Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 kinggo99

The first 2 series, we were just getting to know the characters.
    Series 3 was very violent.
    The last series was brilliant.
    This current one is on another scale altogether,IMO.

Revisiting previous story lines, watching Nidge being backed into a corner,everyone seeing him as a loose cannon. Fran looking like his brain is gonna explode with frustration.
    Killing off characters-and why not? In reality,sometimes people die.
    Spectacular camera work,scary looking extras.

Really great television viewing.Very impressive.

Like the show myself,personally i think its lost its direction slightly in the last series and this one,but i think you are going over the top a bit here,if anything i thought this series was the least impressive.

I really hope there is some 'behind the scenes' footage of that junkie rave, considering most of them probably aren't actors it must have been some sight

Director: Ok Guys thats a rap
    Junkies: Whose yer man and wha's he bleedin on abou?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Just watched it again, I have to say, aido is my favourite character, he just absolutely nails the inner city criminal.

The car, the clothes, the language, the quirks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Find it kind of bizarre that someone wastes time watching something they dont like everyweek and then comes onto the thread moaning about it and thinking they will actually fool people by dressing it up as 'critique'

You keep on policing the thread...why you are bothered is in itself bizarre. Just let it go over your head, you'll find inner peace or somefink. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

troched wrote: »
    Just seen the front page of today's Sun, which potentially gave away a huge plot development and I'm furious. (I won't spoil it)

I really don't understand why the Irish tabloids, and the Indo, seem to take such delight in "revealing" plot details for upcoming episodes of Love/Hate. Why the **** do they insist on ruining the viewer experience for the show?

Watching previews/teaser clips for the next episode is one thing... Even stuff like the Indo's story on "two deaths in tonight's episode" can be dodged in future... but plastering key plot details on the front page is ridiculous. Even just glancing at the papers in the shop is enough to ruin it for everybody, and make spoilers unavoidable. Last season, Wayne and Dano's deaths; this season the details of Pauley's death (while he wasn't named as the person who dies, it could be inferred by the preview for episode 4) and now today's Sun. That they get some stuff wrong, like Darren supposedly being in the 4th season is no consolation.

Seems to be a really leaky ship in RTE. There were no spoilers anywhere before the BB Finale.

Is there any way to filter what sites come up in Google results? The Irish Mirror is the worst offender; would be good to block it in future.

That and the mong brigade on facebook posting details about each episode as it happens makes me just convinced that it's just in our nature to spoil things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BlibBlab

troched wrote: »
    Just seen the front page of today's Sun, which potentially gave away a huge plot development and I'm furious. (I won't spoil it)

I really don't understand why the Irish tabloids, and the Indo, seem to take such delight in "revealing" plot details for upcoming episodes of Love/Hate. Why the **** do they insist on ruining the viewer experience for the show?

Watching previews/teaser clips for the next episode is one thing... Even stuff like the Indo's story on "two deaths in tonight's episode" can be dodged in future... but plastering key plot details on the front page is ridiculous. Even just glancing at the papers in the shop is enough to ruin it for everybody, and make spoilers unavoidable. Last season, Wayne and Dano's deaths; this season the details of Pauley's death (while he wasn't named as the person who dies, it could be inferred by the preview for episode 4) and now today's Sun. That they get some stuff wrong, like Darren supposedly being in the 4th season is no consolation.

Seems to be a really leaky ship in RTE. There were no spoilers anywhere before the BB Finale.

Is there any way to filter what sites come up in Google results? The Irish Mirror is the worst offender; would be good to block it in future.

Yep, it's ridiculous. The Star last year plastered a massive spoiler on their front page too. Whatever if they want to reveal it inside with an article with spoiler warnings on top, but putting plotlines on the front page is just ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭DynamiteC101

Just watched it again, I have to say, aido is my favourite character, he just absolutely nails the inner city criminal.

The car, the clothes, the language, the quirks.

I agree, not sure what he would be like in a big role but he nails the role that he's been given.

It will be very interesting to see what Ado does in the next 2 episodes though. He's always been portrayed as a bit of a weak waster who just follows orders,, but in the past couple of episodes his character and temperament has been tested big time. He is clearly fed up of Nidge. But what I also noticed in Sunday night's episode was his assertiveness towards the lad they used to get Patrick.

His fuse is shortening.... I wouldn't be surprised if he ends up grassing to the guards by the end of the season, which will leave Nidge in jail pending trial. Not sure how it will happen, but just a guess. I don't think he's ruthless enough to try and kill Nidge or Nidge's family, but he's clearly fed up with his boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭styron

Blatter wrote: »
    Sorry if this was metioned already but would the 'old bill' not be all over the fact that Patrick's son was shot in the head? Surely the hospital would've informed them of such an incident and a massive investigation to follow?

