Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

joeguevara wrote: »
    Next day Nidge threatened to throw acid in her face if she ever opened her mouth
    Frano also gave her a deadly haircut. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

JoseJones wrote: »
    How about this for a post on facebook from one of my friends Sunday night:
    Jays didnt think paulie would die off that quick in love hate... hope i didnt ruin it now on anyone!? .... oh siobhan kills him!

Now I'm not too bothered about seeing spoilers tbh but what a dickish thing to do! haha

Good few people i know joined a page called
    RIP Paulie Love/Hate
    and it showed up on my feed. Unreal, that's at least once a season i've had a major plot point ruined by Facebook or the Tabloids who have no problem plastering it all over the front page what happens next.

For ****s sake, you'd think the standard with them would be a bit higher than those tv guides giving away the future plotlines of soaps....i mean what's the ****ing point?

Like someone already said too, the papers ruining it left and right means that the eejits on facebook are justified because "sure it was in the paper"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

joeguevara wrote: »
    Donna went down to the basement with Fran when she was dressed as an avatar. Very much consensual though. She told Fran about Sobhán.

Next day Nidge threatened to throw acid in her face if she ever opened her mouth

that must be what im remembering so and mixing it up with the rape scene. thanks for that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I had a major plot point ruined on me by faceback. I avoid trailers, articles etc because of this yet couldnt avoid this one.

Now that I know its coming, it wont have that shock/horrified value because I'll be waiting for it to happen and the show suffers as a result. They need to make a better effort at concealing story lines whilst filming. It seems like the papers know exactly whats going to happen this season long in advance of airing.

Dempsey wrote: »
    I had a major plot point ruined on me by faceback. I avoid trailers, articles etc because of this yet couldnt avoid this one.

Now that I know its coming, it wont have that shock/horrified value because I'll be waiting for it to happen and the show suffers as a result. They need to make a better effort at concealing story lines whilst filming. It seems like the papers know exactly whats going to happen this season long in advance of airing.

RTE seems extremely leaky alright, its bad when your flagship drama is as leaky as a soap. Look at basically every overseas show on the other hand, you'd get into Fort Knox quicker than you'd get a plot leak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Best not to use the internet or read papers.I will ''have a bone to pick'' with anybody that ruins things for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭deise08

Haha true enough! But Terry's probably a more realistic guard than that Kieran chap. In the episode where Fran gets arrested, when Moynihan said they wouldn't be getting paid for the extra hours Kieran was like "don't worry about the overtime boss!" Said no Guard ever!

Eh Ciaran is a real guard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Whenever I go into this thread, I feel like I'm tempting fate and that somebody will have a spoiler posted. I know it says *Spoilers* but really there needs to be a distinction between "aired" spoilers and un-aired spoilers (including trailers). I hate the way RTÉ show the trailer immediatedly after the episode, I switch from whatever state of bliss I'm in to jumping around searching for the remote while loudly singing the Smurfs theme song so I don't hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

deise08 wrote: »
    Eh Ciaran is a real guard?

Yes I know. I said more realistic. Not real.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

What's a newspaper? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭8mv

ectoraige wrote: »
    Whenever I go into this thread, I feel like I'm tempting fate and that somebody will have a spoiler posted. I know it says *Spoilers* but really there needs to be a distinction between "aired" spoilers and un-aired spoilers (including trailers). I hate the way RTÉ show the trailer immediatedly after the episode, I switch from whatever state of bliss I'm in to jumping around searching for the remote while loudly singing the Smurfs theme song so I don't hear anything.

I find the trailers are deliberately misleading so that when the episode airs, things don't go as you might have expected. They give you a vague idea of what's planned but are short on specifics, thankfully.
    I don't use Facebook, so no "friends" to keep me informed of things I don't want to know about. RTE Guide and tabloid front pages are hard to avoid, but I try to ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

it's actually a sad reflection on us as a people that our media are desperate for spoilers to put on the first page...it's vile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Job Gnocchi

Anyone else think that Janet or her son are going to have a part to play in Nidge's downfall/demise? Janet was obviously fed up with his blatant disregard for her in episode 3 and the whole thing with Nidge not having a word with the young fella looks like it has to go somewhere yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Anyone else think that Janet or her son are going to have a part to play in Nidge's downfall/demise? Janet was obviously fed up with his blatant disregard for her in episode 3 and the whole thing with Nidge not having a word with the young fella looks like it has to go somewhere yet.
    yeah Janet has asked nidge at least once per episode to have a word with nidge, and he has pretty much laughed at her every time....now...if there's one way to make a lady lose her temper!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

ectoraige wrote: »

If something has aired it isn't a spoiler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

it's actually a sad reflection on us as a people that our media are desperate for spoilers to put on the first page...it's vile

Its a good reflection of the type who buy the paper.

I find that Coronation Street and Eastenders are actually spoiled quite freely in papers and on the radio even. I don't get it. Why would you want to know and then go ahead and watch it. Does it not suck the enjoyment out if it? I don't watch either show but you would here things like "Tina/Carla/whoever dies tonight" as you're driving home from work. I think it's low down for the radio to do it as it's just blurted out giving you no choice.

As a bloke, I even hate football results being spoiled if I'm going to watch match of the day that night. Yet you'll always get someone who days "oh can I just tell ya one thing" even though you've asked them not to. Then they'll say something anyway. Must be a schadenfreude thing. Sadistic dopes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

Omackeral wrote: »
    I find that Coronation Street and Eastenders are actually spoiled quite freely in papers and on the radio even. I don't get it. Why would you want to know and then go ahead and watch it. Does it not suck the enjoyment out if it? I don't watch either show but you would here things like "Tina/Carla/whoever dies tonight" as you're driving home from work. I think it's low down for the radio to do it as it's just blurted out giving you no choice.

