Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I do feel cheated when I see all the lovely hats in the shops, and it is starting to get chilly :(. I need to find new ways to punish the kids for sniggering at me any hat I try on:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

73Cat wrote: »
    I do feel cheated when I see all the lovely hats in the shops, and it is starting to get chilly :(. I need to find new ways to punish the kids for sniggering at me any hat I try on:)

Amazon have some nice ones and some of the sellers have different sizes, you just have to measure your head above your ears to get the right fit, honest. I gave up on getting them in actual shops anymore. I like the cloche ones, they suit most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

73Cat wrote: »

Buy a really embarrassing hat and threaten to wear it in public when you're with them.

We're well on the way to the 10,000 post limit again, so about one thread a year at this rate, at least:D Maybe we should have an annual competition for the most trivial annoyance. We could call it 'The Trivvies' or something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Maybe it makes it easier to place the blame for the "aroma" elsewhere;)

Hadn't thought of that. Maybe. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭ressem

I usually get my husband to mash the potatoes, I always leave lumps in the mash, when I can find decent potatoes that don't turn to sludge in the pot.

People that can't cook spuds.

Get a two part steamer. Cook the potatoes (golden wonders or roosters, leave the skins on, flowery potatoes can pop open when cooked) using steam on high heat for 40 mins, not immersed in the water (Google's advice can go feck itself).

http://www.amazon.com/Farberware-Classic-Stainless-3-Quart-Saucepot/dp/B000058AKE/ref=pd_sim_k_8?ie=UTF8&refRID=0KRWEE1BWBK6HERBN5GW

ressem wrote: »

Get a two part steamer. Cook the potatoes (golden wonders or roosters) using steam on high heat for 40 mins, not immersed in the water (Google's advice can go feck itself).

http://www.amazon.com/Farberware-Classic-Stainless-3-Quart-Saucepot/dp/B000058AKE/ref=pd_sim_k_8?ie=UTF8&refRID=0KRWEE1BWBK6HERBN5GW

The cheek of you:eek: Not immerse potatoes in water:confused::eek: Sacrilege:eek: Get out.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The cheek of you:eek: Not immerse potatoes in water:confused::eek: Sacrilege:eek: Get out.:P

Haha, snap! I've never steamed them before, ill have to try it out.

I bought 3 tier steamer about 5 years ago. Took it out of the box, washed it, put it in a cupboard and have never used it. It was one of those impulse buys.:o

I just use the holey saucepan to drain the water off the potatoes/vegetables

Me too. It's not that I'm bad at cooking potatoes, I'm not, it's just that sometimes you get a bag of potatoes that's really bad for boiling or anything else. So you end up with a pot full of lumps of under cooked potatoes and a sludge like puree as well.

Yeah that's what I don't understand, my dad made it look super easy, fool proof. Bang em into a pot, wait until they're boiled. Baddaboom!

When I do them? Hard and lumpy but still looks like stewed apples

Yeah that's what I don't understand, my dad made it look super easy, fool proof. Bang em into a pot, wait until they're boiled. Baddaboom!

You can generally tell if they're going to be watery when you're peeling them. If there's many black bits or they feel very wet when peeled you can be fairly sure that they're going to be crap. If I get some like that I usually just leave the skins on and cook them that way, it stops them getting too bad. Anyway, enough about spuds before someone lectures us for derailing the thread.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

cut the bigger ones in half:confused:

easier for them to cook properly

my annoyance for today...the fact that this week is sooo long...I taught this evening would never come....
    rock on saterday:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Lalealynn

Snacks that when you open them are now deformed. Or melted.

I bought one of those Amoy thai red curry kits in tesco. Threw the bag of rice in the pot, 15 mins it wasn't done, 20 mins it wasn't done, it wasn't even semi done.
    I don't know if it was boil in the bag or not so I opened the bag and have to wait another 15 mins to see if that works or if its unboilable rice.

Clear instructions wouldn't go amiss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

ressem wrote: »

Get a two part steamer. Cook the potatoes (golden wonders or roosters, leave the skins on, flowery potatoes can pop open when cooked) using steam on high heat for 40 mins, not immersed in the water (Google's advice can go feck itself).

I always steam the spuds for himself. No fancy steamer, just a holey saucepan on top of a normal saucepan of boiling water and a lid. Perfect spuds everytime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Those "rent-a-mob" water protesters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Roy Keane- can't abide him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Is it ok if their off leash dog was best in show? ;)

Eh no.
    Its not best in show when its annoying other people.
    No-one cares. Its just another dog.

Also, imo opinion dog shows/the showing of dogs is cruel. I have a pedigree dog who's parents were champions. I have never breed her or shown her. She is a family pet and not a trophy item for the vanity of the owner.
    She isn't here for my amusement. I would never dream of treating my dog that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I always steam the spuds for himself. No fancy steamer, just a holey saucepan on top of a normal saucepan of boiling water and a lid. Perfect spuds everytime.
    Cant go wrong with roosters imo...I buy them all year round...Cant beat nice spuds with loads of butter ,beans ,fried egg and onions...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

That we have no love/hate forum :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,256 ✭✭✭jos28

Fridge magnets - hate the things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

deise08 wrote: »

There's probably a thread somewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Overuse of salt before, during and after cooking. Takes away from the dish and any real expertise needed to bring out flavour through combinations, herbs etc. If you 'must' cover your meal, taste if first before adding it. Smokers tend to be most guilty of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

deise08 wrote: »

Theres a few in the Television forum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

efb wrote: »
    "rent-a-mob"

Use of the expression 'rent-a-mob'.

Listening to skanger beats when I can't sleep. Which just makes me want to get up, find a glow stick and a rave. I need a lullaby playlist, instead of a showtek one.

There's probably a thread somewhere?

The thread is a head wreck. :) we're asking the mods for a forum but they're denying us.

Smidge wrote: »
    Theres a few in the Television forum :)

Someone merged the threads last night and its all over the place now. :(
    I was sticking to the one thread where everyone (well, the regulars.) was up to date, now it's gone back to 'the cat killer.'