Two minute silence at 11am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭BrookieD

yes i was silent and yes i wear a poppy. proud to and will never change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I can only speak for myself but that's certainly not who I remember.

Ah heyore you can't be sectarian and leave out the brave lads in the UDR, even if they did like to use different initials at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Complete over simplification. People fought for different motivations. In Ireland men fought fought for economic reasons, for Home Rule and a genuine desire to protect Ireland. Our image of the war has become distorted due to the prominence of the war poets within the cultural narrative.

All sold a pup. Were the war poets some propaganda conspiracy then?

War is rats, disease, gas in the air, mud, blood and body parts.

Long may our image of the war remain 'distorted'.

OSI wrote: »
    Do I wear an Easter lily? No. Do I wear a poppy either? No. But then I don't crack on every Easter with a thread on how celebrating the Irish independence movement is also glorifying a few lads blowing up 29 innocent civilians.

Did'nt realise the volunteers had access to that much explosives in 1916 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,601 ✭✭✭OldRio

[QUOTE=Timberrrrrrrr;92992032

]Listen kiddo

You can think what you want, spin what you want and believe what you want. I will wear the poppy for MY reasons and not the hysterical reasons you want to force on everyone. Don't like that? Feel free to avoid the threads with the word poppy in them so as not to upset your delicate feelings. Either that or feel free to approach me in the street and make your feelings known to my face.[/QUOTE]

Deary me. So aggressive. Sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

OldRio wrote: »
    Deary me. So aggressive. Sad

Yes it is, it seems that poster don't like people having different opinions than him,even though this is a discussion forum where people give there different opinions all the time,maybe he had a bad day.

OSI wrote: »
    I didn't realise the lads in the trenches at Flanders were shooting civilians in Derry in 1972 either, but heh apparently it's all analogous.

Can you see where your comparison falls down? Gwan, have a go there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,601 ✭✭✭OldRio

That post reminds me of a 4 year old shouting and stamping his feet because no matter how loudly he shouts no one will listen to him. Am done here see you all next year.

I missed that post. Wow, accusing somebody of being like a 4 year old and then................................spits the dummy out and acts like a 4 year old and runs away.

Great way to make a point I'm sure.:confused:
    Beggars belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Rather conflicted on the whole issue-3 great granduncles on my paternal side Went off to fight with one getting killed in France.I Think I take a live and let live attitude,whatever a persons choice to wear one or not should be respected.

It is a bit of a thorny issue with the BA's history in Ireland,yet many Young Irishmen also serve.

I just hope that if there is a fight on the street between timberrrr and fta69, it will be much better quality than the offerring in Sligo Town on the "Fight Fight Fight " thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

crockholm wrote: »
    Rather conflicted on the whole issue-3 great granduncles on my paternal side Went off to fight with one getting killed in France.I Think I take a live and let live attitude,whatever a persons choice to wear one or not should be respected.

It is a bit of a thorny issue with the BA's history in Ireland,yet many Young Irishmen also serve.

I just hope that if there is a fight on the street between timberrrr and fta69, it will be much better quality than the offerring in Sligo Town on the "Fight Fight Fight " thread.

I suppose they just pay better than Ryanair

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Packrat wrote: »
    What's the minute's silence for? I genuinely didn't know until I read the thread.

What I've learned: Some clowns who watch too much British TV and aren't really aware that they live and come from a different country have bought into the "our boys abroad Fighting For freedom" bullcrap think it should be observed here.

Why don't ye put it on your Facebook status instead, - that's about the level of the intellectual thought it deserves.

Also, - come back and let us know how you get on.

There was another thread recently looking for examples of irony.

Well look no further. There's a shítload of it going on in that post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

OldRio wrote: »
    Great way to make a point I'm sure.

You can take the man out of the British Army.. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

I think it is important to remember those who died in all wars, and I suppose because of the the day and year thats in it, WW1 makes the biggest mark.

My gripe though is that a sizeable number of people dont seem to focus on actual rememberence/reflection at all. Instead they use it as yet another opportunity to self flaggelate about how awful Ireland is, and how we have a shameful past, and that those who dont wear poppies are no better than IRA murderers.

Aswell as that, I see the whole "Great War", "the greatest sacrifice" stuff as overcompensating. They knew that WW1 accomplished absolutely nothing except death and misery for the soldiers who fought, so it gets played up as THE war of wars to try and convince people that the unbelievable sacrifice of lives and livelihoods was somehow worth it.

You dont hear people lionise WW2 to the same extent as "The Greater War", because WW2 speaks for itself. Everyone knows that something was actually achieved in that war, the lives spent and blood spilt seemed worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

urbanledge wrote: »
    If a tree falls down and theres no one around does it make a sound?

