Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I might be reading too much into this, but did anyone notice that
    the quiz question before each ad break was "What is the name of Siobhan's current partner"? Either Tommy will die and she'll end up with Paulie in some capacity, or else he'll wake up, find her with him, and all hell will break loose.

Or I could be reading too much into it, and it actually carries no hints about a future plot. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Is it on the player yet? Think it needs my full attention this time around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

BzNtFtVIAAEu3Y1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Happyman42 wrote: »
    He accepted 'paranoia' as the reason Nidge tried to whack him but couldn't accept that Nidge was referring to his son when he mentioned nits. Just didn't ring plausible to me. There is a lot of that kind of stuff in all the series. Lets it down imo.

Good to have you back dude! I've missed you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

I wonder is aaron in nidges fold?
    Not a big player or anything. but way down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

He accepted 'paranoia' as the reason Nidge tried to whack him but couldn't accept that Nidge was referring to his son when he mentioned nits. Just didn't ring plausible to me. There is a lot of that kind of stuff in all the series. Lets it down imo.

Well, it was the reason Nidge tried to kill him........ he took offence to the nits thing, I don't see any benefit in me repeating the same post again so......

Plenty of stuff in this show could be better, some stuff is fairly standard though and people just over analyse or try to find fault I find. I am actually one of the more critical people when it comes to this show, but there is a line between critically assessing a show, and looking for things to complain about.

deise08 wrote: »
    I wonder is aaron in nidges fold?
    Not a big player or anything. but way down.

Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

kryogen wrote: »
    Well, it was the reason Nidge tried to kill him........ he took offence to the nits thing, I don't see any benefit in me repeating the same post again so......

It's simple really...you have to ask yourself; why was he there at all? Nidge tried to KILL him, but he was alright about that was willing to let it go and then started a **** storm for himself (and as pointed out earlier, his wife family and the campsite) because of 'nits'.

It isn't a complaint for the sake of it, just elaborating on a point somebody else made on a television discussion forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Oh, the humanity!

Janet's son. Me wan he's riding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

This will be one of the most violent series as well I predict. A high body count will feature. Lizzie is the first of many.

Looking at opening episodes, tonight's was one of the strongest perhaps second only to season 3s. The violent fight with the travellers and the brutal shooting of Lizzie are a taste of what's to common in what has been described as 'the bloody season 5'. Lizzie's execution wrapped up unfinished season 3 and 4 business and perhaps is the last link to the IRA storyline.

I hope we get to see Noelie Hughes again and see a classic bit of violence from Fran similar to last season's toilet fight. I can see detective Moynihan getting obsessed with taking Nidge down and this may lead to problems for his career.

Another character I would want to see is Chunk Rogers the prowler. Last time we saw him being beaten up by the gardai and it not to be mentioned to Moynihan.

The thing with Love/Hate is that even the seemingly minor characters from 2 or 3 seasons ago can come back to haunt Nidge and co. Paddy Pipebomb for example. He has a much bigger role the last 3 episodes after having a very minor role in series 2 and reintroduced at the start of episode 4 of season 4. I feel from the trailer for next week that the support from fellow travellers for his little war on Nidge is low and Nidge could exploit this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

the quiz question before each ad break was "What is the name of Siobhan's current partner"?

Why in God's name would they ask such an ambiguous question... All they had to do was ask "What is the name of the guy that came back from Spain with Nidge?" or something with a more definitive answer... Are they looking for a controversy??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

ROY RACE wrote: »
    please kill off tommy wasting time seeing him in his leaba sure who cares abt him besides his woman who has her nickers off with the new guy

Oh, the humanity!

It's simple really...you have to ask yourself; why was he there at all? Nidge tried to KILL him, but he was alright about that was willing to let it go and then started a **** storm for himself (and as pointed out earlier, his wife family and the campsite) because of 'nits'.

It isn't a complaint for the sake of it, just elaborating on a point somebody else made on a television discussion forum.

I feel I would be repeating myself, again if I answer this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

I thought the ending was genius, actually laughed out loud at the pair of them. Nidge under threat from all sides and stuck with Fran whom he only spared because of guilt over Linda. Swearing on Linda's grave definitely ominous, that secret isn't going to stay buried.

Loved the scene with Paddy, Nidge's mouth getting him in sh*t again, that and the fact that he made it obvious he didn't want to give the money, he was condescending towards him, no wonder Paddy didn't take it, great delivery of that line too about buying a headstone.

Anyone else notice the packages - how light the one thrown at the young fella was compared to the one slapped down in front of Paddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭GradGirl27

boardie100 wrote: »
    why did he kill lizzy?

She spent the last season hunting him down to kill him. She turned vigilante after both her brothers were killed in season 3. She killed Darren because he shot and killed one of the brothers so then she set her sights on Nidge.

He saw her and knew her but she didn't get him and he knew she wouldnt stop hunting him. Brilliant part of the episode never thought she was gunna be killed off right then and there in the opening episode. Glad though because she was annoying last season constantly trying to kill him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I thought the ending was genius,

Enjoyed that too...the discomfort of Fran was well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Here's my two cents...

At the start I thought Elmo and Franno were after switching brains... Elmo all confident and in charge... Franno cowering like a coward... It seemed like there was a few inconsistencies in a lot of the characters.. But I guess it has been a year, it's gonna take them a while to remember who they were.. :pac: Not a fan of the flashback thing they are trying to do with Nidge and Terence Big Balls.

One thing is an absolute certainty... Pavey Point will be on to Joe Duffy tomorrow complaining about Nidge's assertion that the Travelling Community are a "bunch of savages"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I thought it was good opener. There was no Tarantino flashback thing going on though, just nidge going over and back to Spain. Makeup dept could have done a better job on Nidge's scar though. Barely visible half the time. Nearly as dodgy as Darrens magic appearing/disappearing goatee.
    Anyway here's what I think...
    Patrick will tell Fran about Nidge bombing Linda. Fran will try to kill Nidge because of it. Fran will kill Elmo. Terence will pull the plug on Nidge and try to kill him. Fran will get killed. Moynihan will finally catch Nidge at something, just in time to stop him gettting killed and he'll get put away for a long time. Patrick will take over and fill the hole left behind. Series ends but there's scope to bring it back in a few years if rte want to.

Why in God's name would they ask such an ambiguous question...

Answer's Tommy if you're having trouble with it.

No need to thank me, I'm here to help!

For me, that episode was better than the entirety of season 4. I thought the show was dead, there's hope yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭macslash

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7X6t3EklZC8

Anyone notice Paulie as your man from this ad?!

'It wrecks the cheeese...'

Ya i was thinking that myself about Elmo . very brave he was there with all the muscle around him..
    wasn't too long ago he was a 'rat' in nidges eyes.
    Made up by the gardai.

macslash wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7X6t3EklZC8

Anyone notice Paulie as your man from this ad?!

He's in a tea ad too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

GradGirl27 wrote: »
    She spent the last season hunting him down to kill him. She turned vigilante after both her brothers were killed in season 3. She killed Darren because he shot and killed one of the brothers so then she set her sights on Nidge.

He saw her and knew her but she didn't get him and he knew she wouldnt stop hunting him. Brilliant part of the episode never thought she was gunna be killed off right then and there in the opening episode. Glad though because she was annoying last season constantly trying to kill him.

Ok Grad Girl.

We've decided you have to be online every Sunday night from 9.30 for moments when we all look like this

GYtKYfc.gif

Can't see Patrick ever taking over as a major criminal, doesn't seem to be his style at all. Elmo would be the next one up if Nidge goes down. Not a muscle man but a clever guy with a snakey side, similar to Nidge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

GradGirl27 wrote: »

I thought Paddy Pipebomb would be the first to be clipped. I was unsure until I saw the trailer if Lizzie was even going to feature at all. Nidge had her killed because she was a threat and it was obvious she was setting herself up to kill Nidge before Nidge got there first.

Lizzie's motives for wanting to kill Nidge were many: first off, her brother was killed by Darren when Darren was saving Nidge in season 3s last episode. Secondly, she was resentful of how Nidge became friends with Tony and she did not like the Nidge/Tony deal to have Dano (a close friend and fellow IRA man) killed. Thirdly, she spent time in prison because of Nidge. So, she was still a huge danger to Nidge.

Nidge killed her because he knew all the above. Also, it would please Tony who would have wanted her out of the way too and it would save him the job (Tony would view Lizzie like he would Dano: a loose cannon who could pose a threat to him and whose loyalty is to get revenge for her brother and Dano and not to the cause). Thus, Nidge had eliminated Dano, Wayne and now Lizzie (the 3 responsible for trying to kill him on several occasions).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Daroxtar wrote: »
    I thought it was good opener. There was no Tarantino flashback thing going on though, just nidge going over and back to Spain. Makeup dept could have done a better job on Nidge's scar though. Barely visible half the time..

going over & back to have the one conversation :pac::pac::pac:

batistuta9 wrote: »
    going over & back to have the one conversation :pac::pac::pac:

In the same clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,321 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

I thought when Lizzie was in court that the camera would pan around and Dano would be in the seats waiting on her :pac: