Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Romantic or cringy?

• 12-11-2014 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

There was something I heard on the radio today that got me thinking. Basically a girl had texted in saying her boyfriend was very romantic and always surprising her, but sometimes it was embarrassing and a bit too much. For example, on her birthday he sent a teddy in a box to her office. He's always telling other people how lovely she is and so on, and she was feeling a bit uncomfortable with it all but he wouldn't listen apparently.

It got me thinking about compliments in particular. Telling a girl she has lovely eyes for example, or other over the top flattery - just romantic gestures in general. Have you ever been in this situation? When does romantic become cringy? I've always been a bit shy when it comes to PDA's myself and depending on the location/situation, I sometimes find it a bit cringy seeing others doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

I'm f**king awful at PDAs but I can do some pretty decent romantic stuff apparently (sending random flowers to her office, bringing her for dinner, getting the restaurant to write happy birthday in chocolate on her desert cause i know she'd hate that cupcake + candle + singing thing)

I guess it differs from one person to the next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

If it's genuine, it's rarely cringey.

If it's a list of corny 'compliments' you've learned off google then it sounds terrible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Sauve wrote: »

If it's a list of corny 'compliments' you've learned off google then it sounds terrible!

"You've decent set of childbearing hips on ya"

They swoon at that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

You've good road frontage, sure I'm lucky to have you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 geegeebeebee

There was something I heard on the radio today that got me thinking. Basically a girl had texted in saying her boyfriend was very romantic and always surprising her, but sometimes it was embarrassing and a bit too much. For example, on her birthday he sent a teddy in a box to her office. He's always telling other people how lovely she is and so on, and she was feeling a bit uncomfortable with it all but he wouldn't listen apparently.

It got me thinking about compliments in particular. Telling a girl she has lovely eyes for example, or other over the top flattery - just romantic gestures in general. Have you ever been in this situation? When does romantic become cringy? I've always been a bit shy when it comes to PDA's myself and depending on the location/situation, I sometimes find it a bit cringy seeing others doing it.

that just sounds very ott ! ive been in a similar situation, if i was in a shop and looked at something , he would go away and buy it . flowers , presents ect ... it was far too much.
    sometimes the smaller gestures are less cringy and actually mean more . grand gesterures all the time , to me it feels like they are just trying to buy you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,991 ✭✭✭✭fits

I'd hate it if I got a teddy at the office. I'm a grown woman! :puke:
    flowers on the other hand are lovely and always welcome (but not necessarily at the office)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭jeepers101

What's a PDA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

jeepers101 wrote: »
    What's a PDA?

Ya just beat me to it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Public Display of Affection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

I hate getting flowers........

.......said no woman ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

What's a PDA?
    Ya just beat me to it!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_digital_assistant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 geegeebeebee

i actually dont like flowers ! bloody things make me sneeze

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

For example, on her birthday he sent a teddy in a box to her office.

Sap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

If the woman fancies the man she'll think its romantic, if she does not she considers it cringy. Simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Hm, you should meet my girlfriend then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Well I don't think you need google to tell someone they have beautiful eyes. :D But depending on the stage of the relationship, it may or may not be cringy/OTT. I mean telling someone you just met that they have beautiful eyes may be a bit much, or is it?

A friend sent me some flowers before as a surprise when I was down in the dumps and I loved em. Other than that I don't like getting flowers. They'll die and I'm useless at trying to make them not be dead any longer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

They said to say it with flowers...

So I sent her a cactus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Why would any grown woman want a teddy bear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I hate PDAs (yay! New word!)...

I'm not a very romantic woman and in public, it might extend to a peck on the cheek/lips when we're heading seperate ways, on the odd occassion we do go out together in public. There's generally no hand holding or anything like that. I just don't get the necessity of showing everyone how you're a couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I love teddy bears :o

I think the teddy had a flower in its hand. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Well I don't think you need google to tell someone they have beautiful eyes. :D But depending on the stage of the relationship, it may or may not be cringy/OTT. I mean telling someone you just met that they have beautiful eyes may be a bit much, or is it?

I've often been told I have beautiful eyes and don't mind it at all.....

stops them looking at my cleavage....... :p :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

There's a fine line between sweet and cringy. The occassional, perfectly timed witty compliment or romantic gesture is fine. Constantly giving a girl corny compliments becomes cringe inducing though. In fact, it smacks of insecurity and clinginess.

I'd have thought that once you're well into a relationship that all that shyte tapers off! Like if I was with a guy for aix months and he started raving about my gorgeous eyes I'd be rolling my eyes a bit.
    Then again, I'm a bit of a hard eejit when it comes to the soppy stuff, I just can't do any of it!

