Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Those Facebook competitions and people with their sob stories trying outdo the previous sob story to try win it.

Example, I see a comp for a Belfast hotel. I never enter those as I'm sure they're not genuine. I open comments, and some people are writing "liked and shared" but this one lady had commented like 4 times. "I would love a break and to get away. Really need it now at this stage. I'm a single mum and would love for myself and the kids to have some us time".

**** off.

I remember last year one of the radio stations was running a promotion where the winner got two tickets to Tayto Park. This wan came on whingeing and moaning about how it was her son's dream to go there and it was all he wanted yadda yadda and thie radio station would break his little heart if he couldn't go. If it really meant that much surely she could have bought the tickets herself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Her child needs a better imagination if that's its wildest dream. Please tell me she didn't win

I'm not sure if she won. I doubt it was his wildest dream, I'd say she was just amping the whole thing up to get her hands on the thirteen euro ticket :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Those Facebook competitions and people with their sob stories trying outdo the previous sob story to try win it.

Example, I see a comp for a Belfast hotel. I never enter those as I'm sure they're not genuine. I open comments, and some people are writing "liked and shared" but this one lady had commented like 4 times. "I would love a break and to get away. Really need it now at this stage. I'm a single mum and would love for myself and the kids to have some us time".

**** off.

I would imagine if you are a single mum, you would get plenty of "Us time" and you might prefer a few days away alone...........

You could always get the daddy to watch the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Family members thinking I'm ott because I refuse to bring my kids to the zoo. I hate zoos, find them so depressing. 'But where else will they get a chance to see a tiger/lion/elephant up close?' etc. I'm happy for them never to see one up close if it means not having to see some poor animal stuck in a zoo.

I don't care how great Dublin Zoo allegedly is now. I will never forget seeing the poor tormented polar bear they used to have there when we were kids pacing up and down in his enclosure, clearly demented.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    I would imagine if you are a single mum, you would get plenty of "Us time" and you might prefer a few days away alone...........

You could always get the daddy to watch the kids.

But where's the tugging at the heart strings when you say "god I'd love to win this, few days break -- be grand!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

eisenberg1 It was the snow leopard pacing up and down that I will never forget.
    I refuse to go to the Circus too.

Not being able to get my dream dog for the forseeable future because the breed aren't good with young kids.

Not being able to get my other dream dog for the forseeable future because our house is too small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Vel wrote: »
    Not being able to get my dream dog for the forseeable future because the breed aren't good with young kids.

Not being able to get my other dream dog for the forseeable future because our house is too small.

Initially misreading Vel's post as "...our horse is too small"! :pac:

danrua01 wrote: »
    Kids toothpaste> adult toothpaste!

My kids favour an absolutely rank tasting orange flavoured one that no adult would willingly use

I refuse to go to the circus as well because the last time I went (at 17) we were sitting at the front and this freaky looking clown came out, I broke into a sweat but my mothers telling me to cop on hell be gone in a minute. Except he wasn't.
    He started marching around the ring, I'm pure terrified, and he STOPPED right in front of us and TRIED SHAKE MY HAND! I nearly shat myself. I burst into tears and my mother was mortified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

My kids favour an absolutely rank tasting orange flavoured one that no adult would willingly use

I'm on this high-falutin' medical stuff at the monent - no particular reason, herself just bought it because it's supposed to be good. And it is, but my good lantherin' Cheeses it is foul. It's like putty with potassium salt put through it. The hell of it is I'm actually getting used to it after a couple of months. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

You could always get rid of the kids:D

What breed? of dog that is;)

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    You could always get rid of the kids:D

What breed? of dog that is;)

Maybe there is a children's version of Dog's Trust!

Mini dachshund and wolfhound - I know I know, couldn't get more diamterically opposed if you tried!!

Family members thinking I'm ott because I refuse to bring my kids to the zoo. I hate zoos, find them so depressing. 'But where else will they get a chance to see a tiger/lion/elephant up close?' etc. I'm happy for them never to see one up close if it means not having to see some poor animal stuck in a zoo.

I don't care how great Dublin Zoo allegedly is now. I will never forget seeing the poor tormented polar bear they used to have there when we were kids pacing up and down in his enclosure, clearly demented.

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Maybe there is a children's version of Dog's Trust!

Mini dachshund and wolfhound - I know I know, couldn't get more diamterically opposed if you tried!!

Are mini dachshunds not good with kids?
    I have two :D No plans to reproduce so don't care either way but just wondering.

I have 2 mini dachshunds and 2 german shepherds and I had a great dane. Life is all about variety. I walk one of the dachshunds with one of the GSDs, always get loads of looks lol

I'm not sure who is the bigger moron in this situation:

I'm in the queue for coffee, earphones in, and I notice the girl beside me chatting to someone. Turns out its me. Earphones out and she puts her hand on my arm and says 'Hi, can't believe I'm bumping into you again for the second time this week, How are you doing since I saw you last?'.

