Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,093 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Blay wrote: »
    Dean is working for Nidge now

Nidge goes to see Noely to convince him to kill Fran- Noely refuses to do his dirty work

Some crap with Siobhan

Tommy wakes up or opens his eyes

I think a child is going to be killed or seriously injured this season maybe belong to Nidge, Patrick or even Siobhan's little lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

I think there may be be drugs in one the red hatted gnomes by accident and that will cause trouble if he sells them. That would be a good twist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The most unbelievable part of tonights episode is that Elmo didn't somehow fúck up the job. Was convinced he'd dump the wrong gnomes somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,291 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

I think there may be be drugs in one the red hatted gnomes by accident and that will cause trouble if he sells them. That would be a good twist

I'd imagine it will be more like Moynihan arranges a tail on Elmo after what Siobhan told him. He then questions why Elmo's flogging gnomes all of a sudden, which tips him off to how the drugs are coming in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

How did they get the gear into the gnomes?

Well, first they bring the gnomes up to the old Jacob's factory where they made the Fig Rolls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

that was a funny part to the script, blue eyes have the yokes and the brown eyes have the gear.

Noelie does know Fran is inside, he saw him and looked back twice to make sure. this happened before the 3 lads attacked him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Decent enough filler episode which sets everything up for the next part of the season, Elmo is a watched man, Noelie will now go after Fran, Nidge will go after the travellers going by the foreshadowing of Paddy at the end, Paulie don't give a **** about anyone and the scene when he woke up on the roof with his hands down Shiobhans pants gave me jealous thoughts, i would not worry about Fran he will come out on top in prison, He might get banged up but he won't get whacked, He's to big of a character to go that way, A stand off with nidge and fran has to happen if not in this season then next either way it's heating up, Pottsy needs to go to specsavers to think that twiglet could take on mr. coola boola, Nadine would get it every day and twice on Sunday, So can't blame the scottish lad

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

I read Dano did die in the paper at the time. And that Jason Barry had other commitments.

However, there is no actual mention in the show he died. The last time we saw Dano this time last year, he was bleeding in a field trying to sit up. He closed his eyes presumably dead. That was episode 4 series 4.

Since then, we saw no funeral, headstone or dead body in a morgue like we saw with John Boy, Darren, etc. or we did not see him receive an immediately life threatening wound like we did with Lizzie, Wayne, etc.

Of all the dead characters, Dano would be the only one possible to be revived actually. It is plausible someone rescued him and he recuperated and now wants revenge on Nidge and Tony to avenge the deaths of his father and his friends Lizzie and her brother Paddy. But that depends on whether Jason is interested.

Some people want Darren brought back. Now, that cannot happen unless they went down the road of Nidge having a dream after meeting Tony at the end of season 3. We know this was done for Bobby in Dallas and the series suffered from this drastically. I don't believe this will even be contemplated on Love/Hate.[/b]

It would nearly be worth it just to witness the outrage from the media and general public.

Overall I thought tonights episode was quite good. Sets things up nicely for the next few episodes. I thought the Siobhan and Pauly scenes worked quite well. I am fairly sure that Pauly is a bit suspicious of where Siobhan goes at night, could lead to her downfall.

Aido may very well side with Pauly against Nidge in future as he is going to blame him for Pottsie's eye. Fair play to Fran though, he roughed the lads up good and proper. The fight scene was pretty tense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Cienciano wrote: »
    The most unbelievable part of tonights episode is that Elmo didn't somehow fúck up the job. Was convinced he'd dump the wrong gnomes somewhere

I'm guessing he did screw-up somehow (or Paulie with the hangover gave garbled instructions). The logical choice with a load of crap like that would be smash the lot to smithereens and be done with it. Our writers have left in the gnomes for sale plotline for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

I'm guessing he did screw-up somehow (or Paulie with the hangover gave garbled instructions). The logical choice with a load of crap like that would be smash the lot to smithereens and be done with it. Our writers have left in the gnomes for sale plotline for a reason.

properly just a joke, it also shows that most low ranking players in this game don't make a lot of money out of it,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Dark sun wrote: »
    Because he's drinking all siobhans tea it's all in the talk

325803.jpg

Thats ruined it. Can never take him seriously as a hard man now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Tonights episode reminded me if season 4..the prison stuff was intense but thats about it..poor writing. Season 3 was the best by a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Spoiler from next week, the Gardaí pile pressure onto Elmo again:

325806.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

The red Gnomes could pull a fast one on Elmo and dig up the stash.

gnome.JPG

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Wow.