Well yeah I suppose saying that to someone you've been with for a long time would be even more weird. Some girls just don't take compliments very well in general though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Sending soft toys to someone's place of work is a definite no no. It's nice to receive flowers at work from time to time, but sending gifts to someone at work very often just makes the sender looks desperate and needy and no woman wants that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭allym

I was listening to that as well, and the woman didn't really have a problem with the romantic gestures in general, but felt it was a bit embarrassing to send her things at work. She'd explained this to him and asked him not to do it, but he kept it up.

That to me kind of sounds like the guy is more concerned with other people thinking he's romantic, than his girlfriend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Like if I was with a guy for six months and he started raving about my gorgeous whatever I'd be rolling my eyes a bit.

After six months you'd be lucky to get much more than "that'll do pig"... In an affectionate way of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

PDAs are fine when they only happen now and then. Anything more than that is a bit cringy and clingy and I'd feel suffocated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

It can be both romantic and cringy.
    Makes me want to puke when I see people being romantic with one another but we've all been there.
    Last teddy bear I got was a vibrating one. Well, it's nose vibrated anyway.
    A card came with it that said 'The Bear That Loves You Back'.
    The man is gone but I still love the bear and he me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Cathy.C wrote: »
    It can be both romantic and cringy.
    Makes me want to puke when I see people being romantic with one another but we've all been there.
    Last teddy bear I got was a vibrating one. Well, it's nose vibrated anyway.
    A card came with it that said 'The Bear That Loves You Back'.
    The man is gone but I still love the bear and he me.

You dumped the guy for the teddy, didn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I've only sent my OH flowers on occasions such as her birthday and Christmas.

There was another occasion where she was feeling s***e due to her depression that I sent her a bouquet, and it cheered her up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I have.

Detest them.
    And if he dared with that sh!t, I'd ground them into the floor. Then make him clean up.

Chocolate now, that's a different story ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I'm not really good at that sort of thing so rarely give compliments. I would never send a teddy bear to somebody, that's alien to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

I don't seem to attract men that go for romantic gestures so I wouldn't mind it for a change. I've no use for a teddy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

What's a PDA?

Had to Google that nonsense myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

... so have I just made a huge mistake buying a heart-shaped box-set of 99 iPhone 6s off a guy in China? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

She should marry him asap. That'll put an end to any romantic overtures or PDA.
    Amirite?

Don't keep me hanging *raises hi five* :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I think the teddy had a flower in its hand. :)

It doesn't get much cringier than that. The shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Don't ever buy a girl flowers, get her a plant instead. Preferably a perennial one, you get more value for money that way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

If ever I'm going to visit a grave or visit someone in a hospital and I'm low on funds, I'll just spray on some Impulse and bring whatever flowers men run up and give me on the way there.

Saves me a fortune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

If ever I'm going to visit a grave or visit someone in a hospital and I'm low on funds, I'll just spray on some Impulse and bring whatever flowers men run up and give me on the way there.

Saves me a fortune.

Me too, but they get ruined when I frantically run after any man wearing Lynx. :(

Saves me a fortune.
    Me too, but they get ruined when I frantically run after any man wearing Lynx. :(

No wonder the A&E's are so busy. People running all over the place colliding with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

No wonder the A&E's are so busy. People running all over the place colliding with each other.

Something something about 'falling in lurve' /groan :p

PDA's, insincere 'compliments', etc, nah, not into any of that at all, and as for the guy in that story on the radio - sounds like he was more in love with himself!

Something something about 'falling in lurve' /groan :p

PDA's, insincere 'compliments', etc, nah, not into any of that at all, and as for the guy in that story on the radio - sounds like he was more in love with himself!

Why do they have to be insincere? In his mind they could be sincere but just come off as cheesy.

That's the thing - if the compliment is sincere, it never comes off as cheesy (provided s/he's not making a point of mentioning it like ten times a day and what have ya! :D), context is everything really.

Ahh I don't know about that now. What if a fella said you're the most beautiful girl in the whole of Leinster?

Well if you were sincerely to believe that yourself, y'know, all about context. I tend to be fairly blunt in how I say things anyway, sometimes that goes down like a lead balloon, sometimes they get it and it's all good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

I'm not very romantic but I do love to get flowers every now and then. I think the teddy being sent into her work place is a bit too cringy... but that's just me some women love that fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Hold the Cheez Whiz

bluewolf wrote: »
    A friend sent me some flowers before as a surprise when I was down in the dumps and I loved em. Other than that I don't like getting flowers. They'll die and I'm useless at trying to make them not be dead any longer

If I give people plants, I usually give herbs. Mint, for example, is almost impossible to kill, and you can make mojitos out of it. :)