Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,806 ✭✭✭emmetlego

He's a thug. Not a hard man. There's a difference! I knew his dad from years back, cut from the same cloth. Vins folk wont have much time for him either, and neitherwill my adopted club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ah, he's just misunderstood. :P

Anyway, Vincents are in no position to be looking down their noses at anyone. Despite all their silverware, they have a few misunderstood souls of their own.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Ah, he's just misunderstood. :P

Anyway, Vincents are in no position to be looking down their noses at anyone. Despite all their silverware, they have a few misunderstood souls of their own.

No club is angelic in anyway, just dislike this man in many ways!

I agree about Vins, shure even Connolly has been a bold dog at times!

I agree that he is no angel, far from it. But a lot of people are often surprised to hear that he was sent off for the very first time, in a Dublin league game this past Spring. Prior to that, he had never been sent off, or received two yellows in any Dublin game.

There are several current players with far worse disciplinary records than him, yet they never seem to come in for the same kind of flak that he does. I've often wondered if he played for a club that didn't have the word Ballymun in its title, would he be judged so harshly. I'm not having a go at you, just wondering about people in general.

I agree that he is no angel, far from it. But a lot of people are often surprised to hear that he was sent off for the very first time, in a Dublin league game this past Spring. Prior to that, he had never been sent off, or received two yellows in any Dublin games.

There are several current players with far, worse disciplinary records than him, yet they never seem to come in for the same kind of flak that he does. I've often wondered if he played for a club that didn't have the word Ballymun in its title, would he be judged so harshly. I'm not having a go at you, just wondering about people in general.
    Great post. I actually agree, to a point. He's still a thug in my opinion. No matter wat club hes from! I do think our neighbours get too much stick fer their players, but this fella deserves it. just a thug full stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Thought it was a poor enough game myself. Huge amount of misplaced passes and poor options taken, especially in the first half. Both sides being keen to stop the other playing probably had something to do with that though.

Plunketts only having three scorers while Vincents had 8 different scorers says it all. Dorney and Trainor showed really well for the ball i thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I've often wondered if he played for a club that didn't have the word Ballymun in its title, would he be judged so harshly. I'm not having a go at you, just wondering about people in general.

They sooner they change their name to airport kickhams the better :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Well Bank Holiday Monday is the way to go for the SFC final, massive crowd and I'd hazard a fair few neutrals using their PP (seemed to be a big Maurs crowd where I was sitting) .. I remember maybe 10 years or so ago they switched the final to the BH with a similar big crowd.

The game itself as others have said went flat fairly quickly, there was an air of inevitability once Vins got their nose ahead. It was frustrating from a neutrals pov that OP/ER never really went for broke in the 2nd half - their style of play isn't designed to chase the game. You'd have to feel sorry for BB in splendid isolation with 3-4 Vins lads around him trying to work off the big sog of a ball up the pitch no support within 30 yards of him. It seemed to be a ploy of OPER to withdraw their HF line in the hope that Vins would push further up the field, but they held their discipline which is easy when you're coasting the game.

Both teams seemed to target the marquee players on either side and shackled them very effectively which allowed the likes of Burke and Dorney to get a lot of possession roving in the spaces. I like the look of Burke, have seen him play both 10 & 12 - will be interested to see how he runs with the U21's before exposing him to the senior set up.

I thought the game was littered with poor decisions both on and off the field, lots of poor passing and the wide count was poor from both, some easy scores missed. For our Cavan brethern I thought O'Mara's kickouts were shocking at times, particularly when you look at the focus most IC teams put on the accuracy of the kickouts. He had a big target in Dunleavy but failed consistently to find him with at least 3 going straight over the sideline.

I feel sorry for OP, and the Brogans in particular it just isn't meant to be. The team has some good miles on the clock now and I'd doubt they'll get another crack at it - it was an exceptional achievement to get as far as they did imo, as they wouldn't have been in the top4 prior to the championship.

Vins move on to Portlaoise on the 9th, I just had the impression their heads were already there halfway thru the 2nd half. A similar performance and they'll get beaten down there, it'll be their biggest test since Ballymun last year.

Ifs, buts and maybes OPER could've snatched a draw last night, but going into the Leinster campaign you feel that little bit more confident in the pedigree of Vins representing Dublin.

Congrats also to Maurs a slippery start but great value for the win

............... I've often wondered if he played for a club that didn't have the word Ballymun in its title, would he be judged so harshly. I'm not having a go at you, just wondering about people in general.

