If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Sheep Photo Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭razor8

did ya get fertility test ?

I didn't and never do, just checked feet, brisket and got a dose to make sure no surprises the day they go out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

New Romeo arrived today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭arctictree

Reapplied the raddle today. Thinking of changing to twice weekly as it was getting a bit faint on the ewes. What do ye lads do?

arctictree wrote: »
    Reapplied the raddle today. Thinking of changing to twice weekly as it was getting a bit faint on the ewes. What do ye lads do?

Every day :o Looks a bit like a slasher victim when the red comes out :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭serfspup

nice ram con how much.ewes look well

serfspup wrote: »
    nice ram con how much.ewes look well

€300 but I didn't bargain, must've been too early in the morning for me :o Four of those ewes stay at home all year as they're rogues in the hill, the other has teeth missing but she's a good ewe so I keep her. Weeding out ewes I'm not happy with, some past ram has left me with some brown and bobs I am deeply unhappy about. Cleaning up time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Lano Lynn

Rams2014 019.JPGwhat's that scent coco chanell ? or is it sexy cheviot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭eire23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭geros29

Our pedigree Hampshire down.shoving on in years now but served all our ewes and no repeats so happy out with him.

Lano Lynn wrote: »
    Rams2014 019.JPGwhat's that scent coco chanell ? or is it sexy cheviot?

Let all the ewes into my fella today, if he curls the lip any farther he's in danger of swallowing himself whole!

A few replacements for next year. I'm probably only happy with four of them but I needed six. Two have a little brown in them, not much at all mind, but still :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Lano Lynn

jez con u going to lose all cred.....is that meal....... in a trough.......:D

Lano Lynn wrote: »
    jez con u going to lose all cred.....is that meal....... in a trough.......:D

Yes, and for a reason too. Have to settle them on a hill they're not used to. Bribery works.

Well I suppose that's a good a spot as any for the new gate to the hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

^^^^^^^^^^

Few pallets, cheap and cheerful No need to buy expensive gate or posts. I use the bed frames myself. :D

^^^^^^^^^^

Few pallets, cheap and cheerful No need to buy expensive gate or posts. I use the bed frames myself. :D

I've an aversion to bed frames, ewe got tangled up in one dumped in the hill and died years ago.

Hard to get a pallet in this area, like hens teeth!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 77 ✭✭wreckless if true

New Romeo arrived today.

lovely looking sheep. fair play

Not too happy on the beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Cut open the first bale of silage yesterday evening. Always a worry, but knew straight away it was good. Lovely sweet smell of tobacco off it. Sheep enjoying breakfast this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Cut open the first bale of silage yesterday evening. Always a worry, but knew straight away it was good. Lovely sweet smell of tobacco off it. Sheep enjoying breakfast this morning.

How long will they get out of the bale green?

I'll know tomorrow, but 1 bale lasts two days, feeding 110 ewes I hope. They got that one yesterday afternoon. I spent the extra money on plastic ( was nearly choking at the cost of it )and got it double wrapped but really does make a difference. No mould what so ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭gazahayes

Foundations poured for the sheep tunnel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

gazahayes wrote: »
    Foundations poured for the sheep tunnel

No pic attached. :o

They must've got a lot of snow over night :D

IMG_00274_zps0c5ad5cd.jpg
    This fella is shaping up nicely, early days yet though!:rolleyes:

Getting some stores used to silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,380 ✭✭✭orm0nd

nearly ready for housing just a bit of tidying up on the other side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

orm0nd wrote: »
    Shiney!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭razor8

Ya didn't spare anything there

Is it slatted, can't really tell from photo

Fine setup ormond, was it of cormac ye bought the head rails, Id imagine they will be a good job to stop them pulling in silage?