Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

:eek: It's not a new brothel touting for business by any chance is it? :D
    Not a red light in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

honeygirl wrote: »
    It annoys me when I am walking and come across others who are two and three abreast and they won't move out of the way. I had to walk on the road twice this morning because unmannerly biddies wouldn't move in and let me past. Sometimes I feel like walking into them.

I apply liberal use of the shoulder.

Came across a right pair the other day. The man is pushing an massive SUV style buggy and the woman is walking alongside holding the hand of the kid in it. She'll drop his hand any moment and fall back I think. Nope!

The students from a college on Sotuh Great Georges Street who block the whole footpath as they gather outside to chat and smoke. At least make some attempt to stand in to the side. The urge to do a haymaker is immense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,744 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I really, really hate it when someone has the file you need to work on open all frakking day and when you ask them to close it they're like "Have I it open?" Not only have they put me out for the day, I don't understand how they can have files open that they're not using, it'd drive me nuts to have to go through a pile of Excel files to find the one I'm working on. I bet their desktops are full too. *shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

LynnGrace wrote: »
    People who need to stand on my heels in a queue. Don't tempt me, I may just step back on you. What is their fear, what is it that is going to happen if they leave a small bit of space between me and them :confused:.

If I'm in a queue in a supermarket I always swing my basket back, "oh sorry, I didn't realise you were standing so close to me".
    Ths Ploughing Championship and the associated traffic have annoyed me.

One - Why is there a championship of ploughing? It makes no sense. You might as well have a tea-making championship.

Two - It's being held in the middle of the country, where thousands of ruddy-faced, cabbage-headed, muck savages congregate in their 1998 Ford Mondeos at 50km/hr, making a mess of the surrounding road network. If they must have a championship of ploughing, can they not have it up in Donegal or somewhere out of the way?

They tried having it out of the way in New Ross 2 years ago but the traffic was absolutely horrendous. I think they like Ratheniska because there are so many routes in and out. I'd expect it to be held there again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...They tried having it out of the way in New Ross 2 years ago but the traffic was absolutely horrendous. I think they like Ratheniska because there are so many routes in and out. I'd expect it to be held there again next year.

Get them FECKIN' Crunchies out of the car!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

People who need to stand on my heels in a queue. Don't tempt me, I may just step back on you. What is their fear, what is it that is going to happen if they leave a small bit of space between me and them :confused:.

I like to leave big spaces to annoy these people. You can almost feel the panic coming off them like a steam :P

It's the small, passive-aggressive indulgences that get us through the day ;)

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    We have new neighbours accross the road who don't like using thier blinds/curtains, the front bedroom windows are nearly floor to ceiling.

Things I've seen:
    - The woman of the house stark naked a few times.
    - The daughter of the house doing some sort of dance where the finale was to pull her top down and expose her breasts
    - On one evening, the roller blind was half down, I seen the daughter remove her underwear, get a mirror between her legs and inspect herself
    - The daughter or mother, not sure which was dressed in a Winnie The Pooh suit the other day standing at the window staring out for about 10 minutes solid.

This may seem like I am monitoring their house, these events have jsut happened while I've been outside having a quick smoke.....apart from the pooh bear thing, i initially seen that while smoking, but had to keep looking out for a progress update.

:eek::eek:

I sometimes do quick fly-bys when I'm in the nip, but I'd just be a blur. I bet they know you are looking and are getting their kicks:D

The nearest I've come to indecently exposing myself to my neighbours was a few years ago. Heavily pregnant, really warm day, lounging around in only my knickers, sudden urge to get sick, run outside, puke loudly all over patio, look up and poor neighbour is standing on his flatroof extension doing some diy with jaw hitting the roof not knowing what to do with himself. I can't cope when I meet him now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Just spotted a typo (to not too) in a text I sent six weeks ago - morto! And to me ma and all!

Drivers who rev their engines at me when I'm on a pedestrian crossing. Rev away fcukers, I'm going to walk as slowly as I possibly can now, just to piss you off for being such a prick.:p

I've noticed drivers doing that at junctions when there is a green man. As if a pedestrian crossing the road is going to make the green man stay green longer or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Having a brain like a goldfish. Going to tesco for chicken fillets, coming out of tesco with 2 shower gels, baby lotion, toothpaste, handsoap, three candles, 3 rolls of wet dog food. And no chicken fillets. Get home and realise there's still nothing for the dinner but can't be bothered to go back.

Something similar happens me quite often as I drive home and think, right we (me, OH and all the animals) need to eat. Stop off and fill the car with dried dog food, dried cat food, cat milk, dog treats, some tins of tuna or a packet og cooked ham, reflective paw bands for walkies at night, catnip in case the fúckers want to get high...

...get home and realise there is no human food....

My friends laugh at me for the way I baby my dogs, (usually the ones with kids) my dad was really sick last year and I gave up work to look after him. Things got real tight, he was in hospital dying, had to be looked after, bills ect. Left feck all money for anything else. Then I'd go blowing most whatever I had on dog food, the stray dog had pups so she was getting liver, cottage cheese, as well as her regular food, she hadnt enough milk for all the puppies so I was buying dried doggie formula for them. And I was living on noodles and toast!!

