Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I find hard to see how many keepers could save that shot, it swerved mid flight and had enough pace on it to break the sound barrier.

Ugh, i guess i'm still pissed at our poor start to the season...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭benny79

Mingolet made more individual mistakes leading directly to a goal more than any other keeper in the premiership last year. He made 5. Thats an outrageous number which means he was directly responsible for 10% of all goals conceeded by Liverpool in the Premiership.
    For someone that we paid that much for, with as much experience both in the Premiership and Internationally, thats unacceptable. Step up now or else he will be replaced pretty quickly

I gave him the benefit of the doubt last year after a lot of shaky performances but patience has to be wearing thin with him by now. Not good enough simple as that

If your going to win the PL you need a top keeper he is not simple as that and not good enough, and I'm not just referring to Ja's goal the weekend that was a screamer...but he could off positioned himself better still mightened of saved it but would of having a better chance.

MD1990 wrote: »
    But its not about jumping as high as possible. Its very easy to touch the crossbar. Mignolet crouching down is giving him more work to do for high shots.

Crouching down gives you much more spring though, standing tall would make it much more difficult to dive for the ball.

Try it yourself even its difficult to get momentum from an upright start. While Neville does talk a lot of sense on this occasion he is talking nonsense imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Crouching down gives you much more spring though, standing tall would make it much more difficult to dive for the ball.

Try it yourself even its difficult to get momentum from an upright start. While Neville does talk a lot of sense on this occasion he is talking nonsense imo.

He said it was something they covered doing his pro licence.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

MD1990 wrote: »
    But its not about jumping as high as possible. Its very easy to touch the crossbar. Mignolet crouching down is giving him more work to do for high shots.

Agreed it's not about jumping as high as possible, it's about jumping as fast and accurately as possible. To dive to the upper corner of the goal, to save a ball moving and swerving away from you would require you to be able to spring to that corner.
    Doing so from an upright position is more difficult as your body just doesn't move that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,660 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

benny79 wrote: »

If your going to win the PL you need a top keeper he is not simple as that and not good enough, and I'm not just referring to Ja's goal the weekend that was a screamer...but he could off positioned himself better still mightened of saved it but would of having a better chance.

Like Joe Hart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Silly question but what night is the basil game on and is it on telly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,126 ✭✭✭✭noodler

cjmc wrote: »
    Silly question but what night is the basil game on and is it on telly ?

Tomorrow and its on RTE2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Alonso77

I love the way none of this Mignolet crouching talk was mentioned until Neville started on it last night and now some people are on the bandwagon usisng it as another excuse to hammer the goalie. It was a world class strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭breghall

Unstoppable strike!..... play in goals much any of ye???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Alonso77 wrote: »
    I love the way none of this Mignolet crouching talk was mentioned until Neville started on it last night and now some people are on the bandwagon usisng it as another excuse to hammer the goalie. It was a world class strike.

it also goes to show how much people just don't know stuff and regurgitate what they here on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

If someone is going to mock a keepers positioning, they should use a better example than Evertons equalizer as that was unstoppable.

The lad will never hit a better strike, It wasn't directly in the top corner but had enough movement to fool any keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

breghall wrote: »
    Unstoppable strike!..... play in goals much any of ye???

Thank you! Between the reaction time with the speed of the ball, the movement of said ball, and the keeper needing to be prepared for a half dozen different possibilities - it's pretty much unstoppable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Im watching a repeat of the everton match, i must say i actually think it was a very good performance. We looked fairly solid defensively, had a pretty good shape and balance to the side and managed to create a lot of openings. We lacked a clinical touch in the final third, theres no question sturridge will have a huge impact when he returns. Hopefully he can stay injury free for a while, if he stays fit for the season I think we'll get fourth place, thats how important he has become for us. Unfortunately, he will likely pick up another injury at some stage this season.

Im worried about balotelli. I think hes a good player, but he just doesnt really fit our style of play. Hes similar to lambert in that regard, though clearly a better player. When everyones fit I think our first choice attack should be sturridge, sterling, lallana and coutinho.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I can't wait until Wednesday so we have something else to talk about than that goal. We'll soon have more defensive calamities to discuss anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,365 ✭✭✭death1234567

While Neville does talk a lot of sense on this occasion he is talking nonsense imo.
    Agreed, although at least when Neville is talking nonsense (which he does a fair bit) he tries to show the reasoning behind it. He doesn't just state an opinion/cliché and then offer nothing to justify it like so many pundits do.

You couldn't fault the Keeper for that goal IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Match thread up to distract from this stupid topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭MR NINE

As far as the goal is concerned, i think criticising mignolet is very harsh. Neville appears to have a point, the other examples they showed highlighted the issue better. Negredos goal and ramseys goal were both savable and his starting position probably cost him. Regarding the jagielka goal, it was savable in the same way a 30 yard free kick is scorable. Great players sometimes pull them off, but not all the time, not even close. It would have been a stunning save had he made it, easily one of the top 5 of the season imo. However, just because a great keeper might have saved it, doesnt mean he should be criticised for not saving it. When ronaldo/suarez/whoever misses the target with a 30 yard free kick in the dying minutes you dont criticise them. Sure, they could have done better, but it would have had to be a top class effort to have done better.

Mignolet has many faults, and has had plenty errors already this season. Not saving that shot is a long long way down my list of concerns regarding him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Johnson, Gerrard, Sakho, Skrtel, Mignolet who will be the scapegoat next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Johnson, Gerrard, Sakho, Skrtel, Mignolet who will be the scapegoat next week?

Jordan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Jordan

Well tbh the way she acts and goes around selling herself and her life for money in tabloids and ****e like that, she deserves it.

Jordan

Don't let Mario her anyway.

Augmerson got there before me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,966 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Sakho gone for 3 weeks.

relying on Skrtel, then Toure gives me the heebies.

also, no Sturridge again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

Rodgers has said in the presser sakho has a strain and will be out for 2-3 weeks. I hope it's not punishment for what happened last weekend as that would be ridiculously stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭garra

D'Agger wrote: »
    That's not the point I was making - Balo is clearly a better player - I'm talking about not putting away chances - Balotelli should have scored the other day but he's the new signing who's bags of craic so it hardly get's mentioned. If it was Borini posters here would be using it as a stick to beat him with - at least that's what I believe

Yeah but Borini's strike rate is poor whereas we know Balo can actually finish. Borini's ability compared to Balo's is evident. I take your point about "bags of craic", we need that in place of Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

klose wrote: »
    Rodgers has said in the presser sakho has a strain and will be out for 2-3 weeks. I hope it's not punishment for what happened last weekend as that would be ridiculously stupid.

Didn't realise Rodgers was into corporal punishment

Does anyone actually think Sakho has a strain or am I being too cynical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

greendom wrote: »
    Didn't realise Rodgers was into corporal punishment

Haha wording :pac: you get what I mean anyways.

Well at least Sakho won't go on international duty next week then.

I think it'd be good for him to get away with the French team, he seems more confident there than at Liverpool right now. Might come back in better form.