Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I usually get my husband to mash the potatoes, I always leave lumps in the mash, when I can find decent potatoes that don't turn to sludge in the pot. Don't ever use a blender to make mash, I tried it once and the result was disgusting.

Tried it. Was like cement in the blender. Inedible. And I thought I was never going to get the blender cleaned out, was mank. Well he'll be cooking them and mashing them in future. My fair hands are not cut out for toiling over a pot of potatoes.

When people send emails of results and don't explain things.
    I turned 25 last year, had a smear right after my birthday. Results came back and I was told to have another smear 12 months later. I had a smear last month, got the results today and the clinic emailed me to tell me the smear needs to be repeated. No explanation, no assurances. Wtf? Would it kill them to include a bit more information. I know nothing about smears and results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm kind of annoyed that I talked myself into making stuff for Halloween. Usually we just have pizza for dinner that night and give bags of crisps to the trick or treaters, although Mr Pumpkinseeds carves incredible pumpkins. This year I've comitted to making black toffee apples and a pumpkin pie. Am feeling lethargic just thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Vel wrote: »
    When you buy clothes in shop, they look great, and you try them on when you get home and realise that some serious subterfuge was going on in the changing room with the lighting/mirror
    River Island is a fcuker for this...Something is definitely up with their mirrors:(

Anyway Ive had a day of trivials today...OH says he woke me at 7.15 but I didnt wake until 7.40am:confused:
    Went shopping and anything i liked was available in every size except what I wanted.
    The parking fine that I had forgotten about came in the post in the OHs name giving him ammunition to fire at me.
    I still have a rented car that has to be returned with the petrol 1/4 full so Im trying to judge it so that I dont give them anything extra back:pac:
    Bought porridge in the work canteen that was both watery and lumpy...loads more but I dont want to come across as moany:D

I'm kind of annoyed that I talked myself into making stuff for Halloween. Usually we just have pizza for dinner that night and give bags of crisps to the trick or treaters, although Mr Pumpkinseeds carves incredible pumpkins. This year I've comitted to making black toffee apples and a pumpkin pie. Am feeling lethargic just thinking about it.

I know how you feel, Ive two black bananas just waiting to be baked into banana bread, and Im so tired, I cant be arsed

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Can we also impound parents who let their children stomp up to and molest on-lead dogs who are minding their own business, because they think other people's dogs are just play things for their precious offspring? Extra time for the bints that screech, "ah look at the bow wow!! Do you wanna touch the bow wow?!"

Anyone who lets their child touch a strange dog are as bad as the "bints" that have mangey mongrels running about in a park or on a beach off leash or anywhere.
    Everyone has the right to use these areas. Joggers, walkers, responsible dog owners with dogs on a leash and even children.
    And as for people who have vicious dogs on their property?
    Good for them, except when their dog leaves said property and barks, growls, snaps and attempts to bite anyone who walks past on a public road.
    Stupid careless owners imo asking to get their badly trained animal into some very serious trouble.
    These owners should be impounded along with the parents who allow their child to touch a strange dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

All this talk of dogs is really making me miss my puppy. She's at my parents' house, though, so I can't go home now to pet her and have the craic.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

When I get fluff stuck on my belly button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭honeygirl

Someone rang my doorbell today and I couldn't answer, well they kept ringing and ringing until I shouted out the window. So annoying!

honeygirl wrote: »
    Someone rang my doorbell today and I couldn't answer, well they kept ringing and ringing until I shouted out the window. So annoying!

What did you say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭honeygirl

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    What did you say?

I shouted " stop ringing the doorbell I can't answer at the moment". I couldn't shout anything colourful as there are too many kids around.

honeygirl wrote: »
    I shouted " stop ringing the doorbell I can't answer at the moment". I couldn't shout anything colourful as there are too many kids around.

Actually that's another thing that annoys me. When you want to swear at someone but there are kids present. "Ye stupid cuuuntry boy." :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

OH off playing poker, I'd murder a bar of Green and Black's and a cup of tea. Am off chocolate to try and lose some weight and he used the last bag of the nice M&S tea before I got home from swimming. *crankyface*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Teacher23

If I notice that someone chews really loud I can never truly relax when they are eating around me ever again. It actually pains me and I get so irritated that my pulse quickens and I get all tense and I'm just WAITING for them to chew loud ONE MORE TIME... I've eaten my dinner in the hallway many a time to avoid maiming someone. I swear, I think it's a condition. In fact, I'm gonna start researching right now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Teacher23 wrote: »
    If I notice that someone chews really loud I can never truly relax when they are eating around me ever again. It actually pains me and I get so irritated that my pulse quickens and I get all tense and I'm just WAITING for them to chew loud ONE MORE TIME... I've eaten my dinner in the hallway many a time to avoid maiming someone. I swear, I think it's a condition. In fact, I'm gonna start researching right now!

People chewing cornflakes.

*shudders*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

adverts.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

adverts.ie

Swap my ads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Swap my ads?

