Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Rte player isn't working for me.

Can some beautiful person please pm me a link to watch Sunday's episode, please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Irishcrx wrote: »
    No don't think so , again it's not in Patricks character to do that. He lost a son and grieves over him constantly. I don't think he has any interest in killing a child. It's Nidge he wants dead.

Say he did kill Warren? What would that do for him other than drive Nidge even more psychotic. Nidge would have his entire family murdered if that happened, surely Patrick wants to off Nidge and be done with the whole thing before Nidge gets to him.

It wouldn't be in any of these guys character to kill a child.

Kayser Soze maybe, Patrick wouldn't be in his league of evilness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Surely nidge should have done away with Fran when he had the chance, now he is in a feud with paddy who knows nidge petrol bombed Frans house.

Fran is a danger to nidge and is a loose cannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,409 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

HighClass wrote: »
    He kept to himself before Nidge tried to kill him. The only reason he went after Nidge is because he was worried Nidge would end up trying to kill him again or going after his family.

You'd swear it was the most complex plot in the world going by some of the posts on here :rolleyes:

Why do people always play the "oh you just don't understand the complex storyline" card when people point out ropey writing?

From last season Paddy fled for his life after Nidge tries to have him killed, now all of a sudden he comes back and not only attempts to kill Nidge, but then flat refuses a truce and cash and starts handing out death threats?

Also he started the sitdown by saying "I just wanna knock this on the head", Nidge puts his foot in his mouth once and suddenly he wants a war? It's just bizarre, and pretending you are understanding some complex story mechanics which explains all this even more bizarre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,092 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I quite enjoyed this episode. I especially liked the timeshifting aspect to it and how it was worked in.

The line from Terrence about there always being rats and then it cuts to our first sighting of Siobhan. The hatred she has for Nidge could not have been highlighted any more than it was.

Some great lines in it, the headstone one especially, but i think we have heard the bone to pick one a few too many times in that episode.

I am wandering off here and trying to predict what will happen. I find myself wondering if the line from Terrence about Nidge, where he said if he was a nag he wouldn't bet on him and him being fit for the knackers yard is linked to the song used to close the episode "I'm sticking to you, cos I'm made out of glue". Horses being sent to the glue factory and all that.

I don't think Nidge will be killed off though, but it highlights how much he is going to need that favour from Fran, and indeed Fran.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Could anyone please tell me where I could watch Season 4 online please? A PM will do, thanks.

P.S. It better be legal or I'm calling the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Why do people always play the "oh you just don't understand the complex storyline" card when people point out ropey writing?

From last season Paddy fled for his life after Nidge tries to have him killed, now all of a sudden he comes back and not only attempts to kill Nidge, but then flat refuses a truce and cash and starts handing out death threats?

Also he started the sitdown by saying "I just wanna knock this on the head", Nidge puts his foot in his mouth once and suddenly he wants a war? It's just bizarre, and pretending you are understanding some complex story mechanics which explains all this even more bizarre

I agree with you, it does not make sense that paddy has had a personality change. It smells of lazy script writing to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

lufties wrote: »
    I agree with you, it does not make sense that paddy has had a personality change. It smells of lazy script writing to me.

Did he have more of an attitude change? Episode opened with him returning on the ferry, then we had the convo on the site about bringing trouble and his explanation.

Lads, this is not Shakespeare.

I see where your coming from to be fair. I suppose Paddy had time to think about it on the boat over and decided that attack might be the best form of defence and that he didnt want to give the rest of his life looking over his shoulder. On the nits thing id say members of travelling community take great offence to people questioning their hygiene or their ability to look after their own children. No different then anyone else really although they probably also take it as a negative stereotype. Paddy might also feel that he has Nidge over a barrel considering one call to Fran is all it would take and that similar to the IRA v Nidge two years ago, Nidge is sort of taking on a whole new army.

I think you are stretching it saying they have nailed it. It isnt that brilliant. Very entertaining but far from a masterpiece by any stretch of the imagination. It isnt as imaginative as people make out, in fact it very clearly tries to depict certain stereotypes which is verging on anti imaginative. The characters are very entertaining and well portrayed but tbe show is far too paced at times, neglecting characters. If i wasnt Irish, i wouldnt be too pushed about it but its over publicised and you cant help but watch it.

Saying that it is the best thing rte has produced but the standard is hardly high.

This isnt a criticism, im just stating my opinion. I just sometimes people overexaggerate how good this is.

