Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish only front line staff...opinions?

• 30-09-2014 5:11pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭

Charlie has opened a can of worms here....
    http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/the-famous-publican-who-says-his-bar-staff-simply-must-be-irish-30625620.html

I understand some if what he's trying to say, but he wasn't very tactful about it.
    In my experience I think Irish staff appear friendlier (may inwardly despise you ) than our Eastern European cousins, unfortunately they come across with a very abrupt manner and appear stand offish and even a bit rude, but hey thats their nature and I get that (inwardly may be lusting after you).
    I do like a smiley, polite and mannerly person to order food from or book into a hotel...regardless of where you are from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

As long as they know what a Black and Tan is I dont care if they are from Tallaght or Timbuktu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Being friendly and mannerly are not exclusive Irish characteristics - a moronic statement by the guy imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭miroslavklose

This must be a new thing. He's had non-Irish bar staff in the Orchard relatively recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

makes no difference to me one the service is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

Do you think his definition of 'Irish' is the one on passports, or the one based on skin colour? I for one think he doesn't go far enough. He should only employ Gaeilgeoirs, or else it's not Irish enough for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Lalealynn

This must be a new thing. He's had non-Irish bar staff in the Orchard relatively recently.

The Orchard has had non Irish staff for a while and also has many non Irish clientele giving patronage. So this is nonsense. He does employ non Irish frontline staff.

He is incorrectly stereotyping both Irish people and Eastern Europeans. I have found many Eastern Europeans and other nationalities to be lovely. So generally are Irish people.

By the way I CAN'T BELIEVE HE PAID 22 MILLION for the Orchard!!! It's a lovely pub and I like to go there but really? I'm very surprised.

I think their live music could promote creative talent more rather than cover bands so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭masonchat

I think that man is going to get slated, he is quite entitled to do what his doing as far as im concerned you just cant say it out loud.

I was around a large beef processing plant few years ago , at break time i would pass the hundreds of workers all headin to the canteen , i never heard 1 irish accent you would literally think you were in another country.

To make it even worse i was told the place hires a few irish partime during seasonal peaks and that the irish workers would often be intimidated out.

I dont know why or how a place like that ends up with such unbalance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I can see his point.

I got into a nasty debate here months back about something I said relating to the tourism industry. Its an issue alright and there is definately negative feedback from tourists. But as the tourism figures increase, for now I cant say its affecting things on a large scale. But time may tell a different story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

masonchat wrote: »
    I think that man is going to get slated, he is quite entitled to do what his doing as far as im concerned you just cant say it out loud.

I was around a large beef processing plant few years ago , at break time i would pass the hundreds of workers all headin to the canteen , i never heard 1 irish accent you would literally think you were in another country.

To make it even worse i was told the place hires a few irish partime during seasonal peaks and that the irish workers would often be intimidated out.

Lower wages and owner greed imo.

Doom wrote: »

But surely they are getting the minimum wage at least ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

If you look at the "traditional Irish food" menu at his pub in Adare, it's mostly cibata, panini, pasta, spring rolls, salsa wraps, Manhattan-style this and American-style that and a salad invented in Las Vegas.

Nothing wrong with that, of course. But to call it "traditional Irish" and also say that they are "constantly keeping up with the culinary needs of our discerning patrons" makes me wonder if he's actually a few steps ahead of us all in the publicity game and is laughing all the way to the bank.

Doom wrote: »

You cant legally get lower than Minumum wage which would be the standard wage for most of those working in a meat processing plant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Wasn't it a lovely Irish man that shot his leg off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭miroslavklose

Lalealynn wrote: »
    The Orchard has had non Irish staff for a while and also has many non Irish clientele giving patronage. So this is nonsense. He does employ non Irish frontline staff.

He is incorrectly stereotyping both Irish people and Eastern Europeans. I have found many Eastern Europeans and other nationalities to be lovely. So generally are Irish people.

By the way I CAN'T BELIEVE HE PAID 22 MILLION for the Orchard!!! It's a lovely pub and I like to go there but really? I'm very surprised.

I think their live music could promote creative talent more rather than cover bands so much.
    Yeah, now that I think about it, one of the managers is Scottish. I'm not sure if Charlie has any role in it now anyway - his daughter's name is above the door if I remember correctly.

22 million was Celtic Tiger-era madness, but the place was and continues to be a goldmine and you wouldn't bet against him making a profit long-term. He's rich enough that won't need to sell before the price rockets again.

Agreed on the music, but realistically covers are all people want to hear in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

If you income depends on delivering authenticity, I can understand.

Wasn't it a lovely Irish man that shot his leg off?

Thats a bit below the belt.

But surely they are getting the minimum wage at least ?

I suppose so, I would imagine in previous times Irish staff got paid more, as Eastern Europeans arrived they were happy to accept minimum wage......so owner thinks 'hey i can take more money for myself from the company' and as staff roll over they are replaced by lower paid Europeans who generally won't grumble over minimum wage..simple

Bucklesman wrote: »
    Do you think his definition of 'Irish' is the one on passports, or the one based on skin colour? I for one think he doesn't go far enough. He should only employ Gaeilgeoirs, or else it's not Irish enough for me.

Leprechauns are the only true Irish...

How so? Morally I have an issue with it and it would be interesting if someone bothered bringing a case.
    What were you doing there?
    Who told you that?
    It's a pretty **** job, I think that's the reason.

