Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xbox One/360 Dashboard & Update Discussion (Retail/Beta/Preview Versions)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

miralize wrote: »

Very cool, I knew it wouldn't take a long time to start seeing XB1 users put together great images that fit the dashboard well.

Just for everyone who doesn't have photoshop the width and height of the template is 1920px X 1080px. So its just like a desktop wallpaper.

If you use google images to search for an image click on search tools and select exactly. This opens a popup box where you can enter these dimensions and you'll have an image that fits your XB1 precisely.

* Some really nice Destiny in-game photos http://imgur.com/a/4BZLv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

Exact size image search is dead handy. Think I'll have to have this for the next while :)

This Iron man background is pretty noice

maximoose wrote: »
    Exact size image search is dead handy. Think I'll have to have this for the next while :)

That fits in really nice with the Xbox One UI.

2mqjog8.jpg

The Playstation 4 people wont be happy :D

my latest creation :eek:

j9oyae.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

calex71 wrote: »
    Wow being able to change the dash background is a small change but has a huge impact, you can set it with achievement art or a solid colour. Art didn't work so well has I couldn't find one that looked any good but when you set it to a solid colour like red it really pops!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was like trying to decorate the gaff ffs, herself was giving out. Went for a Destiny background. Looks well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,550 ✭✭✭Shred

Haven't seen anything wrote up about it unless I'm missing anything.

I decided to give Xbox support a shout on this and they were really helpful. The bottom line is MKVs should be working over local LAN and they're looking into it for me. I'll let you know what I hear back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

A few here http://xboxonebackgrounds.com didn't take them long to make a site for it :D

Actually I'm getting and error when I try to change the background to a custom image now both from USB and the DLNA server doesn't see any of the images I have on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Cotts72

When I click custom background it brings me straight to the external media player. I have the pics on my external HDD but gives me no option to set them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Cotts72 wrote: »
    When I click custom background it brings me straight to the external media player. I have the pics on my external HDD but gives me no option to set them

You click into the picture to make the picture you want fullscreen first then you press start 'menu' button and option to set as background should be there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Cotts72

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    You click into the picture to make the picture you want fullscreen first then you press start 'menu' button and option to set as background should be there?

I had tried that but it never gave me the option,might just be a bug

Cotts72 wrote: »
    I had tried that but it never gave me the option,might just be a bug

Uninstall the media player app and re-install it. Should work fine then.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Console updating for me now, anyone know what's been rolled out today?

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Console updating for me now, anyone know what's been rolled out today?

One guide stuff and custom backgrounds.... which are awesome !!!!

Shred wrote: »
    I decided to give Xbox support a shout on this and they were really helpful. The bottom line is MKVs should be working over local LAN and they're looking into it for me. I'll let you know what I hear back.

I just tested this from a plex and a dlna running off the router and usb stick . Didn't see them.

Seems there is an issue with the media player not updating, un-install it and re-install and they will work. Tested it again after a re-install and mkv work both streaming and attached usb.

I just tested this from a plex and a dlna running off the router and usb stick . Didn't see them.

Seems there is an issue with the media player not updating, un-install it and re-install and they will work. Tested it again after a re-install and mkv work both streaming and attached usb.

Cool, I'll give this a shot so.

No joy. I reinstalled the app and tested, not working. I power cycled and re-tried, still not working. Damn this is annoying :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭TweekeewT

Has anyone not gotten in to the preview programme after someone's invited them? I got invited weeks ago on this thread but never received anything on my end. If anyone who's in would like to do me a favour and give it another try, my GT is TweekeewT

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,791 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

TweekeewT wrote: »
    Has anyone not gotten in to the preview programme after someone's invited them? I got invited weeks ago on this thread but never received anything on my end. If anyone who's in would like to do me a favour and give it another try, my GT is TweekeewT

Sent you an invite there, better luck this time.

Got an evolve alpha code from live in a message from them as I'm in the preview, nice!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Got an evolve alpha code from live in a message from them as I'm in the preview, nice!!!! :)

Me too :) Haven't really looked into it too much but read quickly it's like 4 vs 1 style game mode is it? Should be fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Any other spare Dashboard preview invites floating about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Liamalone wrote: »
    Any other spare Dashboard preview invites floating about?

What's you're Gt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭dor83

Got a spare Evolve alpha code if anyone wants it, first person to PM me can have it.

deco nate wrote: »
    What's you're Gt?

Liamalone

Many Thankyous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Liamalone wrote: »
    Liamalone

Many Thankyous!

Done!

Games store seems to have had a layout update, step in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭nemoisback66

Looking forward to the November update, it looks pretty good with the customisable backgrounds. As for the dashboard preview is there any other invites available? Thanks in advance :)

deco nate wrote: »
    Done!

Where do I find the invite?