Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Human Race Limerick 5th October

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Phew, done!! Some fairly strong gusts and hills today.

2.06:21 for 30k. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

Excellent time Netwerk. 30K winner passed me with 2K to go in the half for 1:44 which is some running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Phew, done!! Some fairly strong gusts and hills today.

2.06:21 for 30k. :D:D:D

Great time, I probably gave you a holler at some stage, some great running out there today. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

I was at UL waiting for a few runners yesterday. At a very early stage the finish was a shambles. there was a guy with a scanner thing trying to catching everyone coming in to finish and a girl taking down bib numbers and times. It built up a bit so the scanner guy was missing people, the girl with the clipboard was loosing people's times. On top of this, a guy who was just outside the finish line was misdirecting runners so 10k people were continuing round the corner and some of the half and 30km people were heading into the finish area. I've been to many races and events over the years and never seen this craic before. For the later on finishers (2hr20 mark) the scanner guy was gone and girl just taking down bib numbers and times. I know alot of runners have their own watches and timing systems, but the people I was collecting are new to running distances and didn't have these and were terribly disappointed their times appear wrong and no evidence so far of the official times or splits.

Added to this, there were still only erecting crowd control barriers at 10.10 and trying to figure out how to tie on the orange netting. seems a very substandard event and @ 35e (plus service charge) not something they're recommending for future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Toffeeboy

www. humanrace.ie/human-race-results-2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭zulutango

Toffeeboy wrote: »
    www. humanrace.ie/human-race-results-2014

Results are on the website but I can not open it

It's opening fine for me. Take the space out of the address above ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

thanks for that, it wasn't there earlier when we checked. However, the times aren't accurate (for my runners anyway) - and no sign of the split times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭xElDeeX

Race numbers and times only. Not linked to names, male/female, age category, club? That's a joke for 35 euro.
    My local 6k road race did better than that and it was a fiver!

thanks for that, it wasn't there earlier when we checked. However, the times aren't accurate (for my runners anyway) - and no sign of the split times

These are the provisional results, no names yet. There will be no split times as there was no timing mats.

Edit: full results will be posted tomorrow with names and cat.

Yep enjoyed route but after first lap you were on your own with the traffic through UL. Felt I was being forced off the road at times (no pavement) with oncoming traffic. No where near enough stewards, then again some fellow competitors need to learn how to drive. No chip timing. Late and confusing start.

Bored and unhappy looking girls manning the course. There were a couple near the flags who gave it beans all day though.

No hot drinks, no food except all you can eat bananas. Felt like a monkey at times.

Now this does bug me, I saw at least five guards given food vouchers. I saw one guard all day on the course at white gates entrance.

All in all a bit meh.

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    Yep enjoyed route but after first lap you were on your own with the traffic through UL. Felt I was being forced off the road at times (no pavement) with oncoming traffic. No where near enough stewards, then again some fellow competitors need to learn how to drive. No chip timing. Late and confusing start.

Bored and unhappy looking girls manning the course. There were a couple near the flags who gave it beans all day though.

No hot drinks, no food except all you can eat bananas. Felt like a monkey at times.

Now this does bug me, I saw at least five guards given food vouchers. I saw one guard all day on the course at white gates entrance.

All in all a bit meh. Was there more portaloos than stewards?!

Contrast that with the St. Michael's 10k which was on at the same day ...

Excellent organisation, a huge amount of food (cakes, sandwiches, tea/coffee) for everybody afterwards, a great route (nearly did a PB!), friendly faces all round, and chip timing with the results out that evening. In general it was a great community effort, and all the proceeds went to volunteer-run local organisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

zulutango wrote: »
    Contrast that with the St. Michael's 10k which was on at the same day ...

Excellent organisation, a huge amount of food (cakes, sandwiches, tea/coffee) for everybody afterwards, a great route (nearly did a PB!), friendly faces all round, and chip timing with the results out that evening. In general it was a great community effort, and all the proceeds went to volunteer-run local organisations.

No good to people who are preparing for Dublin who need/want to run 3 times that distance. A total of 172 ran the Urban Run 10K whereas 214 completed the 30K race in UL. Clearly there is a demand for the distance. Maybe a thought for next year or one of the local clubs might try and organise such a race.

The chip timing in St Micheals while done by a chip timing company appears to be Gun time also looking at the results as their is no nett time listed for anyone. Was there a metal gantry belonging to the chip timing company at the start line ?

The timing in UL was done the old fashioned way with a clicker and someone recording your number as you past. My time is correct for the race.

Your points regarding the food and stewarding and proceeds are valid.

ger664 wrote: »
    No good to people who are preparing for Dublin who need/want to run 3 times that distance. A total of 172 ran the Urban Run 10K whereas 214 completed the 30K race in UL. Clearly there is a demand for the distance. Maybe a thought for next year or one of the local clubs might try and organise such a race.

The chip timing in St Micheals while done by a chip timing company appears to be Gun time also looking at the results as their is no nett time listed for anyone. Was there a metal gantry belonging to the chip timing company at the start line ?