I was born and bred in Ballymun (the posh part where Bono lived :D), I played for them before any of the current infrastructure was there on the Corpo pitches in Johnstown Park and all over the county as the years went by. Ask any player current or past about the level of prejudice they experienced on the pitch in a Ballymun jersey. The GAA promote the pride of your local club, it was others who tried to strip that away from us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Squareball

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I was born and bred in Ballymun (the posh part where Bono lived :D), I played for them before any of the current infrastructure was there on the Corpo pitches in Johnstown Park and all over the county as the years went by. Ask any player current or past about the level of prejudice they experienced on the pitch in a Ballymun jersey. The GAA promote the pride of your local club, it was others who tried to strip that away from us.

Could not have said it better myself DD.

I was born and bred in Ballymun (the posh part where Bono lived :D)

If you're on the posh side of the berliner then you're not from the mun chief :p

Bambi wrote: »
    If you're on the posh side of the berliner then you're not from the mun chief :p

LOL... we were Ballymun before they built Legoland :p .. it youse lot that shudda been forced into being from Glasnevin North .. would've saved a lot of hardship !!

Dead on again. Grew up in Willow Park. Da and Ma bought the house in 1959 and it was Ballymun then and Ballymun until the poshies from the big houses on Ballymun Ave started a drive to get he name changed in the 70's. I remember the Da chasing them from the door.

Squareball wrote: »
    Dead on again. Grew up in Willow Park. Da and Ma bought the house in 1959 and it was Ballymun then and Ballymun until the poshies from the big houses on Ballymun Ave started a drive to get he name changed in the 70's. I remember the Da chasing them from the door.

Yeah true .. the biggest insult and the day I shed a tear was when they renamed The Ballymun House - The Willows, sure I nearly gave up da drink in protest :pac:

... I've only got to thinking... and in a sort of a way bringing things full circle. The owners of the Ballymun House were the Martin family - young Albert won a minor All Ireland in 1984 (great team with Clarkie, Stynes etc).

There's a young lad Albert Martin that lines out with Vincents I wonder if there's a relationship ?

... I've only got to thinking... and in a sort of a way bringing things full circle. The owners of the Ballymun House were the Martin family - young Albert won a minor All Ireland in 1984 (great team with Clarkie, Stynes etc).

There's a young lad Albert Martin that lines out with Vincents I wonder if there's a relationship ?

That was a big time Isles pub in the 80's. Had a men only bar in the 70's too. Was more of an Autobahn man myself......Yes the Autobahn on Ballymun Avenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

For our Cavan brethern I thought O'Mara's kickouts were shocking at times, particularly when you look at the focus most IC teams put on the accuracy of the kickouts. He had a big target in Dunleavy but failed consistently to find him with at least 3 going straight over the sideline.

That's gas Doc as I was talking to a Vincents lad today who told me O'Mara had a great game and was very confident under high ball - he was puzzled as to why O'Mara isn't within an asses roar of the county team!! Must ask him about his kick outs because that's the weakest area of both keepers ahead of him in the pecking order!!

How did Nesty do - heard he's found a bit of form again this year.

Bambi wrote: »

You know that you are from the really, really, really posh part of Glasnevin North Ballymun, if you sailed thru your childhood and adult years, without even knowing that the Berliner existed. You get additional posh points, if you had its existence explained to you (in another forum) only a few short weeks ago. :D

Tom Joad wrote: »
    That's gas Doc as I was talking to a Vincents lad today who told me O'Mara had a great game and was very confident under high ball - he was puzzled as to why O'Mara isn't within an asses roar of the county team!! Must ask him about his kick outs because that's the weakest area of both keepers ahead of him in the pecking order!!

How did Nesty do - heard he's found a bit of form again this year.

O'Mara's general goalkeeping was quite good Tom, but I thought that OP had the beating of Vins around midfield if he could've hit Dunleavy with the kickouts. Now in fairness Dunleavy was travelling a fair distance out towards the sideline, but he missed him countless times and Vins were either getting a sideline from the ball going straight out or mopping up the breaking ball thru sheer numbers from where he was kicking it to. There were options short which in hindsight he should've taken if only to take Vins attention away from the middle. I think in the end his head was melted and kicked aimlessly just to recommence play really.

