DCM 2014: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 carmendub

Oh the pain the pain!still having serious trouble getting up and down the stairs,getting up and down from chairs and walking in general!!The pain is a reminder of the massive achievement that was yesterday though so will have to embrace it for a little while longer!Found it so bloody tough yesterday,a lot of mental struggle to keep going from mile 15,few little spurts of energy along the way but found clonskeagh area,mile 19-22 reallu tough.Actually didn't find roebuck mountain too bad after all the dread as found the inclines and drags ie Crumlin etc much harder going!Mile 23-26 was unbelievably tough even with people shouting 1 mile to go etc didn't feel like reality until the finish line was right ahead!Got home in 3.57.08 which I'm delighted about but serious hard work along the way.Every single one of us are absolute legends so we should be proud of our hobbles and limps for the next few days!Support was unreal,didn't put my earphones in once throughout the whole race,best Marathon Supporters in the world!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

Right this is gonna be long so sorry about that!

First and foremost I needed to finish this Marathon.
    Not just for myself but for my son and for all the people that so generously donated.I'll be well over the €3000 mark by the time I have everything collected.

I saw this Marathon as not only a new start of hopefully the first of many Marathons but also as closure of putting the last 3 years behind us and all the upset and torment we went through when we found out our first born had Down Syndrome.

I had a time in my head which was 4:10. From training runs I knew I had it in me to to it and maybe even a bit quicker.
    It all went out the window very early on and I was then hoping for 4:30 which went at 16miles when I got my first bad cramp. I got going again and ran as far as 17.5 and next thing it was like a bullet had hit both my calves and I was stopped in my tracks.

I won't bore ye with an account of each mile from there on but I walked/Jogged the rest of the way in the most excruciating of pain.

But through it all I knew I wasn't going to give up. I just couldn't.
    I made it to 800mts from the finish and I high fived Des Bishop..he nearly broke me hand! I was nearly sprinting now and then bang...both legs gone 400mts to go.

I held on to some poor devil at a row of red and white bollards and only for him I would have been flat on my face.
    Next thing I knew a steward in a yellow Dublin Marathon jacket was standing there and told me to lie on the ground and he worked my legs till the cramp went. I'll be eternally grateful to this man. I'm fairly sure I never thanked him at the time and I feel really bad about that.
    As I was on my back I heard someone shouting my name. I looked up to see my brother at the barrier beside me screaming at me that the finish line was just there and I would make it.

I managed to get up and I just starting running. I dunno where I got the energy from.My brother had started running beside me but was still at the other side of the barrier and he was shouting encouragement to me and I think some of the crowd was joining in as it felt like everyone was shouting my name.

As I got to about 200mts to go I saw him. There he was with his gorgeous smiling little face and my wife running along holding him. It was my son Eoghan.
    I gave them the thumbs up and made one last dash for the line and finished in 4:59.30
    I had done it... I had finished the Marathon.

I leaned against the barrier before I collected my medal and I burst into tears. The enormity of the whole thing and why I was doing it just overcame me. A steward came over to me and asked me was I ok and when he saw I was crying just sort of backed away with a expression of I really don't want to be dealing with this weirdo!

I collected my medal and t shirt and went to find my family where once again I had a bit of a cry(I'm a big bloody wimp I know!)
    We all went back to the Ashling Hotel where my parents were staying for the night and had a feed and a few pints. It was great as my sister and husband and my brother and his wife and kids had all made the effort to come in and cheer me on.

I'm pretty sore today and I'm a little disappointed with my time.But from reading all the other reports I can see it was very tough for most and there were a lot of poor people who didn't finish.
    Would I do it all over again though???? In a fecking heartbeat.I'm already looking forward to next year!

This is me with my son Eoghan after I had finished.
    It made all the pain worthwhile just to hold him at the end.

1453405_732202406849872_3031447332231657011_n.jpg?oh=7007f13c75e38010695afc5f60209c4d&oe=54E68476&__gda__=1425599551_2d23d1ac7f2507ca0f41f512d2859dde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭gingersnap

Another long one....

I put 4:59:59 down as my target on the tracker but I always knew it was going to be a hard target for me to achieve.

I started out with my running buddy who I did some of my long runs with. We wished each other luck at the start line and said we'd see how things went over the course - chances were that we wouldn't stay together for the duration.

Started out with wave 3, what a feeling going through the start line and running through the streets of Dublin. Stayed within sight of the 5 hour pacers until we reached the quays but we both needed to have a toilet break so they were long gone when we got back out. To be honest, it kind of took the pressure off, not seeing the pacers anymore.

Started taking sips of lucozade mixed with water at the 5k point which I brought in my own bottle and topped up with more water/lucozade as we went along.

We continued on at a comfortable pace through the park and Castleknock and then that lovely downhill section going into the park. Had my first banana at this point. The miles were flying past and having someone to chat with along the way was great.