No Because there is no ear to translate the pressure wave into an electrical signal your brain can recognise as a sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

The people left behind to pick up the pieces seem to be forgotten in the rush to lionise the dead; after all, for those who were killed it was all over. For those who were mentally and physically damaged and for those left without Fathers and Brothers it was only the beginning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Hermy wrote: »
    If the message was 'War is Wrong' then maybe.
    But as it's more about portraying the millions of deaths as some noble cause then no.

Whether war is right or wrong is irrelevant. The fact of the matter is millions of men, some only teenagers died and there bravery should be honoured. Whether their bravery was for a 'right' or 'wrong' cause should not matter if you have any semblance of moral fibre in your being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Nope. Manipulative guilt tripping enterprise to ensure future mindless promotion and acceptance of rich powerful people sending poor powerless people to kill other poor powerless people so they can get the other rich powerful people's nice things. Not for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭Deenie123

Aswell as that, I see the whole "Great War", "the greatest sacrifice" stuff as overcompensating. They knew that WW1 accomplished absolutely nothing except death and misery for the soldiers who fought, so it gets played up as THE war of wars to try and convince people that the unbelievable sacrifice of lives and livelihoods was somehow worth it.

You dont hear people lionise WW2 to the same extent as "The Greater War", because WW2 speaks for itself. Everyone knows that something was actually achieved in that war, the lives spent and blood spilt seemed worth it.

I actually think you couldn't be further from the truth. I think people focus on WWI because of the irony of it being sold as the war to end all wars, because it was mindless slaughter of innocents by their commanding officers, because it was all just a game to people in grand war rooms moving "armies" around and redrawing lines on a map, because WWI was where ancient battle tactics merged with modern warfare weapons to create absolute destruction of human life in some of the cruelest manners imaginable, because a whole generation was wiped out, because those that lived continued to live the war for the rest of their lives, because when you're in France and you see row after row after row after row after row of uniform headstones and you think "this is only one small graveyard" you can't help but realize the enormity of how many lives were sacraficed for NOTHING.

I think people remember WWI, lest we forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

no matter how loudly he shouts no one will listen to him.

So you speak for me and other posters now? No you don't, so cop on and leave out the silly sweeping generalisations.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Is Easter early or late next year? Just making sure I have ordered my lily in time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

strobe wrote: »
    Nope. Manipulative guilt tripping enterprise to ensure future mindless promotion and acceptance of rich powerful people sending poor powerless people to kill other poor powerless people so they can get the other rich powerful people's nice things. Not for me.

Could you explain how the rich and powerful benefitted from WWII?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No.

I've never heard of it being a widespread practice here in Ireland to observe a minutes silence for those who died in the 2 wars.

WW1 was a slaughter of young men sent over the trenches to be cut down by bullets or if they refused due to naturally being afraid (many were only 16 and 17) they faced a firing squad.

If it was today some of those commanders would be up on war crimes, even the British Government turned a blind eye to the fact that many of the boys were even younger than 16.

Many young Irish lads fought based on the vague promise of Home Rule, it's debatable even if there was no Rising would it ever have been granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Packrat

No.

I've never heard of it being a widespread practice here in Ireland to observe a minutes silence for those who died in the 2 wars.

WW1 was a slaughter of young men sent over the trenches to be cut down by bullets or if they refused due to naturally being afraid (many were only 16 and 17) they faced a firing squad.

If it was today some of those commanders would be up on war crimes, even the British Government turned a blind eye to the fact that many of the boys were even younger than 16.

Many young Irish lads fought based on the vague promise of Home Rule, it's debatable even if there was no Rising would it ever have been granted.

Not really debatable at all (except by John the Unionist Bruton) Historians are unequivocal about it. Without the guerilla war of independence, there would have NO independence. Ever.

Could you explain how the rich and powerful benefitted from WWII?

I could, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

strobe wrote: »
    I could, yes.

Yet your not.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Yet your not.

And here we sit. It's publicly available, intensely researched, relentlessly published and endlessly documented information. Look it up, or not, whatever's your fancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

I'll be wearing a commemorative butternut squash for Saint Swithuns day this year. Controversial I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭Deenie123

I had hoped to be able to find online the text to Robert Graves' poem "November 11th" but, as it was only published for the first time this year, I've had no success. It's published in "First World War: Poems from the Front", which is worth a read.
    The poem asks: “Why are they cheering and shouting?”, calling them “the froth of the city” and “the thoughtless and ignorant scum / Who hang out the bunting when war is let loose / And for victory bang on a drum.”

Meanwhile “the boys who were killed in the battle” are “peacefully sleeping on pallets of mud”. He was persuaded not to publish the poem at the time and released a toned-down version in 1969, saying it had been unprintable until then.

http://www.oxfordtimes.co.uk/leisure/books/11379425.print/

I think it's important to remember all those boys (many actually just boys) killed for someone else's war games and outdated notions of dulce et decorum est pro patria mori, lying in the mud and blood and surrounded by poppys. The British Legion may have adopted the poppy to mean all of their forces in all of their conflicts, but the poppy is undeniably and inextricably associated with WWI.