If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    Maybe.

I want to play a game

Please don't do it again or I will find you. And I will kill you.

I don't get how people can be so comfortable lifting other peoples underwear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Know a few people working there.. :P
    New Two Pot House..
    If you're actually staying in Mallow, good luck..
    There's pubs all up the main street, some aren't too bad, and two/three night clubs.
    Light is one night club open Fri and Sat, full of 16-20 year olds..
    Experience, part of Light accessible through Hi B when it's open is over 21's, same dance scene as light but older personnel :P Both 8-10e admission.
    Chasers is the last one, bottom of town, generally where older people go, sh!t hole.. And not saying that because I'm barred.. :P

tldr: It's sh!te.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

Anyone else getting an absurd amount of emails from Gavin Connell or is it just 4th years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

The same email again and again? Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭iLaura

Anyone else getting an absurd amount of emails from Gavin Connell or is it just 4th years?

We actually brought up the number of emails being sent at Student Council. Main people we complained about were Gavin Connell, Gabrielle Hanrahan and Writing Centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

iLaura wrote: »
    We actually brought up the number of emails being sent at Student Council. Main people we complained about were Gavin Connell, Gabrielle Hanrahan and Writing Centre.

Taking over Mary Sweeney's spamming, by the sounds of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

First years are getting emails from Gavin as well. Some of them are relevant like AmeriCamp but rest of them were irrelevant and pointless to be sent to my inbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

I got 6 emails today (technically yesterday) from Gavin Connell. Fecking sickening! If I want to go to a careers seminar I'll find out myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Subutai

Gavin should be sending out emails (in fact, the careers service could do more to inform students of opportunities for summer internships and so on) but I don't understand why he can't send one email at the end of each day with everything in it. It seems like he sends a new email everytime something comes up.

Could the careers service not offer an optional list or something for students who want to receive these emails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

What has happened to the reading room!? All the desks and chair had been removed and the room cleared as I was waiting in line for the computer room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

What has happened to the reading room!? All the desks and chair had been removed and the room cleared as I was waiting in line for the computer room.

Wouldn't be surprised if they moved it to a smaller space i.e. the new glass corner when they used to store books on the ground floor, to make room for more desks or computers.

Jester252 wrote: »
    Wouldn't be surprised if they moved it to a smaller space i.e. the new glass corner when they used to store books on the ground floor, to make room for more desks or computers.

Nope, that glass room is being made into a big electronic book sorting room or something like that.

sup_dude wrote: »
    Nope, that glass room is being made into a big electronic book sorting room or something like that.

Doesn't mean the reading room is not getting moved to another part of the Library/University or done away with.

Jester252 wrote: »
    Doesn't mean the reading room is not getting moved to another part of the Library/University or done away with.

Didn't say it wasn't, just that it's not going into the glass room. No idea what is happening to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭iLaura

Yup, that's what's happening there.

Realistically they could have fit more desks into that reading room. Maybe they're rearranging or making it into a 'proper' study zone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭LimerickLad92

EGO-10 is the new reading room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Mayo grant office decided to wait till Week 5 to let me know that they need another document...God, I'm getting fed up of this. Just please give me my grant already :'(

Aragneer wrote: »
    Mayo grant office decided to wait till Week 5 to let me know that they need another document...God, I'm getting fed up of this. Just please give me my grant already :'(

Still no sign of mine. Better come this week cause I'm counting out change at this stage

I still don't even have confirmation that I have one yet...Why couldn't they have told me in August that I had more documents to give in?! I gave it in in July for crying out loud...Ridiculous.

Sick of being broke..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Ciano35

Aragneer wrote: »
    I still don't even have confirmation that I have one yet...Why couldn't they have told me in August that I had more documents to give in?! I gave it in in July for crying out loud...Ridiculous.

Sick of being broke..

I just got mine today cork county council. Hopefully that means ye will get them soon too!

Ciano35 wrote: »
    I just got mine today cork county council. Hopefully that means ye will get them soon too!

They are super late this year!
    Thanks for that! Just sent the document in they were wanting so fingers crossed I will hear by next week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Ciano35 wrote: »

BAM! Got mine too! :D

The whores and heroinlight refreshments and teacakes are on me guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

EGO-10 is the new reading room.

noisy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 DBEventers

I got an e-mail today saying it would be lodged in my bank account tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Smartly Dressed

Any tasty beers available in The Scholars? I think I saw on Facebook a while back that they stocked craft beers but has that come and gone? Bit tired of drinking from the trough across the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭VanishingActs

Anyone else having trouble getting onto the portal to pre-reg? It was working up until today and now it won't load on any browser I try! Starting to worry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Anyone else having trouble getting onto the portal to pre-reg? It was working up until today and now it won't load on any browser I try! Starting to worry...

ya mine was dodgy

Any tasty beers available in The Scholars? I think I saw on Facebook a while back that they stocked craft beers but has that come and gone? Bit tired of drinking from the trough across the way.

They still have a very good selection of craft beers over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

You're a student? Sounds like the stables is too main stream for you? More than likely better pints as they are being pulled more often, there's a reason one is busier than the other, that could be part of it.

Scholars doesn't market itself as the big student event pub because it's not big enough. It's lovely for a quiet night out though that's still a bit of craic. Plus, their hot chocolate is absolute amazing...