Do you know what you want from your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Bhopkov wrote: »
    Addiction to thought causes untold suffering. Learn to stop thinking occasionally, it's therapeutic.

I do yoga, I swim and I dance. They allow me to take time off from thinking. I agree it's therapeutic to stop thinking occasionally, however, some people could do with thinking occasionally.

PS. I think Srameen was suggesting I stop thinking, full stop, not occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

Fair play for a quality posting.

To answer , probably not , but after 42 years I do know what I don't want , I do know what I need.

I think you may have misinterpreted one suggestion , to live in the moment , stop thinking about the past and the future.

It's all good though no matter what

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    Fair play for a quality posting.

To answer , probably not , but after 42 years I do know what I don't want , I do know what I need.

I think you may have misinterpreted one suggestion , to live in the moment , stop thinking about the past and the future.

It's all good though no matter what

Thanks, hawkwind.

Are you referring to the 'stop thinking' comments when you say I may have misinterpreted one suggestion? I think living in the moment is different to shutting off your thoughts and emptying your mind completely. While I agree it's good practice to learn to live in the moment, I don't understand why it has to be at the expense of thinking about the future (if it does). Planning ahead can be good (and sometimes necessary) practice and having things to look forward to gets a lot of people through the more monotonous aspects of life.

Dwelling on the past isn't good - that much I do agree with. It's not always easy to let go, though, especially if there has been trauma (particularly early life trauma as was the case with me) and you haven't yet processed it and dealt with the fallout but it's definitely better to find a way to move on without it weighing you down. Burying the past/repressing traumatic events isn't good either. I suppose, like a lot of things in life, it's important to try strike a balance.

Speaking of balance, I'm trying to avoid this thread morphing into me describing all the sadness I've suffered in this life (I definitely got my full share); that wasn't at all what I was aiming for when I started it. Though I do find the concept of our thoughts creating our realities and discussions of ways to find inner calm etc, quite interesting. I have always been one to seek ways to restore my inner equilibrium (presuming I once possessed such a thing, even if it was only for the first couple of years of my life). I do like a bit of exploration of this nature; but it can veer off and stray into too-personal a sphere sometimes. :)

I don't understand the whole "knowing what you want from your life". Many people I know have a life plan, I never had. When I was a child I never wanted to be anything when I grow up. What happens, happens! There is not a whole amount of life that you can control anyway....

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I don't understand the whole "knowing what you want from your life". Many people I know have a life plan, I never had. When I was a child I never wanted to be anything when I grow up. What happens, happens! There is not a whole amount of life that you can control anyway....

When I was a child and was asked what I wanted to be when I grow up my answer was always that I wanted to be a mother fox. I wanted lots of cute, furry baby foxes instead of horrible hairless human ones. That life-plan is clearly never gonna be fulfilled.....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I never really had any kind of plan for my life as I don't think I really had much self-confidence or faith in my abilities back in the day but I'm extremely happy how thing panned out. I'm earning just enough to live on, I don't have a fancy career, I'm renting and I'm not married with kids but I look back on the last 15 years since finishing school and I did a lot of messing about and probably wasted a fair bit of time and jaysus, I had some craic and I wouldn't change any of it.

Right now (don't know how I'll feel tomorrow), I feel really, really blessed, in the non-religious sense of the word. I've found proper love, I have a job that I don't dread doing every day and a roof over my head, I have my health both physically and mentally, I'm back in university studying something I'm really enjoying (psychology), my family are in decent shape for the moment, I have friends and I'm the kind of person who takes pleasure in the small stuff (and I was surprised to find out that not everyone does).

This Summer I walked from France to Santiago on my own and I proved something to myself this year; that I can depend on myself completely and I can achieve stuff if I apply myself. That any doubt I had in the past about what I'm capable of is all in my head (and as I said before, I really doubted myself in my late teens/twenties - I always felt I was a spectator to other people's success and it wasn't something I could ever have a part in ).

I suppose the fact that I never had any mad expectations for myself meant I was always pleasantly surprised when something worked out for me and long may that feeling continue tbh. I'm ready to roll with the punches, good and bad and I won't go too hard on myself if things don't work out because as I've learnt from experience, things will eventually work out for me in one way or another, even if it's not how I'd foreseen it.

This is a great TED video on choice that I watched last night and could relate to:

http://www.ted.com/talks/barry_schwartz_on_the_paradox_of_choice?language=en

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Starscream25

I just want a girlfriend who accepts me the way I am with my many flaws, who I can grow old with and experience life's up and downs together, finding one is a soul destroying process, I'm demoralised beyond words almost. (I'll get my own violin:))
    I do hold quite a depressing almost apocalyptic view in that if one does not meet certain physical appearance criteria it's game over, despite any positive attitudes portrayed.
    Being denied all the good things that relationships like this can offer is a bitter pill to swallow.

This Summer I walked from France to Santiago on my own and I proved something to myself this year; that I can depend on myself completely and I can achieve stuff if I apply myself. That any doubt I had in the past about what I'm capable of is all in my head (and as I said before, I really doubted myself in my late teens/twenties - I always felt I was a spectator to other people's success and it wasn't something I could ever have a part in ).

I suppose the fact that I never had any mad expectations for myself meant I was always pleasantly surprised when something worked out for me and long may that feeling continue tbh. I'm ready to roll with the punches, good and bad and I won't go too hard on myself if things don't work out because as I've learnt from experience, things will eventually work out for me in one way or another, even if it's not how I'd foreseen it.

Fair play to you for walking from France to Santiago. Would be my idea of hell but it's an impressive achievement all the same.

I know what you mean about not having high expectations - self doubt probably stops a lot of people from doing stuff they're very capable of but just don't know it; I know that has been the situation for me on too many occasions.

I enjoyed that Ted talk. I've had similar thoughts about why depression is so much more common now that we've more stuff and more freedom and more choice than ever before. Simplicity seems to suit humans more than we realise. Years ago I lived in the Netherlands and had one pair of shoes I took out of a shoe bin (they're outside some shops and people can leave their unwanted shoes in them for poor people) and today I have so many pairs of shoes and boots I don't actually know how many I have. While I do wear all of them, some regularly, some very occasionally, there are times I struggle to decide which ones to wear to the point of temporary paralysis and indecision. And they take up more space in my house than shoes should be getting.
    I just want a girlfriend who accepts me the way I am with my many flaws, who I can grow old with and experience life's up and downs together, finding one is a soul destroying process, I'm demoralised beyond words almost. (I'll get my own violin:))
    I do hold quite a depressing almost apocalyptic view in that if one does not meet certain physical appearance criteria it's game over, despite any positive attitudes portrayed.
    Being denied all the good things that relationships like this can offer is a bitter pill to swallow.

I want to say it'll happen, but I've been single for 14 years and often feel the same as you describe above. However, I suspect that, although I often think I want a relationship (and think I would benefit a lot from having someone in my life) I may be a subconsciously sabotaging any chances of it happening out of fear and am afraid I'm too set in my ways now to be capable of learning how to share my life with someone. I'm desperately lonely yet terrified of the idea of being someone's girlfriend. Crazy mixed up mind of mine.

I'm no psychologist, so don't want to second guess what's happening in your life that's stopping you from meeting someone, so I'll just say I hope it happens for you and send you some positive vibes through the medium of my own little bubble of madness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I want to be able to travel at some point, I'd like to be on good terms with a soul mate, I want friend's effortlessly, I'll have a comfortable promotion and to own 5 homes please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Finding a person that you're compatible with is a bit of a lottery and not something you have much control over. It's not the same as getting fit for example, or travelling or getting a good job. These are things you can achieve when you put your mind to it. Finding that special someone can be very elusive and can happen when you're not looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

A girlfriend of such calibre sounds almost like a wife.

If your physical appearance is getting you down why din't you join a gym, watch your diet and nutrition, start thinking up instead of down, positive instead of negative and go for the market you feel you have not yet tapped into ? [a lot of this could be in your own head the more down you get and you actually look quite normal]. Low confidence is not inevitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Starscream25

A girlfriend of such calibre sounds almost like a wife.

