Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

jimgoose wrote: »
    Buy the child a decent raincoat.

There is no such thing as bad weather, only unsuitable clothing! :D Raincoats and wellies, splashing in the puddles on the way home. Fun. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

73Cat wrote: »
    The secondary school is about 10 minutes walk from our house. On a day like today, when it's lashing rain, I'll have to pick up the middle child. means a few minutes drive, but I will have to leave about a half hour before school finishes if I am to get anywhere in the vicinity to park, as everyone else is doing the same. I usually park at the supermarket beside the school, lots of others do, so I figure I may as well. By the time she has meandered out, I have been sitting there at least 35 minutes. Then it can take anything up to 20 minutes to get out of the car park. By which stage I have almost lost my mind. So I'm gone from the house upwards of 45 mins, for a 15 minute walk for her on a fine day. I try to tell myself it's me time sitting in the car but I hate waiting so much:(

Is it lethal Acid Rain? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

The secondary school is about 10 minutes walk from our house. On a day like today, when it's lashing rain, I'll have to pick up the middle child. means a few minutes drive, but I will have to leave about a half hour before school finishes if I am to get anywhere in the vicinity to park, as everyone else is doing the same. I usually park at the supermarket beside the school, lots of others do, so I figure I may as well. By the time she has meandered out, I have been sitting there at least 35 minutes. Then it can take anything up to 20 minutes to get out of the car park. By which stage I have almost lost my mind. So I'm gone from the house upwards of 45 mins, for a 15 minute walk for her on a fine day. I try to tell myself it's me time sitting in the car but I hate waiting so much:(

I did the same for years, our school is beside the shopping centre and there is never any chance of getting parking near the school so I was wasting up to an hour on wet days, so I gave mine waterproofs and now we walk in all weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

Cormac... wrote: »
    Is it lethal Acid Rain? :confused:

It's the kind of rain that renders the child uncapable of walking home in it.

The wet kind. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Won't somebody think of the wet children.

Thank f*** I was never rained on as a child, I could have gotten TB or Whooping Cough and never made it past the age of 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Passive aggressive posters who've disabled pm so I can't ask them what their problem is

Some **** called me a **** over pm and then got banned so I couldn't call him a **** back.

He's probably re-regged, so if you're reading this, you're a ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

Some **** called me a **** over pm and then got banned so I couldn't call him a **** back.

He's probably re-regged, so if you're reading this, you're a ****.

He probably doesn't even care. LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Cheers for all the smart replies!! She has a disability, and some other parents probably wouldn't let a child with that disability walk to school at all, wet weather or not. It would do her no good to get her legs/feet wet. So that is why she gets a lift in the lashing rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

Cheers for all the smart replies!! She has a disability, and some other parents probably wouldn't let a child with that disability walk to school at all, wet weather or not. It would do her no good to get her legs/feet wet. So that is why she gets a lift in the lashing rain.

Sorry I wasn't trying to be smart, was just trying to let you know that I know what it's like to be stuck in the school traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

We ordered my ring about a month ago and it's STILL not here yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It's totally understandable that parents of a disabled child would drive them to school. What piddles me off is the volume of parents near us who drive the kids to and from the nearby secondary school every day. Last Friday we got off the bus at our stop which is a few hundred meters away from the secondary school and we got soaked trying to cross the road to get home due to the backlog of school run parents. It was literally bumper to bumper and none of them would let us cross the road.

There is nowhere in this town that isn't within walking distance of the 2 secondary schools and 4 primary schools. When I see the amount of cars doing the school run I can only laugh when I hear parents complain about money being tight. Parents who do an unneccessary school run are doing 4 drives and that has to be a large monthly expense. I never ever give a single cent to the bag packing parents trying to fundraise for their kids school in the supermarket. If they let their kids walk or cycle to school they could use the saved petrol money to fund any shortfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Zanablue wrote: »
    Sorry I wasn't trying to be smart, was just trying to let you know that I know what it's like to be stuck in the school traffic.

That's ok, I knew what you meant:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

What piddles me off is the volume of parents near us who drive the kids to and from the nearby secondary school every day. Last Friday we got off the bus at our stop which is a few hundred meters away from the secondary school and we got soaked trying to cross the road to get home due to the backlog of school run parents.

So it was lashing rain, enough to get you soaked just crossing the road after stepping off a bus, and you're complaining that parents didn't make their children walk home in the rain... :rolleyes:

It's my mothers birthday at the end of the month. I'm married, I haven't lived with my parents for 20 years. Why is it that I'm the one that will be expected to buy not only my own card and gift for her but also pick and get cards and gifts for her from my dad and brother? I organise everyone's birthday's and get feck all in return for it.:(:D

Why are you doing it for your brother? Leave him off to do it himself!

smash wrote: »
    So it was lashing rain, enough to get you soaked just crossing the road after stepping off a bus, and you're complaining that parents didn't make their children walk home in the rain... :rolleyes:

Yes, I'm complaining about it. I went to school in the 70's/80's in the same town at the same schools and a lift to school was a rarity. Kids aren't going to drown if they get wet. Do you think allowing kids to walk to school in the rain is some sort of child neglect? It wasn't the short walk from the bus that got us soaked, it was the standing in the pissing rain trying to get across the road in school run traffic jam for 10 or 15 minutes that was the problem.

Why are you doing it for your brother? Leave him off to do it himself!

Because he's bloody useless at that sort of thing and it's just easier to do it then all the passive aggressive nonsense.:D

Ring him and remind him of impending bday. Job done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,461 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I don't follow rugby massively. Watch it when it's on the telly but wouldn't be be a fan per se. Most of friends and acquaintances know this and still question my sanity as to why I don't like it. Yet if I said I wasn't a fan of GAA/soccer/golf or whatever there would be no issue made of it whatsover.

Is it that much a national obsession that it's considered odd NOT to be a fan of it? Feck off!!! I can watch what I want. I'm not being a hipster by not following it (I didn't like BEFORE it became popular :P)

Found a pair of boots that I want for Christmas, but I can't stop looking at them. I look at them at least twice a day and the
    More I think about it, the more sense it makes to get them now rather than when winter is almost over. I don't have many pairs of boots. Why is it such a burden having to wait for things? They're beautiful though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Found a pair of boots that I want for Christmas, but I can't stop looking at them. I look at them at least twice a day and the
    More I think about it, the more sense it makes to get them now rather than when winter is almost over. I don't have many pairs of boots. Why is it such a burden having to wait for things? They're beautiful though

There's one good thing about working in Carrick-on-Suir and that is Meaneys shoe shop. They have a really great selection of shoes and boots for a small town shop.
    They have gorgeous Winter stuff in at the moment and I saw 6 pairs of boots I want. All brown and I'd say if you lined them up next to each other they'd look nearly identical but I need them all!

There's one good thing about working in Carrick-on-Suir and that is Meaneys shoe shop. They have a really great selection of shoes and boots for a small town shop.
    They have gorgeous Winter stuff in at the moment and I saw 6 pairs of boots I want. All brown and I'd say if you lined them up next to each other they'd look nearly identical but I need them all!

26, go forth and buy the boots. Warm feet are investments.

Ring him and remind him of impending bday. Job done!

Too late, I already agreed. Well at least I know that she's getting something that she'll like. This time it's a Clarins gift set, with the Double serum and 2 other products in it. She's addicted to Clarins. I think it's just annoying because it's so close to the Christmas shopping nonsense that comes next and it was Mr Pumpkinseeds birthday this month as well. One of the big problems with getting older is thinking of gifts to get for people every year. It's my own fault that I end up buying her stuff for them as they've no idea it annoys me doing it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Our office Christmas party is an absolute nightmare. It's a lunch in a chinese and 2 years in a row 2 of the staff have been sick afterwards. We started hassling them in January of this year about changing the venue but they won't. It being a chinese as well means that you're kind of limited on what you can eat, plus the fact that you're wondering what's going to give you food poisoning.
    They usually have the lunch early in the day, which means we all have to take a half day out of our annual leave, and you are obligated to go.
    The Chinese also only serves wine and despite the fact that 4 out of 8 people don't drink wine, they still won't change the venue so us 4 have the delight of sitting there watching them all get sloshed on wine.
    They like to go out for drinks afterwards but we're all treated like dirt all year long so you can imagine sitting there and entertaining them isn't exactly something any of us wants to do.

Delighted to say that I won't be going this year though
    It's a very disorganised office so they weren't quick enough to announce the date for the Christmas lunch before I booked that day off.
    Of course I have been hassled by both bosses and the office manager, told I should change my plans because it's not in the Christmas spirit to miss the Christmas party.
    These same bosses who go off on a fancy holiday to Spain for 2 weeks at Christmas, there are staff in the villa and they have a driver over there too but they can't throw together any sort of bonus for us staff who work our socks off all year. That's the Christmas spirit alright.

EDIT TO ADD - The FSAI have apparently handed a closure order into the Chinese in question so fingers crossed that's the end of that.

Posted this in the thread giving out about Christmas parties.

Trivially annoyed because the boss has just said that the restaurant has only been closed for a week and the Christmas lunch will still be going ahead there.
    ARE YOU FOR REAL??
    Of course the Christmas party is on a Friday so you have all weekend to recover from the food poisoning.

Also, I know I'm not going but it's the same place every year so it's always on the agenda :(

Too late, I already agreed. Well at least I know that she's getting something that she'll like. This time it's a Clarins gift set, with the Double serum and 2 other products in it. She's addicted to Clarins. I think it's just annoying because it's so close to the Christmas shopping nonsense that comes next and it was Mr Pumpkinseeds birthday this month as well. One of the big problems with getting older is thinking of gifts to get for people every year. It's my own fault that I end up buying her stuff for them as they've no idea it annoys me doing it.:D

Have you ever tried the Elizabeth Arden 8hr cream? You can get sets, products are amazing!!! (And I am a product snob, I hate most products) and usually the sets will have lots off in the lead up to Xmas. If your mom likes clairns she would prob like EA8hr

Also on the subject of presents, himself is 28 at the end of the month. There is literally nothing I can get him that he doesn't already have. He has a new playstation, he has an iPad, the new phone, and games and such. And I want to think of something good and keep it for Christmas and not waste it on his birthday. I was thinking maybe if I bought my own boots he wouldn't have to buy them for me, and that might be an idea for a present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

What do you give the person that has everything? Penicillin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...I was thinking maybe if I bought my own boots he wouldn't have to buy them for me, and that might be an idea for a present?

<SNIFF> Selflessness like that is exceedingly rare. You are an inspiration. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

I'm really grumpy today for no reason and I'm never grumpy. Now I'm trivially annoyed with myself for being grumpy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Aaah Guys, C'mon ............fcuking Xmas talk.