The timing in UL was done the old fashioned way with a clicker and someone recording your number as you past. My time is correct for the race.

Your points regarding the food and stewarding and proceeds are valid.

There was a metal gantry at the finish, but we also passed through it about 90 seconds after the start. But I assume that it didn't effect anything. So, yes, it was a gun start alright and that probably only worked because of the low numbers. Everyone was bunched nice and tightly and it didn't take any time to reach the start line. For a bigger crowd it would have been an issue alright. I know the were aiming for 400 - 500 participants (including their 5k) and that's what they got, so it seems to have worked just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭5h4mr0(k

Was the HM the correct distance, or just 2 of the 10k loops? I asked on their site but never got an answer.

It was HM distance, extra distance was added on at the start, then 2 laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Erasured

Still no proper results for this event; no sign of any response from the organisers in respect of the race being advertised as having chip timing or lucozade on the day!
    What can be done about this total lack of respect to the partucipants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Erasured wrote: »

Don't run it next year!

Still no proper results for this event; no sign of any response from the organisers in respect of the race being advertised as having chip timing or lucozade on the day!

This race has gone beyond a joke! It's Wednesday and still no official results. False advertising on chip timing and isotonic drinks, a goody bag with just a tech shirt in it and nothing else. Critical comments being deleted and not faced by the organisers.

I am not one to usually complain about races unless I have been sent 5 miles the wrong way but this event was a complete joke. A website that was never updated from 2013 and an astronomic entry fee for what you get. I believe there is definitely a case for a full refund for this event for false advertising. I won't go down that road but I will not be running it next year if it's still on(unlikely) and will advise all of my clubmates to avoid it. Everything for runners was skimped on to further line the pockets of the RD.

I will happily drive to Athlone for the 3/4 marathon which gets excellent reviews. Also, if you want to make your feelings known, rate the event on the Facebook page.

Yea it's unreal how bad it is. Negative reviews are removed on FB. No answers. No results.

I will actively be telling people to avoid this next year. Turned me off GLR also.

Some of the comments on their own website were pretty funny earlier. Not sure if they're removed yet.

I think at the end of the day they don't really care what a few regular runners think. I would imagine that the vast bulk of those who enter are fun runners who are doing it because they've been caught up in a marketing blitz.

Anyone have any idea of how many did the 10k, half marathon and 30k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Sounds like a disaster altogether. Not really representative of the normal race organisation there. The manual timing system normally works really well, sounds like everyone (oganisation wise) was caught on the hop, possibly let down by a chip company at the last minute (?)

Wasn't at it this year but seems a bit odd to flush 10k, half and 30k through the same chutes. Was the start times staggered? or did everyone do multiples of the same loop?

Everyone started together, the 10k & 30k runners were asked to stay left at the start line and the hm runners were asked to keep right(the hm runners ran the extra 1.1km before joining up the same course as the 10k and 30k again)

In reality what happened some people got confused as you can imagine and the leaders of the hm had to negotiate the slower 10k and 30k runners (confused yet?)

10k was 1 loop, hm 2 and 30k 3 loops.

Maybe they had problems with a chip company but if so why not come out and say so? And what about the sports drinks they also advertised? They've just ignored everyone here and on the fb page, still no results for cat/ age or club.

Everyone started together, the 10k & 30k runners were asked to stay left at the start line and the hm runners were asked to keep right(the hm runners ran the extra 1.1km before joining up the same course as the 10k and 30k again)

In reality what happened some people got confused as you can imagine and the leaders of the hm had to negotiate the slower 10k and 30k runners (confused yet?)

sweet mother of jesus! What a way to start a race.

:eek: :eek: :eek:

It seems to me that the Limerick Women's Mini Marathon is organised by the same company. (http://www.ladiesweekend.ie)

So why then is Limerick AC promoting this event? What makes this different from the Human Race?

Crikey, If I was involved with Limerick AC I'd be looking at this very seriously at this stage;a repeat of last weekend would do untold damage to their reputation!

It's almost a copy and paste of the human race website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    It seems to me that the Limerick Women's Mini Marathon is organised by the same company. (http://www.ladiesweekend.ie)

So why then is Limerick AC promoting this event? What makes this different from the Human Race?

Could be in conjunction with Limerick AC. They may be providing marshals, organisation etc in return for a part of the fee (?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Spirogyra

I fear that corners are being cut for Womens Mini Marathon too. No baggage area, so people being expected to run with their car keys, if they have cars. People being given different numbers to those on their entrance receipts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Spirogyra wrote: »
    I fear that corners are being cut for Womens Mini Marathon too. No baggage area, so people being expected to run with their car keys, if they have cars. People being given different numbers to those on their entrance receipts.

I already warned Limerick AC, so if they don't give a ****e let them at it. If more stories of poor organisation come out of the Mini Marathon, then the Great Limerick Run is scratched off my list for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Spirogyra

like The Human Race F.B. page they seem to be removing critical comments