Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Great episode but there is one thing I don't get - if the scottish guy is an undercover cop then why is he sleeping with Nadine? He is mentioned a few times as being Aido's mate so he was obviously his way in to the gang, why would he risk all that by being found out for sleeping with Aido's girlfriend?

Because he's a bloke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭cynicalcough

Because he's a bloke

Im aware of his gender but thank you for the insight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,712 ✭✭✭Lisha

Love Hate is extremely racist. It represents every section of Irish Life - professionals, gardai, scumbags, knackers.

But there are no black characters and no Muslims.

The young cop lastyear was mixed race and called Obama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Meathlass wrote: »
    I think it was a nice juxtaposition of Nidge's relationship with Warren and Patrick's relationship with his son.

Nidge just wanted to sign the homework journal and get it out of the way; Warren told him he had to read it first and look at the art work like any child would when they want attention from a parent.

In contrast Patrick talked to his son about his place in society and in his family, tried to deal with the bullying issue and seemed to have a much more loving relationship with the kid.

Great post by Meathlass, I hope that's finally put to bed the waste of space that is the 'nidge not being able to read ' theory!

I've heard a lot of dubs saying old bill, as well as other English slang; Persian rugs, skin & blister and so on. Definitely more than whacked or clipped, but then I never actually associated with anyone who ordered killings as im sure the vast majority of us didn't. So how are we to know if it's used frequently?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AD_s1uPheEY this is the junkie who was in Love Hate last night rapping Jesus lyrics.From busking to RTE.
    Warning strong language used.That help group is real.

Siobhan is in real trouble if she slips up like that so easily she will do it again.
    Not sure why Nidge is using the Scottish bloke maybe he knows he has something on him and can make him do what he wants then under the threat of outing him.Very happy Aido is getting some lines and emotion and also he seems to be thinking Nidge is his enemy.

Big balls home for the funeral wonder will he stay here and over see things or send some thug to do the job Paulie was meant to do.He will not be happy there is a rat and may want to hunt the rat down.??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭baldbear

Great post by Meathlass, I hope that's finally put to bed the waste of space that is the 'nidge not being able to read ' theory!

Just because he can sign his signature doesn't mean he can read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Next episode:
    Trish to Patrick: "is that a pipe bomb in your pocket or are you just glad to see me?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

Last night was the first night I noticed Nidge may not be able to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭Bigus

Great episode but there is one thing I don't get - if the scottish guy is an undercover cop then why is he sleeping with Nadine? He is mentioned a few times as being Aido's mate so he was obviously his way in to the gang, why would he risk all that by being found out for sleeping with Aido's girlfriend?

As my father used to say,

"He's digging his grave with his Mickey,"
    wouldn't be the first time a lad let his balls rule his brain.

On another note with posters picking holes in plots,

these drug dealer characters haven't got a degree or masters in criminality ,

so often times , stupid things happen and get people killed and caught over the most silly details, including hard men falling off balconies, and hit men shooting children by mistake,

all happens in real life Dublin and limerick gangland, go back through the newspaper headlines of recent years.

Even Tarantino's scene of the lad getting shot by mistake in the back of a car happened in in reality in finglas a few years ago over a speed bump , except he was the one holding the gun that shot himself dead, yet when we saw a similar scene in the film it seemed unrealistic, and far fetched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Nidge can read and write.
    Does nobody remember when he was getting concerned about his receding hairline and he was on his lap top doing research on baldness.
    Another time he was researching how to take down, clean and re-assemble a glock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭ffactj

Last night was the first night I noticed Nidge may not be able to read.

Watch the first few episodes of love hate and hes texting and typing away most of the time. You can even read what hes typing. Doesnt seem like a man who cant read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

It's Padraig Nally they need to get rid of Patrick 9 lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭lilydonoghue

K4t wrote: »
    Siobhan obviously has some kind of a fetish for lads in comas.

good one hahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Just finished the episode there, had to go out in the middle of it. Good episode with the usual flaws. Particularly the hit on Patrick, I thought it was farcical tbh and ruined the tension for me.
    They played with the idea of a fall in previous episode so as soon as I saw your man Paulie on the plinth I knew he was going over. Again, I saw no reason to signal it so heavily, the shock factor was ruined for me.
    Interesting to see how it pans out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭gebbel

Just wondering what language is the traveller singing in the bar, where Patrick is at the son's grave? I thought it was Irish but it's not. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,079 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Just reading this thread, some people over-analyse what we see.

Its only a TV show produced to produce 45mins entertainment once a week, there are going to be the odd inaccuracy in it or something you don't agree with.

Personally I find it a great series after the slightly disappointing Series 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Would it be Shelta ( the Cant )The Traveller language?

I remember that documentary about the traveller DNA on RTE a while back and they spoke about the separate language that travellers have.

Can't link as I'm on my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭Corvo

Wonderful episode, and the final scene really did it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Seems to be it - I picked up some definite Irish words but also colloquial English language there too. The Gammon as I've heard it called is a mix of both I believe
    Would it be Shelta ( the Cant )The Traveller language?

I remember that documentary about the traveller DNA on RTE a while back and they spoke about the separate language that travellers have.

Can't link as I'm on my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The "hitman" was the cop in shameless was he not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 paveedelaney

The language is the Irish Traveller language also known as Cant, Gamon, or Shelta.
    It is a song called Lashún Gália or 'beautiful child'

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,467 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Seems to be it - I picked up some definite Irish words but also colloquial English language there too. The Gammon as I've heard it called is a mix of both I believe

The subtitles showed the words he was singing. I'd say they were fairly accurate. It seems to be a mix of a few languages.

On the Nidge reading thing, it wouldn't make sense for them to introduce this out of the blue. I thought that scene up against the one with Patrick and his son showed really what a crap Dad Nidge is, even to Warren, who seems to be the one person he really cares about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Is there 6 episodes this season ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Stroke Politics

Nidge not reading his son's school work is to portray him as the polar opposite of the Traveller father.

Nidge is not interested in his son's educational achievements, and places little value on academic ability. Patrick picks up his son from school every day, asks his son is he getting on ok at school, and brings him for a treat following school. The contrast is IMO deliberate on Carolan's part...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

spurious wrote: »
    The subtitles showed the words he was singing. I'd say they were fairly accurate. It seems to be a mix of a few languages.

On the Nidge reading thing, it wouldn't make sense for them to introduce this out of the blue. I thought that scene up against the one with Patrick and his son showed really what a crap Dad Nidge is, even to Warren, who seems to be the one person he really cares about.

Yeah I assumed the whole scene was to show how little nidge is actually involved in the day to day stuff with his sons/family. Like Trish was saying about how she always tells warren to take out his lunch and then when it came to homework warren had to tell nidge what to do and that he had to sign the journal- stuff that Trish would be doing every day. Then nidge was amazed at his colouring so obviously hadn't bothered looking at any of his work before then. Didn't think it was all that relevant, just an insight into how his family are affected by all the running around nidge does be doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Sinead Mc1

Any link to next weeks trailer?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Jesus Christ...will people stop with the "Nidge can't read" nonsense?!

How someone could infer that is beyond me.

The guy can read.

Was he looking at the internet for evidence of Darren's murder in the hope of there being a picture?

Does he just pretend to read texts on his phone?

Was he researching baldness cures in the hope of finding a picture guide?

The man can read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭DG7

I cant understand why the Gardai have never raided the brothel.

Also do places like that exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

That was the episode the season really needed badly. It's been alright so far, but nowhere near as compelling as past seasons. Shows that Love/Hate still has it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I can understand how people can get confused by Love/Hate as the writing is fairly nonsensical at times.