Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

There was actually something going around about this season having 12 episodes in total. Then I heard it was split, 6 now and 6 more in January. Then I heard that its just this 6. Rumour mill is in full swing.

I dont know whats in store for the future but I think its getting to the stage where they should end it

Edit: Just read this on wiki,

Series five of the show will contain six episodes and started on 5 October 2014, with the final sixth season scheduled to air in 2015. The fifth series began filming on 18 March 2014 and lasted three months, with several weeks of production taking place in Spain.
    that was some poster with no info whatsoever posting something he heard

Ah I heard this ages ago in work or something. Wasn't here at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I was just thinking last night ....it looks like they just forgot about last series...Most of the storyline in this one goes back to series 2 and 3, only siobhan turning rat and paddy surviving the hit is relevant....hardly worth an entire series....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Can anyone see Love/Hate going on for another 2/3 seasons?

People always seem to be saying ''the next season is the last'', but as long as the ratings and viewing figures are high then I don't see any reason for RTE to cancel it.

I suppose it's ultimately up to Stuart Carolan and when he wants to end the story. They have covered a lot of ground though, and I'm not sure how much more can be meddled with. It seems that season 6 has been all but confirmed any ways. I'd like to see it reach a 7th season, but if it makes sense to conclude the story line next season then so be it.

Next season will be the last I'd say, any decent drama writer or creator wont continue to make a show just because the ratings are good at the detriment of the quality of the show.
    5 or 6 is generally the magic number for drama shows e.g Sopranos, Breaking Bad, The Wire, Oz etc.

This season to me seems to be like Season 5 part 1. There so much going on, the next season will bring closure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

GrumPy wrote: »
    I was browsing broadsheet.ie and caught sight of the front page of various newspapers - the f[]ckin' sun published a huge f[]cking spoiler right on the front page!!
    Furious doesn't cut it. :mad:

I saw that as well.

There was a 'spoiler' published on one of the papers front pages a few weeks back, but it turned out to be inaccurate.

The one from the weekend though is a lot more specific, seems hard to imagine how it could be anything other than accurate. I was raging when I saw it.

I just don't understand why papers do it. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

kryogen wrote: »
    **** sake, avoided spoilers all week, all season actually and happened to glance at an image of a L/H character as I was reading an article online, naturally my eye went to the headline which gave away the plot for the ****ing episode tonight and a major development.

Am I right in saying that this spoiler was wrong, or at least didn't come through in last night's episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

A quick piece of advice to all those who don't like Love/Hate........Don't watch it.

My missus loves Gossip Girl, I watched one episode with her and I hated it. After that I didn't watch it again and I certainly don't go onto Gossip Girl discussion forums giving out about it. Just stay away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

GrumPy wrote: »
    I was browsing broadsheet.ie and caught sight of the front page of various newspapers - the f[]ckin' sun published a huge f[]cking spoiler right on the front page!!
    Furious doesn't cut it. :mad:

I was scrolling through my news feed on FB and the Scums spoiler was linked to by RSVP magazine. You can't go anywhere online without seeing a bloody spoiler.

A quick piece of advice to all those who don't like Love/Hate........Don't watch it.

My missus loves Gossip Girl, I watched one episode with her and I hated it. After that I didn't watch it again and I certainly don't go onto Gossip Girl discussion forums giving out about it. Just stay away.

This is ludicrous. This is a discussion forum. People are going to have varying opinions on it. The hype around this show alone is reason enough to watch it. If you can't handle criticism (constructive or not), how about you don't read an online discussion forum. This place wouldn't be very interesting if everyone praised i Love/Hate unconditionally.

I only started watching this after season 3 just be part of the zeitgeist. I would have stopped after season 1 if I took your advice because season 1 was awful, but by now it is arguably Ireland's best drama ever produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,217 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

An interesting interview with the actor who played Paulie from RTE Ten. There is no potential spoilers here as what is being discussed basically is the four episodes that have aired.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭rob316

This is ludicrous. This is a discussion forum. People are going to have varying opinions on it. The hype around this show alone is reason enough to watch it. If you can't handle criticism (constructive or not), how about you don't read an online discussion forum. This place wouldn't be very interesting if everyone praised i Love/Hate unconditionally.

I only started watching this after season 3 just be part of the zeitgeist. I would have stopped after season 1 if I took your advice because season 1 was awful, but by now it is arguably Ireland's best drama ever produced.

" OMG just watched 15 mins of this, I cant stop laughing, its the worst thing on Irish TV since Fair City. The acting is terrible"

These are the crap posts, I mean seriously how can someone judge a show after 15 mins??

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

So is Paulie dead or not?

