Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GW 8 Transfer Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

daithijjj wrote: »
    I reckon those people might need new underwear by the time he lines out v Newcastle in a couple of weeks if they still dont have him :pac:

It's been relatively clean the past 2 months but it might be time to change before that alright :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,341 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

It's been relatively clean the past 2 months but it might be time to change before that alright :pac:

Turn them inside out, be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

FHFC wrote: »
    Sounds very much like a plan...

I only ever plan max two transfers ahead. My next transfer is Krul to Forster and then my plan is one of my 4 mil cheapies to Azpi.

I'll review the situation again then. I'm certainly in no rush to move Raheem on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Lemlin wrote: »
    I only ever plan max two transfers ahead. My next transfer is Krul to Forster and then my plan is one of my 4 mil cheapies to Azpi.

I'll review the situation again then. I'm certainly in no rush to move Raheem on.

My plan is similar. Ulloa to Aguero and possibly Moore to Azpil. Have 2 fts so may do both this week. I have a bad habit of planning too far ahead, or at least too many changes. But I think your timeline for monitoring Sterling/Walcott is spot on thereafter though. Hazard may well be on the radar by then too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

My plan is similar. Ulloa to Aguero and possibly Moore to Azpil. Have 2 fts so may do both this week. I have a bad habit of planning too far ahead, or at least too many changes. But I think your timeline for monitoring Sterling/Walcott is spot on thereafter though. Hazard may well be on the radar by then too.

Christ man, how much money have you in the bank? Is nody after loaning you a few bob????:pac:

8.1m in bank... :)

Aguero kitty since wildcard.

Went with Ulloa for a few weeks to make a few bob while waiting for Aguero to get safely through the international games.

Where do we stand on Steven Naismith?

I'm looking at him in the context of never having owned him and him being a cheap, starting enabler who has the benefit of fixtures, form and gametime so far this season.

I'm aware choosing Everton players is asking for trouble especially with Barkley beginning training soon if not already but it's hard to ignore all of the positives. It's only just a thought right now as I'm extremely happy with Pelle but at 5.2 he looks like a fantastic option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I'm looking at him in the context of never having owned him and him being a cheap, starting enabler who has the benefit of fixtures, form and gametime so far this season.

I'm aware choosing Everton players is asking for trouble especially with Barkley beginning training soon if not already but it's hard to ignore all of the positives. It's only just a thought right now as I'm extremely happy with Pelle but at 5.2 he looks like a fantastic option.

Although a decent option, he's a sitting duck to lose value given the numbers who've brought him in. And as soon as he's not a regular his price will drop.

Not sure how he fits in tbh. Would you be going 352? If so Jutkiewich (sp?) is probably the cheapest route for bench fodder.

Or rotation 3rd striker and 5th mid, which I'm personally not a fan of. In which case for 0.3 or 0.4 more I'd probably prefer Berahino (although immediate fixtures not great) or Sahko.

Although a decent option, he's a sitting duck to lose value given the numbers who've brought him in. And as soon as he's not a regular his price will drop.

This too!

Not sure how he fits in tbh. Would you be going 352? If so Jutkiewich (sp?) is probably the cheapest route for bench fodder.

Or rotation 3rd striker and 5th mid, which I'm personally not a fan of. In which case for 0.3 or 0.4 more I'd probably prefer Berahino (although immediate fixtures not great) or Sahko.

It'd be 3-4-3 with the likes of 2 heavy hitting forwards, 3 heavy hitting mids, Chelsea defender, Spurs defender, Forster in goal and Boyd 5th mid. A starting enabler as I said but the positives and negatives could be tricky to balance out :pac:

Just thinking aloud really :)

It'd be 3-4-3 with the likes of 2 heavy hitting forwards, 3 heavy hitting mids, Chelsea defender, Spurs defender, Forster in goal and Boyd 5th mid. A starting enabler as I said but the positives and negatives uhcould be tricky to balance out :pac:

Just thinking aloud really :)

In that case I'd probably try hard to come up with the extra 0.3 or 0.4.

Although actually I'd probably just not do it at all. :)

Edit. To expand on that as I was on way to put a small person to bed, given the value under 7.5m/8m in Pelle (for those who had him before he was cool) and Welbeck I think there's no point in looking past them for now for a third striker. One of them, Costa and any top striker leaves a good bit for defence and midfield. Plus both on the up value wise and have potential to hit double figures in a given week.

I have to agree, in terms of cheap 3rd strikers, it would have to go welbeck, pellé, ulloa, before naismith is even considered. I'm biased though, I hate the lil fecker for absolutely no good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

I have to agree, in terms of cheap 3rd strikers, it would have to go welbeck, pellé, ulloa, before naismith is even considered. I'm biased though, I hate the lil fecker for absolutely no good reason.

Its because hes ****e.

MOD: Deleted reference to old club (Rangers) being a factor. Better suited to Soccer forum (if at all).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

RossieMan wrote: »
    Its because hes ****e.

MOD: Deleted reference to old club (Rangers) being a factor. Better suited to Soccer forum (if at all).