Ps if ypu cant take criticism, you are in the wrong profession.

May not have articulated it enough. What I'm saying is that compared to previous offerings, they have nailed it.

PS. I can take criticism, but there is an inherent attitude in Ireland to fine tooth comb anything we do reasonably right in terms of TV or Film. For the record, we don't do a lot right and tend to get caught right up our own holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Hey all

Fully appreciate this was probably asked before, but I couldn't find it.. I'm not in the country and just settled down to watch L/H, before realising that RTE's catchup is not available outside the country. I don't really want to proxy in. Is the new episode available elsewhere? (Totally legally of course!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,226 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Can some beautiful person please pm me a link to watch Sunday's episode, please?

What browser are you using? Try it in internet explorer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Hey all

Fully appreciate this was probably asked before, but I couldn't find it.. I'm not in the country and just settled down to watch L/H, before realising that RTE's catchup is not available outside the country. I don't really want to proxy in. Is the new episode available elsewhere? (Totally legally of course!)

I watched it last night on you tube, not sure if its still there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

If you are in Ireland and use Adblocker? disable it on the RTE page.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Hey all

Nothing outside Ireland is legal. Think VPN.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭leck

DVDM93 wrote: »
    Could anyone please tell me where I could watch Season 4 online please? A PM will do, thanks.

P.S. It better be legal or I'm calling the guards.
    Would love to find it online too. I watched Season 1-3 on Hulu but they don't have Season 4.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

walshb wrote: »
    That isn't the point. Just the complete turn around in events with little explanation is what is bugging some. No issue with someone crying juST before they could be executed. Fran towards the end of the last season had the swagger of someone who had 0 fear of Nidge. Nidge had the swagger of someone who seemed to be wary and fearful of Fran. What happened to switch this so suddenly? Maybe I need to watch the episode again. What is the time difference between the end of last season and the start of this season?

From what I recall, last season Fran did indeed seem to have little fear of Nidge. However this was mostly when he was mouthing off to Deano or one of his own boys, he never showed this in front of Nidge (not the hard man after all perhaps). Fran kept up appearances but so did Nidge. One of the last scenes in series 4 had Nidge and Fran walking down the street. It escapes me what they were talking about, but Fran says something like ''Im just saying Nidgey, thats all'' to which Nidge stares at him and sarcastically says ''thats your problem Fran, your always just saying''. Obvious distrust between them both.

This season, Fran still has pretty much no fear of Nidge as evidenced by his not bothering to take his calls at the start of the episode and his attacking of Elmo in the car. Where Fran changes is when theres an eastern european guy ready to bash him to bits with a baseball bat. When faced with that humbling reality, he reluctantly changes attitude...purely for self preservation.

Perhaps Patrick felt his honour was at stake. I think its been said many times in the thread that these guys can be viciously volatile and start gang fueds over the most minor of things. I might add that I read the scene completely wrong at the time. I was full sure that Patrick declined the money purely out of pride and honour with the headstone comment being his way of saying he knows Nidge is under serious threat from others in the underworld. Must catch the repeat later and have another look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭6am7f9zxrsjvnb

Difference between Love/hate and The Sopranos

You finish an episode of The Sopranos and are in genuine awe of David Chase and the writers
    You finish an episode of Love/Hate and think.....**** it, gimme a pen and 8 hours and I could write a better episode myself.
    To be fair, Series 3 was six hours of dynamite television,but what's followed has been utter ****.The fact that the show has become a national pastime makes it hard for us to accept the reality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

You finish an episode of The Sopranos and are in genuine awe of David Chase and the writers
    You finish an episode of Love/Hate and think.....**** it, gimme a pen and 8 hours and I could write a better episode myself.
    To be fair, Series 3 was six hours of dynamite television,but what's followed has been utter ****.The fact that the show has become a national pastime makes it hard for us to accept the reality.

The first episode in series 3 has been by far the best episode so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,226 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I'm not sure why you or others continue to compare it to the sopranos.
    The sopranos cost 2 million an episode to make at the start reaching 6.5 million PER EPISODE at the end.
    The budgets and there for talent (to a point) involved were oceans apart from what Love/Hate cost initially and even now.

The show is better than a lot of the drama that has gone before it on RTE and is entertaining to a large number of people.
    I enjoy it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

kippy wrote: »
    I'm not sure why you or others continue to compare it to the sopranos.
    The sopranos cost 2 million an episode to make at the start reaching 6.5 million PER EPISODE at the end.
    The budgets and there for talent (to a point) involved were oceans apart from what Love/Hate cost initially and even now.