My husband and two daughters were waiting at the bridge in Chapelizod. I ran over to give them a big hug, it was a great boost to see them.

Headed up the hill to Inchicore and the sun came out, started to get very hot so continued sipping. On to Kilmanham and up around the SCR. Got a shout out from the DJ as we passed.

Had another banana before heading over the bridge at Dolphins Barn. Feeling ok going through the half way point, pace was nice, no pain anywhere.

Then the wind hit us and people started dropping like flies. All along Crumlin Road lots of people were walking. There were no crowds of people to tuck in behind, we were weaving in and out of walkers, still plodding along.

Around the corner to Walkinstown and I spotted my brother and his family. Another round of hugs before continuing on up around the roundabout where the support was brilliant.

Had half a breakfast bar at 25k and the rest at 30k.

At this point, the vast majority of people were walking and we were constantly overtaking people. I noticed a lot of people at the first aid stops, wrapped in space blankets and on stretchers. I haven't much experience of racing so I didn't know if this was to be expected or not. I also saw a few men along the way sitting at the side of the road, obvious pain on their faces, holding cramped legs. I remember passing one crying girl who looked like she wanted to pull out and her friend trying to convince her to continue.

On to Terenure and the crowd and the music and something just hit me out of nowhere. I was actually running (well jogging to be precise) a marathon! I nearly burst into tears. Somehow I managed to hold it together.

And on we plodded, past countless people. Starting to feel a bit tired now, it seemed every turn brought another hill. There was no water left at Clonskeagh and I was running low. A very kind family had set up a table outside their house with plastic cups of water. Thank you, kind family!

I was worrying about Roebuck, I heard so much about it and I didn't know what to expect. When I saw the Lucozade wall of support I knew this was it. Up we shuffled, head down, there was no way we were going to stop to walk now. It was over before I knew it and we were on a lovely downhill stretch again.

Along by the dual carriageway and over the flyover we go, getting really thirsty now and so happy to see a water stop ahead. Gulped down half a bottle and regretted it instantly. Battled with my stomach for the next few minutes and really thought I would lose but thankfully it stayed down.

The last two miles for me were tough. My body was sore and my mind was screaming at me to stop. The 25 mile sign seemed to take an eternity to come. I told my friend to shoot on ahead if she was feeling good. She stuck with me and this kept me going, one foot after the other, counting down the never ending last mile. I saw the 800m sign and all I could think of was "that's two laps of the track, I'll never do it". Spotted my husband and girls in the crowd but there was no chance of stopping then for a hug, if I stopped I wouldn't have got going again. The crowd support was great but I was in my own world now, no thanks or even eye contact with anyone. Then I saw the finish line, the blue beneath my feet and I knew I was going to make it!

We both crossed the finish line in 5:12, maybe not a great time for some but I was delighted! I did it, I ran a marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Casey78 wrote: »

Not just for myself but for my son and for all the people that so generously donated.I'll be well over the €3000 mark by the time I have everything collected.

I saw this Marathon as not only a new start of hopefully the first of many Marathons but also as closure of putting the last 3 years behind us and all the upset and torment we went through when we found out our first born had Down Syndrome.

I had a time in my head which was 4:10. From training runs I knew I had it in me to to it and maybe even a bit quicker.
    It all went out the window very early on and I was then hoping for 4:30 which went at 16miles when I got my first bad cramp. I got going again and ran as far as 17.5 and next thing it was like a bullet had hit both my calves and I was stopped in my tracks.

I won't bore ye with an account of each mile from there on but I walked/Jogged the rest of the way in the most excruciating of pain.

I made it to 800mts from the finish and I high fived Des Bishop..he nearly broke me hand! I was nearly sprinting now and then bang...both legs gone 400mts to go.

I held on to some poor devil at a row of red and white bollards and only for him I would have been flat on my face.
    Next thing I knew a steward in a yellow Dublin Marathon jacket was standing there and told me to lie on the ground and he worked my legs till the cramp went. I'll be eternally grateful to this man. I'm fairly sure I never thanked him at the time and I feel really bad about that.
    As I was on my back I heard someone shouting my name. I looked up to see my brother at the barrier beside me screaming at me that the finish line was just there and I would make it.

I managed to get up and I just starting running. I dunno where I got the energy from.My brother had started running beside me but was still at the other side of the barrier and he was shouting encouragement to me and I think some of the crowd was joining in as it felt like everyone was shouting my name.

As I got to about 200mts to go I saw him. There he was with his gorgeous smiling little face and my wife running along holding him. It was my son Eoghan.
    I gave them the thumbs up and made one last dash for the line and finished in 4:59.30

I leaned against the barrier before I collected my medal and I burst into tears. The enormity of the whole thing and why I was doing it just overcame me. A steward came over to me and asked me was I ok and when he saw I was crying just sort of backed away with a expression of I really don't want to be dealing with this weirdo!