He used to be a bit sh!te but he's definitely one of the most improved players in the league this year. Even if you haven't seen him playing all you have to do is look at the stats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

sorry for the Rangers reference lads, wasn't intended as abuse.

As for Naismith, he stats really don't show how he has played. i'm not sure how many tap-ins hes got exactly. But hes got a few.

I wouldn't look completely at stats when judging a players ability.

Don't get me wrong, hes not the worst player in the world. i just wouldn't have him near my FF team. Much better strikers available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

Don't get me wrong, hes not the worst player in the world. i just wouldn't have him near my FF team. Much better strikers available.

Either would I but in this case it's clear that he's scoring more goals this calandar year than he has in previous years. I've seen him a few times this year and he's always played well.

Obviously there's much better strikers available but there's arguably only a couple of strikers better than him in his price range, Berahino being the one I'd go with if I was picking a cheap striker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

sorry for the Rangers reference lads, wasn't intended as abuse.

As for Naismith, he stats really don't show how he has played. i'm not sure how many tap-ins hes got exactly. But hes got a few.

I doubt you've been watching him either by the sound of it. Either way I just got rid of him. He will be dropped for Barkley very soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Guzan

Blackett-Vlaar-Chambers subs (taylor and wisdom)

Henderson- di maria- fabregas- siggy

Falcao--Costa-- Aguero

thinkin of droppin a striker for welbeck,

Yay or naa?

And maybe up the midfield and defence ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Thinking of doing Wilson to Chambers on Gameweek 9.

Arsenal some nice fixtures coming up and Stoke have some terrible fixtures.

Thoughts?

Also, who is best to replace Krul with?

I already have Mannone, Clyne, Moore, Azpil, Wilson (at the moment) and Wisdom in keeper / defense. I don't really fancy doubling up on any team. I was thinking maybe Guzan?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Thinking of doing Wilson to Chambers on Gameweek 9.

Arsenal some nice fixtures coming up and Stoke have some terrible fixtures.

Also, who is best to replace Krul with?

I already have Mannone, Clyne, Moore, Azpil, Wilson (at the moment) and Wisdom in defense. I don't really fancy doubling up on any team. I was thinking maybe Guzan?

guzan is workin out a treat for me cheap and cheerful and gettin them points! besides defence is pretty much a raffle anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

evo2000 wrote: »
    guzan is workin out a treat for me cheap and cheerful and gettin them points! besides defence is pretty much a raffle anyway!

Three of Villa's next four games are away. The home game is against Spurs.

I'm going with Forster. Saints have 3 of their next four at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

Lads do I need to WildCard my team or would you hold off?

Doing well in my leagues up to now

fm_zpsb6c2c1ec.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

Lads do I need to WildCard my team or would you hold off?

Doing well in my leagues up to now

fm_zpsb6c2c1ec.jpg

What do you have in the bank? And is 4-3-3 your preferred formation?

If I was you I'd be very tempted. Your bench needs an overhaul, losing you value while earning zero points. You'll need to downgrade Kolarov (rotating with Clichy) to a Southampton def and Sanchez (not performing for his price tag) anyway, then you could upgrade a midfielder and play with 4 in midfield.

Maybe change Begovic while you're at it?

In summary, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Well after a nice break away from the game i've come back to find i've lost .1mil on Pieters who i was planning to ship all along, seems like i wasn't the only one:rolleyes:

Happy enough with my team for the moment but Pieters has to go, question is for who?? Double up on Southampton defence for the moment? Straight swap for Shawcross (Although Stoke don't seem worth it!)? .9mil in the bank so not enough to bring Azpil or anyone better in without taking a hit.

Anyone any suggestions?? Much appreciated!

ycSboz1.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

What do you have in the bank? And is 4-3-3 your preferred formation?

If I was you I'd be very tempted. Your bench needs an overhaul, losing you value while earning zero points. You'll need to downgrade Kolarov (rotating with Clichy) to a Southampton def and Sanchez (not performing for his price tag) anyway, then you could upgrade a midfielder and play with 4 in midfield.

Maybe change Begovic while you're at it?

In summary, yes.

cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Well after a nice break away from the game i've come back to find i've lost .1mil on Pieters who i was planning to ship all along, seems like i wasn't the only one:rolleyes:

Happy enough with my team for the moment but Pieters has to go, question is for who?? Double up on Southampton defence for the moment? Straight swap for Shawcross (Although Stoke don't seem worth it!)? .9mil in the bank so not enough to bring Azpil or anyone better in without taking a hit.

Anyone any suggestions?? Much appreciated!

ycSboz1.png

Pieters to Kaboul? But maybe not this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Any spurs fans out there ? Is Kyle Naughton likely to get his place back once he gets fully fit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Pieters to Kaboul? But maybe not this week.

Yeah i was looking at one of either Rose/Kaboul, bit worried that either are at risk of losing their place at any given moment though. Don't know how Kaboul hasn't been dropped yet he is a donkey!

Kind of need to make a move this week too as i'm afraid of taking another drop on Pieters and as you say Spurs aren't a good choice for this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭LostArt

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Any spurs fans out there ? Is Kyle Naughton likely to get his place back once he gets fully fit?

played v Soton but got injured and is out for months now afaik