If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

TBi wrote: »
    If he had checked again possibly. All bikers should do a mirror check then a shoulder check before committing to a turn. If lucky he could have stopped before the turn but generally once you commit to a turn it's hard to uncommit without dropping the bike. However even if he had stopped there was such a small gap between him and the curb that the moped driver might have clipped him just going past.

Although as a motorbiker in the centre of a normal lane you do not expect anyone to undertake you. Ever. If there was a bicycle then you would have passed it out and known to double check for it.

Lets drop this discussion here. More vids, less chit chat, this thread is turning into a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,928 ✭✭✭✭bear1

What's this?? A video?? In the dashcam thread?!?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ej7rsl8zFo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Tragedy

I very rarely capture anything interesting these days. When I was driving the ex's car (little yellow MG) people would cut me up, almost drive into me and nearly cause accidents every other day. Strange that ;)

Tragedy wrote: »
    I very rarely capture anything interesting these days. When I was driving the ex's car (little yellow MG) people would cut me up, almost drive into me and nearly cause accidents every other day. Strange that ;)

Maybe they thought it was your ex ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I nearly drove into a deer carcass last night. A quick brake and skid around the poor crater. Although I think I drove over it's hoof's (hooves). I wasn't going the move it either it smelled really bad and my windows were closed. Of course I had to delete the first eventful thing I captured on my cam :|.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

@ bear1

very good, but I don't see how that saved your ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Mick55

Tragedy wrote: »
    I very rarely capture anything interesting these days.

I had a few videos earlier in the year, was getting about one note worthy video a week and all of a sudden they just stopped coming. Weird, like everyone collectively started driving better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,859 ✭✭✭✭cormie

It's the opposite here, at the start I was saving all these clips, but then I was seeing so many, it just got tiresome. Still though, I feel naked driving without a camera now!

corktina wrote: »
    @ bear1

very good, but I don't see how that saved your ass.

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,010 ✭✭✭✭josip

Just to keep things dashcam oriented, albeit slightly light hearted.

Keep watching to the unexpected plot twist at 2:01 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Road rage - great calm down in action.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Hal1 wrote: »
    the poor crater

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

CiniO wrote: »

Oh man that is brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Oh man that is brilliant!

I thought he was going to take out a minnie me of himself to take the other guy out:pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Staged obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

bear1 wrote: »
    What's this?? A video?? In the dashcam thread?!?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ej7rsl8zFo

EXACTLY..
    Down with this sort of thing.
    Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Hyzepher wrote: »
    Staged obviously

Ye Think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Hyzepher wrote: »
    Staged obviously

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

I love how he/she legged it after it :D the sheer embarrassment of it I suppose.
    Lucky no one was coming the opposite way as he'd/she'd have cleared them out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭IP freely

I believe this is as close as someone has come to hitting me without hitting me if you know what I mean! I don't know what the guy was thinking?

Apologies for the jumping at the start only happens when I use windows movie maker for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Can anyone recommend a dash cam that is discrete and won't cost the earth?

Also... I guess there aren't cam's that cover the rear window simultaneously? Do you guys cover that yourselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,801 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Doesn't even give a flick of the hazards as an apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭hairybelly

Cant really make out much in video due to quality but I'll post it anyhow.

Saw a third light appear close behind a car in the distance, couldnt figure out what it was. At first thought the car was towing another vehicle, then I thought maybe it was a motorbike following close behind.

Only at the last second as it past me did I realise it was a cyclist in the middle of the road beside an oncoming car.

passes me at 0:13 in the video.

And this is why I argue hi-viz is very important. I hadnt a clue what it was. Shortly up the road I met 2 cyclists wearing hi-viz and I could see and identify they were cyclists from a mile off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭wonski

It looks to me like the cyclist was overtaking the car:eek:

Never seen that. I agree about the vests, though. Same with runners - there are dozens of them around the entrance to work and I had few nervous moment when almost didn't see them when looking at the road to see if it is clear. Some of them wear handy black / grey clothes to make them safer:rolleyes:

wonski wrote: »
    It looks to me like the cyclist was overtaking the car:eek:

Never seen that. I agree about the vests, though. Same with runners - there are dozens of them around the entrance to work and I had few nervous moment when almost didn't see them when looking at the road to see if it is clear. Some of them wear handy black / grey clothes to make them safer:rolleyes:

I honestly havent a clue what he was doing, maybe they knew each other and were arsing around?

When I looked in my rear view mirror the cyclist abrupty swung out into the hatched central median.

Either way, thats one sure way to be killed on a 100km/h speed limit, busy road. I was doing 80km/h at the time. You can even see the car infront got a fright as the brake lights came on

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

crazy stuff from the cyclist, it's defo a cyclist though?

CatFromHue wrote: »
    crazy stuff from the cyclist, it's defo a cyclist though?

Yep, 100%. Made out what it was at the last second as he passed me. He seemed to be peddalling really hard like he was trying to race the car or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,749 ✭✭✭irishmover

Two more today.

Here's the first one:

Second one: