Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Water meter protests

SteM wrote: »
    Sure why would they? It's an ignored area of the city and they know what's going to happen in the next election anyway. Doorstepping in Jobstown will be a waste of their time.

If it's ignored, why were they holding a Graduating cermony? That is doing something positive and was hijacked by this "peaceful" protest.

niallo27 wrote: »
    I would not consider the protest in Jobstown as physical violence.

Keeping a woman in a car for 2 hours, while the car is rocked and shaken?
    Throwing water gallons at someone?
    Throwing bricks at gardai?

What exactly do you consider physical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

bubblypop wrote: »
    Keeping a woman in a car for 2 hours, while the car is rocked and shaken?
    Throwing water gallons at someone?
    Throwing bricks at gardai?

What exactly do you consider physical?

Someone getting hurt.

So its not physical violence until someone ends up in hospital??

Seriously? What if that brick hit someone on the head, they fell, then died? Would that mean that the act of throwing a brick was violent because it resulted in injury/death, but if it didn't hit anything then its not a violent act?

bubblypop wrote: »
    So its not physical violence until someone ends up in hospital??

Seriously? What if that brick hit someone on the head, they fell, then died? Would that mean that the act of throwing a brick was violent because it resulted in injury/death, but if it didn't hit anything then its not a violent act?

I wasn't aware the brick was thrown in Jobstown. No that is not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Brick being thrown was not part of this particular protest but happened later on in the day. And of course that a violent act, the media needed to juice things up though as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I wasn't aware the brick was thrown in Jobstown. No that is not on.

Are you living under a rock? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

crusher000 wrote: »
    Brick being thrown was not part of this particular protest but happened later on in the day. And of course that a violent act, the media needed to juice things up though as usual.

Nice to be able to pick and choose what parts were the protest.

Are you living under a rock? :eek:

The poster above said it wasnt part of the protest that day so which is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Someone getting hurt.

I would consider surrounding someone's car and rocking it while shouting abuse at the passanger for 3 hours and throwing stuff at them in a clear attempt to intimidate them to be violence indeed.

That's without even mentioning the brick incident.

And still it is the case that nobody seems to have a clear answer as to how these stunts can help defeat the water charges, least of all Paul Murphy. I'd rather my Government Ministers are allowed to do their job without being subject to intimidation though, if it's all the same.

Nice to be able to pick and choose what parts were the protest.
    Blame the rags for that not me, I didn't decide a photo of a thug throwing a brick would be a nice link to the protest holding Joan Bruton in her car. But look if I have influence over the media like that I'd be running the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Murphy is a classic example of the vertically-challenged champagne socialist. He arrives in from Blackrock with his romanticised vision of the working class and his stages theory of socialism. And acts like a spoiled prick. Meanwhile the true working class are out working and not acting the prick with arseholes like Murphy.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    I would consider surrounding someone's car and rocking it while shouting abuse at the passanger for 3 hours and throwing stuff at them in a clear attempt to intimidate them to be violence indeed.

And still it is the case that nobody seems to have a clear answer as to how these stunts can help defeat the water charges, least of all Paul Murphy. I'd rather my Government Ministers are allowed to do their job without being subject to intimidation though, if it's all the same.

Glad your happy with their work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

That was the line that Paul Murphy tried to spin too. The protests were entirely peaceful therefore anyone who was causing trouble was not part of the protest.

Nonsense of course.

Jesus they will love you. No wonder we are getting ****ed over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Don't worry Niall.

Just 18 months to go before all the government is swept from power & Irelands glory is restored with the election of Taoiseach Gerry Adams or Taoiseach Joe Higgins.

How are you getting ****ed over? You live in a prosperous and peaceful Western social democracy. Time to put away your auld Che t-shirt and Rage Against The Machine albums, and recognise that change comes about through pragmatism and compromise, not lawless thuggery masquerading as protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭AlanG

I pay income tax. I always have. Why are you trying to portray a divide

Because if the protestors get their way then the people who pay water tax will have to pay more to subsidies those who get free water and sewerage treatment services. The service wont cost any less - the cost will be spread among a smaller group of people.

Murphy is a classic example of the vertically-challenged champagne socialist. He arrives in from Blackrock with his romanticised vision of the working class and his stages theory of socialism. And acts like a spoiled prick. Meanwhile the true working class are out working and not acting the prick with arseholes like Murphy.