Completely! In work when we had the weekly L/H discussion my manager said "haven't seen it yet but I know who is killed" and was still planning on watching it that night... I was thinking well whats the point if you already know?! If anyone had ruined this weeks episode I would have been so mad!

Corrie is very different as the show/person usually release statements saying they are leaving months in advance, and in soap land normally people don't just head off happily into the sunset! So you have a fair indication anyway but completely agree with you on L/H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Omackeral wrote: »

I find Soap watchers generally don't mind spoiler releases, soaps are on constantly so these leaks are to entice audiences and let them know that something major is happening as they can't have something major happen in every episode unlike hour long HBO dramas. They even release actors for photos shoots and interviews prior to a big murder/fire/affair/sharkattack.

If they did this with Game of Thrones/Board Walk Empire/Homeland I'd lose my shít but high quality 10 episode television dramas don't need to leak plot. They have their dedicated weekly audiences for their short annual lifespan.

The problem is that as Irish audiences are watching Love/Hate in their droves and those same publications that reveal soap plots also try to the same tact with Love/Hate fueled by onlookers during filming with camera phones and people so used to being spoiled when watching TV that they think its natural to know whats about to happen.

Also I feel some deluded people feel superior when they know what is about to happen where in reality they are denying themselves the full enjoyment of a well written intricate drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,121 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The thing about soaps is there on nearly everyday of the week and a lot of the storylines aren't that interesting and people often misses them\dont have time to see them. That's why there's spoiler's. It also gets people to watch them if they know there's a good episode coming up. Often with soaps if there is a big storyline somebody being killed a killer being revealed they really do hide it well or they film alternative endings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

spiralism wrote: »
    That and the mong brigade on facebook posting details about each episode as it happens makes me just convinced that it's just in our nature to spoil things.

Really? 'Mong' as a derogatory term? I'd prefer a spoiler tbh.

http://www.theguardian.com/society/joepublic/2011/oct/19/ricky-gervais-mong-twitter

RSVP magazine have a spoiler article out today for next weeks episode that one one of my idiotic Facebook friends liked and shared. I accidentally read it on the news feed. So be warned.

I'm raging, it's like all those TV guides giving away what happens in the soaps every week. Completely pointless and written for morons. Plus when I went to the article comments to see were people giving out the spoiler it was mostly people asking for the show to be cut because it's too violent. Some People :confused:

It's become so common in the soap world that it is spreading. I guess the soaps are such a pile of crap that they have to do everything they can to get tabloid coverage, to get the tabloid readers to be tabloid viewers.

Drama is completely different, and needs to stay away from this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,217 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

RainyDay wrote: »

http://www.theguardian.com/society/joepublic/2011/oct/19/ricky-gervais-mong-twitter

It's become so common in the soap world that it is spreading. I guess the soaps are such a pile of crap that they have to do everything they can to get tabloid coverage, to get the tabloid readers to be tabloid viewers.

It was the same craic when Lost was on the telly, the newspapers were always full of spoilers.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

don't read tabloids, unfriend/ defriend muppets on FB who do, for a spoiler free life- simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Unfortunately some folk are treating love/hate like a soap.......... including the media
    Prime example
    Trish and Mary, a brothel madam and a gangsters wife, in a fashion shoot for VIP magazine..........

I141008_144351_1453024oTextCS_70619499.jpg

As Nidge would say.......... "Fuck off, and stop annoyin' me head".

RainyDay wrote: »

Are you the political correctness police? Jesus, its not like im using it in that context and people who just go around saying "im offended by that" are what's wrong with the world. :rolleyes:

Am i allowed say cúnt brigade then? I mean it the same way - as in ****ing eejits.

I do think a lot of this craic is down to the Irish media not being used to having such a high quality drama on air and they treat it like any soap, they use the same connections they've always had in RTE to get the plot out because they've always leaked RTE programs and soaps that people give less of a ****e about. As for high end dramas like GoT nothing gets out whatsoever because people the world over would lose their ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Bit of an over-reaction about the spoilers whether in print or online. Our fictional heroes are involved in a business where most people don't survive past 30. You'll get the occasional dipstick who is a hangover from the last dead "godfather" and just wasn't worth shooting.
    I watch Love/Hate with the expectation that each and every cast member is portraying a dead man walking. I read the newspapers about the real life villains and their cute little nicknames with the same assumption. They rarely disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

spiralism wrote: »
    I do think a lot of this craic is down to the Irish media not being used to having such a high quality drama on air and they treat it like any soap, they use the same connections they've always had in RTE to get the plot out because they've always leaked RTE programs and soaps that people give less of a ****e about. As for high end dramas like GoT nothing gets out whatsoever because people the world over would lose their ****.

Eh papers dont print GoT spoilers because "Exclusive: we read a book thats been out several years" isnt going to sell many papers. Also, there are usually plenty of spoilers given away in terms of casting news, locations etc

Edit: just remembered that HBO managed to accidentally post a spoiler themselves in an online episode synopsis last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

... But Terry's probably a more realistic guard than that Kieran chap.

I am trying to get my head around how Terry comes across to you as "probably more a realistic Garda" than that of Kieran, considering that Kieran is a real (undercover) Garda. I am sure Kieran has given the producers a few pointers to help create more realism, in the same way as Carolan got advice and tips from those involved in gangland criminality when he began his writings for Love Hate.
    Terry comes across as someone who is just fed up with their job (any job) and is looking to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,698 ✭✭✭batistuta9

spoilers don't wreck it for most people, they actually enhance it