210lbs 6'2 progress (pics)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭COH

I happen to know Mr RomanGod (he may not know me) - but he trains at the gym I coach out of. I have no doubt that he's drug free, and I have seen my fair share of assisted athletes over the years.

245 lbs 'natty' (god I hate the word so f*cking much) for someone who is probably over 6 foot is quite attainable. I've only skimmed through this thread, but its probably one of the most retarded ones I've come across on boards over the years. Want to know the big secret?

Here it is,

He's trying harder than you
    He's in control of his nutrition
    He's consistently in the gym doing ANY sort of training

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

assetcolum wrote: »
    245 Natty

If you really got to 245 with a respectable body fat % you are fooling no one with this natty talk

Even the most genetically gifted athletes would not achieve 245 at a decent body fat ,that is IFBB talk

Again, you're fooling nobody i have been in this game long enough

Banned for one week.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

COH wrote: »

245 lbs 'natty' (god I hate the word so f*cking much) for someone who is probably over 6 foot is quite attainable.

We talking Youtube natty here yeah? So anything less than a gram?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

The word natty has lost all meaning to me but has now taken on an almost sinister tone when I say it. Just like repeatedly saying 'moist.'

No questions for the OP but fair play on all the hard work, especially as I think you said you've a young kid, which can only make time for training more precious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

COH wrote: »
    Want to know the big secret?
    Here it is,

He's trying harder than you
    He's in control of his nutrition
    He's consistently in the gym doing ANY sort of training

I laughed at 'ANY sort of training', ill be honest there are days I go to the gym and just have an ab day or rear delt day. It may seem like a waste of a workout to some people but as COH is implying it's all about being at the gym on a consistent basis, then you can worry about the quality of the workout after. If I miss a workout it's because of something serious like a family crisis

Control of my nutrition is the fundamental step in the whole gym process. Without this you are severely cutting yourself short of gains

This is what I brought to work with me yesterday for lunch.

Eggs, Beef, Whole grain noodles, steak, sweet potato, beans and chicken

qn2rgo.jpg

I also made my own protein bars .. albeit they look like cod fillets they taste great and come with 45g protein and 60g carbs

9k81sz.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,201 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

When carb cycling, do you have high/med/low carb days? Or just high/low.
    What ratios do you base your macros on?

Mellor wrote: »
    When carb cycling, do you have high/med/low carb days? Or just high/low.
    What ratios do you base your macros on?

High (450+) medium(200/250) and low (150 or less)

I think high/low days only would be hard because you are going from one extreme to the next. My medium days are like my transition days. If you have ever gone from a low carb day to a high carb day it's hard on the stomach, you feel full but in the bloated sense, not the kind of full we're looking for here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

That's one fcuk off lunch man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭boardie100

RomanGod wrote: »
    I laughed at 'ANY sort of training', ill be honest there are days I go to the gym and just have an ab day or rear delt day. It may seem like a waste of a workout to some people but as COH is implying it's all about being at the gym on a consistent basis, then you can worry about the quality of the workout after. If I miss a workout it's because of something serious like a family crisis

Control of my nutrition is the fundamental step in the whole gym process. Without this you are severely cutting yourself short of gains

This is what I brought to work with me yesterday for lunch.

Eggs, Beef, Whole grain noodles, steak, sweet potato, beans and chicken

qn2rgo.jpg

I also made my own protein bars .. albeit they look like cod fillets they taste great and come with 45g protein and 60g carbs

9k81sz.jpg

my god that is some lunch, you must get serious looks in the canteen :) ..

I've only started in the gym recently about two months now.... really enjoying weight training. i only use dumbells and machines at the moment.
    I'd like to put on some size though so is that the kind of lunch id have to be eat every day ? :) , id struggle to manage that i think...

Im 6'4 and 250 pounds and have actually lost a few pounds since i started, im trying to eat a lot more chicken, veg, eggs and take protein shakes too... but i find it hard to eat so much more...
    any advice for a big dude like me?...

saying all that i feel great these days since i started lifting weights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭boardie100

btw, do you have the recipe for those bars?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

boardie100 wrote: »
    my god that is some lunch, you must get serious looks in the canteen :) ..

I've only started in the gym recently about two months now.... really enjoying weight training. i only use dumbells and machines at the moment.
    I'd like to put on some size though so is that the kind of lunch id have to be eat every day ? :) , id struggle to manage that i think...

Im 6'4 and 250 pounds and have actually lost a few pounds since i started, im trying to eat a lot more chicken, veg, eggs and take protein shakes too... but i find it hard to eat so much more...
    any advice for a big dude like me?...

saying all that i feel great these days since i started lifting weights!

Whoa brah, you're not natty? I guess as long as you only take protein shakes and don't go injecting creatine shakes its not too bad

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I'm seriously considering banning anyone who uses "natty". Unless they're talking about dreadlocks.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,906 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Brian? wrote: »
    I'm seriously considering banning anyone who uses "natty". Unless they're talking about dreadlocks.

Or clothes.

But 'dapper' or 'jaunty' are better words anyway, eye em oh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Brian? wrote: »

natty peanut butter is my fav, u mad?

That's one fcuk off lunch man.

All that equates to only 2500 calories believe it or not

boardie100 wrote: »
    btw, do you have the recipe for those bars?

300g cottage cheese (i know but trust me on this)
    4 table spoons of peanut butter
    4 squares of dark chocolate
    1 banana
    1 pear
    150g oats
    250ml chocolate milk

And then a few drops of vanilla extract

Mix all that in a bowl then lay it out on a tray in blocks of 6, stick it in the oven and voilà

And to address your other question my advice for someone with your stats would be to build a foundation through compound lifts and eating a lot of clean foods. Cut out the machines. If you struggle with adhering to the diet it's your mind getting bored of it so experiment with your meal choice, add new flavours like lemon juice on chicken or Worcester sauce on steak

After a while of doing this then you can get into workouts where you focus more on isolation exercises and implementing a carb cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

RomanGod wrote: »
    All that equates to 2500 calories

Exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Those protein bars sound deadly romangod, I may give them a lash.

Had some back shots that I forgot to include. Upper back is lagging a bit but im happy enough with my lats to waist ratio

amuwx.jpg

25tch08.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,470 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

what's the best sentence of advice you can give?

If you're not actively living you're passively dying

I also find this thread embarrassing. What would motivate a grown man to post pictures of themselves looking in a mirror I'll never know.

Most of the people I encounter who are into 'bodybuilding' would be better served visiting a psychologist rather than a gym.

I stumbled on this thread thinking it was about training, and so totally agree with you. yes you're in great shape granted but you want to devote a thread to it, really.... ah you're only 22 and I suppose that's an age when we all loved ourselves so add the 22yr old brain to a good body and I suppose what can we expect with social media being what it is. in the old days this would not have gone past some lad getting ready on Saturday nite and his mates telling him he's in "some nick buddy". now I suppose the cultural thing is to post yourself with a pseudo "ah shucks who me? attitude. Still embarrassing so I agree with Murdock.

What part is embarrassing? And for who?

ah its great he's in shape and all that I don't deny anyone credit where it's due. the chap has some regimen when it comes to eating too. just not sure, what is he asking??? the original post just shows pics of him in the mirror telling us what his future plans are and how long he's trained. it's not that he's competing in a show in two weeks and needs a critique. so what's the story there? just. here lads I'm in great shape have a look, I might do boxing again soon. I know loads of lads playing GAA that are in savage shape, they don't stick it on a thread saying I'm training 4 years might take up water polo!!.
    I don't undertand the htread so yes, it's a tad embarrassing. so don't get the hump cos it's an opinion based thread, I'm not bashing anyone.

rusty cole wrote: »
    ah its great he's in shape and all that I don't deny anyone credit where it's due. the chap has some regimen when it comes to eating too. just not sure, what is he asking??? the original post just shows pics of him in the mirror telling us what his future plans are and how long he's trained. it's not that he's competing in a show in two weeks and needs a critique. so what's the story there? just. here lads I'm in great shape have a look, I might do boxing again soon. I know loads of lads playing GAA that are in savage shape, they don't stick it on a thread saying I'm training 4 years might take up water polo!!.
    I don't undertand the htread so yes, it's a tad embarrassing. so don't get the hump cos it's an opinion based thread, I'm not bashing anyone.

So, it's embarrassing because you don't understand it?

The OP isn't asking anything.

Is it that much different from setting a PR and putting up a video of it?

I don't have the hump, by the way. It doesn't affect me either way. Just curious as to the negativity, that's all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Who says he has to be asking anything? This is a discussion forum. Not a Q&A forum.

The amount of subtle and not so subtle pissing on chips here is unreal.

Hanley wrote: »
    Who says he has to be asking anything? This is a discussion forum. Not a Q&A forum.

The amount of subtle and not so subtle pissing on chips here is unreal.

ok girls play nice, it's not a supermodels dressing room here both of yiz. I do realise the chaps body is close to your hearts so don't jump on the defensive whether it be subtle or unsubtle. I said he's in great nick end of story. I hadn't realised this thread was devoted to lads posting pics of themselves in their jocks so other like minded fellas could flatter and come to their defence. I thought it was something about a lad bulking up or something, as the title suggested, might have been diet based, hence my curiousity, knowledge being power and all. I'll say this now and give the thread a farewell.

laters!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,201 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

just not sure, what is he asking??? the original post just shows pics of him in the mirror telling us what his future plans are and how long he's trained.
    He's not asking anything, others have asked him questions and he's given out some info to help others achieve goals.
    I don't undertand the htread so yes, it's a tad embarrassing..
    Do you find everything you don't understand embarrassing?

ok girls play nice, it's not a supermodels dressing room here both of yiz. I do realise the chaps body is close to your hearts so don't jump on the defensive whether it be subtle or unsubtle. I said he's in great nick end of story. I hadn't realised this thread was devoted to lads posting pics of themselves in their jocks so other like minded fellas could flatter and come to their defence. I thought it was something about a lad bulking up or something, as the title suggested, might have been diet based, hence my curiousity, knowledge being power and all. I'll say this now and give the thread a farewell.

laters!:rolleyes:

Plenty of dietary information in there. And training info.

But you've got me. I just had a chubby for the pics.

I stumbled on this thread thinking it was about training, and so totally agree with you. yes you're in great shape granted but you want to devote a thread to it, really.... ah you're only 22 and I suppose that's an age when we all loved ourselves so add the 22yr old brain to a good body and I suppose what can we expect with social media being what it is. in the old days this would not have gone past some lad getting ready on Saturday nite and his mates telling him he's in "some nick buddy". now I suppose the cultural thing is to post yourself with a pseudo "ah shucks who me? attitude. Still embarrassing so I agree with Murdock.

That's a fair point. What I will say (going from PMs) the advice I've given up to this point is being acknowledged and implemented by others which was the whole point of this thread. However, I'm a firm believer that one needs to practice what they preach. The only reason why others are listening to me and this thread has been so active is because of these photos which act as my credentials on a forum board. If I made this thread with no photos no one would appreciate the advice.

In terms of personal gain this thread inspired me to pick up boxing again and to see what happens

Cliffs: The end always justifies the means