Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭changepartners

The only original way for this to end is a happy one for Nidge, every one of his associates dead and him living it up in Spain with his family.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

How did Fran know that Deano was now working for Nidge, Fran was in prison so who told him

He said that the guy who picked him up at the hospital had told him that Deano was seen hanging around with Nidge and co a whole bunch.

This thread is hilarious. A lot of people watching the show are obviously new to drama with a continuous storyline because they keep missing key plot points somehow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭RAFA B

I was over in Marbella the last week in May and Nidge and Elmo were both over there filming. They were over from Monday to Thursday. I can't believe Elmo was flown over for four days to for the scene of him and Nidge walking out of the airport in Malaga in the first episode of this series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭RED PASSION

He said that the guy who picked him up at the hospital had told him that Deano was seen hanging around with Nidge and co a whole bunch.

This thread is hilarious. A lot of people watching the show are obviously new to drama with a continuous storyline because they keep missing key plot points somehow :D

I think an episode of Love/Hate has so much happening it needs to be viewed twice, I was probably laughing at Fran for giving out about where the driver parked in the hospital and missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

How did Fran know that Deano was now working for Nidge, Fran was in prison so who told him

The other chap that 'collected' Fran from the hospital, Karl i think.. told him where Deano had been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I know it is a TV show. Last nights show was a joke.

The storyline was just ridiculous.

I know - I know , you have to leave your brain at home watching - but the escape was just ridiculous - not to mention driving around Dublin - to his mates house.

Then this Bone storyline was bad from the start , but has become a bigger and bigger idea.

Hiding under a caravan - with dogs 3 feet away :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

but the escape was just ridiculous

A cursory Google will throw up many similar real life incidents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

I know it is a TV show. Last nights show was a joke.

The storyline was just ridiculous.

I know - I know , you have to leave your brain at home watching - but the escape was just ridiculous - not to mention driving around Dublin - to his mates house.

Then this Bone storyline was bad from the start , but has become a bigger and bigger idea.

Hiding under a caravan - with dogs 3 feet away :rolleyes:

See that's my worry.

I hate when programmes start going down the route of ridiculous just for the sake of it.

Keep it grounded and realistic. At this stage its getting a bit too far fetched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

ThisRegard wrote: »
    A cursory Google will throw up many similar real life incidents.

As you are being so defensive of it, the incidents you refer to don't exactly cover this story line.

This one seems the closest;
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/prison-to-probe-violent-killers-escape-229749.html
    The main issue here seems to be;
    "Sources said that, given Doyle’s violent history, questions were being asked as to why a decision was made to grant him what is known as an “accompanied visit” rather than an “escorted visit”"

So perhaps our wonderful government can be blamed for the ridiculousness of Fran's escape.

It seems Fran, who only recently assaulted a visitor, and survived a murder attempt, seriously harming all who attacked him, and was jailed as he was found with a gun thought to be on his way to kill someone, was granted an "accompanied visit" to a hospital.....:rolleyes:

I'm sorry but it still doesn't add up for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

There was photos going round there few months ago of nidge with a real life gangland member that was supposed to be in this series which one is he

Found its Nidges driver spent 10 years in mountjoy released this took acting classes in prison

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/reallife-drugs-criminal-joins-cast-of-lovehate-30203180.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

dave1982 wrote: »
    There was photos going round there few months ago of nidge with a real life gangland member that was supposed to be in this series which one is he

Noelie has previous in real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

KKkitty wrote: »
    Nidge has too many enemies at this stage to get out of this season alive IMO. If he gets out alive he'll end up in jail I think.

Bar Fran - who will be jailed or on the run.
    Nidge is the only character strong enough to continue the storyline if there is to be more series.
    Unless the program does an about face and goes down a different line e.g. a different viewpoint. maybe from teh point of view of a guy who isn't a leader...maybe some sidekick of terrance or maybe they'll have Love/Hate : The big ball years.

bazermc wrote: »
    Somebody needs to write a book - "the story of Love/Hate so far", that will explain who owns the finger, why is Tommy in a coma, who or what a Cig is, why Siobhan cant keep her knickers on etc

I hereby nominate TippGunner and BuilderPlumber :)

Cig is short for cigaire - which is the irish for inspector.
    I'm assuming that's why he is called "cig".

Git (former ira boss) owns the finger - tommy fairly messed him up for raping siobhan (tommy walked in on it) before darren dropped a keg on his head to finish him off.
    Oddly nidge did very little in that - desposing of the body - so siobhan could be wasting her time trying to frame nidge.
    Further issue is that - Git raped her surely of all the things she's seen she'd be happy with that one and tommy stands to lose a lot more than nidge.