To me I cant see why on earth he would be alive with that amount of blood all over the place but in Love/hate land you never know what will happen. If he does die then they wasted alot of time on him for nothing substantial so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,217 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

jonny24ie wrote: »

To me I cant see why on earth he would be alive with that amount of blood all over the place but in Love/hate land you never know what will happen. If he does die then they wasted alot of time on him for nothing substantial so far.

Certainly looked like it, did he not land in his head, if you headbutt the concrete from a top floor balcony, he would be brain damaged for sure anyway.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Certainly looked like it, did he not land in his head, if you headbutt the concrete from a top floor balcony, he would be brain damaged for sure anyway.

There has been a trailer or two released which will answer your question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,286 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think the poster means that those who just do not like the show. Not those who like it but can criticize and praise it.

But, there are those on this thread that moan and cry if anything that they perceive as 'negative' is pointed out.

He is surely dead. I always watch the preview of the next week. Do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

He is brown bread I reckon!

I dunno...I hardly think Terrence Big Balls (hehe!) is going to just accept that his nephew fell off a balcony without asking any questions or seeking retribution...

One of the best episodes I have seen in ages!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

walshb wrote: »
    He is surely dead. I always watch the preview of the next week. Do you?

No I didnt watch the preview, as soon as the credits rolled I went to bed. May have a look when I get home :)

I hope to god that he is dead. I couldn't put with him and Tommy asleep in beds, with Siobhan moving from one bed to the other with that silly depressed look on her stupid mug! Talk about a waste of air time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭deadybai

What is the craic with Fran digging up someones grave? I dont remember who that was or why he dug it up. Can someone enlighten me please?

deadybai wrote: »
    What is the craic with Fran digging up someones grave? I dont remember who that was or why he dug it up. Can someone enlighten me please?

It was relating to his feud with Noelie Hughes. Noelie failed in trying to take him out, so Fran decided to dig up Noelie's mother's grave and bring the corpse to Noelie's so Noellie would see it waiting for him when he got home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

The Noelie fella battered him and knocked his teeth out last series because he found out Fran did the job on his wife. Fran being Fran got him back like that.

Him and Noelie were fighting as Fran was riding Noelie's missus, Noelie punched frans teeth out. After that fran ended up diggin up Noelies mam's grave and urinating on it. I think it goes back to season 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

So Fran slept with Noelies wife, Noelie beat him up and caused him to lose his two front teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Super-Rush wrote: »
    I was scrolling through my news feed on FB and the Scums spoiler was linked to by RSVP magazine. You can't go anywhere online without seeing a bloody spoiler.

Least im living in Holland now and getting less of them but still yesterday (i only watched the latest one there) i saw some dope on my facebook liking a page entitled "RIP PAULIE LOVE/HATE". :mad: Think it's just a thing with Irish people, i knew how season 3 ended before i ever started watching because of that sort of craic..It was on the front page of the Mirror the next day too for emphasis. Jesus wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Trish probably had a sheet of carbon paper and a blank cheque underneath that page :D
    Can't see Nidge using a cheque book - nothing to do with literacy, everything to do with traceability.
    ricero wrote: »
    Yup it was whaetfield my friend got work as an extra.

How would that work? Would the visiting blocks not be used pretty much all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

So Fran slept with Noelies wife, Noelie beat him up and caused him to lose his two front teeth

Fran actually won the fight despite losing some teeth!!

Noelie then tried to shoot Fran but Fran fought him off but they were caught by Gardai and Noelie sent to prison

Fran then got the idea to have the corpse of noelie's mother sitting in his house when he got out!!!....but gave up and urinated on it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

RainyDay wrote: »
    How would that work? Would the visiting blocks not be used pretty much all the time?

Probably not .....in the middle of the night etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

I can handle criticism just fine.
    I'm talking of people who say that the show is terrible, rubbish etc. Well why watch it if you don't like it? If you're sitting there spending an hour of your day and grumbling under your breath "This is sh1te", just turn it off, simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,172 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I can handle criticism just fine.
    I'm talking of people who say that the show is terrible, rubbish etc. Well why watch it if you don't like it? If you're sitting there spending an hour of your day and grumbling under your breath "This is sh1te", just turn it off, simple.

I haven't seen too many saying that its sh1te, just that its not great and very weak on plots or strong storylines. In fact come to think of it, its probably best enjoyed by people who are similar to the characters,EG those who live mainly on benefit and always did and have zero ambition. What convinced me that it was pretty lame was when nidge pushed 10K accross the table to the traveller and guess what, the traveller pushed it back! FFS! those boys would kill, and have killed, for a fraction of that 10k. We were being led to believe that it was refused on some warped set of principles that the traveller had, yeah right.