I collected my medal and t shirt and went to find my family where once again I had a bit of a cry(I'm a big bloody wimp I know!)
    We all went back to the Ashling Hotel where my parents were staying for the night and had a feed and a few pints. It was great as my sister and husband and my brother and his wife and kids had all made the effort to come in and cheer me on.

I'm pretty sore today and I'm a little disappointed with my time.But from reading all the other reports I can see it was very tough for most and there were a lot of poor people who didn't finish.
    Would I do it all over again though???? In a fecking heartbeat.I'm already looking forward to next year!

1453405_732202406849872_3031447332231657011_n.jpg?oh=7007f13c75e38010695afc5f60209c4d&oe=54E68476&__gda__=1425599551_2d23d1ac7f2507ca0f41f512d2859dde

Right in the feels that one

Delighted for you. Gorgeous pic and gorgeous kid too.

Be very proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Speaking of wives like that -:mine spent yesterday morning in Dundrum cinema with my son and her sister and her 2 kids

What's more, my son has now taken ownership of the medal. Apparently it's his medal for being a good boy in the cinema!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,835 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

@Casey
    I was also staying in the Ashling. I think I saw you that night. You were wearing the marathon finishers' top. I walked into the bar to get a glass of wine and you walked out against me. I wasn't sure if it was you so didn't approach.
    Smashing photo by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Speaking of wives like that -:mine spent yesterday morning in Dundrum cinema with my son and her sister and her 2 kids

What's more, my son has now taken ownership of the medal. Apparently it's his medal for being a good boy in the cinema!

ha ha.. How's the body holding up today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Fantastic report Casey. I'm not ashamed to say I ran the DCM for purely selfish reasons, but your drive and achieving your goal has been inspirational. €3000 is a huge amount of money and that photo cannot be bought. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,835 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Just said I would put up this. I have been reading back through the reports and it is funny hearing some of the accounts. I don't know if people would like to add to this post but here are the few things I saw along the way that were funny, mad, strange, inspiring, etc. The ones about the animals being out of the zoo and the immersion one had me in stitches. Edit if you wish.

Coming up Chesterfield Avenue and the guy in front of me with a picture of his father on the back of his t-shirt with "In memory of Dad" on the back, I think.

Some French supporter who was shouting half French half English in encouragement "Guu on".

Some lad passed me with a farmer's peak cap on him and he lathered in sweat, around halfway.

Some guy who seemed to appear a couple of times on the course. He seemed to have a bicycle at the side of the road and shouted 'that's a great steady pace now'.

The old woman ringing a bell outside her house.

That young fireman guy.... I didn't pass him til about the 3/4 pace. Was he doing that pace with 40kg on his back??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Mimojo

DCM 2014 Race Report

Having read all the excellent race reports here since last night decided to write up a proper one myself! Did a quick one yesterday, but having had time to reflect think its good to get it all down on paper while it is still fresh in my mind. Sorry its so long and rambling, just wanted to get it all down on paper!!

Race Preparation

I am relatively new to running. Last year I did the Couch to 5k and was up to about 10k but hadn't been doing a huge amount of miles & hadn't done any races. I had been in the gym since last Sept and was doing interval running on the treadmill 2/3 times a week between then and May. In late May signed up for the race series and got out on the road, and started building up my mileage and doing the lsrs at the weekend. I was trying to do interval and hill sprints, was a bit all over the place to be honest. I was steadily building up the lsr distance each weekend. I also continued in the gym throughout, which got less and less in the last two months as running too over! I was blessed to have found this thread in August and followed HH1 from then on in following excellent advice from Ososlo! My weekly mileage was not massive, 30-35 miles per week plus 3 strength gym sessions.

I completed the 5 Mile, 10 Mile & HM and really enjoyed then, and they were my first ever races. Had a very minor problem with my knee in August but took a weeks rest and it was fine again. Was very lucky injury wise. I had signed up to do Tough Mudder months ago for charity and did this at the start of Oct which I know was a risky strategy but came out fine and thankfully didn't pick up any injuries.

The following week I got an awful dose of flu and didn't run for a week which was very worrying, but was glad to have gotten over it and back on track.

I felt that I did taper down well (which drove me mad!) and my diet was very good, and felt that the I carb loaded and was well hydrated going into yesterday.

I did stick to the plan and completed the vast majority of the runs. I missed one lsr in total. My last lsr was a week early because of Tough Muddier which was a bit of a worry, but I think for your first marathon you just worry about everything anyhow!! My three longest runs were 18.5, 20 & 21.2

I was incredibly nervous all of last week, it is something very hard to describe. I am not a very emotional person, but I cried a few times on Sat and Sun, and I was very on edge. I really should give my medal to my other half as he has been brilliant this week (and throughout this whole thing tub), dealing with an ever increasing irrational lady!!! I went to the expose on Saturday to collect my race number and found this very nerve racking, I think it suddenly hit me that I was doing a marathon! Found it very overwhelming if I am honest, I really wanted to enjoy it but I think it all got on top of me.

