Woman and 2 kids evicted from emergency accommodation....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The term 'homeless' is nearly becoming a cliche at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

TheZohan wrote: »

It is. The stupid thing is that I only see The Journal reporting this story.
    But they are running some other pretty good insightful features about homelessness at the moment....
    And then they have this ridiculous non-story. Dont they realise that this is media manipulation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

TheZohan wrote: »

I cant afford this place
    http://www.daft.ie/sales/the-creagh-house-estate-skibbereen-cork/930975/

Now I have to live on the street because the government wont get it for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

I cant afford this place
    http://www.daft.ie/sales/the-creagh-house-estate-skibbereen-cork/930975/

Now I have to live on the street because the government wont get it for me!
    I'll go halves if you want?

We could pretend it's haunted to get some yank tourists in, like the film "High Spirits".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

She nerds to get appointed to a board , that'll solve her money problems?

Does she know anyone in Fine Gael?

Ehrmagerd.
    KungPao wrote: »
    Camping by the Sunnybank?

That sounds nice, at least.

Hope she brought the buckets and spades back from her trip to Spain.

Called the Sunnybank, situated on a main road well away from any body of water. Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

We could pretend it's haunted to get some yank tourists in, like the film "High Spirits".

Count me in as well, that's an amazing place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Article says three kids but photo has only two kids, where's the third kid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Tasden wrote: »

Probably sitting having a cappuccino in the hotel restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Knine

Probably at home with daddy. He was born in July. Her Facebook page says she is in a relationship.

No mention of a daddy on the news insinuates she is a single parent. The real Single Parents & Homeless people probably won't be going to Spain on holidays.

Knine wrote: »
    Probably at home with daddy. He was born in July. Her Facebook page says she is in a relationship.

No mention of a daddy on the news insinuates she is a single parent. The real Single Parents & Homeless people probably won't be going to Spain on holidays.

July this year? While she was in homeless accommodation?

Yeah July this year, look up Housing Action Facebook Page. You will find the links on there.

And I know all about being a single parent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

KKkitty wrote: »
    Maybe she doesn't tan well. Where is the children's father in all this. Why isn't he making sure his kids have a roof over their heads?

Maybe she never told him. Maybe he's dead. Maybe he was a sperm donor. Maybe he is in prison for something he didn't do. Maybe he was kidnapped. Maybe he is an alien and had to go back to defend his planet. Maybe it was a virgin birth.

ALiasEX wrote: »
    Maybe she never told him. Maybe he's dead. Maybe he was a sperm donor. Maybe he is in prison for something he didn't do. Maybe he was kidnapped. Maybe he is an alien and had to go back to defend his planet. Maybe it was a virgin birth.

Or maybe he went to Spain with her, according to Facebook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,572 ✭✭✭alias no.9

How degrading! The indignity of sharing accommodation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

Fair warning, any attempt to identify or posting of this persons Facebook/personal details will result in a ban

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Career welfareite get's chucked out of her free gaff while on holliers because she obviously needed a break from being a literal waste of space and resources.

Priorities? She doesn't need priorities because the state will always be there to babysit her and any spawn she produces. Even better if the lad who did the job ****s off, it just puts her in a better position of "vulnerability".

Sickens my ****e that i work 48 hours a week and hand over a third of what i earn to fund this nonsense.

One sick day in 13 years and i was 26 before i could afford a weeks foreign holiday because i was too busy paying my way through college, paying for my own housing etc. and working full time as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

She got a great colour abroad in fairness.
    Would that be classed as grey or off-grey?

Her rent is 1000 a month?

My mortgage is less than half of that because i don't feel i'm "entitled" to live in somewhere that would run about 350k in the housing market.

The welfare system in this country needs a boot up the hole.

Father is on the scene by all accounts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    MOD

Fair warning, any attempt to identify or posting of this persons Facebook/personal details will result in a ban
    She publishes it herself, her name is in the public domain, seemingly with her consent.

If I claimed to be destitute, and elsewhere opened a publicly accessible website about my life which contradicted that, I'd be called a chancer. And rightly so. You can't publish a website for all the world to see, and claim it's private. That's just ridiculous.