Even stranger, Fran's up on a charge of possession of a gun that the arresting guard can testify was supplied by Patrick - both would have been up on charges. If the guard's word was insufficient in court, a quick raid on the halting site would have provided any CCTV evidence required to convict either or both of them. It's derelict not to follow through on this or as Blatter suggests the aftermath of the kid's shooting.

The sympathetic ennobling of Patrick as the child bereft "reluctant warrior" /peaceable pipebomb maker is too fantastical, even if it makes compelling drama.

Whatever happened to that Garda that Nidge was using for inside info in past seasons? He was a bit of a dopey guy. Nidge seemed to have him wrapped around his finger.

He got caught out in the first half of season 4 by Moyninhan, 2nd or 3rd episode in I think. Moynihan confronted him in his office about it and that's the last we saw of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

He got caught out in the first half of season 4 by Moyninhan, 2nd or 3rd episode in I think. Moynihan confronted him in his office about it and that's the last we saw of him.

He did more than confront him, he arrested him on the spot. Think we're to assume that's permanently taken care of.
    Honestly though does anyone else miss Aaron Heffernan AKA "Muscles"? I assume he was dropped in order to fit in with the whole "reduced budget due to previous failure" storyline with Moynihan's crew, but he was a good character and had a nice dynamic going on with Kieran O'Reilly.

I'm refusing to type "Love/Hate" into any internet search boxes for the rest of the season. Too many w@nkers in the gutter press splashing spoilers on the front pages. Thanks to everyone on this thread for being so decent about not spoiling them here without warning, and in all honesty f*ck every journalist who has taken part in this. What do they get out of wrecking the series for fans, exactly? I mean even if spoilers sell papers, they could run with a headline like "SHOCK LOVE/HATE SPOILER" and then have "Turn over the page to read"? Printing them on the front pages and in the titles of articles comes across as deliberately trying to ruin people's day. :mad:

I honestly don't remember that :o

He did more than confront him, he arrested him on the spot. Think we're to assume that's permanently taken care of.
    Honestly though does anyone else miss Aaron Heffernan AKA "Muscles"? I assume he was dropped in order to fit in with the whole "reduced budget due to previous failure" storyline with Moynihan's crew, but he was a good character and had a nice dynamic going on with Kieran O'Reilly.

I'm refusing to type "Love/Hate" into any internet search boxes for the rest of the season. Too many w@nkers in the gutter press splashing spoilers on the front pages. Thanks to everyone on this thread for being so decent about not spoiling them here without warning, and in all honesty f*ck every journalist who has taken part in this. What do they get out of wrecking the series for fans, exactly? I mean even if spoilers sell papers, they could run with a headline like "SHOCK LOVE/HATE SPOILER" and then have "Turn over the page to read"? Printing them on the front pages and in the titles of articles comes across as deliberately trying to ruin people's day. :mad:

I didn't like the guards at all last year, bar Moynihan. They were acting like a bunch of vigilante's to be honest, spraying 'Elmo is a rat' as well as one or two scenes where they were far too aggressive towards the criminals. That word 'gaffer' was the most over-used of the 4th season as well. They just seemed more like a vigilante gang than the Irish police force. I think they are being portrayed far more realistically this year; Kieran O Reilly has been fantastic, and the sub storyline of Moynihan being dissatisfied with the bureaucracy of the Gardai in his efforts to get Nidge is also good.

Totally agree about the newspapers, it's completely unfair on those who just want to enjoy it. Social media will be social media, and I think it is one's obligation to avoid facebook and twitter until they have watched the episode.

But the papers are just being d****. I found out about Wayne being killed last year due to typing Love/Hate into google on the day before the finale, my lesson was learned. What's even worse is that some people out there presume that if it's in the paper it means it's ''common knowledge'', so they have no problem with shouting it out loud or telling people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

It seems that Siobhan is going to tell Moyninhan about Gits bone any ways. Realistically though, how can Nidge get done for that? I know he was involved in burying the body, but it's going to look stupid if he gets banged up without any evidence.

I think Siobhan could plant it at Nidge's home/belongings. She's a bit friendly with Dean, he knows where the bone is located and he also dislikes Nidge a lot.
    Or if she wants to remain undercover as being a garda informer then she might just get him off his face again for information and do it herself.
    He would be too scared to admit to anyone that he told her where the bone originally was so she might still not get exposed as "the rat".
    (this is only if she doesn't get exposed as the rat over the zoo meetup thing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

Assuming the budget for each episode of Love Hate is 500K or 600K, what kind of money would TVL & Co be on per episode?

Not sure how reliable this information is, but both these articles say that Aidan Gillen received only 15,000 for 3 month's work! One article also has Elmo stating that the cast have not asked for payrises either.