Also a place having all Irish staff isn't indicative of an issue as such. A blanket policy is an issue. Not so long ago I took the piss out of a barmaid who was Uruguayan when I called her Spanish and she called me English. Banter! :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Love having Irish staff serve me.
    The eastern europeans for the most part never smile cant have the banter and sometimes quiet rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

dunno, a few polish honeys pulling pints in a pub near me definitely pulled in all the local lads!
    Having said that at my local applegreen the only laugh I ever got from the eastern European s working there was when I asked for a vat receipt he asked me did I want it for the diesel or the crisps!

How so? Morally I have an issue with it and it would be interesting if someone bothered bringing a case.

What were you doing there? Not disecting cows if thats what you are implying

who told you that? someone that i believed, you need not if that makes you happy

It's a pretty **** job, I think that's the reason.
    @t job but to say that is the sole reason is false i think

Have you any other suggestions? My dad worked in an abattoir back in the day and said the only ones working there were mentals and ones who were desperate for any kind of wage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I hope for his sake he doesn't get sued under discrimination laws-after those comments he wouldn't have a leg to stand on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Howya Charlie, dont stand up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Have you any other suggestions? My dad worked in an abattoir back in the day and said the only ones working there were mentals and ones who were desperate for any kind of wage.

Mentals? How the fuck did mentals get a job there? Mental isn't even in the poxy EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

sabat wrote: »
    he wouldn't have a leg to stand on.

BOOM

BOOM

😋😋😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

In saying that have you tried to order foods and drinks and non national staff with the basic of basic English have a clue what you're trying to order

As did my grandfather , during the boom i would understand this more so than now with few jobs around

It is a awful job though , i know i couldnt do it so hats off to them cos i like my beef :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭karloseqm

I would never it there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Slot Machine

You can't do it because of the small matter of it being illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

If a bunch of foreigners guys came on a stag, lets say 20 of them for 3 days..clearly speaking in tneir own native tongue
    Would he take their money or ask them to leave?

Gatling wrote: »
    In saying that have you tried to order foods and drinks and non national staff with the basic of basic English have a clue what you're trying to order
    That's called poor hiring practices.
    As did my grandfather , during the boom i would understand this more so than now with few jobs around

It is a awful job though , i know i couldnt do it so hats off to them cos i like my beef :D
    I'm talking about well before the boom. There were plenty would rather sit in the cold that do that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

So did mine. Blackhorse Avenue, Dublin across from the Cattle Market on the top of Prussia Street. Converted to Housing late 70s/early 80s. Made a great living from it. Very skilled. Never heard any stories of mentals working there and remember Garngegorman was only around the corner.

My father chose to work there. Lived in the area all his life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I imagine every non Irish national who has ever been turned down for a job in one of his pubs is currently on the phone to a solicitor.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I like the way all these different countries and their respective cultures can be nicely condensed down to "Eastern European"

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I like the way all these different countries and their respective cultures can be nicely condensed down to "Eastern European"

They're all east of here, aren't they?

You can't do it because of the small matter of it being illegal.

How is it illegal, he just has to say the staff he hired were the best that applied.

The is no law as far as im aware stating any business has to hire x% non nationals or locals, to refuse them an interview would be another matter.

All that aside if you say what he has said , i would expect a backlash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

How is it illegal, he just has to say the staff he hired were the best that applied.

The is no law as far as im aware stating any business has to hire x% non nationals or locals, to refuse them an interview would be another matter.

All that aside if you say what he has said , i would expect a backlash

Refusing someone a job because of their nationality is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

It would be interesting to know,what percentage of Irish people have,and are being employed,compared to non nationals.

I would hazard a guess that the non nationals are chosen because...

They can be paid a lower wage.

They can be manipulated more easily.

They will rarely complain about conditions,due to their circumstance.

That's called poor hiring practices.

I'm talking about well before the boom. There were plenty would rather sit in the cold that do that job.
    Yet the jobs were filled were they not

OF course it is , so dont refuse them a job because of their nationality :confused:

Grandeeod wrote: »
    So did mine. Blackhorse Avenue, Dublin across from the Cattle Market on the top of Prussia Street. Converted to Housing late 70s/early 80s. Made a great living from it. Very skilled. Never heard any stories of mentals working there and remember Garngegorman was only around the corner.

My father chose to work there. Lived in the area all his life.
    That's nice.

Yet the jobs were filled were they not
    Hiring someone who can't do the job properly is a poor hiring practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Gmaximum

I understand what he's trying to say I just think he hasn't thought through how to say it

I've been in 3 of his pubs occasionally over the last year. Each one employs both irish and foreign nationals. I actually spoke to the manager in the Bank one night and he was eastern European.

I don't think there's add anything wrong with employing irish people to maintain the "irishness" of any business. We pay the bills for most business year round having irish staff gives you a better understanding of the local marker

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

It's a veryy fine line he's treading...

On one level I get the point he's making , but I really don't think it applies to his businesses as his pubs are just standard pubs around Dublin for the most part..

There might be an argument to be made in the context of a truly "themed" experience.. For example , Bunratty castle where you have the staff/actors playing roles as farmers or what have you..but legally it's a very delicate line to take..

But in a regular pub that's just knocking out pints and carvery????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

It is and it isn't. It isn't if the nationality is non-European and without visa. Then it works the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Haven't the Yank tourists been giving out lately about not having Irish people serving them when they're on their holidays over here. I suppose if you're in the business of extracting Yank tourist Euros from Yank tourist wallets then it makes a bit of sense to cater to their demands.

Is the publican concerned in the business of extracting Yank tourist Euros from Yank tourist wallets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

It gets worse. Add a few more countries and we are all called "European".