Based on my HM time of 2:09 and the pace of my lsrs I decided on a target time of 4:40 which I felt was achievable.

Marathon Morning

I actually got a decent sleep the night before the race. Early on in the week I hadn't been sleeping well, but the three nights before hand I slept well. Had porridge for brekkie as normal and my sister dropped me into town in plenty of time. My OH walked up with me, and again there were tears! I dropped in my bag at 7.50 and made my way down. I found it a warm morning so didn't bother with trackie bottoms just an old hoodie. The first batch of portaloos were really busy so queued at the second lot for about 20 mins. Got down to Wave 3 at 8.30 so had 50 minutes to wait. Found this nervy but was feeling good & just wanted to get started at that stage. The paces arrived at about 8.50 so I tucked in behind the 4:40's. We moved up along and finally we were off! Felt really emotional going over the start line, kept saying to myself “you are actually doing a marathon!”.

First Half

I was just behind the 4:40 pacers and found the first few miles really amazing, was feeling really good and the crowds and cheers were brilliant. Felt really exhilarated and was such a cool experience having everyone cheering you on! I am not hugely familiar with Dublin but I did recognise all the start of the race, on to quays and it was cool to be running through the streets of the city. I do remember thinking passing Guiness that it was pretty warm. The first point I saw my family was at the gate of the Phoenix Park and that was brilliant, really gave me a boost (and a little tear again!). Into the Phoenix Park I found it pretty windy and it was a bit tough going up into the park, but was still feeling good. Looking back I think I should have recognised that the pace was just a little too quick for me to maintain for the entire race, but was feeling so good and enjoying it I didn't really think about it it. Out of the park into Castleknock was really class, the crowds were amazing. Was tipping along, the 4:40 pacers were really nice guys and kept everyone going, fair play to them. My family were going to be at Mile 11 so I was looking forward to seeing them again and that kept me occupied. Spotted them on the left hand side and gave them a high 5, and then spotted my friend a little bit up the road so that was great. Hit the half way point at 2:18:46 so I was right on target and feeling great!

First half splits: 1) 10:52, 2) 10:10, 3) 10:18, 4) 10:43, 5) 10:27, 6) 10:22, 7) 10:27, 8) 10:04, 9)10:11 10) 10:14, 11) 10:26, 12) 10:26, 13)10:40

Second Half

I was feeling good but I could feel myself starting to tired slightly. I kept on going until Mile 16, and then I really started to feel like I was slipping. I was starting to cramp, my legs were really starting to hurt, and I started getting really worried that it was too early in the day for this to be happening. I started to say to myself “oh my god I still have 10 miles to go”, and I guess I started to struggle a bit. I decided to stop for a quick stretch so I lost the pacer group at this stage. I started off again and my legs felt better after the stretch. I could see the pacers ahead of me, but for the next 3 miles or so I could see the distance getting between me and then getting longer and longer. At this stage I knew I wasn't going to get the target time, and just started thinking about finishing. After Mile 18 I was really struggling, hurting, everything was telling me just to walk, things were not good! I also noticed that I was incredibly thirsty, for the first half of the race had been talking on water bit by bit, but not at every water station I took two bottles and felt like I was inhaling them. I was also spraying water over my head to try to cool myself down. I felt really hot, and like my heart was racing.

Then around Mile 19 a girl fell in beside me and started chatting, she was so nice and friendly and just chatted about bits and pieces and honestly she saved me! It took my mind of everything, just tipped away and next thing I knew we were at the bottom of Roebuck Hill and we just kept going and next thing we were at the top, and spotted Ray Darcy. At that stage I was feeling great, I had been dreading that hill and it was done! I kept going with her until Mile 23, I took my last gel which I really didn't want to as I was starting to feel a bit sick, and got an awful stitch after it so had to stop again for a quick stretch. I was sorry to have to stop as that chat has gotten me 4 miles that I was wondering would I get through at all! I took off again and I knew that my pace was really slow. I checked my watch and knew I still had another 35-40 minutes of running to go and it was almost too much to take, god my legs were killing me! Just kept tipping away, very very slowly!! At Mile 25 my legs were really killing me so took a walk break for about 300 metres, I was looking at my watch and saying to myself when I get to x distance I will start again. Someone in the crowd shouted my name and KEEP GOING, and it just gave me a lift and I started running again. To be honest a lot of the second half of the race is a blur, it was through areas that I don't really know anyhow, but the only bit I can really remember clearly is Roebuck Hill and getting to the RDS, maybe I am blocking it out! At the RDS the crowd was shouting “nearly there” so just tried to keep going. Finally the Mile 26 sign and actually wanted to climb up and hug that sign. Coming around the corner into the home straight was absolutely surreal, the crowds were just amazing, I actually felt class! Everything was hurting but the crowd just kept you going. I could see the finish line at the end of the road so just kept going. Saw the 400m sign and got a burst of something and kept on going, got onto the “blue” road and knew I was going to finish, and over that finish line was just the most amazing feeling!!!