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/lovehate-profitloss-time-to-show-us-the-money-30653352.html

http://rsvpmagazine.ie/lovehate-cast-looking-pay-increase/

This links says Nidge got 11,000.
    http://www.thestar.ie/star/lovehate-gang-wont-grab-more-cash-50621/

(I don't know where they get their figures from)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I didn't like the guards at all last year, bar Moynihan. They were acting like a bunch of vigilante's to be honest, spraying 'Elmo is a rat' as well as one or two scenes where they were far too aggressive towards the criminals. That word 'gaffer' was the most over-used of the 4th season as well. They just seemed more like a vigilante gang than the Irish police force. I think they are being portrayed far more realistically this year; Kieran O Reilly has been fantastic, and the sub storyline of Moynihan being dissatisfied with the bureaucracy of the Gardai in his efforts to get Nidge is also good.

Totally agree about the newspapers, it's completely unfair on those who just want to enjoy it. Social media will be social media, and I think it is one's obligation to avoid facebook and twitter until they have watched the episode.

But the papers are just being d****. I found out about Wayne being killed last year due to typing Love/Hate into google on the day before the finale, my lesson was learned. What's even worse is that some people out there presume that if it's in the paper it means it's ''common knowledge'', so they have no problem with shouting it out loud or telling people.

I may be wrong but the spoilers for last year were far worse and blatant than this year. For those who have not seen Season 4 yet, here were some that were all predicted days before:
    Dano being killed, Debbie's death from the overdose, Wayne's death, Nidge surviving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

How about this for a post on facebook from one of my friends Sunday night:
    Jays didnt think paulie would die off that quick in love hate... hope i didnt ruin it now on anyone!? .... oh siobhan kills him!

Now I'm not too bothered about seeing spoilers tbh but what a dickish thing to do! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

JoseJones wrote: »
    How about this for a post on facebook from one of my friends Sunday night:
    Jays didnt think paulie would die off that quick in love hate... hope i didnt ruin it now on anyone!? .... oh siobhan kills him!

Now I'm not too bothered about seeing spoilers tbh but what a dickish thing to do! haha

Still your friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

I'm not too bothered, I'll tell him he's a dick though next time I see him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

RSVP magazine have a spoiler article out today for next weeks episode that one one of my idiotic Facebook friends liked and shared. I accidentally read it on the news feed. So be warned.

I'm raging, it's like all those TV guides giving away what happens in the soaps every week. Completely pointless and written for morons. Plus when I went to the article comments to see were people giving out the spoiler it was mostly people asking for the show to be cut because it's too violent. Some People :confused:

Anyway Great Show, fantastic episode last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,323 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I'd say if a Guard dies in it, it'll be Terry. The guy looks like he just hates life in general!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

callaway92 wrote: »
    I'd say if a Guard dies in it, it'll be Terry. The guy looks like he just hates life in general!

Haha true enough! But Terry's probably a more realistic guard than that Kieran chap. In the episode where Fran gets arrested, when Moynihan said they wouldn't be getting paid for the extra hours Kieran was like "don't worry about the overtime boss!" Said no Guard ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Blay wrote: »
    Who says it was them that did it?

All she has to say is my uncle Nidge saw him raping me and killed him.

Nidge is, of course, going to point the finger elsewhere but who will back him up..Fran?:pac:

was it not Siobhans friend Donna that was raped by Git?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

messrs wrote: »
    was it not Siobhans friend Donna that was raped by Git?

Nope it was Siobhan.
    Season 3 Episode 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Guffy

Haha true enough! But Terry's probably a more realistic guard than that Kieran chap. In the episode where Fran gets arrested, when Moynihan said they wouldn't be getting paid for the extra hours Kieran was like "don't worry about the overtime boss!" Said no Guard ever!

I duno... when you have so much time invested in a task force I figure you come to a point where you just want it so bad. I'm sure there is the odd guard who just wants to take their target down... and look at the rewards. Terry wasn't bothered and got nothing. Keiran was and got a high profile arrest on his record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Ste- wrote: »
    Nope it was Siobhan.
    Season 3 Episode 1.

was Donna raped at some stage aswell, am remembering some scene in a pub after hours and they were all wasted and Donna went down to basement for a fag and I thought she was raped down there? were they not all afraid she would go to the cops over it and telling Siobhan to talk her out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Siobhan if she goes with the whole angle of a bone that links Fran to a murder (does it link Nidge dont think so) she will have to also say well Tommy smashed his head in.In getting revenge for Tommy she will be getting him locked up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

was Donna raped at some stage aswell, am remembering some scene in a pub after hours and they were all wasted and Donna went down to basement for a fag and I thought she was raped down there? were they not all afraid she would go to the cops over it and telling Siobhan to talk her out of it.

No this was definitely Siobhan. She told Donna about it, and then Fran and Nidge threatened her not to open her mouth about it and cut all contact with Siobhan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Donna went down to the basement with Fran when she was dressed as an avatar. Very much consensual though. She told Fran about Sobhán.

Next day Nidge threatened to throw acid in her face if she ever opened her mouth