Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman and 2 kids evicted from emergency accommodation....

• 30-09-2014 5:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

...on her return from holidays in spain.

http://www.thejournal.ie/edel-maher-homeless-dublin-hotel-1699174-Sep2014/

So this woman and her kids seem to have been evicted for breaking the rules by speaking to a journalist about her plight in emergency accommodation.

Then she goes to spain for a holiday (gift from her parents) and on her return she was evicted.
    Got a feeling this story will run and run. Seems to me that this she was not in need of emergency accommodation if she was off to spain for a holiday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Lots of poor mouth 'me ma' paid for the holiday stories with "single" mothers and criminal type persons always on the news...wasn't their a fella asking a Judge to delay his sentening because he was going on hols paid for by his family....boo hoo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Is she actually living in a tent on a pavement with her two kids, or is that picture illustrating the article completely misleading?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Waitaminute, so her folks can afford a holiday to Spain for her and her kids but cant afford to put her up or help with the rent?? Really?

Also, did I read this wrong or did she take them out of school to go on holidays??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Ah yes. If I had a child and grandchildren who were as good as homeless, the first thing I'd assume they would be in need of was a week in Spain.

a week-long holiday in Spain, which was a gift from her parents

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Looks to me that hotel wants to take the money of the state and then not provide a adequate service.
    And whats wrong with her taking a holiday, im sure she was been through enough the last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Her room was given to another family who needed it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

What's that picture about? Someone has erected a tent on paving flags, with no contents inside, for a photo shoot. Are we sure she is living in a tent?

As others have said, I can't believe that her parents bought her a holiday and allow their grandkids to sleep in a tent.

Is this the same woman who refused to take up accommodation outside of Dublin, and preferred to sleep in her car?

If so, she's giving homeless people a bad name.

There are far more deserving cases out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Surely her parents would take them in.

conorh91 wrote: »

Is this the same woman who refused to take up accommodation outside of Dublin, and preferred to sleep in her car?

If so, she's giving homeless people a bad name.

There are far more deserving cases out there.

No it's not the same lady .

she looks well for someone who slept in a tent on paving like that.
    Without any sleeping bags or personal belongings by the look of the picture

mikeym wrote: »
    Surely her parents would take them in.

Nah, not for something as trivial as being homeless. On the other hand, if she needed a holiday, then maybe........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Saw them on the way home, camped beside Sunnybank Hotel.

Looks to me that hotel wants to take the money of the state and then not provide a adequate service.
    And whats wrong with her taking a holiday, im sure she was been through enough the last year.
    What was inadequate about the service while she was there?
    If she can afford a holiday or her parents can then she has no excuse for sleeping in a tent with her kids. Well, no reasonable one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Birneybau wrote: »

Were they really camping or was it a play to the cameras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Maybe they're just queueing early for the next set of Garth Brooks tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Holiday, Spain, Emergency, Accommodation - 4 key words. More to this than meets the eye I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

I reckon the holiday did her good.,did she stay in a hotel while abroad I wonder?/

kingchess wrote: »
    I reckon the holiday did her good.,did she stay in a hotel while abroad I wonder?/

Emergency accommodation in a sunny climate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

F*ck sake. Myself and my partner both work fulltime but have never been able to afford a holiday abroad. I guess at least this lady doesn't need to fork out 12k a year in creche fees like we do.

When my parents insisted on buying us a present, it was a buggy - something we actually needed and couldn't afford - not a fecking holiday in Spain.

Fair play to that hotel - they are clearly aware that there are plenty of families out there who depend on emergency accommodation and need the room a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Ah ffs, I'm sick of reading **** like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Well because she is homeless. Surely in that situation her priority should be finding somewhere to live with her kids, not wasting money on a holiday when it could have been used to sort out a place :confused:

She has been in the emergency accommodation for over a year. I wonder if she has actually been trying to find somewhere to live in that time? It's supposed to be a short term solution. I'd hate to think there were people in need being turned away because this woman is taking the piss. I hope that isn't the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

People would rather be homeless than live elsewhere in the country? Why do they even entertain these idiots.

Was she evicted, or did the Hotel let a vacant room to someone in need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭cynicalcough

There's something very strange about this story. Judging by her very public facebook profile she is very active in advocating for homelessness. Smells like some kind of dodgy Shinner stunt to me

Was she evicted, or did the Hotel let a vacant room to someone in need?

Looks like they let the room to someone who needed it while she was sunning herself in Spain :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

I'm calling bullsh1t. She hasn't a hint of a colour, her legs are like milk bottles. She was never in Spain.

I note the absence of the bleeding heart responses from this topic.

