Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I was behind a car last night with it's indicator on along the motorway. A big orange fcuking lighthouse beacon of a thing. I wanted to overtake but we were both at 140 so couldn't and would have had to drop back a mile to get it out of sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Also, that lady I was giving out about before, that her dad was dying. Her dad passed away this morning. 6am, I'm on Facebook and she's checked herself into some hospice with the status "saying goodbye. - feeling sad @ XX care center"
    Then, posting a photo, after the man had died, of her entire family in a group shot around the deceased.

It just blows my mind and bugs me in ways it really shouldn't. I can't imagine spending the last precious hours/minutes with such an important person, updating your Facebook for sympathy likes and attention. As for posing for a photo? I just can't get my head around it. I know when my dad passed, we sat with him holding his hand with big red faces and a runny nose from crying so much, it wasn't a photo opportunity.

I shouldn't compare, everyone is different but I'm so angry. And watching her document her dads final days on Facebook has just had me in rotten form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

LexieonRale I'm with you. I think that is very distasteful and upsetting. It also brings back a lot of painful memories for anyone who has lost a loved one. Oversharing has gone to an extreme level in this case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Also, that lady I was giving out about before...
    Yes, all this public emoting business is incredibly irritating. I think these gowls are enjoying a shot of "martyrdom" and "suffering", and being generally fantastic people. I find it hard to fathom how they can genuinely give a monkey's fúck about their poor misfortunate loved one while all this performance is going on, though.

I've been in rotten form the last few days, crying for no reason - I am not a crier, I have cried probably twice in 2014. Everyone's annoying me, I'm snapping at everyone, I've just been in terrible form. I don't know why but I honestly think its because I've been reading and seeing blow by blow account of someone dying. I watched both my parents die, and I get this really weird horrible feeling, almost like nerves or something, when I see what she's putting up.

I think that's why I've been out of sorts

Usually I go for a pint bottle of cider at lunch time, today I went to the gym. Driving to the gym, I noticed my car is sounding like it was growling, wtf. I will have to bring it to a mechanic. More money. Ugh

Just do not talk to me about hoorin' motorcars. This year's NCT for the Xsara didn't half turn into the story twenty-two verses long about the little French bastard who dildoed and didled along. I'm too annoyed with it at the moment and not speaking to it, but one of the days after I get it sorted out I will write up the sorry tale. Did I mention vicious, unfathomable little French bastard? Well just in case, "vicious, unfathomable little French bastard!!" :pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    Just do not talk to me about hoorin' motorcars. This year's NCT for the Xsara didn't half turn into the story twenty-two verses long about the little French bastard who dildoed and didled along. I'm too annoyed with it at the moment and not speaking to it, but one of the days after I get it sorted out I will write up the sorry tale. Did I mention vicious, unfathomable little French bastard? Well just in case, "vicious, unfathomable little French bastard!!" :pac:

My clutch is gone! :( and my mechanic can't fit it in until 13th November.

At least that's a small matter of leathering a clutch-kit into it. The little French bastard has developed deep-seated psychological issues affecting emissions. :pac:

What does that mean? Is this the jag?

No, the other yoke - a Citroen Xsara 1.4i. It's blowing CO and HC good-oh and the Lambda reading indicates high levels of oxygen in the exhaust as well. After much pricking about I'm left with the crackpot theory that the injector pulse timing is out for some bizarre reason. I'm going to change the crankshaft position sensor at the weekend, and failing that I'll have to get the ECU replaced/rebuilt somehow. Bastard!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Yes, all this public emoting business is incredibly irritating. I think these gowls are enjoying a shot of "martyrdom" and "suffering", and being generally fantastic people. I find it hard to fathom how they can genuinely give a monkey's fúck about their poor misfortunate loved one while all this performance is going on, though.

That's exactly what it is - a performance. I totally get where Lexie is coming from.

What the fcuk is wrong with these attention-seeking, undignified people? It's grotesque behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

No, the other yoke - a Citroen Xsara 1.4i. It's blowing CO and HC good-oh and the Lambda reading indicates high levels of oxygen in the exhaust as well. After much pricking about I'm left with the crackpot theory that the injector pulse timing is out for some bizarre reason. I'm going to change the crankshaft position sensor at the weekend, and failing that I'll have to get the ECU replaced/rebuilt somehow. Bastard!!