Finish Time: 4:52:53

Second half splits: 14) 11:26, 15) 10:50, 16) 10:41, 17) 11:24, 18) 10:51, 19) 12:39, 20) 11:51, 21) 11:22, 22) 11:25, 23) 10:50, 24) 11:39, 25) 15:17, 26) 11:54

Verdict

Firstly it was honestly one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I have read so much about the crowds, but god they really are super, it really really keeps you going, even when things are really tough. It was def one of the hardest things I have every done, and the second half was really hard, and in parts pretty rough. I found that it was really really warm and that really got to me, and sections were also pretty windy. I personally found that there were a lot of uphills and downhills, I think too much of my training has been on very flat roads which didn't help me.

I had a target of 4:40 but I really couldn't gives a fiddlers that I didn't meet it, doesn't make one bit of difference to me, just to finish was one of the best feelings ever! I am still on such a high after it, and really want to do another one (just not right now!)!!

I learned so much from it, including:
    • My weekly mileage really was too low, and if I do another marathon I really need to increase my weekly mileage.
    • I also need to add intervals and hill training which I think would really help.
    • I think in general I don't have a huge running base, and didn't really have enough race experience in general. I would like too add more 10ks and HM's in the next year which I think will be a big help.
    • In hindsight if I had gone out with the 4:50 pacers I might have fared a bit better, the pace of the 4:40s were was a little too fast, but I guess that comes with experience. For me following the pacers too all the calculations out of it, and I didn't have to constantly check my pace so I found it helpful. But with more experience I think I would fare better pacing myself, so I could slow on up hill sections etc, and with more experience I would have identified early that the pacer was too quick.
    • I think I would really like to joining a running club or group, just for a bit of guidance and some company when training, even if I just trained with them a night a week and did my other running on my own.
    • On the day the temperature did knock me a bit, but nothing to be done about that one!

Overall a really amazing experience, that I thoroughly enjoyed, am dead chuffed with myself for completing the training and getting through yesterday. Have had so many well wisher texts and fb messages, its really lovely, and seeing my family and OH on the course yesterday was really special.

Sorry about the long rambling post!

Finally thank you thank you THANK YOU everyone this thread, your advice and guidance has been incredible, and really wouldn't have gotten through yesterday with out, and to Ososlo, the mentor with the mostest, cant thank you enough for everything :-)

Finally I am walking like a penguin, when will this go away??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭MLC_biker

So after a day's rest and recuperation I'm ready to recount my experience.
    Got to start area around 8:30, strolled up to find the portaloos. Huge queue, so thanks to the 2 Chinese ladies who opened their home to a bunch of caught short runners, summed up what makes Dublin great on marathon day.
    Had decided to go with the 4:40 pacers, joined the group and ran comfortably with them through the park. Had decided to carry my own carb drink, but was topping it up from the first water station, mix of water :-) and lucozade :-( as I went along. Felt fine, really enjoyed Castleknock, Chapelizod bridge, didn't feel the hills had taken much out of me. Dropped off the pace group for comfort break but caught them easy enough. First gel @6m,no problem. Enjoyed SCR, did notice I wasn't sweating as much as usual but heart rate OK. Got to halfway exactly on time (2:20).
    Like most people, the run up to Walkinstown was very hard, started to struggle to stay with pacers, by mile 16 had to let them go. From mile 17 on it was a slog, had to stop again at mile 21 as gels caused stomach problems. Roebuck was fine, stunned to see how many were walking at this point. Great to see my sons at the bottom of Fosters Ave, big hug big help. From mile 23 was just one foot in front of another, even Nutley Ave seemed flat, totally missed my sister she said I looked 'in the zone' I was just knackered!
    The finish was wonderful, enjoyed the shout out from the PA.

Positives
    Ran the whole race
    Finished close to target of 4:45 (4:47)
    Got hydration right (carrying a bottle between stations a huge plus)
    Great support from family, friends and the good people of Dublin.
    Enjoyed it!

Negatives
    Negative split, maybe should have gone 4:50?
    Sunburn caused later sickness

Sorry couldn't make the pub, hope to see you at a later date. Many thanks to our non Norwegian mentor for the hard work, good humour and great advice.

Sub 4:30 2015!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Just said I would put up this. I have been reading back through the reports and it is funny hearing some of the accounts. I don't know if people would like to add to this post but here are the few things I saw along the way that were funny, mad, strange, inspiring, etc. The ones about the animals being out of the zoo and the immersion one had me in stitches. Edit if you wish.

Coming up Chesterfield Avenue and the guy in front of me with a picture of his father on the back of his t-shirt with "In memory of Dad" on the back, I think.