Asking for sympathy may be one step too far, even for the Kitty Holland Brigade of Latté Day Saints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

NickD wrote: »
    I'm calling bullsh1t. She hasn't a hint of a colour, her legs are like milk bottles. She was never in Spain.

Maybe she doesn't tan well. Where is the children's father in all this. Why isn't he making sure his kids have a roof over their heads?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

She nerds to get appointed to a board , that'll solve her money problems?

Does she know anyone in Fine Gael?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Birneybau wrote: »
    Camping by the Sunnybank?

That sounds nice, at least.

Hope she brought the buckets and spades back from her trip to Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The term 'homeless' is nearly becoming a cliche at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

TheZohan wrote: »

It is. The stupid thing is that I only see The Journal reporting this story.
    But they are running some other pretty good insightful features about homelessness at the moment....
    And then they have this ridiculous non-story. Dont they realise that this is media manipulation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

TheZohan wrote: »

I cant afford this place
    http://www.daft.ie/sales/the-creagh-house-estate-skibbereen-cork/930975/

Now I have to live on the street because the government wont get it for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I cant afford this place
    http://www.daft.ie/sales/the-creagh-house-estate-skibbereen-cork/930975/

Now I have to live on the street because the government wont get it for me!
    I'll go halves if you want?

We could pretend it's haunted to get some yank tourists in, like the film "High Spirits".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

She nerds to get appointed to a board , that'll solve her money problems?

Does she know anyone in Fine Gael?

Ehrmagerd.
    KungPao wrote: »
    Camping by the Sunnybank?

That sounds nice, at least.

Hope she brought the buckets and spades back from her trip to Spain.

Called the Sunnybank, situated on a main road well away from any body of water. Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

We could pretend it's haunted to get some yank tourists in, like the film "High Spirits".

Count me in as well, that's an amazing place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Article says three kids but photo has only two kids, where's the third kid?

Tasden wrote: »

Probably sitting having a cappuccino in the hotel restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

Tasden wrote: »

Probably at home with daddy. He was born in July. Her Facebook page says she is in a relationship.

No mention of a daddy on the news insinuates she is a single parent. The real Single Parents & Homeless people probably won't be going to Spain on holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Knine wrote: »
    Probably at home with daddy. He was born in July. Her Facebook page says she is in a relationship.

No mention of a daddy on the news insinuates she is a single parent. The real Single Parents & Homeless people probably won't be going to Spain on holidays.

July this year? While she was in homeless accommodation?

Yeah July this year, look up Housing Action Facebook Page. You will find the links on there.

And I know all about being a single parent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

KKkitty wrote: »
    Maybe she doesn't tan well. Where is the children's father in all this. Why isn't he making sure his kids have a roof over their heads?

Maybe she never told him. Maybe he's dead. Maybe he was a sperm donor. Maybe he is in prison for something he didn't do. Maybe he was kidnapped. Maybe he is an alien and had to go back to defend his planet. Maybe it was a virgin birth.

ALiasEX wrote: »
    Maybe she never told him. Maybe he's dead. Maybe he was a sperm donor. Maybe he is in prison for something he didn't do. Maybe he was kidnapped. Maybe he is an alien and had to go back to defend his planet. Maybe it was a virgin birth.

Or maybe he went to Spain with her, according to Facebook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

How degrading! The indignity of sharing accommodation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

Fair warning, any attempt to identify or posting of this persons Facebook/personal details will result in a ban

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Career welfareite get's chucked out of her free gaff while on holliers because she obviously needed a break from being a literal waste of space and resources.

Priorities? She doesn't need priorities because the state will always be there to babysit her and any spawn she produces. Even better if the lad who did the job ****s off, it just puts her in a better position of "vulnerability".

Sickens my ****e that i work 48 hours a week and hand over a third of what i earn to fund this nonsense.

One sick day in 13 years and i was 26 before i could afford a weeks foreign holiday because i was too busy paying my way through college, paying for my own housing etc. and working full time as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

She got a great colour abroad in fairness.
    Would that be classed as grey or off-grey?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Her rent is 1000 a month?

My mortgage is less than half of that because i don't feel i'm "entitled" to live in somewhere that would run about 350k in the housing market.

The welfare system in this country needs a boot up the hole.

Father is on the scene by all accounts

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    MOD

Fair warning, any attempt to identify or posting of this persons Facebook/personal details will result in a ban
    She publishes it herself, her name is in the public domain, seemingly with her consent.

If I claimed to be destitute, and elsewhere opened a publicly accessible website about my life which contradicted that, I'd be called a chancer. And rightly so. You can't publish a website for all the world to see, and claim it's private. That's just ridiculous.