Russell Brand on water charges! Do your worst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

c_man wrote: »
    Regardless, I don't accept that you (and others) are not capable of a simple google search.

That's ok, we don't mind if you accept it or not. Maybe we're not that interested in his past work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

We're already paying for water through general taxation. Being asked to pay for something twice, and which has been made a complete balls of by the gov == people pissed off.

I did a search online to learn more about this 'taxed twice for water' concept but I couldn't find anything concrete about it, only some bits like comments from protesters who were marching and referred to it. Do you have something you could link to so I can read up on it? If that is the case then the frustration could be more understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

iDave wrote: »
    The only funny thing about him is his pathetic attempt to re-brand (pun not intended) himself as some sort of intellectual fighting for the common man. Odd he needed to go down the populist route after his shameful prank-call stunt.

This isn't new with him. Although he does seem to be more politically focused of late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Rabo Karabekian

elefant wrote: »
    I did a search online to learn more about this 'taxed twice for water' concept but I couldn't find anything concrete about it, only some bits like comments from protesters who were marching and referred to it. Do you have something you could link to so I can read up on it? If that is the case then the frustration could be more understandable.

You don't need a link to it. We have been paying for water prior to Irish Water through general taxation. How else do you think it was being paid for?

Now, with Irish Water, we will be charged a further amount for water. Hence the being 'charged twice'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

Has quite the track record of offending people with different accents, does Russell.

That's the only remotely interesting thing about him

I find it funny when people comment like this!
    I am sure Russell would be offended by ... who??

That's ok, we don't mind if you accept it or not. Maybe we're not that interested in his past work :)

I actually remember him back when he worked for MTV on the dance scene.
    He used to be off his chops half the time but he was pretty funny, I think MTV had to give him the boot as he was out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

You don't need a link to it. We have been paying for water prior to Irish Water through general taxation. How else do you think it was being paid for?

Now, with Irish Water, we will be charged a further amount for water. Hence the being 'charged twice'.

So "general taxation" doesn't cover power showers, overfull cisterns, broken public and private infrastructure and general wastefulness- then what? The Irish public are so conscientious that they can absolutely be trusted to look after the future of water in Ireland without having to pay for what they use, is it?

It's a big money hole. The setting up of IW is shady as hell, protest all you like about that for sure but don't be fooled by the great unwashed benefitters who are only complaining because they're not liable for property tax or universal social charge and are finally being called to task about something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

Is Road Tax also double-taxation then?

Also, what happens if more funds are needed to keep water services functioning? Do we take money from other important services? Or does general taxation need to be raised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I find it funny when people comment like this!
    I am sure Russell would be offended by ... who??

I was referring to him as the offender, not the offendee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

elefant wrote: »
    Is Road Tax also double-taxation then?

Sure is.

So where do you draw the line? Never?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'd take it more seriously if he dropped the accent and didn't dress like a nun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I think he's alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

So why even ask?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

So why even ask?!

I didn't. Someone else wasn't sure who he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I need to wash (sparingly) after watching him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Fair play to him. What other Irish celebrity is helping us out. Is Bono? It takes a British bloke to.

I see he's making an appearance on American TV next week on the same day as Garth Brooks. Wonder would he care about Irish Water as much as Russell Brand? ... Though I doubt he's there to tell the Americans about our fight with Irish Water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,021 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

He makes some very valid points.

86 Million in Consultants???

Huge tax deficit paid by large businesses? And before anyone jumps in with "what would you prefer - that they leave?" the answer is no, but they can pay a little more than currently I am sure. I'm not talking about the 2 Billion needed (apparently) to fix and maintain the infrastructure, but a greater contribution.

Further, absolutely nothing was said to the public in terms of water conservation before this was slapped on as another tax. If they were concerned about irish water as a resource, perhaps some education in the same manner as energy conservation would have been in order.

It is clearly a money grab and the Government are being called on it.

Hope more comedians/public figures make videos about it.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

Fair play to him. What other Irish celebrity is helping us out. Is Bono? It takes a British bloke to.

I see he's making an appearance on American TV next week on the same day as Garth Brooks. Wonder would he care about Irish Water as much as Russell Brand? ... Though I doubt he's there to tell the Americans about our fight with Irish Water.

It's posts like this that highlight the issues with our great nation. What makes you think that he gives a s**t? Why would he?? Stop looking at shouty celebrities to tell you how to think and start making your own mind up. Here's exactly what Garth and Russ feel about Irish people:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

How do you know we weren't being charged three times. Or four.
    Have you got an itemised receipt for your "general" taxation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,021 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I think Rabo's point is that we would be paying for water with tax, more than just the once.

You suggest three times, or four.

It appears ye are both in agreement then so.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

I love how he shows his solidarity with the Irish people by putting on a grotesque parody of our accent throughout the video.

No doubt when he deals with Ebola in his news show he'll adopt a "hilarious" stereotyped African accent (and maybe dress up as a witchdoctor or put on blackface too!).

I was referring to him as the offender, not the offendee.

No I got that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭hju6

I need to wash (sparingly) after watching him.

No, you need to scrub the racism out of yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭cometogether

Fair play to Russell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Here you go

http://publicpolicy.ie/where-does-your-tax-go/#middle-link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I thought we were past the stage where Brits go around sticking their nose in Irelands business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

I thought we were past the stage where Brits go around sticking their nose in Irelands business.

The Germans have been doing it for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Is it OK that i ****ing hate this guy with a passion. I cannot stand him.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Is it OK that i ****ing hate this guy with a passion. I cannot stand him.

It is, I hate him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

This from a guy who clearly never uses water.

I've almost gone thirsty not being able to control myself from the laughter of reading this beyond witty post.