AKA Bolloxed

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    AKA Bolloxed

It certainly is not "bolloxed"! The thing doesn't burn a drop of oil, goes like a (small) train, has full compression (yes, I tested it) and generally behaves impeccably. I'll be a boil on the left arsehole-cheek of Rush Limbaugh's Great-Aunt Agatha if I'm going to let the little French bastard defeat me! Allez!! :D

I think you're mistaking that car for something off the starship enterprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Jimgoose if it's emissions did ya try a spin on the motorway ? Sometimes that helps if the car is only used on short journeys

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Jimgoose if it's emissions did ya try a spin on the motorway ? Sometimes that helps if the car is only used on short journeys

Dipetane in the fuel, followed by a couple of "Italian tune-ups". Cat-converter, Lambda sensor and coolant temperature sensor swapped out. Full intake and exhaust manifold vacuum leak tests. That do ya? :D

MsBubbles wrote: »

MsBubbles, our advice to Jim about cars is like a priests advice on bringing up a young family. Entirely misplaced and unnecessary!

That's exactly what it is - a performance. I totally get where Lexie is coming from.

What the fcuk is wrong with these attention-seeking, undignified people? It's grotesque behaviour.

I wouldn't really expect much from this wan to be honest. Her dad was 94 or 95. About 6 weeks ago he fell and broke his hip. She was taking pics of him being prepped for surgery, and when he got home and needed to gain weight, she was taking pics of the meals she made before actually giving it to him.

She lives her whole relationship out on Facebook (she's in her 40s) thanks her partner for everything. Meals, cuddles, love, taking care of her heart, ect.

And she has a good body she surfed for years, and there was a pic of her in a bikini on Facebook and someone said how great her body looked and she's like "yeah and I'm mom to 6 kids". She has 4 and her boyfriend has 2. ****ing simpleton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Clowns that flick cigarettes out of their car window. You have an ashtray you Muppet !

I have had more than one close call on my motorbike when one of these gob****es has almost flicked a glowing cigarette butt into my open visor.

Grown adults who need someone to hold their hand. A guy I know is trying to lose weight. His girlfriend goes back to her parents and he's flat out texting me.

"I can't go for my walk today"
    - whys that?
    "Georgia isn't here"
    - go by yourself?
    "No I wouldn't go on my own"

Today he text, the gym subject came up. I told him I went last night, started Pilates and went for a swim afterwards. Again with the "yeah the pool is nice after the gym but I wouldn't go on my own" ****sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Grown adults who need someone to hold their hand. A guy I know is trying to lose weight. His girlfriend goes back to her parents and he's flat out texting me.

- whys that?
    "Georgia isn't here"
    - go by yourself?

Today he text, the gym subject came up. I told him I went last night, started Pilates and went for a swim afterwards. Again with the "yeah the pool is nice after the gym but I wouldn't go on my own" ****sake

Haha Lexie the loser going to the gym on her own. Everybody point and laugh. :pac:

Shaaadup!! :D You're giving me a complex :p

I actually went with my OHs brother. Slave driver!

- whys that?
    "Georgia isn't here"
    - go by yourself?

Did you wear makeup to all that yea :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Stepped in dog sh;t on the way to the local shop at lunchtime.

God I hate those obnoxious people who let their dogs defecate on the public footpath and don't scoop it up. Bunch of self-centred, ignorant morons who richly deserve to have their faces rubbed in their dogs excrement..

Now, despite my best efforts, I'm paranoid that I smell faintly of dogsh;t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I consistently run better at 730 pm on a Wednesday evening after a poor night's sleep and a long day at work than I do on a Saturday afternoon after a nice lie in and a hearty breakfast. This paradox trivially annoys me. I need to figure out what is causing this so that I can harness it.

- whys that?
    "Georgia isn't here"
    - go by yourself?

Cheeses Cripes I could just bate 'im. Tell him to get a gang of middle-aged ten-year-olds together, go down t'Woolpack for a gallon of porter, and do the Cool Wall. Quick, before he grows breasts! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Stepped in dog sh;t on the way to the local shop at lunchtime.

God I hate those obnoxious people who let their dogs defecate on the public footpath and don't scoop it up. Bunch of self-centred, ignorant morons who richly deserve to have their faces rubbed in their dogs excrement..

Now, despite my best efforts, I'm paranoid that I smell faintly of dogsh;t!
    Has to be one of the worse smells ever:mad: Im gagging just reading your post..those dog owners should be smeared in and left to rot:mad:

bluewolf wrote: »
    Did you wear makeup to all that yea :pac:

No I took it off before the pool. My face doesn't go a funny shade of purple in the pool so it's grand!

Good, good. That probably means you're not drowning. :pac:

So apparently she wasn't posing with the deceased, she was posing with him in a coma. Just posted this.

http://tinypic.com/r/2na70o5/8