Some French supporter who was shouting half French half English in encouragement "Guu on".

Some lad passed me with a farmer's peak cap on him and he lathered in sweat, around halfway.

Some guy who seemed to appear a couple of times on the course. He seemed to have a bicycle at the side of the road and shouted 'that's a great steady pace now'.

The old woman ringing a bell outside her house.

That young fireman guy.... I didn't pass him til about the 3/4 pace. Was he doing that pace with 40kg on his back??

I got stuck beside some spanner dressed as Mrs Browne complete with handbag. Worse though was the novelty bike / air horn he kept on setting off. Ended up putting in a fast quarter mile ile to get away from the tool. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

"Casey78 wrote: »

Wow fair play man, I wouldn't be the most sentimental bloke you'd ever meet but that really got me. Very genuine. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Joleigh

Finisherpix are up!

Mrs Brown made me dig deep to get away,
    The Halloween costume street party,
    "It's a Long Way to Tipperary",
    "I know a shortcut" guy,
    The wall of noise in Castleknock
    The BBQ out on the pavement, smelled so good I could have stopped but there wasn't a beer in sight.
    The "Well done Tony Mangan, World Jog" house
    The oul Dub on his bike, panting up the hill beside me roaring "Jaaaaaysus I lost her!"

There were so many loopers out there it was class. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

@Casey
    I was also staying in the Ashling. I think I saw you that night. You were wearing the marathon finishers' top. I walked into the bar to get a glass of wine and you walked out against me. I wasn't sure if it was you so didn't approach.
    Smashing photo by the way.

Yeah that was probably me alright. That's a pity you didn't say hello.
    I haven't met anyone from the forum. Couldn't make it to the pub afterwards as I had all my family up.
    Christmas night out for all the novices and mentors maybe...???

Yeah that was probably me alright. That's a pity you didn't say hello.
    I haven't met anyone from the forum. Couldn't make it to the pub afterwards as I had all my family up.
    Christmas night out for all the novices and mentors maybe...???

Everyone go to Boards Xmas beers this year:)
    Then you'll meet other "novices" and a lot of other boardsies. And btw, you're not a novice anymore;) and I'm not a mentor:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Ososlo wrote: »
    Then you'll meet other "novices" and a lot of other boardsies. And btw, you're not a novice anymore;) and I'm not a mentor:)

Officially, you are still the mentor :)

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Officially, you are still the mentor :)

watch what you're saying there martyboy or you might find yourself with a new little role for the winter;) you might remember we discussed it last night. A lot of the night might be a blur but I haven't forgotten that:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭KillianByrne

Sometimes, when someone is really good at something, they get to do it again for another term.

4 more years! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

watch what you're saying there martyboy or you might find yourself with a new little role for the winter;) you might remember we discussed it last night. A lot of the night might be a blur but I haven't forgotten that:)

I'll keep shtumm so but remember what I said :P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

We may no longer be novices but you'll always be our mentor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Mrs Brown made me dig deep to get away,
    The Halloween costume street party,
    "It's a Long Way to Tipperary",
    "I know a shortcut" guy,
    The wall of noise in Castleknock
    The BBQ out on the pavement, smelled so good I could have stopped but there wasn't a beer in sight.
    The "Well done Tony Mangan, World Jog" house
    The oul Dub on his bike, panting up the hill beside me roaring "Jaaaaaysus I lost her!"

There were so many loopers out there it was class. :D

I could hear the shouts of Mrs Brown behind me but didn't have the energy to turn my head to look!

There was an old lady just inside the park at Knockmaroon (i think), by herself, looked really, really frail clapping with a big smile on her face... we thanked her going past, what a hero!

I loved the guy with the guitar singing ballads in Inchicore... no idea what he was singing but it didn't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Thanks marthastew - I was the one looking for ososlo and asked if you knew her, I recognised you from the pacer stand in the rds! If it wasn't for that I might have been wandering around in the pub for ages, thanks for that.

Definitely looking at the jingle bells race, nice to have something to look forward to.
    Congrats on a super run and very best of luck for continued running success :-)
    Pm1e wrote: »
    Thanks so much Marthastew, we had a brief chat yesterday coming through the railings after finishing, I thanked for you all the support throughout the day. At mile 25 I asked you what the best bet was to get in under 4hrs and you just told me to "go now". I went off like a light, dont know where the energy came from, made it at 3:58:50 for my first marathon finish and a day I will never forget. Thank you so much once again. :D

I remember you! I was so happy for you and delighted you got a chance to talk to me.... One of the really tough things about being a pacer is wondering how people got on after they went ahead or we left them behind. Super strong finish by you!

