Be honest. Is "mail order bride" one of your reactions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Tzardine wrote: »
    Until you split up.

then they will all say that she was a Bitch and they never liked her anyway.

Never do that either. They could be back together next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Links234 wrote: »
    (Though seriously, there's enough comments about gold-diggers, submissiveness, and ladyboys that comments like "they've all got sideways vaginas!" aren't far behind...)

Wow I've always wondered :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The Irish ambassador to Vietnam (I hope she sees this) on her last night six months ago or a year ago was drunk, came onto me and when I told her "I'm with my girlfriend" who was standing next to me, said "Is she with you for your money?". This woman had been here for three years and that was her opinion.

Well that could end up in the Sunday papers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BlibBlab

anncoates wrote: »
    Nobody has the right to pass judgement on love (you long time) between two people.

Yes they do, don't be ridiculous. We're not living in 1984. You don't have to respect or pay any heed to anyone who negatively views the relationship however

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I reckon you're fully entitled to punch anyone in the face if they imply your girlfriend/wife is essentially a prostitute.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

What's wrong with a marriage of convenience??

Is Mills and Boon the only way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭SkyBlueClouds

Maybe it's your circle of friends.

For all the faults of this country, I'd say ignorance is fairly well down the list once you bypass the altar railkissers, the Facebook commentators and the plain racist. In my own village, one fella is married to an Indonesian, a girl is co habiting with a Senegalese girl, and my own brother is married to a Brazilian, and not one eyelid is batted. Ireland is second only to dareisay Britain in terms of tolerance IMO, believe it or not.

Agreed. Anyone who gives a toss about someones OH's nationality wouldn't be a real friend in my eyes. I think we are a reasonably tolerant country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It's just typical Irish begrudgery and bitching. I married an Englishman and the attitude was still 'could she not have found a nice Irish guy'.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

It's just typical Irish begrudgery and bitching. I married an Englishman and the attitude was still 'could she not have found a nice Irish guy'.:rolleyes:

I'm with a Spanish man and he's got that from members of his Spanish family. I had an auntie say right in front of me, "___ likes foreign women it seems. It'd be nice if he met a woman from here but anyway..". I was fuming. My sister had it with her Cypriot in-laws as well for many years. It's a small-minded thing that I don't believe is exclusive to one nationality. People who've generally never had interaction with other nationalities tend to say it. I have 4 siblings and none of us are with Irish women/men and no comments or judgements were made among any of my family members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

When I see an old fellow with a young Asian woman next to him, I think 'Yep, gold digger'

For all I know it could be his carer or his 2nd cousin or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I'd assume you bought the woman and shipped her over to Ireland, yes. I wouldn't mention it to you though.

What you do with your money is your own business.

I'm sure my wife gets that too, though she's too well mannered to tell me :o

I worked with a guy who is married to a stunning girl from the Philippines. He's a fairly not great looking Irish guy. Everyone always automatically thinks "mail order bride", and to be perfectly honest I thought the same kind of thing too. Turns out she was working here for about 5 or 6 years before she met him, and they met each other in a place they are working in. And they are a great couple, very happy together!

Now I never assume things when I see an Asian with and Irish man. Even if they did meet on some website/whatever, who cares.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Isn't it funny though, that we think being from Ireland makes us such catches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

I think sexual and racial 'banter' around Polish, Asian, Brazilian, etc, women is common among men AND women in Ireland. Only a few days ago a mod had to lock a thread regarding having Asian girlfriends when the posts became overwhelmingly racist and inappropriate. Try mentioning you're going to Thailand to a bunch of Irish lads and count the number of seconds before one makes a transgender joke, for example.

