Irish only front line staff...opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭karloseqm

I would never it there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Slot Machine

masonchat wrote: »
    I think that man is going to get slated, he is quite entitled to do what his doing as far as im concerned you just cant say it out loud.

You can't do it because of the small matter of it being illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

If a bunch of foreigners guys came on a stag, lets say 20 of them for 3 days..clearly speaking in tneir own native tongue
    Would he take their money or ask them to leave?

Gatling wrote: »
    In saying that have you tried to order foods and drinks and non national staff with the basic of basic English have a clue what you're trying to order
    That's called poor hiring practices.
    As did my grandfather , during the boom i would understand this more so than now with few jobs around

It is a awful job though , i know i couldnt do it so hats off to them cos i like my beef :D
    I'm talking about well before the boom. There were plenty would rather sit in the cold that do that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Have you any other suggestions? My dad worked in an abattoir back in the day and said the only ones working there were mentals and ones who were desperate for any kind of wage.

So did mine. Blackhorse Avenue, Dublin across from the Cattle Market on the top of Prussia Street. Converted to Housing late 70s/early 80s. Made a great living from it. Very skilled. Never heard any stories of mentals working there and remember Garngegorman was only around the corner.

My father chose to work there. Lived in the area all his life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I imagine every non Irish national who has ever been turned down for a job in one of his pubs is currently on the phone to a solicitor.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I like the way all these different countries and their respective cultures can be nicely condensed down to "Eastern European"

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I like the way all these different countries and their respective cultures can be nicely condensed down to "Eastern European"

They're all east of here, aren't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭masonchat

You can't do it because of the small matter of it being illegal.

How is it illegal, he just has to say the staff he hired were the best that applied.

The is no law as far as im aware stating any business has to hire x% non nationals or locals, to refuse them an interview would be another matter.

All that aside if you say what he has said , i would expect a backlash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

How is it illegal, he just has to say the staff he hired were the best that applied.

The is no law as far as im aware stating any business has to hire x% non nationals or locals, to refuse them an interview would be another matter.

All that aside if you say what he has said , i would expect a backlash

Refusing someone a job because of their nationality is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

It would be interesting to know,what percentage of Irish people have,and are being employed,compared to non nationals.

I would hazard a guess that the non nationals are chosen because...

They can be paid a lower wage.

They can be manipulated more easily.

They will rarely complain about conditions,due to their circumstance.

That's called poor hiring practices.

I'm talking about well before the boom. There were plenty would rather sit in the cold that do that job.
    Yet the jobs were filled were they not

OF course it is , so dont refuse them a job because of their nationality :confused:

Grandeeod wrote: »
    So did mine. Blackhorse Avenue, Dublin across from the Cattle Market on the top of Prussia Street. Converted to Housing late 70s/early 80s. Made a great living from it. Very skilled. Never heard any stories of mentals working there and remember Garngegorman was only around the corner.

My father chose to work there. Lived in the area all his life.
    That's nice.

Yet the jobs were filled were they not
    Hiring someone who can't do the job properly is a poor hiring practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Gmaximum

I understand what he's trying to say I just think he hasn't thought through how to say it

I've been in 3 of his pubs occasionally over the last year. Each one employs both irish and foreign nationals. I actually spoke to the manager in the Bank one night and he was eastern European.

I don't think there's add anything wrong with employing irish people to maintain the "irishness" of any business. We pay the bills for most business year round having irish staff gives you a better understanding of the local marker

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

It's a veryy fine line he's treading...

On one level I get the point he's making , but I really don't think it applies to his businesses as his pubs are just standard pubs around Dublin for the most part..

There might be an argument to be made in the context of a truly "themed" experience.. For example , Bunratty castle where you have the staff/actors playing roles as farmers or what have you..but legally it's a very delicate line to take..

But in a regular pub that's just knocking out pints and carvery????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

It is and it isn't. It isn't if the nationality is non-European and without visa. Then it works the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Haven't the Yank tourists been giving out lately about not having Irish people serving them when they're on their holidays over here. I suppose if you're in the business of extracting Yank tourist Euros from Yank tourist wallets then it makes a bit of sense to cater to their demands.

Is the publican concerned in the business of extracting Yank tourist Euros from Yank tourist wallets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

It gets worse. Add a few more countries and we are all called "European".

Hiring someone who can't do the job properly is a poor hiring practice.

I fully agree but fail to see the relevance with regards what was being discussed are you implying the irish people who use to fill those jobs didnt know what they were doing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

He may find it hard to get and keep Irish only staff since he is a very rude man and extremely difficult to work for. (in my opinion)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Slot Machine

OF course it is , so dont refuse them a job because of their nationality :confused:

Well he did sort of shoot himself in the foot in that regard. In a wider sense, it would eventually be sussed out and exposed.

Best thing to do? Don't be a xenophobic ass. It's also much easier than keeping up a lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Love having Irish staff serve me.
    The eastern europeans for the most part never smile cant have the banter and sometimes quiet rude.

My experience is the opposite.

Many of my former locals had girls from Slovakia, Poland, Hungary and other "Eastern European" nations who were great craic.

I have also got shocking treatment from Irish staff.

I am sure this is the same for many people.

The man is cosying up to some romantic notions of "everyone loves the Irish" and "Irish pubs are the best in the world".

These notions are dead in the water. The Irish are far from a homogenous universally loved group and the Irish pup trade is dying on it's arse. But sure this good man still thinks it's part of the recession. What a deluded fool he is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Theirs a big difference between saying we want irish front staff and saying it's company policy to not hire non irish people(which he doesn't do), people will be offended but tough titty, the majority of people including tourists would probably rather be served by a happy irish person than a dour foreigner, who seldom seem to smile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

whupdedo wrote: »
    Theirs a big difference between saying we want irish front staff and saying it's company policy to not hire non irish people(which he doesn't do), people will be offended but tough titty, the majority of people including tourists would probably rather be served by a happy irish person than a dour foreigner, who seldom seem to smile

If people are unhappy in their job it is probably a bigger reflection on the their employers.

In anycase, most of the fordiners' that send ALL their money home to buy houses and claim disability and eat the swans usually have a big smile for me. Maybe they think most Irish are miserable fuckers that never smile?

I fully agree but fail to see the relevance with regards what was being discussed are you implying the irish people who use to fill those jobs didnt know what they were doing ?
    Were they made redundant illegally to make way for foreigners? This guy says they'll only hire Irish people, that's an illegal policy. If they're hiring foreigners who can't take/understand orders then that's a stupid policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Gatling wrote: »
    In saying that have you tried to order foods and drinks and non national staff with the basic of basic English have a clue what you're trying to order

Yeah, every time tbh. They all have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Gravitating towards mr. Chawke on this one from my experiences,have Heard a lot of Scandanavians complain about not meeting Irish staff at hotels and bars too, a lot of the people from central and Eastern europé really ought to be given a course on customer relations-ime,usually quite poor-dilligent and hardworking doubtless,but sorely lacking in the humour dept.,give me someone with Quick Dublin wit anyday.

As for the ICCL crowd rowing in behind this-I'm quite sure that whenever they eat a chinese/indian/kebab they avoid only the restaurants with all chinese/pakistanis/turks in favour for places with 50% Irish employees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

That's nice.

And true, so don't warp reality with your own vitriolic BS.