Does anybody know how the Westport AC runner from our group who tripped and carried on strongly got on(Yvonne I think?)? I hope she had a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭ice9

that bbq is there every year. they are sadistic. I mean who bbq's at that hour of the morning? It smells so nice. I'm just glad they don't live in Clonskeagh!

my funny one was my girlfriend's recounting of seeing a trainer on the crumlin road on a bicycle offering advice to his charges such as "come on now lads. you're doing great. keep it simple". Then she asks me what the alternative is and does a mock complicated run around the living room!

keep it simple - classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sleamhain

Well done to everyone on completing your first marathon! Some brilliant reports coming in, spent the last couple of days reading through them all, and extremely jealous I wasn't out there again this year!

I did get out on my bike and cheer you guys on at a couple of different points on the route. Definitely a tough day out there, couldn't believe the heat of the sun while standing out at Dartry Rd, felt like I was getting sunburn...in October! Bask in the glory now for a couple of days, and only get back out to it once your feeling right again (.....no matter how hard it is to resist going for your first run with your new finishers top)!

Well done to all again!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Tester46

Did anyone else see the fella running in fancy flip flops (can't remember their proper name) and the man running barefoot near the front of Wave 2 ie near the 3:50 pacers? How did they get on - did they finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 pagep195

I did my first marathon in 30 years in 2013 in 3:54 with minimal preparation in terms of LSRs. This year, I was somewhat better prepared but still hadn't went further than 19 miles in training. The goal for 2014 was just to finish, hopefully in and around the 4 hour mark - I was running with my training partner who was doing his first marathon and we decided a long time ago we would stick together, no matter what. All week, I had repeated the mantra: listen to your body, take into account the conditions on the day, respect the distance, and get home safe - I figured if we stuck to this, we would enjoy the day.

We made it to the start free of illness and injury - always a worry in the lead up. We did notice how warm it was - all along, we had worried about the possibility of rain and wind but didn't factor heat as a potential problem.

The plan was to position ourselves somewhere between the 3:50 and 4:00 pacers and to see how far that got us, running at a comfortable pace. First 5 miles were easy, enjoyable - the drag up Chesterfield Ave was more noticeable than last year- the cross winds might have had an impact there. But once that levelled out, we hit a purple patch in the park, running with very little extra effort but gradually drawing closer to the 3:50 pacers by mile 8. The support was amazing all along the route and there are so many little things along the way that makes it such a memorable marathon to run - I know there were a lot of smiles all the way up to the half way point.

It was at mile 13 when I started to notice that I was feeling a lot less fresh than I normally would at that distance - I ran the Dublin Half very comfortably in 1:52, managing an 8 min final mile and finishing as fresh as a daisy, but here was different. We went through the half way point at 1:55, still on course for a sub 4 hour run but not feeling as good as we would have liked.

We knew our families would be at the 17 mile mark, so that gave us an incentive but the sun was out and we were seeing runners in trouble even at this stage. Miles 17 -20 were tough - it was time to dig in and we were beginning to hurt. The gels and liquids were having little effect now - I remember taking a third bottle of lucozade sport and looking at it, thinking I cannot stomach another drop of this - I swapped it unopened for a bottle of water further down the line.

By the time we got to Heartbreak Hill, we had made the decision to walk it in an effort to conserve some energy for the final miles - we used this as a chance to take more fluids on board and get our heads together. By now, it was near carnage on the roads -I have never seen so many people requiring medical attention at any race.

I hate the section from UCD to the RDS - I found it a killer last year and this year it was just as bad. Somewhere along here, the 4 hour pacers reeled us in - this jolted us into action and we ran alongside them for a couple of miles, on autopilot, suffering in silence. Just after mile 24, my partner said he felt really dizzy - he looked unwell and I immediately thought of all those we had witnessed collapsed on the roadside. I knew if we stopped, chances of a sub 4 hours was lost but I instinctively knew it was the right thing to do. I insisted that we walk until his head cleared - to be honest, I needed it too - I was totally spent. We watched the pacers disappear slowly, and said we would walk until we hit the 25 mile mark and then attempt to run home.

The walk did the trick -we slowly started to run as soon as we saw the 25 mile mark. The last mile and a bit went on forever but we managed to pick up the pace - on the way we saw a girl collapsed on the roadside only a few hundred yards from the finish - I instinctively knew we made the right decision to walk when we did - listen to your body, respect the distance. I have never been more relieved to see anything as that finish line - the crowd noise seemed to push us along as we finished with what felt like a sprint but probably looked like something closer to a speed crawl. We crossed the line in 4:02 - I felt no disappointment that we missed the 4 hour mark - just absolute and total relief. Found it tougher than last year though I am not certain it was anything to do with the balmy temperatures - we trained in the summer in much hotter conditions.

Like last year, we didn't do enough LSRs. Simple as that. If I do it next year, it will only be if I can increase the number of LSRs. I love everything about the race - it shows everything that is good about the people of my home town - the support along the route, the volunteers, the camaraderie of the runners - these are the things we will remember more than times and PBs.

