Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

MsBubbles wrote: »
    There seems to be an explosion of these fellas Boom Bap. I don't understand the need for the lycra. Most of them buy all the gear then get up on a bike and like me they haven't cycled since they were children

When you are getting a bike on the cycle to work scheme, the guys in the shops try to sell absolutely everything to you to get you up to the €1000 mark. I'm guessing that's where its all coming from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Never thought of that Boom Bap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Thankfully I havent hit the Lycra stage.....but my head is turning for the benfits in speed. They also have cushioning in the rear area which might be nice.

Image in my head of Ned Flanders in his ski gear..."Feels like I'm wearing nothing at all":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    When you are getting a bike on the cycle to work scheme, the guys in the shops try to sell absolutely everything to you to get you up to the €1000 mark. I'm guessing that's where its all coming from.

This manifests a lot of "Bucket-Of-Shít" syndrome as well. I know a few people now who went and got pedalling bi-cycles on account of the Cycle To Work tax-break, and only because of that. Said pedalling bi-cycles went out a couple of Sundays and have been in sheds since. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Mobile phone companies. they change the payment date and date they take their direct debit without telling me. So now I have gone overdrawn and will be charged a fortune by the bank because I don't have an overdraft. GRRRR

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Mobile phone companies. they change the payment date and date they take their direct debit without telling me. So now I have gone overdrawn and will be charged a fortune by the bank because I don't have an overdraft. GRRRR

Take back control of your money, and consign and bedamn direct-debits to the bin of Hades, woman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It trivially annoys me that I get sad every time that Leaving on a Jet Plane song plays. Like properly sad. It's the only song that makes me tear up. Especially the "hold me and never let me go" part. Not because it reminds me of someone I used to love, or know or anything normal people might be sad for.

It makes me sad because it is on a YouTube video of all the sad parts of dumbo where his mom is taken and he has to say goodbye and that song is playing in the background.

So, it trivially annoys me I'm on the verge of tears for an animated elephant and I can't cry for real people in my life.

Someone get me some cement til I harden up quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

It trivially annoys me that I get sad every time that Leaving on a Jet Plane song plays. Like properly sad. It's the only song that makes me tear up. Especially the "hold me and never let me go" part. Not because it reminds me of someone I used to love, or know or anything normal people might be sad for.

It makes me sad because it is on a YouTube video of all the sad parts of dumbo where his mom is taken and he has to say goodbye and that song is playing in the background.

So, it trivially annoys me I'm on the verge of tears for an animated elephant and I can't cry for real people in my life.

Someone get me some cement til I harden up quick

Know what you mean. It trivially annoys me that I tear up anytime I see a marching band. Haven't a clue as to why, I don't like the music, or the kilts or anything. The Minstrel Boy really gets to me for some reason. Makes St Patricks Day parades really awkward, as I'm snuffling into my sleeve like a right weirdo :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Skin on soup! yuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

I hate not knowing what you were originally going to post 😂😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Trivially annoyed that I haven't been on the thread today. Have to catch up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

That banking ad where yer woman is talking about how she does her shopping online, her banking online, met her boyfriend online and dumped him online. She describes it as a 'modern lifestyle', personally I think its very sad if someone is basically a hermit, not something to brag about or encourage. Of course the banks would prefer us to do all of our banking online, then they could fire most of their staff and close most of the branches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

I.S.
    I.S.I.S.
    I.S.I.L.
    I know they're all acceptable but
    Jesus make your mind up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Emmacash

It annoys me that not only did I have to Que for petrol the ONE morning that I'm late, but do you think any one of the people that had filled up on fuel drove their car forward and parked it before going to pay?? Nope, not one...sooo frustrating having to wait even longer while they decide whether or not they'd like coke and a mars for 50cent or whatever the topaz deal of the day is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

I know we've all been taught that manners cost nothing, be polite etc.

but ... overly polite people, quiet and submissive to the point that they're ignored.

Todays example:

Full Metro at 7:15, every stop a few leave and more pile in. If you're trapped at the back when the doors open you clear your throat and/or barge out.

