Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭gucci

mzungu wrote: »

Something that just struck me there, and apologies if this has been mentioned already. When Nidge, Paulie and Aido were in the zoo, Aidos story about the chimpanzees drawing the monkeys into a trap and then ambushing them was mirrored in Paulies attempted hit on Patrick where he himself was drawn into a trap. I fully expected Paulie to be killed in that ambush. Glad to see that both him and Patrick survived, great characters.

Yeah i did think it was a bit like the deangelo /chess pieces story in the wire,only alot less impressive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

cloudatlas wrote: »
    So now Nidge has to get Fran in prison. Hughie isn't a threat.

I would go with one of the garda lads being murdered and Nidge pulling a fast one on the Spanish bosses son Paulie after he helps him get Patrick which sets him up for a show down with his dad in season 5 and with Fran's release hanging over him.

I don't know whether it would be worse if you knew that made no sense, or if you didn't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

i think the "the good ole days" of season 2 are shown as the short term benefits of being in a gang....s4 and s5 are showing the end results.

If one follows Love/Hate as the story of the rise of Nidge, we can see his transformation over the years. In series 1 and 2, Nidge was levelheaded and clearly enjoying himself most of the time. Mad parties, etc. John Boy was doing all the worrying and Darren was the one caught between what he was doing and his conscience. Nidge was No. 2 and he was able to relax and be powerful at the same time. But being top man proved harder.

This continued into series 3 a little but by later series 3, all the fun was over. Nidge had made a huge enemy in Dano and series 4 and 5 sees him getting deeper and deeper into trouble. He made the mistake of antagonising the travellers and now Fran knows the secret Nidge was trying to prevent from breaking. Like John Boy, Nidge has become a victim of a paralysing paranoia that has caused him to make poor decisions that ultimately come back to haunt him. The pragmatic Nidge who arranged to meet Tony and go over Dano's head seems to not be present in these decisons? Since s4 episode 5, Nidge has made 2 unnecessary and potentially fatal enemies out of Paddy and now Fran. Unlike say Dano, both Paddy and Fran needn't have become enemies at all and only became so because of Nidge's paranoid reactions.

But I feel that Nidge is going to weasel (to quote his nickname!) his way out of this when he gets thinking. He has a way of turning things around to his advantage and he has so far had luck and the common interests of others on his side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

kryogen wrote: »
    I don't know whether it would be worse if you knew that made no sense, or if you didn't know.

Which part doesn't make sense to you? The part where Nidge would be better off if Fran was clipped or the part where Nidge kills paulie as he doesn't want to share the proceeds from the shipment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭deise08

Which part doesn't make sense to you? The part where Nidge would be better off if Fran was clipped or the part where Nidge kills paulie as he doesn't want to share the proceeds from the shipment?

I think it night be the Hughie part?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

ThisRegard wrote: »
    He had tunnel vision after hearing about Linda, he wouldn't have even noticed what was right in front of him.

Was a different camp, it just so happened he pulled up outside the one in Cappagh.

Ah here and Fran took the port tunnel to get to Nidges house in Castleknock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,252 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

But I feel that Nidge is going to weasel (to quote his nickname!) his way out of this when he gets thinking. He has a way of turning things around to his advantage and he has so far had luck and the common interests of others on his side.

they want to wrap it up in season 6 so I assume he'll survive until the end of that

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Ok, Ill break it down for you.
    you! wrote:
    So now Nidge has to get Fran in prison. 1Hughie isn't a threat.

I would go with one of the garda lads being murdered and Nidge pulling a fast one on the 2Spanish bosses son Paulie after he helps him get Patrick which sets him up for a show down with his dad in season 5 and with Fran's release hanging over him.

1. Hughie isn't a threat is a puzzling remark
    2. The "Spanish boss" (who is Irish of course) son Paulie is another strange one

Those are the two main pieces of confusion that I spotted, you would also assume that if Fran stays in prison he will be dead so there will be no release hanging over him....that one not a big deal.

Does that help clear up what I meant?

Edit: **** me, what shipment are you on about? He owes Paulie for a hit, he is getting a loan from Paulies uncle.

He is not splitting any proceeds from the shipment with him anyway so killing him for that reason is a non runner also.

loyatemu wrote: »
    they want to wrap it up in season 6 so I assume he'll survive until the end of that

Yes. I'd say he will be alive at the end of this too. There was talk of various feature length film version of it after the series ends I heard. I'd assume they would have maybe Fran in jail and Nidge in hiding in Spain rather than killing them so as to revive it in once off specials every now and again if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Stiltzkin

Honestly don't understand these regulars coming onto this thread with magnifying glass and scalpels at the ready to knit-pick through the entire show each week. Must be very entertaining for them. Why didn't the bike fall over? Why didn't Fran have a blade in the final scene? Why was Ciaran complaining about his Seat's ability to keep up when Fran was driving his banger van? How come the Guards were celebrating after they done Fran? Huge discussion over actual possession laws for about 5 pages then... Seriously depressing every week I just have to laugh. It was the same ****e for season 3 and 4 as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Stiltzkin wrote: »
    Why didn't the bike fall over?
    Why didn't yer man jump off the bike straightaway and a gun pointing at him?

