Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Water meter protests

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Phoebas wrote: »
    This bomb threat has been confirmed by the Minister and reported by a number of different media outlets.

You are utterly delusional if you think this it was made up.

To be fair, this are the same people who thought the Indo photoshopped a protester throwing a brick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

For anyone interested, there's another video of the incident taken from a different angle on the Indo website.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/water/youll-still-be-able-to-beat-the-water-meter-30749804.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

eh 10/12/2008 - 12:01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

What other country would tolerate its Deputy Prime Minister being treated as Joan Burton was on Saturday? Police, and troops if necessary, would have moved the crowds tout suite.

The anti water charges crowd have seriously undermined the whole movement and the upcoming demo at the Dail will be a collection of the hard core with very few "ordinary" folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,855 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

6 year old report

well done :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

curioser wrote: »
    What other country would tolerate its Deputy Prime Minister being treated as Joan Burton was on Saturday? Police, and troops if necessary, would have moved the crowds tout suite.

The anti water charges crowd have seriously undermined the whole movement and the upcoming demo at the Dail will be a collection of the hard core with very few "ordinary" folk.

Underestimate the amount of peaceful protesters that will arrive in Dublin on the 10th at your peril.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

curioser wrote: »

Well its not unique to Ireland tbh.

I don't remember the troops being mobilised after that incident in the UK, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

To be fair, this are the same people who thought the Indo photoshopped a protester throwing a brick.

To be fair, there were people on both sides of the argument saying that the picture was photoshoped because it looked ridiculously photoshoped. Once the video and the rest of the pictures came out everyone said they were wrong. But don't let that get in the way of your sly remarks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

gandalf wrote: »
    Well its not unique to Ireland tbh.

I don't remember the troops being mobilised after that incident in the UK, do you?
    Was he detained in his car for over two hours? I don't think so IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Where did the reference to photoshop come from ?. The picture is real but not from the incident that happened with the minister. Sure throw in a smouldering plane while your at it and say Irish water protestors bring down plane at protest involving minister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

crusher000 wrote: »
    Where did the reference to photoshop come from ?. The picture is real but not from the incident that happened with the minister. Sure throw in a smouldering plane while your at it and say Irish water protestors bring down plane at protest involving minister.

Shhhhh the Kremlin might use that one to worm out of responsibility for MH17!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

So now you have no issue with a minister being penned in and his staff being kicked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,855 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

To be fair, there were people on both sides of the argument saying that the picture was photoshoped because it looked ridiculously photoshoped. Once the video and the rest of the pictures came out everyone said they were wrong. But don't let that get in the way of your sly remarks.

LMAO sorry if it has been posted already but I have just read some numpty on facebook claim that it was an undercover guard throwing the brick :D
    Tallaght Water Charge Protest Update:

It has been now confired by a friend of a serving Garda member, stationed in Tallaght, that the person involved in the brick throwing incident, that was caught on video, was a serving Garda Detective based in another Dublin City Garda Station.

This confirmation was made to a friend of mine who is friends with a Uniformed Garda member that made the admission. He went on to say how he was disgusted by the actions of his colleagues in Tallaght yesterday in which he witnessed women and children being pepper sprayed by Gardai.

The Garda went on to further talk of his disgust at the fact that he had witnessed legitimate protesters being set up from the very start. The Garda member further stated that other members have quietly expressed their disgust at the same sight of women and childern being attacked and pepper sprayed.

The Garda member was shown the images of the person throwning the brick and stated that the blue garment under the persons red jacket is a Garda issue Stab Vest, he had no doubts about that fact.

The Irish Independent newspaper, owned by Tax Exile Denis O'Brien, who owns GMC Sierra Ltd, later used a Photoshop Composite image created from a selection of other digital images taking by their photgraphers in the area yesterday.

This fakey of images was believed to have been inspired by the fact that people were protesting outside the Independent Newspaper printing works in near City West that same day.

However the attempt to discredit the legitmate protest, using the altered images, falied because people online quickly spotted that the image was clearly doctored.

Also the fact that it showed no anti - water charge signs in the background of the image. The reason being is that the water charge protesters had left the area when Joan Burton was gone. The infamous brick throwning incident was captured an hour or so after Mrs Burton had left the Tallaght area and the protesters went home.

Local politicians viewing the images have said that it is a say day in the nations history that a national newspaper and the Gardai conspire to discredit legimate protest over water charges.

Bob Allen Peters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

For anyone interested, there's another video of the incident taken from a different angle on the Indo website.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/water/youll-still-be-able-to-beat-the-water-meter-30749804.html

I don't think it's the same woman referred to earlier. But she was angry anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

It's assault plain and simple. Being totally ignored by main stream media today also it's all about a minister stuck inside her car for 2 hrs god love her. I guess if you aren't part of the establishment the police force of the state can do what they want.

I think the police were justified in their reaction as they have a duty to protect the Taoiseach. She has no right to do what she did so and they are right to be heavy handed.
    Its' not about Enda Kenny - it's about the Taoiseach of this country being protected.

Had she tried that in other countries she'd have been beaten to a pulp.
    You think she'd have got away with blocking obama's car like that?
    She clearly have no sense of self preservation .You don't get a free hand cos you are angry.

I think the police were justified in their reaction as they have a duty to protect the Taoiseach. She has no right to do what she did so and they are right to be heavy handed.
    Its' not about Enda Kenny - it's about the Taoiseach of this country being protected.