Tommy was shagging Damo's (Ira guy , gits son ) missus - nidge wanted to do that and was jelaous. Nidge bashed him at frans caravan with a golf club (i think). Nidge told siobhan they found tommy on the street and it was nigerians who did it.

as for siobhan....ah sure if she is riding all around her - soon I'll get a chance :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

If Nidge was to be whacked next week would anyone not watch the next season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

I will protest outside RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Didn't coloran say he has half the next series wrote already but is waiting on the green light from rte.

Yes, he also said that the current 6 episodes and the next 6 episodes should be viewed as one 12 episode season & that's what caused the misunderstanding with regard to this current season having 12 episodes. If this is the case there is no need to wrap up a lot of the stuff in next Sundays season finale?

I think it will be just another episode with maybe one huge shocker just at the end to keep everyone gasping for next season.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

KKkitty wrote: »
    If Nidge was to be whacked next week would anyone not watch the next season?

Not a hope Nidge will be whacked. I doubt Fran will either. They are the two main characters.

I'd imagine at least one other character will go though, possibly Siobhan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

The other chap that 'collected' Fran from the hospital, Karl i think.. told him where Deano had been.

Also, when Dean visited Fran in hospital he asked him for Carl's number so Fran would have spoken to him on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Janet is such a comedy figure, what with the towels for her knees and being friendly with a Garda when working for a criminal.

Paddy C wrote: »
    What if they all go to prison and end up having to work together to try and escape or set themselves up inside with them all vying for top dog?

Thumbsdown1.jpg

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Yes, he also said that the current 6 episodes and the next 6 episodes should be viewed as one 12 episode season & that's what caused the misunderstanding with regard to this current season having 12 episodes. If this is the case there is no need to wrap up a lot of the stuff in next Sundays season finale?

I think it will be just another episode with maybe one huge shocker just at the end to keep everyone gasping for next season.

Wrong, he said that last season and this one should be viewed as a 12 episode arc, not this one and next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

Everyone giving out about Fran's escape, but I thought the INSTANT access by the guards to track SMS messages and identify numbers was way more ridiculous.

Not giving out though, decent ep :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭newport2

RobertKK wrote: »
    Janet is such a comedy figure, what with the towels for her knees and being friendly with a Garda when working for a criminal.

Ye. Bit stretched to imagine my local welfare Garda standing there telling me I was a great parent if I ran a brothel in the area for a living.

newport2 wrote: »
    Ye. Bit stretched to imagine my local welfare Garda standing there telling me I was a great parent if I ran a brothel in the area for a living.

There seemed to be some sort of chemistry between the two of them in that scene at the cop shop?

Wrong, he said that last season and this one should be viewed as a 12 episode arc, not this one and next.

Is that what it was? I stand corrected so. Considering the budget constraints and the small amount of episodes available per season, it was a clever move by him to amalgamate two seasons into one eitherway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,717 ✭✭✭✭Godge

maximoose wrote: »
    Everyone giving out about Fran's escape, but I thought the INSTANT access by the guards to track SMS messages and identify numbers was way more ridiculous.

Not giving out though, decent ep :)

If it was Hawaii-5-0, they would have a live satellite following him immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

As you are being so defensive of it, the incidents you refer to don't exactly cover this story line.

This one seems the closest;
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/prison-to-probe-violent-killers-escape-229749.html
    The main issue here seems to be;
    "Sources said that, given Doyle’s violent history, questions were being asked as to why a decision was made to grant him what is known as an “accompanied visit” rather than an “escorted visit”"

So perhaps our wonderful government can be blamed for the ridiculousness of Fran's escape.

It seems Fran, who only recently assaulted a visitor, and survived a murder attempt, seriously harming all who attacked him, and was jailed as he was found with a gun thought to be on his way to kill someone, was granted an "accompanied visit" to a hospital.....:rolleyes:

I'm sorry but it still doesn't add up for me.

The second link. http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0107/58483-prisoner/

Do people want the show to be based on only real life events now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Nevermind all the 'whos Cig?' 'wheres Darren?' 'are those my feet?' questions. What I want to know is when is Nidge gonna have a word with Ardin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭newport2

Nevermind all the 'whos Cig?' 'wheres Darren?' 'are those my feet?' questions. What I want to know is when is Nidge gonna have a word with Ardin?

Just before Ardin pulls the trigger on him in the season finale?? For messing his mum about. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,262 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Not as much as Janet does :D

What was with the stare Big Balls gave Moynihan as he walked past the car at Pauley's funeral? Being based in Spain would he, should he even know who Moynihan was? Maybe there's an old score to be settled there too?