Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Vel wrote: »
    Girl on Luas with two Iphones on the go scrolling through Facebook on both of them. Her thumbs were a whirl of activity. Life needed!

I bet her name is Lucy*.

*Only people who have seen the recent movie called Lucy with my other wife Scarlett Johansson in it will get this reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Forgot my headphones. Now I'll have to listen to everyone around me coughing up their lungs. I swear the whole office seems to have the feckin plague

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Just picked up the phone next me
    "Hi, X isn't here. I don't know where she is."
    "Is she with Y?"
    "I don't know"
    "Is she with W?"
    "I don't know"
    I JUST SAID I DON'T KNOW WHERE SHE IS!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Just picked up the phone next me
    "Hi, X isn't here. I don't know where she is."
    "Is she with Y?"
    "I don't know"
    "Is she with W?"
    "I don't know"
    I JUST SAID I DON'T KNOW WHERE SHE IS!!!

Or, "do you know when X will be back?" - no :confused::confused:. I dont ask everyone leaving the office when they will be back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

I'm on Reception and nobody tells when they're out of the office, it takes a minute to send an email saying I am on holidays/training course/at a meeting.

You're not James Bond ! FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Brides, bridezillas. Good lord, #kantkope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

jimgoose wrote: »
    I cannot recommend "The Little Book Of Complete Bollocks" highly enough. Acquire it. Make it your companion. Love it. Have it's little book-babies. And above all, breeeeeeathe...

http://www.amazon.com/The-Little-Book-Complete-Bollocks/dp/0671037676
    eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Thanks Jim. just bought this a few mins ago, kindle edition for a few cents!!

Thanks for that Jim, spent my (kinda) hard earned cridit card on this, read it, and the only thing I can say is....

ITS FULL OF BOLLOCkS!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Thanks for that Jim, spent my (kinda) hard earned cridit card on this, read it, and the only thing I can say is....

You were expecting maybe Newton's Principia Mathematica??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

You had been warned:pac:

Accountants and their delusions of competence. I had a Financial Bint hassling me all morning about the book-value of certain machinery I bought last year. According to her there was something like €50,000 missing. "And I'm a qualified financial accountant, so I know! I'm good at this!".

Woman, I'm an engineer. I've been an engineer for a long time. I munch C-code for breakfast, dream in differential calculus and speak fluent Newtonian physics. Did you put a decimal point in the wrong place? Of course you did. Now kindly bugger off!! :D

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Or, "do you know when X will be back?" - no :confused::confused:. I dont ask everyone leaving the office when they will be back...

I've just about trained our one to say, in a clipped Mid-Atlantic monotone, "<Plippity-Plip> Commander Goose is not aboard the Enterprise!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Someone who retired last year came in this morning to say hi - grand.
    She then decided she would like to take some photos - Ok, if that's your bag who am I to object!
    I was then manhandled into posing in a photo with her - Not at all grand.
    When the photo was being taken there was a group of my colleagues standing around watching and making me feel like a right pleb with my forced rictus grin - So very not grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

jimgoose wrote: »
    Accountants and their delusions of competence. I had a Financial Bint hassling me all morning about the book-value of certain machinery I bought last year. According to her there was something like €50,000 missing. "And I'm a qualified financial accountant, so I know! I'm good at this!".

Woman, I'm an engineer. I've been an engineer for a long time. I munch C-code for breakfast, dream in differential calculus and speak fluent Newtonian physics. Did you put a decimal point in the wrong place? Of course you did. Now kindly bugger off!! :D

They're not only a pain in the ass at work either jim. They're insufferable at home too!

For shíts-'n'-giggles, recite the proof that "0.9-recurring == 1" to him. It works just like a crucifix to a vampire! :pac::pac::pac:

Vel wrote: »
    Someone who retired last year came in this morning to say hi - grand.
    She then decided she would like to take some photos - Ok, if that's your bag who am I to object!
    I was then manhandled into posing in a photo with her - Not at all grand.
    When the photo was being taken there was a group of my colleagues standing around watching and making me feel like a right pleb with my forced rictus grin - So very not grand.

A old fart who retired from here comes in every month to regale us about his great retired life and all the craic he's having. The old prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

gramar wrote: »
    A old fart who retired from here comes in every month to regale us about his great retired life and all the craic he's having. The old prick.

If it's so great what the fúck is he doing coming back to his old work? Gimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Att: All Car drivers

If is is dull/raining, i.e. low visibility, turn on your "little" lights

When it gets darker, turn on your headlights

And when it gets foggy, TURN ON YOUR FCUKING FOG LIGHTS!!!!

When your hairdresser goes to a different salon miles away :(
    She convinced me to cut my hair up really short and now I'm afraid of the other hairdressers :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,171 ✭✭✭✭bnt

This may be bordering on the non-trivial, but: I'm getting annoyed by "stealth" price increases by reducing package sizes. Example: 800g is the standard mass of a loaf of bread, but 600g loaves are becoming more common, and I recently saw a 750g loaf, which is sneaky. Today I was in Tesco, and in the freezer there was the usual selection of ice cream in 500ml tubs, and then there was Tesco's new own-brand range in tubs of 480ml. We know what you're up to, Tesco ...

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

Aglomerado wrote: »
    If it's so great what the fúck is he doing coming back to his old work? Gimp.

I would imagine the poor old devil is having a bit of a time adjusting to not working after forty or fifty years, and probably feels a bit lonely.

When your hair is at that in-betweeny stage before you get it done. I'm getting my hair done on Saturday but really I probably needed to get my hair done a month ago but just didn't have the time so at the moment it's too long at the back and growing at funny angles and the front is too long and getting in my eyes. Woe is me.

You are the MD and CEO of the Sigue Sigue Sputnik Appreciation Society, and I claim two packets of Rancheros. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

26sdrawkcab Kirby grips are awesome for keeping unruly hair at bay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Toothache. 1 of my teeth is very sensitive, I'm guessing I need a filling.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Why is it so difficult to find decent hi viz products? I've managed to find a Sam Browne belt on Amazon but I'd almost given up hope of finding something hi viz that isn't an ugly tabard/vest or something with flashing leds. You wouldn't think it would be so fricking hard to get a simple reflective band.

People who insert an unncecessary "or" at the end of their question and just let it hang without offering the alternative:

Is X there?
    No.
    Oh right. Will he be back today oooooorrrrrr........
    .......???
    Or WHAT??!!!!!! Not? Is that the word you are looking for? Will he back today or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Toothache. 1 of my teeth is very sensitive, I'm guessing I need a filling.:(
    Get it seen to asap Pumpkin...it will come at you bad some Friday night and you will spend a weekend in pain if your dentist doesnt open on Saturday..Mine will come meet me at the weekend alright but the cost leaves me in pain also:pac:

Listening to budget live in one ear and getting updates about the budget on Boards - head wrecking! :P I know I know I know already!!!!

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Listening to budget live in one ear and getting updates about the budget on Boards - head wrecking! :P I know I know I know already!!!!

I'm listening to this:

Who is the complete fcuking arséhole who decided that putting cats eyes on the M9 the size of the Easter Island statues was a good idea?
    Tool, whoever he was.