Some serious negativity here this week. Its like people go out of their way to watch five minutes and bash it.

Genius writing.

1. The line up for Fran's graveyard pissing to come back to probably being his death.

2. Siobhan telling The cops Paulie met Elmo. Nidge thought he had a perfect henchman outside of his circle that he could trust to bring in the gear. They will see him selling gnomes and make the connection on the drugs coming in. Its always the little things that catch you out.

3. Prison scene was gritty and excellent.

4. Drugs scene was done well imo. I thought she was going to fall and Nidge would kill Paulie for it.

5. The music was outstanding. Again.

6. Aidos missus playing away will surely be used to blackmail her later.

7. The recurring theme of Janet asking Nidge to sort her son out. I feel a Moment coming where he is the person that ultimately whacks Nidge. Like
    Omar getting killed by a random popper in the Wire
    which nidge could have avoided with a chat.

I think people around here should get free spoons so they can be spoonfed every week. Nidge is the bald guy with the scar on his head. Fyi.

Cheers for The Wire spoiler for those of is who haven't seen it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Only thing I had to watch the end over for was who was sitting with Pottsie in the hospital. At first glance I thought it was Paulie and wondered *wtf is he doin there*.....but a rewatch now and think it was just a prison guard, although I didn't see one with Fran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Amazingfun wrote: »
    Only thing I had to watch the end over for was who was sitting with Pottsie in the hospital. At first glance I thought it was Paulie and wondered *wtf is he doin there*.....but a rewatch now and think it was just a prison guard, although I didn't see one with Fran.

it was aido

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭DynamiteC101

I thought tonight's episode was pretty decent, albeit very gruesome and gritty.

Positives of tonight's episode:

(1) The pub scene was done pretty well. The nefarious effects of E/MDMA were depicted in a very gritty and realistic manner.

(2) The eye-stabbing scene was brutal but very good. A great deal of suspense when Fran/Pottsie were grasping at each other for a few seconds, before Fran nailed the final blow.

(3) Paulie and Siobans relationship is quite intriguing. He'd have her killed in a second - as Moynihan aptly points out - but his cunning charm is keeping her at bay. This is most notable in her apartment at the end when he is completely cool with the idea of her ''staying in for one night''.

(4) The scene with Dean at the end was gangland portrayal at its best. Nidge's complete ruthlessness is all to see when he callously informs Dean of his faith in the silage pit, while the 'rat' element of gangland comes in the form of Dean snitching on Fran to save his life.

Negatives of tonight's episode:

(1) As someone on this thread pointed out earlier, the 'Siobhan the informer' story line isn't really going any where. ''I saw Paulie with so and so'' is become a bit repetitive, and I hope that there is a big breakthrough in this sub-plot soon.

(2) There is just a bit too much driving around in Love/Hate. The constant driving and transport scenes are becoming over-used fillers. This counts as a general criticism of the show, not just tonight's episode.

1st episode of this season = 6/10 - Very scattered and some poor acting but a great ending saved face.
    2nd episode of this season=9/10 - Excellent from start to finish. Coherent story-lines with great conclusions, and some very good acting throughout.
    3rd episode of this season = 7/10 - A decent filler episode with some very good production. Story-lines a bit stagnant, but it sets everything up nicely for the final 3 episodes.