I know I would have.........after first attaching a magnetic tracking device under the seat of course :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

Putinovsky wrote: »
    I read during last years season in one of the papers that the guards had kicked up a fuss about how they were presented in the previous seasons and that's why they became major players in the show last season.

Also, does anyone else notice that they've completely moved away from showing the glamorous side of being a drug dealer? And that there is much less drug use? I remember they're were loads of complaints about the show glamorizing drug use and it seems the shows screenwriters were told to reign it in a little. We're a long way away from wild cocaine parties full of models at John Boys lavish penthouse.

But that has caused the quality of the show to decline a bit. RTE or the media will not allow the Guards to be potrayed as evil,incompetent,brutal or stupid so their storyline is too predictable. In the Sopranos some cops and Feds went native or got Stockholm syndrome. All we are getting is a form of propaganda about the decent hardworking under-resourced Guards against common thugs. I would prever a little more 'dark side' with the cops. For instance releasing Fran so as to wreak havoc.
    Although the cop watching Nidge did have some 'issues' last season so it is possible he will be bought or blackmailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,074 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

what if fran finding out was all Nidges imagination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,490 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Oldira wrote: »
    But that has caused the quality of the show to decline a bit. RTE or the media will not allow the Guards to be potrayed as evil,incompetent,brutal or stupid so their storyline is too predictable. In the Sopranos some cops and Feds went native or got Stockholm syndrome. All we are getting is a form of propaganda about the decent hardworking under-resourced Guards against common thugs. I would prever a little more 'dark side' with the cops. For instance releasing Fran so as to wreak havoc.
    Although the cop watching Nidge did have some 'issues' last season so it is possible he will be bought or blackmailed.

We've already seen Gardai selling them info, John Boy was paying a guard for it back in S2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

PTH2009 wrote: »
    it's all been imagination since before darren was killed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

Great episode
    But I''ll never be able to listen to that 'Crying, Crying over you' song with out thinking of the Only Fools and Horses episode when Raquel was doing a duet with your man. 'Cwying,Cwing......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

Blay wrote: »
    We've already seen Gardai selling them info, John Boy was paying a guard for it back in S2.

True. But the Guards were a minor part of the story then. Now they are a big part and it makes for unpredictable viewing particularly with a serving member playing one of the parts. You think he would be allowed to be shown kicking the crap out of a criminal or taking a bribe or planting evidence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,526 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

bazermc wrote: »
    Ah here and Fran took the port tunnel to get to Nidges house in Castleknock.

How can you be sure Nidge's house was his destination? Surely you are making an assumption there?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Ah please! none of those dreams in the shower scenes now..... ;)

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

It seems like the writer is setting up Siobhan for a big fall. If Paulie finds out that she's being talking to the police, I can't see her surviving much longer.

Last season was all set up and no pay off. I really hope the same doesn't happen this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Still hoping Darren comes back and it was all a dream.:p

It seems like the writer is setting up Siobhan for a big fall.

Now that is funny, especially if you saw the trailer for next week just after last nights show finished. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭gidget

Wonder could there be something also brewing for Ado, what with the looks his missus & your man were giving each other in the pub while he was playing darts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Just watched last night's episode again, Fran headbutting the wall and the music playing gave me the chills I must say...Great acting from Peter coonan.

Yeah Gardai are always in the pub.That is why you usually see a Garda station beside a pub down the sticks.

Or in Roscrea's case...Supermacs ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Any predictions for next week?

gidget wrote: »
    Wonder could there be something also brewing for Ado, what with the looks his missus & your man were giving each other in the pub while he was playing darts.

Yeah id say they might be going to explore the dangerous side to Ado's character. Id imagine it will be a sort of a subplot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

deise08 wrote: »
    Wonder if any of the lads are boardsies?

I would bet a few of the cast read this thread. Probably the production team too.

lufties wrote: »
    Any predictions for next week?

I kind of predict Tommy will die, Siobhan will be under a lot of pressure and may even attempt suicide from the looks of things?

Also, there's going to be another clash between Nidge and the travellers. And Fran will meet up with Noelie in prison and Noelie will nearly kill Fran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭mada999

Tommy needs to get back in the game, can't understand what Siobhan is doing messing around with Paulie.

she's prob doing it to get back at Nidge and also maybe to get some intel to take Nidge down or maybe she'll ask Paulie to kill Nidge ?