Nesty started very well, plenty of good movement and was at the heart of most of OP's play early on.... but his free taking was distinctly average, in saying that Mossys wasn't any better either. Himself and Alan B had a couple of chances to bring it all square late on and missed badly. Case in point he nailed a great 45 (which wasn't a 45) and then had the same kick 10 odd yards nearer a few minutes later and missed. OP's downfall was their failure to adapt (much like the Dubs v Donegal), chasing the game they gave little to no support to the front 2 and persisted with sending in the big hoof. Wasn't a great advertisement for a county final if I'm being honest

You know that you are from the really, really, really posh part of Glasnevin North Ballymun, if you sailed thru your childhood and adult years, without even knowing that the Berliner existed. You get additional posh points, if you had its existence explained to you (in another forum) only a few short weeks ago. :D

It's true alright, but that was a good bit away from me - that was the proper posh people in Glasnevin who steadfastly refused to have anything to do with Ballymun, they operated their own form of aparthied.

We were an enclave with Finglas East as our neighbours, in actual fact they were worse off as they had to play with Erins Isle :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭gerrycorrigan

AGC wrote: »
    Maybe. Thought SDCC/GAA would have liked Tallaght as the venue but the Sports Minister told them to look towards Rathcoole or somewhere.

Drove by Tallaght Stadium today and saw what looked GAA posts erected there. Does anybody know if GAA is allowed there now?

It's true alright, but that was a good bit away from me - that was the proper posh people in Glasnevin who steadfastly refused to have anything to do with Ballymun, they operated their own form of aparthied.

We were an enclave with Finglas East as our neighbours, in actual fact they were worse off as they had to play with Erins Isle :D

Well if you were (are?) a Willow Park-er, then technically you were a Finglas head, if we are to apply the strict GAA parish rule, purely for the craic like.

The borders of the Ballygall parish of Mother of Divine Grace, and the Ballymun parish of Our Lady of Victories, both ended at the Willow Park Road roundabout, at the top of Glasnevin Avenue.

From then on...thar be dragons.... aka you belonged to St Canices parish in Finglas & there was no feckin' saving ya then ! :p

Drove by Tallaght Stadium today and saw what looked GAA posts erected there. Does anybody know if GAA is allowed there now?

I'd say its more than likely rugby posts Gerry as they are only allowing foreign games there :D

Edit ... yup in fact it's was rugby league http://tallaghtstadium.ie/upcomingevents/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭gerrycorrigan

AGC wrote: »
    Maybe. Thought SDCC/GAA would have liked Tallaght as the venue but the Sports Minister told them to look towards Rathcoole or somewhere.
    I'd say its more than likely rugby posts Gerry as they are only allowing foreign games there :D

Edit ... yup in fact it's was rugby league http://tallaghtstadium.ie/upcomingevents/
    Thanks for link DD, and for dashing my hopes....

Lol..welcome to my world!..maybe someday we'll get in the door

Nesty started very well, plenty of good movement and was at the heart of most of OP's play early on.... but his free taking was distinctly average, in saying that Mossys wasn't any better either. Himself and Alan B had a couple of chances to bring it all square late on and missed badly. Case in point he nailed a great 45 (which wasn't a 45) and then had the same kick 10 odd yards nearer a few minutes later and missed. OP's downfall was their failure to adapt (much like the Dubs v Donegal), chasin

Yeah went out of it the more the game dragged on. Beaten to the ball quite a bit by his marker in the second half. Lacked the pace to keep up.

When I was a kid playing for setanta I never had much of a clue about who we played or anything. I actually thought Erin's Isle came from an Island :D

Well if you were (are?) a Willow Park-er, then technically you were a Finglas head, if we are to apply the strict GAA parish rule, purely for the craic like.

The borders of the Ballygall parish of Mother of Divine Grace, and the Ballymun parish of Our Lady of Victories, both ended at the Willow Park Road roundabout, at the top of Glasnevin Avenue.

From then on...thar be dragons.... aka you belonged to St Canices parish in Finglas & there was no feckin' saving ya then ! :p

Envelopes for the money always came from MDG, Sister got married in MDG, Da buried out of MDG, we went to mass there. Willow Park Road was and is MDG. The Grove behind us is Canices and WP Ave and Grove are Lady of Victories.

Squareball wrote: »
    Envelopes for the money always came from MDG, Sister got married in MDG, Da buried out of MDG, we went to mass there. Willow Park Road was and is MDG. The Grove behind us is Canices and WP Ave and Grove are Lady of Victories.

That's interesting, coz the Crescent is definitely part of Canices. It's a good thing the parish rule is not strictly enforced in Dublin isn't it, what with 3 streets in the same housing estate, belonging to 3 different parishes. Shure that's mad Ted !

Spring Series back again next year. http://www.dublingaa.ie/news/schedule-2015-national-leagues

Have to say i was hoping the games were going to Parnell Park but not a big deal i suppose. Double header with the hurlers on the 7th March is nice.