If your physical appearance is getting you down why din't you join a gym, watch your diet and nutrition, start thinking up instead of down, positive instead of negative and go for the market you feel you have not yet tapped into ? [a lot of this could be in your own head the more down you get and you actually look quite normal]. Low confidence is not inevitable.

I think I'm the most negative person I've ever known and that's my problem, Im more negative in online anoymosity than real life too :)All is not lost, i have a good life, far from perfect but I'm working on improving myself all the time, I've returned to college again (at 29 I must be mad), I've always been in good shape no problems there, I'm not unnattractive or anything, middle of the road I'd say myself, but utterly disappointed in my shortcomings with the opposite sex in an intimate setting( not that I'm looking for one night stands) which makes me feel it has to be my appearance and nothing else, I have no problem engaging in fun and interesting chat with women, so I'm baffled really. Maybe I'm just a dick and don't realise it :) thanks for the reply:) I'll just keep plugging away and see what happens.

Take care of yourself. Get your back hair waxed, trim nostril, eyebrow and ear hair. Make sure you don't have black heads on your face or behind your ears where you cant see etc. I have always been obsessive about hygiene and cleanliness but every girlfriend I ever had upgraded me in some way by pointing out something I missed. I had to struggle to force myself to become less macho and a wee bit more metrosexual. There would probably be a ton of things I wouldnt notice about myself if a girlfriend had not pointed it out and encouraged some positive change e.g cotton buds in my ears in spots I never knew existed.
    Your new college will have a gym. Take advantage of it. Go to a Turkish barber and get well groomed. Thats the way the dating scene has gone- complicated. Men have to be a little bit more high maintenance than our fathers who only had to splash some aftershave behind their ears before going out. You just have to look at why boy bands have to market fit well groomed lads to make their money in order to know that looks do matter to women - even if they are not the be all and end all.

Finding a person that you're compatible with is a bit of a lottery and not something you have much control over. It's not the same as getting fit for example, or travelling or getting a good job. These are things you can achieve when you put your mind to it. Finding that special someone can be very elusive and can happen when you're not looking.

Yeah. You can look and feel your best but it's still no guarantee you'll meet someone who's good for you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 162 ✭✭costadeldole

I have read the After Hours section for the last 5 years, but this thread is the first one that prompted me to sign up so I could post a response; so credit where credit is due to the OP for a great post. Its a good question.
    I am a 37 year old law abiding Irish citizen. I don't have a criminal record, nor even penalty points on my driving licence. I have never been arrested in my life.
    But the recent water protests around the country have made me question what I want from my life?
    10 years ago, I would have been able to answer that easily; a wife, children, mortgage, career.
    But now as a man on the dole my point of view has changed. And its changed dramatically; from being a apathetic sheep who didn't care who was in government, and what taxes I was paying; to a highly political animal who is hungry for change.
    What I want more than anything in this world, is to see another Easter Rising in 2016. What started from the water protests, to grow and join into a political rising.
    You see the truth is; when I look at the bronze statue of James Connolly in Dublin, and think what he and the men of the Easter Rising gave their lives for; and what our Republic has become, I feel a burning fire inside me. I would happily give my life to die as a martyr if it meant that our government was overthrown and taken over by the common man.
    I used to think the ultimate purpose of a man's life was procreation; creating the next generation by having kids. And to provide the 3 essential elements of survival; food, warmth, and shelter. So working to pay a mortgage.
    But now what I want in my life is to see a revolution in the Republic of Ireland. Not just 150,000 water protesters; but over a million taking to the streets of Ireland.
    The Civil Rights protests in the North were the start of the Troubles, and I have no desire to see 3000 lives lost in a 30 year civil war.
    But what I would love to see in my life, is to see the Dáil stormed and taken over by our people.
    You see when a man has his statue cast in bronze, and his name written in history books; then he has achieved something in his life. When murals are painted on walls.
    That to me is want I want more from my life; more than a wife, kids, mortgage, career.
    I used to think I was the only one, or one of few thinking like this in Ireland. But the recent water protests are a catalyst for political change; and it wont be just at the ballot boxes.
    I am part of a generation that is disillusioned with voting for change; and seeing the revolving door of FG/FF. Its got to a stage where the margins and minority now feel an ounce of resistance is worth a pound of votes.
    So to answer the question; Do you know what you want from your life?
    Yes, I do. To live to see the Easter Rising 2016.