I've never seen her before in my life, but I can't be certain of this as I am terrible with faces. So rather than trust my judgement, I panic and decide to play along, hopeful that her identity will become apparent to me at any second. 'Hi' says I, 'Not bad and how are you'?

And then I watch as her expression changes and she says 'Sorry, I thought you were someone else'.

And then we had to stand in the queue together for another five minutes.

I could tell that the girl ahead of me got a great kick out of our awkward exchnage, as would I have if I had been the onlooker

Are mini dachshunds not good with kids?
    I have two :D No plans to reproduce so don't care either way but just wondering.

I have 2 mini dachshunds and 2 german shepherds and I had a great dane. Life is all about variety. I walk one of the dachshunds with one of the GSDs, always get loads of looks lol

So jealous!! Yes, they are not known for being at all good with kids as a general rule, although I am sure there are individual exceptions. Once the youngest hits her teens, I'm all over it and the kids will just have to learn to stnad their ground!!

We are into sighthounds and I'll always have at leats one greyhound. I think it would be gas to walk around with a mini daxie and a greyhound, or better still a wolfhound!

Just got an email regarding the office closing for Christmas.I have take 7 days holidays. I don't understand why we have to close for so long.

So jealous!! Yes, they are not known for being at all good with kids as a general rule, although I am sure there are individual exceptions. Once the youngest hits her teens, I'm all over it and the kids will just have to learn to stnad their ground!!

We are into sighthounds and I'll always have at leats one greyhound. I think it would be gas to walk around with a mini daxie and a greyhound, or better still a wolfhound!

Ah okay, yet another reason to avoid the babies lol

Before Henry got sick, I wanted to get a mini dachshund anyway so then I decided to get 2. How gas would that have been? A great dane and a mini dachshund out strolling :pac: I actually find that the 2 mini dachshunds look like mini Henrys aside from the fact that they're red and he was blue. They have long faces, long snouts, flopsy ears and tails like whips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭danrua01

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Just got an email regarding the office closing for Christmas.I have take 7 days holidays. I don't understand why we have to close for so long.

I'll gladly swapy my one day off for your seven!

MsBubbles wrote: »

I feel your pain. I'm currently in the process of fighting having to take an additional 3 days out of my annual leave (which I don't have and will have to take out of next year's annual leave) on top of the 3 days we already have to take out of our annual leave for Christmas, which would make it 6 days :mad:

danrua1 I delighted to have some time off but now I'm left with 3 days holidays until July 2015.

Ah okay, yet another reason to avoid the babies lol

Before Henry got sick, I wanted to get a mini dachshund anyway so then I decided to get 2. How gas would that have been? A great dane and a mini dachshund out strolling :pac: I actually find that the 2 mini dachshunds look like mini Henrys aside from the fact that they're red and he was blue. They have long faces, long snouts, flopsy ears and tails like whips.

How do you find them? I hear they can be hard work

Someone holding the door for you when you are a good bit away and you feel obliged to do a little run to get there quicker.

Holding the door for people who are a good bit away and they don't do the little run to get there quicker.

Getting paid today, and it's not even midday and I've probably overdrawn my account. WHY CAN'T I BE PAID ENOUGH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭danrua01

Someone holding the door for you when you are a good bit away and you feel obliged to do a little run to get there quicker.

Holding the door for people who are a good bit away and they don't do the little run to get there quicker.

Holding the door open for two people, who walk through the door talking to each other witout thanking you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I had a real facepalm morning today. Arrived at dentist and receptionist didn't have me booked in as I'd booked the appointment at the wrong dentist. I had accidentally booked the dentist that I don't like and the one I went to couldn't fit me in until Thursday of next week, so I had to make a dash to the other practice.:o

danrua01 wrote: »
    Holding the door open for two people, who walk through the door talking to each other witout thanking you.

I'm master of the passive aggressive 'you're welcome'

How do you find them? I hear they can be hard work

Behaviour wise, they're grand, no different to any other dog I've had. I've been very lucky, never had chewers or home wreckers and all my dogs have been pretty easy to toilet train and teach basic commands to.

I only brought them home when they were 12 weeks old and I didn't like bringing them out walking as we live on a main road with no footpath and they were so tiny so they weren't socialised very well from a young age, which was my own fault.
    I got a trainer in to help deal with them barking at strangers, typical small dog thing to be yappy but I wasn't going to ignore it because I know how annoying it is, so the trainer cost me €100 for a nearly 3 hour long session and she just showed me how to correct the behaviour and now there's not a bother on them.
    They do bark a lot more than the other dogs in general though, not in an annoying way but when they're playing they bark at each other and if you lean down and say a command to them they do that half sit/half squat thing they do and bark up once at you. They tend to use barking to communicate with each other. One of them will be somewhere in the garden and let off a few barks and the other fella will come sprinting over to find out what's going on. They're twin boys so maybe that has something to do with it too.