How can you say the informer story is going nowhere? I think everyone has missed the most important part tonight, Nidge has put elmo in charge of the drugs, He has buried them for now and he will hand them over to ever nidge tells him to in possibly the next episode, Siobhan has informed the guards about elmo so he is a watched man and he will lead them straight to the drugs, Elmo will be a deadman walking nidge will owe big balls a lot of money without any drugs to sell, All in all Siobhan has caused uproar by informing, Sometimes it's the little things you have to listen to for a story to unfold

Benteke wrote: »
    How can you say the informer story is going nowhere? I think everyone has missed the most important part tonight, Nidge has put elmo in charge of the drugs, He has buried them for now and he will hand them over to ever nidge tells him to in possibly the next episode, Siobhan has informed the guards about elmo so he is a watched man and he will lead them straight to the drugs, Elmo will be a deadman walking nidge will owe big balls a lot of money without any drugs to sell, All in all Siobhan has caused uproar by informing, Sometimes it's the little things you have to listen to for a story to unfold

Yeah that is a very fair point actually, but I hope there is an eventual breakthrough of that sort!

The show is usually fast paced for this sort of thing, I expect it all to happen next week along with the noelie hughes and fran in prison

Yeah. What's your verdict on the season so far any ways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

batistuta9 wrote: »
    it was aido

I thought so at first, but don't think it was actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It wasn't

Im enjoying it, It's building up nicely, Even the filler episodes are decent, You can't always have episodes like last week, You have to remember also, episodes like last week only happened because of filler episodes setting everything in motion, Tonight we had a few plots been set up and we will get the pay off and have more cracking episodes, All in all much better that S4 so can't complain, Peter Coonan is the star of the series by far

Agreed. Season 2 and 3 are generally seen as the best two seasons of love/hate, but this is matching them so far in my opinion. A strong second half to this season will definitely put it on par with them.

Very impressed with Aoibhinn McGinnity (Trish) in the few moments she has been in it this season. Thought she was superb in that crying scene last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭batistuta9

It wasn't

yeah yous are right it's not aido, thought it was at first too.

fran is handcuffed to the bed, maybe he's back in the prison hospital (or never left prison, he only got stitches)

don't know who the guy is with potsy is, a guard/PO it looks like. if he's in a outside hospital probably needs to be watched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

I think Janet will turn into a rat on Nidge. He's been spending more time with Trish again which could make her jealous, and also I think she will somehow blame Nidge for some future serious trouble her son gets into - either because Nidge hires him to do something for him, or because Nidge finally snaps and tells her that he doesn't give a fcuk about her son and won't talk to him.
    (Guards could offer her a deal - let her son off trouble in return for information on Nidge)

I could see Trish harming herself or having a breakdown.

I don't think Paulie gives a fcuk about Siobhan romantically, just interested in her prettiness and the shagging. Maybe he notices it winds up Nidge aswell and is enjoying that aspect - sort of reinforcing what he said earlier about him not being under Nidge's control, by openly flaunting a thing with Nidge's niece in front of everyone it's showing them that he does what he wants and doesn't care what Nidge thinks. (He also told Aido to tell Nidge go fcuk himself)
    He was instantly suspicious and questioning of Siobhan tonight over her hospital excuse.
    Don't think he trusts anybody and would like Moynihan said kill her in an instant if needs be.

If it transpires that Paulie is a bit too fond of the drugs himself though in coming episodes, it could lead to his downfall somehow.

Aido will turn on Nidge. Of this I am almost sure. I am not sure what form this turn will take, but you could clearly see he was fuming tonight and realising how selfish and bull****ting Nidge was when Nidge kept saying that Fran needed to be got for "Pottsie's sake" and "I'll pay him for the eye".

I don't know what is going to happen with the traveller Paddy.
    I think Nidge might succeed in getting him killed but there would definitely be a revenge attack from the other travellers.

We were told Tommie's eyes opened in this episode.
    I thought he was going to die early on, but now I'm wondering if the reason they keep showing him every episode is because he is going to make a recovery?

Don't know what's going to happen with Fran.
    I think he will make some new friends in jail who might serve as new characters in the next season on his mission for revenge.

I'm another one who thinks (and hopes) that Dano is alive - just waiting for that grand finale scene at the end of the show. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Was the Scottish fella just a friend of Aido's or an In Law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Don't know what's going to happen with Fran.
    I think he will make some new friends in jail who might serve as new characters in the next season on his mission for revenge.

Next season, isn't this the final one?