When it comes to dating a person from Asia or Brazil or Russia say, there's usually only three jokes/ insults/ 'banter' themes come up again and again:

1) Sex trafficking jokes
    2) The man can't find an Irish girlfriend or has a 'fetish' for different races
    3) Mail order bride (and within that she's either the victim or victimiser)

These come up as jokes in other countries of course but nothing as widespread as I've experienced in Ireland when dating non-Irish women and talking to friends in similar situations. A lot of Irish people can't think of some foreign women groups in any other way than a commodity ('ordered' online). If she's Russian, she's probably the victimizer using the man, if she's Asian, she's loyal and quiet and easily controlled.

I'm not smart enough to know why Irish people are like this but I know it's a huge sign of immaturity and sexism in our culture.

spurious wrote: »

Since that Michael Flatley there's been no stopping ye:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

On occasion, I've tended to see a quite attractive Asian girl with a quite unattractive white man, and yes I've thought, "she may just be with him for money", have thought the same on seeing a pretty white girl with a not so good looking white man to though.

Is your girlfriend quite good looking and you not so much, OP?

May be an attractiveness thing, rather than a racism thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Who cares? Once it's legal, once it's between consenting adults, once nobody is getting hurt and once everyone in the relationship is happy... that's all that matters.

Same goes for gay/bi/lesbian/transgender/Australian... all of the above applies.

People should learn to mind their own fúcking business about these things.

I actually find that if I see an older guy with a younger hot bird, my first thought is usually "Go on, my son!"... followed by "He's got a huge cock, gotta have!"... Mail order bride or whatever rarely enters my head, tbh. Maybe I'm not racist or intolerant enough to be a stereotypical Irish person!!! :eek:

Wouldn't really cross my mind, unless there were obvious signs like no common language and a 15+ year age gap.

If it did cross my mind for those reasons, I'd keep it to myself. It's not for me to judge, even if I find it a bit questionable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

RobAMerc wrote: »
    Childish cretins at a football match taunting an opposing player have no bearing on actual society

Good point. Maybe we should take a yard stick like politics. Look at the amount of votes the far right, racist and anti-immigration parties got all over Europe during the recent euro elections. Look at the results for any such candidates here.

Ireland the most racist country in the world? Absolute bollocks tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

You'd be out of your mind to have kids with these women. They'll dissapear the day the money runs out. Read plenty of similar stories on personal issues.

c_man wrote: »
    Good point. Maybe we should take a yard stick like politics. Look at the amount of votes the far right, racist and anti-immigration parties got all over Europe during the recent euro elections. Look at the results for any such candidates here.

Ireland the most racist country in the world? Absolute bollocks tbh.

Absolutely true. The most right-wing party we have in this country (that's relevant anyway) would probably be Fine Gael, and they're like Communists compared to UKIP or the BNP. The most leftie party we have here (mainstream and worth a fúck anyway) would be Sinn Féin... and they're very normal compared to some of the headcases that got elected in France in the last elections.

We have never, ever embraced extreme parties in this country. We ably steered a middle-course, especially in the turbulent 1920's and 30's, when a lot of Europe went up in flames through fascism or communism. Ireland has always steered a middle course; for sure, it's probably centre-right, but we've never gone as extreme as some nations. And be thankful for it.

We've never had an organisation like the KKK or the National Front or any of that bollocks. Ireland is not the most tolerant nation in the world, but the bigger cities (Dublin, Cork, Galway, etc.) would be grand.

I was actually walking from Croke Park last weekend after the All Ireland, and when you walk through Dublin, you realise how truly multi-cultural it has become. I think it's class. There are even proper Chinatown sections now. And seeing all of the varying races and nationalities makes me realise how far this country has come in the past few years.

This country is not perfect, but it is nowhere near the Deep South in the 1920's, or even Russia of today. We are seriously a lot more progressive than people give us credit for.

Beaner1 wrote: »
    You'd be out of your mind to have kids with these women. They'll dissapear the day the money runs out. Read plenty of similar stories on personal issues.

There is so much wrong with that post, I don't even know where to begin.

