Romantic or cringy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Cathy.C wrote: »
    It can be both romantic and cringy.
    Makes me want to puke when I see people being romantic with one another but we've all been there.
    Last teddy bear I got was a vibrating one. Well, it's nose vibrated anyway.
    A card came with it that said 'The Bear That Loves You Back'.
    The man is gone but I still love the bear and he me.

You dumped the guy for the teddy, didn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,803 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I've only sent my OH flowers on occasions such as her birthday and Christmas.

There was another occasion where she was feeling s***e due to her depression that I sent her a bouquet, and it cheered her up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I hate getting flowers........

.......said no woman ever!

I have.

Detest them.
    And if he dared with that sh!t, I'd ground them into the floor. Then make him clean up.

Chocolate now, that's a different story ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I'm not really good at that sort of thing so rarely give compliments. I would never send a teddy bear to somebody, that's alien to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

I don't seem to attract men that go for romantic gestures so I wouldn't mind it for a change. I've no use for a teddy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

jeepers101 wrote: »
    What's a PDA?

Had to Google that nonsense myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,725 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

... so have I just made a huge mistake buying a heart-shaped box-set of 99 iPhone 6s off a guy in China? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

She should marry him asap. That'll put an end to any romantic overtures or PDA.
    Amirite?

Don't keep me hanging *raises hi five* :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I think the teddy had a flower in its hand. :)

It doesn't get much cringier than that. The shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Don't ever buy a girl flowers, get her a plant instead. Preferably a perennial one, you get more value for money that way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

If ever I'm going to visit a grave or visit someone in a hospital and I'm low on funds, I'll just spray on some Impulse and bring whatever flowers men run up and give me on the way there.

Saves me a fortune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

If ever I'm going to visit a grave or visit someone in a hospital and I'm low on funds, I'll just spray on some Impulse and bring whatever flowers men run up and give me on the way there.

Saves me a fortune.

Me too, but they get ruined when I frantically run after any man wearing Lynx. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Saves me a fortune.
    Me too, but they get ruined when I frantically run after any man wearing Lynx. :(

No wonder the A&E's are so busy. People running all over the place colliding with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

No wonder the A&E's are so busy. People running all over the place colliding with each other.

Something something about 'falling in lurve' /groan :p

PDA's, insincere 'compliments', etc, nah, not into any of that at all, and as for the guy in that story on the radio - sounds like he was more in love with himself!

Something something about 'falling in lurve' /groan :p

PDA's, insincere 'compliments', etc, nah, not into any of that at all, and as for the guy in that story on the radio - sounds like he was more in love with himself!

Why do they have to be insincere? In his mind they could be sincere but just come off as cheesy.

That's the thing - if the compliment is sincere, it never comes off as cheesy (provided s/he's not making a point of mentioning it like ten times a day and what have ya! :D), context is everything really.

Ahh I don't know about that now. What if a fella said you're the most beautiful girl in the whole of Leinster?

Well if you were sincerely to believe that yourself, y'know, all about context. I tend to be fairly blunt in how I say things anyway, sometimes that goes down like a lead balloon, sometimes they get it and it's all good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

I'm not very romantic but I do love to get flowers every now and then. I think the teddy being sent into her work place is a bit too cringy... but that's just me some women love that fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Hold the Cheez Whiz

bluewolf wrote: »
    A friend sent me some flowers before as a surprise when I was down in the dumps and I loved em. Other than that I don't like getting flowers. They'll die and I'm useless at trying to make them not be dead any longer

If I give people plants, I usually give herbs. Mint, for example, is almost impossible to kill, and you can make mojitos out of it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cosmicfox

I have friends who adore that sort of thing but it'd put me off.

Different strokes I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

Oh God Teddy Bears to work is all a bit morto isn't it? I'd even find flowers to work cringey. I love getting compliments off my other half. He tells me I'm "****ing gorgeous" regularly. The old romantic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I like little romantic things, but not if they're purely for embarrassing or showiness. Attention seeking ****e.

I think it's weird that people don't expect or aren't comfortable with getting compliments while in a relationship. My boyfriend compliments me quite often, I'd find it wweird if he didn't. I try to remember to verbalise the nice things I think about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Gongoozler wrote: »

I think it's weird that people don't expect or aren't comfortable with getting compliments while in a relationship. My boyfriend compliments me quite often, I'd find it wweird if he didn't. I try to remember to verbalise the nice things I think about him.

I'm not comfortable with getting compliments in any situation.
    It stems from years of bullying leading to very poor self esteem at times. It's getting better in that I now don't genuinely believe people are lying to me when they compliment me, but it's still the first reaction I have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

I think I can be a bit excessive with getting things for friends in general, usually small things that seem like they'd be useful to another person or somewhat specific to that person. I'm pretty bad at compliments so I win up overcompensating here. Only seem to ever weird out a few male friends, and even then it's not too common.

Yer man sounds like a sap; a teddy bear is horrid generic (although maybe there was something specific about that one, I doubt it), and making a big scene out of giving a gift is just pathetically egotistical imo ...I bet he's the kind of guy who'd propose on live tv.

RE: PDAs. I pretty much hate doing them, to an extreme, crazy person degree (the girl I'm currently seeing seems very into them and I'm like a ticking time bomb with it). There's nothing wrong with people doing it once it's not for exhibitionistic reasons ...even then it's grand once that's a mutual motive, I guess. It doesn't bother me too much when others do it anyway and I'm not gonna attempt to judge any individual instances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

sup_dude wrote: »
    I'm not comfortable with getting compliments in any situation.
    It stems from years of bullying leading to very poor self esteem at times. It's getting better in that I now don't genuinely believe people are lying to me when they compliment me, but it's still the first reaction I have.

Same here, with many of the same issues I suppose, but I'm getting better, and I suppose it's just a different thing for your partner. I still feel odd but not as odd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I hate getting compliments, people just seem insincere. I'm lucky in my relationship he doesn't do the overload of compliments or whatever. He'll tell me if I look nice or hell tell me he loves my eyes but not very often.

We hold hands a lot, shopping, cinema, walking on the street, doesn't matter. It's probably the only PDA we do. When he's angry and shouting at me, I hold his hand too because he can't stay mad then.

I'd find that "omg ur so pretti" kind of stuff really off putting now to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Before getting with my boyfriend, I hated PDAs and romantic sh!te. He is super soppy though, always complimenting me and regularly buying me flowers or little surprises. He is also a compulsive hand holder when we're out. We couldn't have more than a peck on the lips outside or he would embarrass himself!! I often buy him small gifts or even just giving him a backrub or making him his favourite dinner/ dessert. I think it is just about being thoughtful. I would often send friends flowers or send little cards out of the blue too. Maybe I am just a big sap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Cant help but think that the guy from the OP wanted the woman to be told by all her co-workers how wonderful and romantic he was, and how lucky she was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I would die of embarrassment if my boyfriend sent anything to my job. It is a place where I am a professional- the idea of having something showy from my relationship sent there makes me feel sick.

And teddy bears are for children!