But they're worth it :D

My friends laugh at me for the way I baby my dogs, (usually the ones with kids) my dad was really sick last year and I gave up work to look after him. Things got real tight, he was in hospital dying, had to be looked after, bills ect. Left feck all money for anything else. Then I'd go blowing most whatever I had on dog food, the stray dog had pups so she was getting liver, cottage cheese, as well as her regular food, she hadnt enough milk for all the puppies so I was buying dried doggie formula for them. And I was living on noodles and toast!!

But they're worth it :D

That formula stuff is more expensive than SMA! Wonder would they be better on that, although the lactose probably wouldnt do them any good. I get weird looks from people when they comment on how friendly some of my lads are and I say "well yes but I fed them myself" - clearly what I mean is "I bottle fed them baby cat formula because mom was weak/thin/dead and now they think all humans are the source of milk and hence are quite tame". What the other person hears is, "I am a freak of nature who acts as wetnurse for different species to top up my income" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

We have new neighbours accross the road who don't like using thier blinds/curtains, the front bedroom windows are nearly floor to ceiling.

Things I've seen:
    - The daughter of the house doing some sort of dance where the finale was to pull her top down and expose her breasts
    - On one evening, the roller blind was half down, I seen the daughter remove her underwear, get a mirror between her legs and inspect herself
    - The daughter or mother, not sure which was dressed in a Winnie The Pooh suit the other day standing at the window staring out for about 10 minutes solid.

This may seem like I am monitoring their house, these events have jsut happened while I've been outside having a quick smoke.....apart from the pooh bear thing, i initially seen that while smoking, but had to keep looking out for a progress update.

Where do you live? Like, what street?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    Where do you live? Like, what street?

Boob St.
    BeaverTown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Things I've seen:

Youre out there 24 hours "smoking" by the sounds of it!! :p

Seriously I have done it though. Mad late for work one morning, ran into the kitchen starkers to see the fella next door out the back wide eyed!! Could never look him in the eye afterwards!! :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

Vel wrote: »
    The students from a college on Sotuh Great Georges Street who block the whole footpath as they gather outside to chat and smoke. At least make some attempt to stand in to the side. The urge to do a haymaker is immense!

Similar crowd at the top of Capel St. There must be three colleges and they all seem to congregate at the same time. And I swear I saw a woman who was at least eight months pregnant in the mix, fag in hand, the other month. The urge to knock the thing out of her hand was just about controllable. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Today's trivial annoyance is the brashness of kids and teenagers with correspondence to business, ie my business.

When I was young during the nineties, my parents would make you pick up the phone and ask a question about a product directly, or write a proper letter to a business.

Daily we have have stunted emails, with no introduction, no signing off, no name or contact details and just an ignorant sentence asking something like "what can ya do if I buy dis and dis together" with a link included, or "i ordered yest eve and my order hasnt arrived, where is it?" or "i ordered X 2 months ago and it broke, i want a replacement".

No information included, no order numbers, no breakdown of problems etc. I think it's only going to get worse too. :(

Having said that, we got a great letter about a year ago in the post from a kid down the country, written by hand in an almost illegible scrawl, asking the simplest question which could have been answered in 5 seconds on the phone. We loved it, great to see the effort put in, it's still stuck to the pinboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Drivers who rev their engines at me when I'm on a pedestrian crossing. Rev away fcukers, I'm going to walk as slowly as I possibly can now, just to piss you off for being such a prick.:p

There is one particular pedestrian crossing I use that a lot of drivers don't even seem to see! :confused:
    And if they do, they seem to put down the boot, to race across it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭cmore123

Anyone street or pub "musician" who sings wonder wall or rock me feckin mamma wagon feckin wheel rubbish.

If I'm in a queue in a supermarket I always swing my basket back, "oh sorry, I didn't realise you were standing so close to me".

Oh yes, I've been known to inflict the odd injury too ;).
    I settled for a slight glare today... Some day I'm going to invent a condition, and say that it makes me hit people who stand too close to me. And then give a demo of it :D

Things I've seen:

What is it you are smoking :D?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Are you an Irish politician? Do you think every smartphone is an iPhone? Then please dont talk about technology. You make yourself look stupid and I will vote for anyone to make sure you dont get in again, unless you're a senator because somehow people thought your kind was useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

There is one particular pedestrian crossing I use that a lot of drivers don't even seem to see! :confused:

I rarely use the crossing near us as I just don't trust the drivers. I've had incidents were one car going in one direction stops and another going in the opposite direction doesn't stop. I know that if I cross further up the road that drivers aren't going to stop and it's actually safer that way.

Same here with the one I mentioned. It's actually safer to cross, at a different place, than to use this particular crossing. Crazy stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I don't know why they bother with them in Galway. Cars just keep going and if you were to walk in front of a car they would give out! I was amazed when cars would stop in other counties. I thought everyone ignored them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Not being able to fricking sleep! :(

I have trouble sleeping too and my friend posted this thing on my Facebook today that made me laugh

"Insomniacs be like..

Only three more sleeps til Christmas!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I have trouble sleeping too and my friend posted this thing on my Facebook today that made me laugh

"Insomniacs be like..

Only three more sleeps til Christmas!"

3?! That's optimistic :)