Had she tried that in other countries she'd have been beaten to a pulp.
    You think she'd have got away with blocking obama's car like that?
    She clearly have no sense of self preservation .You don't get a free hand cos you are angry.

She wasn't blocking anything though? She got in touching range of the car for about half a second before two guards restrained her and another guard ran across, in front of the car, and threw her to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

She wasn't blocking anything though? She got in touching range of the car for about half a second before two guards restrained her and another guard ran across, in front of the car, and threw her to the ground.

So how far should she have been allowed get? Banging on the bonnet? Taking a swing at him through the window? Once she broke a police barricade she was fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I don't think it's the same woman referred to earlier. But she was angry anyway.

In the video further down the page - about 35 seconds in. Same incident.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    So how far should she have been allowed get? Banging on the bonnet? Taking a swing at him through the window? Once she broke a police barricade she was fair game.

I'm not saying she should have been let though. All I'm saying is she was clearly already restrained by two guards before the other one knocked her to the ground. Surely she could have just been led away by the two that already had her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I'm not saying she should have been let though. All I'm saying is she was clearly already restrained by two guards before the other one knocked her to the ground. Surely she could have just been led away by the two that already had her?

Fair enough, but the problem is while 2 gards are leading her away, that's 2 less gards in the barricade, and if 10-15 people all tried to charge through at once, your protective line is now depleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

It's assault plain and simple. Being totally ignored by main stream media today also it's all about a minister stuck inside her car for 2 hrs god love her. I guess if you aren't part of the establishment the police force of the state can do what they want.

It's not even close to assault. It's a Garda doing his job and protecting our head of state.

It doesn't matter what you think about Joan or Enda or any of them as people. They are our Taoiseach and Tanaiste....the first and second in command of the country and they are entitled to the same protection as any other head of state.

You don't get to act like a thug and resist the Gardai just because you are angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

She admitted earlier she banged the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

In the video further down the page - about 35 seconds in. Same incident.

Thanks, obviously missed it!

She should not have been where she was. Actions have consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

Wouldn't it be great if the protesters, most notably the Shinners' supporters, were as militant and vocal about tracking down and bring to Justice all those murderers, thieves, child molesters and rapists they have protected and shielded over the years?

How brave does one have to be to assault a 64 year old woman by imprisoning her and hitting her from behind with a missile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Timberrrrrr..... I don't think even Enda Kenny has argued the water charges as much as you have.

I don't think water charges deserves any sort of violence. People talking of revolutions like this country has it bad. People on welfare still get to have a few pints and the odd holiday.

I'm against the charges, also against the crusades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

I love how the woman who was "thrown" was clearly very unjustly handled, even though the clips involving her are all a few seconds long at most. No-one taking the videos put down their equipment to run and help her off the curb (in particular the one who videoed her, presumably without her permission, and turned the camera away *just* in time to miss her falling, and continued to video her on the ground rather than see if she needed medical assistance.)

Furthermore, there is no indication of whether it was an isolated incident or if she had tried to do the same thing several times already and the gardaí were just sick of her preventing them from doing their jobs. I can only imagine the scandal if she had been let in front of that car - you can be sure every single one of the armchair protesters watching these videos would have ran with the story that she was run over/knocked down by that car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Nabber wrote: »
    Timberrrrrr..... I don't think even Enda Kenny has argued the water charges as much as you have.

I don't think water charges deserves any sort of violence. People talking of revolutions like this country has it bad. People on welfare still get to have a few pints and the odd holiday.

I'm against the charges, also against the crusades.

Agreed. I am not one bit happy I have another bill to pay. But I still appreciate that, thanks to government spending, I was recently able to get a college degree and give birth to a healthy baby who has to receive further minor medical care - and I've barely paid a cent.
    I'm currently on a SW payment while I search for work now that I have my degree and have given birth, and on this I can afford my rent, my food, my bills, petrol and other car costs and we still get to treat ourselves and our daughter regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    Agreed. I am not one bit happy I have another bill to pay. But I still appreciate that, thanks to government spending, I was recently able to get a college degree and give birth to a healthy baby who has to receive further minor medical care - and I've barely paid a cent.
    I'm currently on a SW payment while I search for work now that I have my degree and have given birth, and on this I can afford my rent, my food, my bills, petrol and other car costs and we still get to treat ourselves and our daughter regularly.

Fair play to you for admitting that the majority in this country don't have it bad at all.

They dont realise how well they are looked after for basically sitting in their arses whinging while others are out breaking their balls to keep the country afloat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

.............. Surely she could have just been led away by the two that already had her?

Why TF should she be "led away"?

She was treated as she should have been. There's an old Chinese saying "Don't kick a tiger in the ass unless you have a plan to deal with his teeth!" That woman was up to no good and was dealt with accordingly.

I'd safely bet she, and her ilk, have no problem paying €7 or €8 (or whatever it is) for a vodka and Red Bull?

Why TF should she be "led away"?

She was treated as she should have been. There's an old Chinese saying "Don't kick a tiger in the ass unless you have a plan to deal with his teeth!" That woman was up to no good and was dealt with accordingly.

I'd safely bet she, and her ilk, have no problem paying €7 or €8 (or whatever it is) for a vodka and Red Bull?

Fair play for generalising about somebody you have never met before.