Gatling wrote: »
    Father is on the scene by all accounts

Fair play to him.

Maybe he could nip out and get a job to support his wife and three kids in their grand a month apartment if it wasn't too much bother.

That or he could suggest they move someplace they can afford if there are no jobs in the area to pay 1000 bucks a month for their gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Maher became homeless 13 months ago after the rent at her apartment was increased to €1,000, and rent supplement was no longer enough to help her pay
    Then how about you move to where it's cheaper to rent? As opposed to "Ehrmagerd, free accommodation, sunshine holiday, but keep my room free"?
    She was supported at the hotel today by Sinn Féin TD Dessie Ellis, who told TheJournal.ie that the hotel’s decision was “just not good enough.”
    Well Dessie, how long should emergency accommodation be left unfilled? Should a homeless family be left on the ****ing streets whilst woman and her two kids were enjoying themselves in Spain? My bollix. No doubt Dessie would be the first to jump down someones throat had a Fine Gaeler been keeping the room unoccupied!

Sinn Fein are a joke to people with working brains anyway so their predictable involvement in this is hilarious.

"Deh Pard-ee of Deh Liddle Peeple"

"8 more weeks till were sunning our asses in spain "

Lets hope the media see them for what they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Any bikini fotos on her fb?

the_syco wrote: »
    Then how about you move to where it's cheaper to rent? As opposed to "Ehrmagerd, free accommodation, sunshine holiday, but keep my room free"?

Her rent was raised. She didn't move into somewhere costing 1000. When the rent was raised she became homeless. The whole housing crisis atm has been caused (or at least made worse) by a lack of landlords that are willing to accept rent supplement at all, and those that do are asking for more than the limits set out by the department, so where exactly was she supposed to go?

I don't have any sympathy for this girl but there are genuine cases in similar circumstances and the attitude of "well find somewhere you can afford to rent" is pretty insulting to those people, given the choice I'm sure they would love to be able to find accommodation they can afford from their own resources.

Her rent was raised. She didn't move into somewhere costing 1000. When the rent was raised she became homeless. The whole housing crisis atm has been caused (or at least made worse) by a lack of landlords that are willing to accept rent supplement at all, and those that do are asking for more than the limits set out by the department, so where exactly was she supposed to go?

I don't have any sympathy for this girl but there are genuine cases in similar circumstances and the attitude of "well find somewhere you can afford to rent" is pretty insulting to those people, given the choice I'm sure they would love to be able to find accommodation they can afford from their own resources.

There is nothing stopping people looking and moving further afield for cheaper accommodation .
    Ah sure it's grand sure tax payers fund our lifestyles.

Why would they pay from there own resources when everyone else pays for them.

Her rent was raised. She didn't move into somewhere costing 1000.

Someone with a job would look for alternative accommodation in this situation or sacrifice something else to pay their goddamn bills.

The entitlement set would sooner end up homeless and run to the press after they come back from a holiday than do that because the state are supposed to take care of them because it's their fault really :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

Probably not going to be a popular opinion, but maybe the reason she's living in emergency accommodation could be down to issues other than money, such as an inability or fear to live independently, addiction, mental health issues.... who knows. It doesn't always boil down to laziness. And we have no idea what the parent's situation is either, families are complex - maybe they really can't take her in.

I for one am glad the kids got a holiday, emergency accommodation must be a nightmare for children.

Gatling wrote: »
    There is nothing stopping people looking and moving further afield for cheaper accommodation .
    Ah sure it's grand sure tax payers fund our lifestyles

Their child's schools for one, can hardly move elsewhere if the local school(s) has no places to take them mid term or even for the next year or so. Their job- if a commute is costing as much as they're saving on rent then they end up in an even worse position. If they're depending on family to mind their children while they work in order to actually pay their rent themselves then they cant move that far.
    If they're on rent supplement they can only stay in the area of the council housing list they're on (a requirement to qualify for rent supp unless previously renting 6 months privately) and they generally can't apply to another co.council list without an established link to the area.
    There are plenty of genuine reasons why people are in the circumstances they are and its not always down to a sense of entitlement.