Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA "off topic" thread - No discussion relating to FSA or Soccer - please read post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

In

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,095 ✭✭✭✭dahat

I'm in.

Let the winner decide the charity from a list of 5 imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

KevIRL wrote: »
    Let the winner decide the charity from a list of 5 imo

Good idea. Hadn't thought of that. My thought was to donate the charity money straight away and hold the other €320 until the competition was over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

As we seem to be moving towards an organised charity project with a suggestion that the winner selects the charity (which I think is a good idea) this could become a longer term thing.

The original post I put up refers to an urgent appeal from Childline which will have to shut down its service for 5 hours at night if it doesn't raise approx €1.2m. That's what prompted me to try to promote it via any networks I am involved in. If anyone has heard their radio advert it is pretty harrowing but worth listening to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSeVI6LT6GA

So I'd just like to remind about the original appeal as I think this is a shocking situation and suggest people consider texting Childline to 57911 to give €4.

Don't do it because I said so, but the Rubberbandits said you had to as well, and I wouldn't mess with them bucks....

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=10152746209282200&id=45998897199

Watched the film Jobs last night. Ashton Kutcher is a **** actor (not that he cares when he's busy impregnating Mila Kunis) but I found it very intriguing.

I doubt there are many individuals who have had a role in as many massive corporations as Jobs - Apple, Pixar, Disney.

Anyone recommend a good book on him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Count me in

I'm in as well, and think 100% of prize money to charity is the way to go. Title of the CL winner is reward enough (and keeps the undesirables away). I'm also easy either way though.

Maybe take it to a new thread, avoid cluttering this one up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,083 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭tom_k

I don't know how I get anything done in real life. I just uncovered this frightening statistic. And worse, it proves my wife right, that I spend too much time on the internet :(

10e121b5a65ea60b2fc35454837331b6.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

tom_k wrote: »
    I don't know how I get anything done in real life. I just uncovered this frightening statistic. And worse, it proves my wife right, that I spend too much time on the internet :(

10e121b5a65ea60b2fc35454837331b6.png

I suggest clearing your browsing history, cookies etc from time to time;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭tom_k

wonski wrote: »
    I suggest clearing your browsing history, cookies etc from time to time;)

I really should and I will. But now I've seen the truth and it can't be unseen!

Tommy Bowe is a sexy motherfukker

KevIRL wrote: »
    Tommy Bowe is a sexy motherfukker

Great try and some win alright. I don't follow rugby much, only watch the Six Nations and major Ireland games, but watching Ireland without BOD was strange.

Lads have a Man Utd away jersey,size large,mens,never worn,tags on it for sale €40,can post but extra.

Be a grand Xmas present if anyone wants it.

So lads, who is dieing in Love/Hate tonight?

Not sure, it ain't Nidge anyway.

Fran in a blaze of glory maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Am I the only one that doesn't watch Love/Hate?

Jesus man, get into it. It's epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

You and my Nan... yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

You and my Nan... yes!

And me :)

All the spoilers that leak weekly through social media annoy me and then I get stubborn. We all know how stubborn I can get!

Everyone that I know who watches it, said it was crap after the first 4 or 5 episodes, and they all gave up on it. Then there was some big controversy at the the end of season 1 / start of season 2, and they all swore it was the best thing ever shown on Irish TV. I mean literally every single person that was watching it, told me not to bother with it, then 2 weeks later changed their tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

A shame that West Ham let go of Rat....
    I was gonna transfer him in, then transfer him out... just so I could have taken a hit on the rat for auld Nidgie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Everyone that I know who watches it, said it was crap after the first 4 or 5 episodes, and they all gave up on it. Then there was some big controversy at the the end of season 1 / start of season 2, and they all swore it was the best thing ever shown on Irish TV. I mean literally every single person that was watching it, told me not to bother with it, then 2 weeks later changed their tune.

Have genuinely not watched one episode.

On a side note, I hate C programming

dahat wrote: »
    Jesus man, get into it. It's epic.

Last night's episode was the best hour of Irish television that I've seen.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Last night's episode was the best hour of Irish television that I've seen.

Absolutely, blown away by it. Didn't know whether to vomit or cry and then total shock.

Unreal.

Absolutely, blown away by it. Didn't know whether to vomit or cry and then total shock.

Unreal.

I think that'd be a good point to end it but I Googled it there and Stuart Carolan had said in October he was halfway through writing series six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Lemlin wrote: »
    I think that'd be a good point to end it but I Googled it there and Stuart Carolan had said in October he was halfway through writing series six.

Whos going to be in it!?!?!

Aido running round on his todd cleaning the flat. :D

All about Tommy next season, he opened his eyes once this season.

You still have Aido, Elmo, Fran, Terence Mays, the travellers, the Gardai and, I agree with the above, all those shots of Tommy must serve some future purpose.