I know what I want, and I'm lucky enough to be on the road to it. I just wish there were fewer trade-offs. It would be nice if things were easier, but sometimes the best things are the hardest won.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

All a man needs really is
    beans on top of his rice
    chicken on top of the beans
    and hot chilli of top of the chicken

I also want Jr to have something to look forward to other than living in a broken society and a destroyed environment.

EDIT: to answer OP's question more clearly: I want to be keep being able to provide for my family til I retire. And play more music.

I have read the After Hours section for the last 5 years, but this thread is the first one that prompted me to sign up so I could post a response

I'm honoured to have inspired a five-year lurker to sign up to post, Costadeldole. Thank you for your very descriptive post; you've clearly had a fire lit under you and become passionate about political change. I hope it doesn't come to you giving up your life to die a martyr. Best of luck with your fight for a better world for us all.
    Candie wrote: »
    I know what I want, and I'm lucky enough to be on the road to it. I just wish there were fewer trade-offs. It would be nice if things were easier, but sometimes the best things are the hardest won.

Lucky you, Candie, both for knowing what you want from your life and being on the road towards it. It sure would be nice if things were easier; I often wonder if the sacrifices were worth it, while feverishly hoping they were. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I want to be happy, and I want to be able to truthfully say that I'm a good person. I've learned the kind of things that do make me happy and the kinds of things, situations, and people to avoid. My main problem is though that I can be very lazy, I let myself stagnate in situations that end up with me bored, frustrated and generally miserable, just through inaction, and I'm prone to fairly serious bouts of depression so that's something I really should work on. I've gotten fairly good at not measuring my success or worth in relation to other people's, and sweet jesus it's the best thing I ever did for myself, biggest single contributing factor to why I'm getting happier and happier as I get older.

As for career, it's not something I've strong feelings on. I know I definitely don't want kids, and my parents are fairly well set up for providing for themselves in their old age (plus I have two siblings), so getting myself established in a well paying thing isn't urgent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

I have read the After Hours section for the last 5 years, but this thread is the first one that prompted me to sign up so I could post a response; so credit where credit is due to the OP for a great post. Its a good question.
    I am a 37 year old law abiding Irish citizen. I don't have a criminal record, nor even penalty points on my driving licence. I have never been arrested in my life.
    But the recent water protests around the country have made me question what I want from my life?
    10 years ago, I would have been able to answer that easily; a wife, children, mortgage, career.
    But now as a man on the dole my point of view has changed. And its changed dramatically; from being a apathetic sheep who didn't care who was in government, and what taxes I was paying; to a highly political animal who is hungry for change.
    What I want more than anything in this world, is to see another Easter Rising in 2016. What started from the water protests, to grow and join into a political rising.
    You see the truth is; when I look at the bronze statue of James Connolly in Dublin, and think what he and the men of the Easter Rising gave their lives for; and what our Republic has become, I feel a burning fire inside me. I would happily give my life to die as a martyr if it meant that our government was overthrown and taken over by the common man.
    I used to think the ultimate purpose of a man's life was procreation; creating the next generation by having kids. And to provide the 3 essential elements of survival; food, warmth, and shelter. So working to pay a mortgage.
    But now what I want in my life is to see a revolution in the Republic of Ireland. Not just 150,000 water protesters; but over a million taking to the streets of Ireland.
    The Civil Rights protests in the North were the start of the Troubles, and I have no desire to see 3000 lives lost in a 30 year civil war.
    But what I would love to see in my life, is to see the Dáil stormed and taken over by our people.
    You see when a man has his statue cast in bronze, and his name written in history books; then he has achieved something in his life. When murals are painted on walls.
    That to me is want I want more from my life; more than a wife, kids, mortgage, career.
    I used to think I was the only one, or one of few thinking like this in Ireland. But the recent water protests are a catalyst for political change; and it wont be just at the ballot boxes.
    I am part of a generation that is disillusioned with voting for change; and seeing the revolving door of FG/FF. Its got to a stage where the margins and minority now feel an ounce of resistance is worth a pound of votes.