Thanks to everyone who made it such a special day and for all the advice and support on this forum throughout the year. I hope all those who experienced difficulties on the day recover fully - it was not nice to see so many in distress and we forget sometimes how worrying this is for our families who support us through what many consider a crazy endeavour. I won't say roll on next year as I am not sure yet whether I will go again - plan now is to concentrate on shorter races for a while anyhow.

On a final note, I have to say that I preferred last years route - running up O'Connell St and past the GPO at the start just feels more special than this years start. And the finish last year, running past Trinity College and up Nassau St just felt a little more complete too, but that's a minor quibble - the support this year, if anything was even better and that more than made up for the route change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Howdy folks, I wasn't near a computer yesterday to do a proper report, I was busy celebrating my birthday :-) Oh my god what a day on Monday, the highs the lows!

I slept really well the night before, I saw a black cat and two magpies before I got out of my estate on the way to the race so was feeling super good and strong. Got to the start, great atmosphere, met my club mates. Off we went at 9.20am wave 3, nice a slow, keeping an eye on the watch and really really enjoyed the route and all the cheering on, yer man with the 'I know a shortcut sign' and the girl with 'I'm so proud of you total stranger' brilliant. Into the park taking it nice and handy on the incline, enjoyed chesterfield Ave, had massive club support there, took my first gel at mile 5, all good. Castleknock village should clap themselves on the back for the support there, more club mates there too, back into the park all good, chapelizod still feeling good, that hill after the chapelizod bridge was a little tough but I made it up. I took my second gel about mile 11 and it was hard to get it down, have never had that before in the training so I sort of 'sipped' on it for the next mile. By the time I got to mile 13 I was feeling ill, when we turned onto Crumlin Road the sun came out and I started feeling very very ill, every time I tried to push on I felt like vomiting, I thought it was the gel. I slowed, drank my water with salt tab and pushed on to mile 16 where I knew my cousin was waiting with a fresh bottle and some water melon, at that stage I asked her to text my other cousin who was going to be at mile 22 to tell her I'd be late! I was only 5 mins behind where I thought I'd be at mile 16 but I knew at that point I was in trouble, I'd never experienced this before, I've had a foot injury, sore hamstrings, painful IT bands but never this and I didnt know how to fix it. It became clear from Crumlin onwards the number of people being treated on the roadside, some of them looking in a very bad way that something was going on but as someone else has already said, by the time I realized it was hot it was way to late. I didn't feel hot at all at the start, on the quays, through the park, I felt comfortable, but when the sun came out I felt it then, I felt my core temperature rising, I felt my heart rate rising although my breathing was ok, I did not feel good.

At mile 18 I met a clubmate who was in a lot of pain physically, he had started in the wave before me, so we stuck together and pushed each other on and it was a god send to have someone with me through those tough miles. I met my uncle & cousin at mile 22 and jogged down fosters ave at that stage I knew I'd finish even if (as Casey said) I had to crawl it on my hands and knees, I was not giving in, I wanted that medal! All thoughts of time now gone, goal C was 'just finish'. The support from Nutley onwards was super, I had more family at Ballsbridge and the crew from Forget the Gym at mile 25 who deserve a medal for best supporters ever and as for the finish! well, as bad as I felt I felt like a superstar with all the support, more friends on Mount Street cheering me on and there was the finish line, AT LAST! 5.20, well over my goal time, and something I didn't want to do was finish over 5 hours but what can you do.... except learn! My club mate came in shortly after me and we were two very happy people to collect our medals. Definitely the hardest earned medal ever.

So many people told us to 'respect the distance' and its so true, you really don't know what its like to complete 26.2 until you've done it. I'm so sorry I didn't make the pub, my friends at the finish had organised food in one of their houses close by, which was lovely and I wasn't expecting it at all. Went to the pub later on with a big gang from the club and learned that most people struggled on the day, a few of them had super races but in the main people were well off their targets and these guys are experienced runners. I had a good chat with my coach about dehydration, thermal regulation and how much water I should have been taking on from the start V how much I did take on. One thing I'll say is that I'm very glad I brought my own water bottle, one of the water stations (I think mile 22) had no water left, luckily some lovely folks at a house not far down the street were out with water!

So that's it. After my initial disappointment that I didn't achieve goal A or B and a good kick up the backside by my friends who seemed to be prouder of me that I was of myself I feel very grateful that 1) I made it to the start line and 2) I made it to the finish line. Would I do it again? on Monday and yesterday I said no way hose would I put myself through it, I'm not made for running long distance, I can't run in the heat that's for sure but today I'm thinking 'if i ever did do it again here's all the things I'd do differently'!!!

Feet up for the next couple of weeks and I'm already targeting the Bohermeen half in March to chase down my half time. WELL DONE to everyone who ran on Monday, novices, experienced marathoners, pacers, people who had a good day and most of all those of us who had a bad day and one last final thank you to all the supporters out there on the day, you are amazing, you got us over that line.