thank the spanner who parked his car on the tracks at Porterston too.

There's a reason I had to walk from Broombridge up to Croke Park tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Right, well i have to bring the honda back tomorrow to the mechanic again. The rattles of it when accelerating. Pissed off. Ive no luck whatsoever with cars.

bear1 wrote: »
    Right, well i have to bring the honda back tomorrow to the mechanic again. The rattles of it when accelerating. Pissed off. Ive no luck whatsoever with cars.

Ah jaysus, I saw you posting and went "woohoo, looking forward to hearing how well things are"

Rattling when accelerating? What sort of rattling? Was it doing that before?