The show is better than a lot of the drama that has gone before it on RTE and is entertaining to a large number of people.
    I enjoy it anyway.

I enjoy it too and I don't spend my time when I enjoy something comparing it to something else. I just enjoy it for what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Genuine question...
    are people really that confused?
    ok I misheard Siobhan, but, other than that it's all right there.
    What I'm seeing is what they're showing.
    what I'm hearing is what they're saying.
    I mean, its not cloaks and daggers and mirrors.
    It's not clever it's just simple.

Terrence Big Balls is actually famous enough. Played Brian Meehan in the Veronica Guerin movie and his mother used be married to Brendan Behan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paudge_Behan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,744 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Nothing like this has ever been done in Ireland.

I can't even watch US drama - yes I'm unusual - but I love that I can relate to this.

Just the characters - the way they talk - the way they view the world. The fact this crime happens in my area.

It is one of the biggest things that happened in Ireland in last 20 years - the growth of the crime world.

Yes some of the stuff is unrealistic - but guess what , it is a drama.

I think a big mistake was the uncertainty - ( I guess by RTE - about the re-commissioning of another series )

This has made the writing and pace very hard for the writer - in fact, impossible as we have seen great uncertainty in pace - particularly last year.

I think they should nearly say to him ok 18 more episodes after this - write it to finish up - at the right pace.

But for the dialogue alone - every single piece of conversation, you can hear the way they talk is the way they would talk - his research in this aspect is unreal.

Like other night asking for drinks at bar.

"want to do a shot Siobhan"
    " Yes"
    "here - Giz us 4 shots of that blue stuff - 2 pints of larger"

No please - no thanks - that is just so perfect , and he had to write it that perfect.

Dialogue like that happens almost constantly - yes the storyline is unrealistic - but I'd just watch to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭metrostation

Cant get where all the confusion and nitpicking is coming from I think its a good solid, straightforward plot to follow but anyway heres my predictions for what will happen by the end of this season.....

Patrick is killed on the orders of Nidge which stops the traveller gang in their tracks for a while,

DI Moynihan finally catches up with Nidge and sends him to prison where he is attacked and possibly killed,

Elmo is killed off as a possible retaliation by the traveller gang,

With Nidge out of the way Paulie takes over the movement and supply of drugs so Terence gets his money back,

Fran teams up with Paulie to form a new gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Cant get where all the confusion and nitpicking is coming from I think its a good solid, straightforward plot to follow but anyway heres my predictions for what will happen by the end of this season.....

Patrick is killed on the orders of Nidge which stops the traveller gang in their tracks for a while,

DI Moynihan finally catches up with Nidge and sends him to prison where he is attacked and possibly killed,

Elmo is killed off as a possible retaliation by the traveller gang,

With Nidge out of the way Paulie takes over the movement and supply of drugs so Terence gets his money back,

Fran teams up with Paulie to form a new gang.

Killing off Nidge won't happen. His character is too popular.

Jumboman wrote: »
    The first episode in series 3 has been by far the best episode so far.

That was some episode. In fairness the one that followed was excellent too although ill never forget that shocking scene with Darren. I was unable to speak for a whole five minutes. The finale was brilliant too and in particular the shootout in Nidges housing estate. Fúck it that whole series was fantastic

Of the gangsters of the original cast, only Nidge and Elmo remain (How long can both survive?)

John Boy, Hughie, Robbie (Darrens brother), Darren, Lizzie, Stumpy, Git, Dano, Lizzies brothers (Ray and Paddy) and Wayne (Cat Killer) are all gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,744 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

auldgranny wrote: »

He will die in last episode of last series. (Next year ?)

auldgranny wrote: »

Depends on the actors wishes though. If he wants to move on id say theyll have to write him out just as they did with Aiden Gillen and Robert Sheehan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,294 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

deise08 wrote: »
    Genuine question...
    are people really that confused?

It confuses people more than any other show I've seen for some reason.

During and after every epsode there is post after post of...'who is that lad/why is he doing that/who killed X/why did they kill X?' etc.

I think people spend too much time watching this thread while the episode is on and end up missing a load of info.

Don't get me wrong, I do it myself..posting comments here on scenes just as they happen etc. but I don't think I've ever missed anything and I normally have time to answer some people's questions at the same time :pac: