The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Ososlo wrote: »
    Ha ha thanks for the offer Sean!!! I can just imagine ya arriving in McGrattans totally fecked after running a super marathon and me ready with your toolbox to get working:D.
    Audi A4. It's looking pretty much like a write-off. The emissions were so high the machine in the NCT centre couldn't read them as they were off the scale. It smoked out the NCT centre almost causing catastrophe to the poor guys working there.
    Looks like I'll be car shopping next week:(
    Or maybe with all this high mileage I'll be doing for the winter I can just run everywhere and save myself a lot of dosh!

It sounds like something you wouldn't fix outside a pub alright! In fairness though I would recommend finding a solid second opinion and sourcing secondhand parts. Very drastic decision to write off a car based on emissions. Those throttle bodies can be cleaned and realigned and if it's still fecked you can pick up a cheap used part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    It sounds like something you wouldn't fix outside a pub alright! In fairness though I would recommend finding a solid second opinion and sourcing secondhand parts. Very drastic decision to write off a car based on emissions. Those throttle bodies can be cleaned and realigned and if it's still fecked you can pick up a cheap used part.

Thanks Sean. Getting second opinion tomorrow from a guy I trust. Might not be worth saving but we'll see!
    AR forum rocks! Advice now extends way beyond athletics! Sorry I should be in the rave thread.. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

Just hate it when u see those lucky feckers getting a final few bales of wrapped silage in this mild september wheather. who'd have taught it was going to turn out like this.

It'll be cheaper to buy it in this year. There's a serious surplus. Some difference to the year previous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Red Belly

Farming discussions on the Rant thread.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

Red Belly wrote: »
    Farming discussions on the Rant thread.:eek:

feck off, sick of all you townies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,713 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The acceptance and almost nonchalant attitude to swearing. People have an issue with it are the ones who need to change! :confused:

I don't know, it seems that people today and recently can't tell a simple story or finish a couple of sentences without swearing. It's everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭nobody told me

walshb wrote: »
    The acceptance and almost nonchalant attitude to swearing. People have an issue with it are the ones who need to change! :confused:

I don't know, it seems that people today and recently can't tell a simple story or finish a couple of sentences without swearing. It's everywhere.

Go **** yourself.

Exactly what I'm on about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Tourists!! Good for the economy blah blah blah.

Yanks blocking the whole footpath taking photos. You'd swear they were after getting a glimpse of a Unicorn. They'd sooner take a picture of you before they'd move out of the way.

Irish Water Protest videos. Sick to the fooking teeth of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Missing the deadline for the Dublin Marathon:mad:

Oh wait thats tomorrows rant:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Irish Water Protest videos. Sick to the fooking teeth of them!

Double standards ???? ;)

Missing the deadline for the Dublin Marathon:mad:

Oh wait thats tomorrows rant:D

You owe me new pants

kit3 wrote: »
    Double standards ???? ;)

I was careful.

But seriously, the odd swear word in context I have no issue with. It can enhance a tale or story, or make a joke that bit funnier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Yasso 800s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

People giving out about water charges annoy the hell out of me, I spent about €4,500 to drill a well and buy the equipment to have my own supply as there's no public supply in our area. Why the hell should a service like getting potable water to your kitchen be free when it costs so much to supply? I actually am delighted people have to pay for something that I'll spend the next 25 years paying for on my mortgage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

People giving out about water charges annoy the hell out of me, I spent about €4,500 to drill a well and buy the equipment to have my own supply as there's no public supply in our area. Why the hell should a service like getting potable water to your kitchen be free when it costs so much to supply? I actually am delighted people have to pay for something that I'll spend the next 25 years paying for on my mortgage.

No issue with paying for water but have a big issue with paying some ****ty semi private corrupt body like Irish Water... They can **** off w/ their application pack. Bring control of our water back to the people and they can charge what they like- I'll pay no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

dukeraoul wrote: »
    No issue with paying for water but have a big issue with paying some ****ty semi private corrupt body like Irish Water... They can **** off w/ their application pack. Bring control of our water back to the people and they can charge what they like- I'll pay no problem.

You said it man, Jobs for the boys. This company is without doubt the biggest monster ever created by the state. Meetings about meetings about meetings.........top heavy with "leads" and "managers" who dont actually seem to do work, just dole it out. Some of the job descriptions -alarm events analyst, work flow progression specialist. Waste of tax payers money. If the public only knew half the sh*t thats going on. But how will they when half of the media is owned by denis o'brien who happens to be a major stakeholder in IW.
    Separate yet related rant - why the f@ck did I look at the rant thread?

Shower of fe(kin ranters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

"Well I'm not filling in the form". Fine, you'll lose your allowance, have your water pressure turned down and taken to court. Eventually you will pay a lot more. Like it or not they have you by the short and curlys.

gerard_65 wrote: »
    "Well I'm not filling in the form". Fine, you'll lose your allowance, have your water pressure turned down and taken to court. Eventually you will pay a lot more. Like it or not they have you by the short and curlys.

Don't care. There is no need for these ****heads to have my daughter's PPS numbers. Youll see there will be a climb down here.

gerard_65 wrote: »

Would love to see them turn down the water pressure on families with children and the elderly. European court of human rights here we come

(Oh wait the Irish gov tends to ignore those rulings)

dukeraoul wrote: »
    Would love to see them turn down the water pressure on families with children and the elderly. European court of human rights here we come

(Oh wait the Irish gov tends to ignore those rulings)
    It was done before. As long as its a trickle its not illegal. They have every angle covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

The costs involved in you drilling a once-off well, purifying equipment, drainage, and whatever else are enormous, its true.
    The costs of connecting you to gas and electricity and phone lines are massive too.

That's why its a bad idea to have isolated houses. (one of the reasons)

The costs of connecting my house to water, gas, electricity, phones - considering I am on a street full of other houses, in an estate full of other houses, in a suburb full of other houses, in a city full of other houses - are minimal.

If you choose to live off the grid, you pay the costs.

Windows 10, eh, its windows 7 and 8 just put together. And the award for originality does not go to microsoft... again.

Fair enough RayCun, I accept that, as I did completely at the time when I was building. I didn't expect to be, or grumble that I didn't get a subsidised free water supply and waste management. However, it serves to remind how much water services cost.

I worked in an office in Dundalk for a few years and my boss delayed forking out the €50 odd to fix a leaking tap for about 2 years, a steady stream of drinkable, treated water wasted for a couple of years. How many thousand others had zero regard for an expensive service that was provided free if charge? People only properly appreciate the value of something when they've to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I don't mind paying for water in principle. But I think the free allowances are too small, and the charges too high. And since water is something that has been paid for out of central funds so far, we are paying for it twice now. (not that I'm calling for tax cuts -- I'd rather taxes were kept at the same level and services improved)

So I do object to water charges the way they are being implemented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I'm changing my water supplier to Trocaire, apparently they can supply me, my family and small village with fresh water for only €2 per month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I'm changing my water supplier to Trocaire, apparently they can supply me, my family and small village with fresh water for only €2 per month.

Surely that should be in the rave thread:D:D:D:D