And I'm not some tree-hugging liberal saying this; I have a REAL conservative streak in me, and I would not be the most P.C. person in the world. But good GOD...

strobe wrote: »
    On occasion, I've tended to see a quite attractive Asian girl with a quite unattractive white man, and yes I've thought, "she may just be with him for money", have thought the same on seeing a pretty white girl with a not so good looking white man to though.

Is your girlfriend quite good looking and you not so much, OP?

May be an attractiveness thing, rather than a racism thing?

I see that. These girls are attractive to a Western eye. I wonder if they are as attractive to asian eyes? Our fella may look like Rooney or Enda Kenny but to them maybe he's the equivalent of Brad Pitt.

I went out with a girl once who was an absolute drop dead gorgeous stunner. She didn't believe it. Was always concerned about this or that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

spurious wrote: »
    Well S I have heard way more than once that the Irish(tm) are seen as more easy going in general, not so extreme. As DazMarz notes in politics we tend to less right wing or left so much as "meh, it'll be grand". IMH Hitler(godwin alert) wouldn't really have worked here. He would come across as too much like getting himself wound up for feck all.

We may see the Latins as an example as being more "passionate", great at first, but that can get real old, real quickly.

The other thing I heard from foreign folks regarding the Irish was apparently the lads were well sorted in the trouser dept and the ladies were well sorted in the bra dept. So that's to the good. :D

Looks wise? Ok in general and because of our very small population we can't compete so well with the extremes of say Brazilians or Ukrainians, however IMHO those same local characteristics that make for very good looking people, also make for really not so good looking people in equal measure. Irish folks, men and women tend towards less harsh features, so we may miss out on the extremes at either end.

These come up as jokes in other countries of course but nothing as widespread as I've experienced in Ireland when dating non-Irish women and talking to friends in similar situations.
    Ahh I dunno about that IM. Personally I've most certainly heard exactly the same kinda thing in France and the UK and Spain and Norway to name but four. Parochial exists pretty much everywhere, even in urban areas where you would expect less of it. IMH and IME it's pretty much universal.
    I see that. These girls are attractive to a Western eye. I wonder if they are as attractive to asian eyes? Our fella may look like Rooney or Enda Kenny but to them maybe he's the equivalent of Brad Pitt.
    Oh there can be a lot of that going on alright. Take the obvious Asian angle. For many western men they see Asian woman and think she's automatically good looking, where objectively she might be "ok" even "not so great really Ted". The exotic factor can kick in and raise perceptions and expectations. That can go both ways too. So the pasty looking white fella from West Clare can look exotic and much more attractive to a woman from Brazil.

As a species we're drawn to the exotic for mixing up the genes, so generally speaking that tendency will make a guy or a gal who is a "5 outa 10" locally, up their "score" to 6 or 7 when in non local areas.
    DazMarz wrote: »
    Who cares? Once it's legal, once it's between consenting adults, once nobody is getting hurt and once everyone in the relationship is happy... that's all that matters.

Same goes for gay/bi/lesbian/transgender/Australian... all of the above applies.

People should learn to mind their own fúcking business about these things.
    QFT Sir, QFT.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

^^^

What does "QFT" mean? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

^^^

I googled it. Quantum Field Theory. He's just trying to impress us with his knowledge :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

^^^

Quoted for truth

Of course, my swear-ified mind immediately assumed it meant "Quite Fúcking True" or something along those lines... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Foxmint

Maybe it's your circle of friends.

For all the faults of this country, I'd say ignorance is fairly well down the list once you bypass the altar railkissers, the Facebook commentators and the plain racist. In my own village, one fella is married to an Indonesian, a girl is co habiting with a Senegalese girl, and my own brother is married to a Brazilian, and not one eyelid is batted. Ireland is second only to dareisay Britain in terms of tolerance IMO, believe it or not.

So what happens if someone's foreign girlfriend, as they often are, is an "altar rail kisser" as you like to call them.

How's your tolerance then ?