If you want democracy this is it, he was elected by the people of the area in an open election. But if he doesn't suit your views on things then the electorate got it wrong. I'm not from there so have no vote but have to respect the position of the people that did vote for him. Maybe yuo should organise a protest to get him thrown out of the Dail

How are you getting ****ed over? You live in a prosperous and peaceful Western social democracy. Time to put away your auld Che t-shirt and Rage Against The Machine albums, and recognise that change comes about through pragmatism and compromise, not lawless thuggery masquerading as protest.

What change though. What had ever changed in this country.

You seem to be a great man for tarring everybody with the same brush.

Just the people holding a woman hostage against her will in this protest.

Don't worry Niall.

Just 18 months to go before all the government is swept from power & Irelands glory is restored with the election of Taoiseach Gerry Adams or Taoiseach Joe Higgins.

Your right it's a lose-lose situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

The working class are rising up against the ineptitude & cronyism of Government - it's only the beginning. We will see it in other countries in the not too distant future.

If you want democracy this is it, he was elected by the people of the area in an open election. But if he doesn't suit your views on things then the electorate got it wrong. I'm not from there so have no vote but have to respect the position of the people that did vote for him. Maybe yuo should organise a protest to get him thrown out of the Dail

He was elected to the Dail. Doesn't mean I don't think he's a jumped-up little arsehole who loves the type of thuggery that took place on Saturday. Joan Burton is 10 times the socialist he will ever be. Because she has protected the vulnerable while being part of a Government who had to deal with extraordinary financial circumstances. Murphy believes in paying for nothing and having everything ran by the state. A complete spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Glad your happy with their work.

I am reasonably happy with their work but that's irrelevent - citizens (including elected reps) should be able to do their work without being subjected to intimidation, I don't care if it's Enda Kenny or Gerry Adams, or indeed Paul Murphy. This is a democracy - respect it.

More antics from the "peaceful protestors" by the way
    - this is getting fcuking dangerous. A threat like this to elected reps is an attack on our democracy - fcuk anyone who would do it.

He was elected to the Dail. Doesn't mean I don't think he's a jumped-up little arsehole who loves the type of thuggery that took place on Saturday. Joan Burton is 10 times the socialist he will ever be. Because she has protected the vulnerable while being part of a Government who had to deal with extraordinary financial circumstances. Murphy believes in paying for nothing and having everything ran by the state. A complete spoofer.

A well paid socialist may I add.

But you you're not taking the people that are protesting and are income tax payers into account. Your 'we' and 'they' argument is weak because there were plenty of tax payers at protests all around the country over the last few weeks.

There were plenty of income tax payers at the protests but many of them I have spoken to seem to think the if the protests are successful they will be better off. This is highly unlikely as the water and sewerage treatment will have to be funded from central tax instead of on a usage basis and income tax payers pay proportionally more into central funding than the average water user. Therefore if the protests get rid of Irish water then income tax payers will end up paying proportionately more for their water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Someone getting hurt.

You don't call this mob behaviour physical then? Physically restraining a woman in her 60's from getting out of a car for over 2 hours while banging on the roof is not physical? The threat of violence is acceptable to you?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gu42hhXCLUs

They've done the anti-water charge cause some massive damage with this. Pure thuggery.

I am reasonably happy with their work but that's irrelevent - citizens (including elected reps) should be able to do their work without being subjected to intimidation, I don't care if it's Enda Kenny or Gerry Adams, or indeed Paul Murphy. This is a democracy - respect it.

More antics from the "peaceful protestors" by the way
    - this is getting fcuking dangerous. A threat like this to elected reps is an attack on our democracy - fcuk anyone who would do it.

Well if it was in the Independent it has to be true. It's a rag of a paper.

Shrap wrote: »
    You don't call this mob behaviour physical then? Physically restraining a woman in her 60's from getting out of a car for over 2 hours while banging on the roof is not physical? The threat of violence is acceptable to you?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gu42hhXCLUs

They've done the anti-water charge cause some massive damage with this. Pure thuggery.

Where were the Guards ? How many people were arrested ?.

They do a good job of minding the Irish Water meter installers and they did a good job here as well.