1916 was organised in secret. I suggest you keep your views under wraps as the Phoenix Park monitor sites like this and would take an interest in your post.

Shout too loud and you will get an early morning raid Gestapo style. Trust me on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Happiness, peace of mind and love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭HughWotMVIII

That sounds woefully like me! :D I'm always going over permutations and possibilities in my head, sometimes it can be a pain and I wish I could switch off, but more times I've found it useful in certain circumstances. I don't know if I'll ever learn to live with it though because I don't have the creative ability to do anything like writing stories or create music or art, my brain just doesn't seem to be able to do that stuff and that does seem like an outlet for a lot of people.

Tbh I knew what I wanted for myself from an early age, my mother laughed when I told her that "computers are the paper and pencil of tomorrow!", and so I knew I wanted to work with computers. All that time though, I've always been a humanitarian, and so I liked helping other people achieve their dreams and goals, and it became a goal of mine on the side so to speak.

Nowadays I get to combine my passion for IT with my passion for helping people achieve their dreams (another passion of mine is education), so I guess in that sense I'm constantly achieving what I want from life - seeing other people achieve their goals and dreams makes me happy.

I always preferred to work in the background, I'm just more comfortable being a nobody as such, it allows me to do the work I do best, which is the complete opposite of most of the people I work with who just want people to recognise their existence. I sometimes think it's one of those "be careful what you wish for" things, as I've been where they are, and there's times I wish I could go back, but I can't.

I haven't gotten everything I wanted from life yet, I know what I want though, which is what gets me up in the morning.

Your second last paragraph reminded me of one of my favourite Emily Dickinson poems. I can totally relate. Speaking of Emily Dickinson, I am not sure what I want from life OP but I wouldn't mind being Emily Dickinson. Unfortunately, her life has already been taken.

I’m Nobody! Who are you?
    Are you – Nobody – too?
    Then there’s a pair of us!
    Don’t tell! they’d advertise – you know!

How dreary – to be – Somebody!
    How public – like a Frog –
    To tell one’s name – the livelong June –
    To an admiring Bog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I want a horse....

everything else I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,541 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Sorry but I burst out laughing when I read that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Thargor wrote: »
    Sorry but I burst out laughing when I read that :D

I want it to be a parody, I really do.

Can we start a "Water Protestors Against Democracy" group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

There's the biggest problem, most people are "common men" until they get some power

I'd also like to squeeze one out of my nether regions before I hit 40 (not a fart).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Last_Minute

I am in my twenties and i think i know that i don't want to be alive for much longer, life can be pretty hard when you have no opportunities what so ever and nothing to look forward to but i suppose i just have to keep going until it ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I am in my twenties and i think i know that i don't want to be alive for much longer, life can be pretty hard when you have no opportunities what so ever and nothing to look forward to but i suppose i just have to keep going until it ends.

take a scan through the depression thread here. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75955119

you're not alone in feeling that way.

Up until a few years ago, I thought I had no future, no options, no possibilities, and more there's was nothing I wanted out of life.

It was all one sh!t after another, and it would never be worth it.
    __
    Today. I am back in college, I have a work placement, and a future of choices. I have something I want, and I plan on achieving it.
    I have a partner and friends and things are starting to fit into place.

Don't get me wrong, some days it still seems worthless.

worth comes from within. Until YOU feel worth it and have something you want to achieve, there will never be anything to look forward to.
    You also have to work at it, to get to what you want.

You say you have no opportunities, but how true is that really?

The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude towards the problem. Take the pressure off yourself. And please don't do anything hasty. If you can work to change your mood and feel better about yourself regardless of external events, then surely life is worth hanging around in just for the once off experience of it all ?