Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smack my bishop (into shape!) - The training log

Options
  • 05-09-2014 8:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭

The journey begins:

First, a little about myself.

I've been playing chess for a shade over ten years, and pretty quickly stagnated at around the 1700 level. For years this was fine, I had other things going on in my life; going back to study as a mature student, trying to get a job, trying to get a better job, buying a house, improving the house etc. Ok, I would've liked to have been stronger, but wasn't too bothered about it.

Now that I'm more settled in life, I've finally had a chance to reflect on what I'd like to do for the next half-century (the big 4-0 will be knocking on the door next month) and one of those things is to work on my chess.

I feel that I can push a bit further, improve my game, understand it better and get more out of it. I know I'll never be a GM, but having had the opportunity to go for a few drinks with GMs in the past, that's not necessarily a bad thing (it can be quite a hand to mouth existence!) But still, I'd hate to be looking back in thirty years thinking I could have done better. As Kurt Vonnegut put it: Of all the words of mice and men, the saddest are, "It might have been.”