Is it still available?

3 days later - sorry its sold.

Take down your ad when its sold and pay your commision and don't be wasting my time.

People chewing cornflakes.

*shudders*

Yes. Cornflakes are the worst! I refuse to eat them just because it annoys me so much when others do.

P.S. It is a condition. It's called misophonia and it means "hatred of sound"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

My mother and her penchant for knowing irrelevant information strikes again. She rang me this afternoon, the conversation went like this.

Mum: Hi, is the bottle of Riverrock in the fridge belonging to you?
    Me: No, why?
    Mum: Just wondering. Bye.

30 seconds later She rings again.

Me: Hello?
    Mum: Sorry, I meant to ring your sister.
    Me: Are you ringing her to ask if she owns the water?
    Mum: Yes.
    Me: ddfjkenfr;eskrnferfni;wedfjnerjf

There are not enough facepalms in the world sometimes! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

adverts.ie

Getting silly alright. The amount of fake (sorry "replica") stuff and stupid offers is getting annoying.

As are the users that put up the basics so you have to ask 20 more questions to find out what the hell they are selling, or the ones that offer a fecked iPhone and a Mars bar for a €200 TV…..:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

What a friend calls "Lidl Snobs" People that only shop in Lidl or Aldi and can't wait to tell the world about it and keep calling you an idiot for going to another shop.

As soon as someone mentions a brand of food, They go "Lidl has xxx for €1.49 or shop in Aldi, they have it for €2.12"..

Feck off! It is my money and I will spend it in Dunnes or SuperValu if I want.

Are these people getting paid by them? They seem to know the price per kilo/litre for every product.

And its they are Sooo much better than anything else.. Ooo the quality..

Bollox! Being like a brand is not the same as a brand.. Like the fake runners on Adverts.ie.. Like the brand but not the same quality..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

There's an ad on tv at the minute for AIB and loads of people have said it sounds like me talking. I heard the ad for the first time tonight and your one sounds like one of marges sisters from the Simpsons. Real raspy and hoarse. Now I'm cringing at what I sound like in real life, I'm making a voice recording but can't bear to play it back because I hate my voice so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Teacher23 wrote: »

It is a condition. Misophonia.
    I have it too. I'm surprised I haven't murdered anybody yet.
    The worst is when you can't actually walk away from the person because they're telling you something you need to know or doing something for you.

I'm glad I'm not alone in this! It's awful! And it makes me feel so guilty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Another misophonia sufferer here!

I wear headphones a lot at work, especially around lunchtime because I hate hearing other people eat apples and scraping yoghurt pots.
    I've changed places in queues as well because there might be a couple kissing in front of me and I hate that sound as well!
    I wish I could tune these things out like most people can. But I can't ever remember a time in my life when I could. Even when I was small, I hated noisy eaters! :mad:

Interesting article here:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Control buttons on flat screen TV s, on the side, labeled in black, on the side where you cant see them, labeled in black, on black, on the side............. then you can't find the remote and need to use thd buttons which are on the side.........in black.........on black
    wheres my gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I've changed places in queues as well because there might be a couple kissing in front of me and I hate that sound as well!

There's nothing worse than the sound of two people slobbering over each other like a couple of basset hounds.

I also sit close to a couple of snot-sniffers and swallowers in work - just get a tissue and blow your nose for feck sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Smidge wrote: »
    Anyone who lets their child touch a strange dog are as bad as the "bints" that have mangey mongrels running about in a park or on a beach off leash or anywhere.
    Everyone has the right to use these areas. Joggers, walkers, responsible dog owners with dogs on a leash and even children.
    And as for people who have vicious dogs on their property?
    Good for them, except when their dog leaves said property and barks, growls, snaps and attempts to bite anyone who walks past on a public road.
    Stupid careless owners imo asking to get their badly trained animal into some very serious trouble.
    These owners should be impounded along with the parents who allow their child to touch a strange dog

Is it ok if their off leash dog was best in show? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

There's nothing worse than the sound of two people slobbering over each other like a couple of basset hounds.

I also sit close to a couple of snot-sniffers and swallowers in work - just get a tissue and blow your nose for feck sake.

I dont understand these people. Do they not realise how disgusting they are? Even giving them a disgusted, pointed look doesn't seem to have any effect on them :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Another misophonia sufferer here!

I wear headphones a lot at work, especially around lunchtime because I hate hearing other people eat apples and scraping yoghurt pots.
    I wish I could tune these things out like most people can. But I can't ever remember a time in my life when I could. Even when I was small, I hated noisy eaters! :mad:

Interesting article here:

Yes, I read about that condition on a UK website for the first time, last year. I don't think I suffer from it, by any means, but I still fecking hate noisy eaters, or slurpers of any sort. I used to sit near a guy at work, who ate a scone, at his desk, every morning...and it seemed to take most of the morning, so there was no escape. He was completely lacking in self awareness anyway, which didn't help matters.