I was beside a young-ish girl, student maybe who had missed her stop as she was too polite to ask people to move out of her way. Three stops further down the line she was clearly frustrated as she couldn't get out, so I had to ask the people in front of her to move for her.

You're in a city of 6 million plus (mostly busy) people, learn to speak up for yourself.

I've seen another few examples before. Overcharged for a coffee or similar and they 'don't want to make a scene.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Drivers who nudge their car out too much from a junction onto the main road.
    For God sake, get a better sense of the length of your car!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

IrishExpat wrote: »
    I know we've all been taught that manners cost nothing, be polite etc.

but ... overly polite people, quiet and submissive to the point that they're ignored.

Todays example:

Full Metro at 7:15, every stop a few leave and more pile in. If you're trapped at the back when the doors open you clear your throat and/or barge out.

I was beside a young-ish girl, student maybe who had missed her stop as she was too polite to ask people to move out of her way. Three stops further down the line she was clearly frustrated as she couldn't get out....

I've seen another few examples before. Overcharged for a coffee or similar and they 'don't want to make a scene.'
    I bulldoze for me to get off in a situation like that.

Getting a rotten tasting cup of coffee because you were at the end of a long queue and wait, there's a queue of people behind you. I won't be going to that so called gourmet coffee shop in Dublin city centre. Businesses is there to make a profit sure, but it seems ok for the ' barristas' there to make a crap cup of coffee simply because they are busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

IrishExpat wrote: »
    I was beside a young-ish girl, student maybe who had missed her stop as she was too polite to ask people to move out of her way. Three stops further down the line she was clearly frustrated as she couldn't get out, so I had to ask the people in front of her to move for her.

You're in a city of 6 million plus (mostly busy) people, learn to speak up for yourself.
    Use the elbows or move in like you're trying to break a rugby tackle. Often needs to be done at Oxford Circus when tourists are trying to charge onto the Victoria line before everyone who wants to get off is off. :pac:

Having manflu.

Oh lawd, I'm dying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Driving into a petrol station last week, prat in car behind me blew horn, presumably for me to pull up to the next pump. Er, there was a car already there, ya fecking eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The sadness I felt when I saw a poor dead kitten in the middle of the road as I drove to work this morning, the horrible feeling that he never even got to live his life but was so cruelly struck down because he was young and had no road sense...

...and my embarrassment when I realised I was mourning a pair of black boxers... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭honeygirl

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    The sadness I felt when I saw a poor dead kitten in the middle of the road as I drove to work this morning, the horrible feeling that he never even got to live his life but was so cruelly struck down because he was young and had no road sense...

...and my embarrassment when I realised I was mourning a pair of black boxers... :D

Ha ha, that's so funny:)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

OldNotWIse wrote: »

I seen a pigeon (not boxers) being hit by a car this morning coming in the opposite direction. It was like a cartoon, feathers everywhere, but the pigeon struted off the road like a boss, then fley away.

...I'm guessing the adreneline took him and he later just fell out of the sky somewhere.

73Cat wrote: »
    Know what you mean. It trivially annoys me that I tear up anytime I see a marching band. Haven't a clue as to why, I don't like the music, or the kilts or anything. The Minstrel Boy really gets to me for some reason. Makes St Patricks Day parades really awkward, as I'm snuffling into my sleeve like a right weirdo :(

Ha :) I well up when I go to the polling station. I'm not particularly patriotic or anything but there's something about exercising the right to vote that just gets me. It's hugely embarrassing. Snivelling into my sleeve as I once again try to give the Greens* a seat ;)

*realises this may be source of embarrassment

Groupon's 4th Birthday and a big email with trumpets and banners and parping about how they are "giving me a free gift to celebrate" - but you have to spend €50 to get the voucher....:confused: That's weird, I dont recall having ever gone to a friend's birthday where the celebrant was giving other people gifts to celebrate his own birthday...and demanding €50 off everyone before he gave them the gift. Odd....

When someone random calls to the house and you look like a train is after giving you a smack. Coming down with a cold or flu and feel rubbish so didn't bother taking my makeup off last night before bed, didn't have the energy. I'm still lying in bed, sans pjs of course.

Next thing the door bell rings, followed by some knocking. I leapt out of bed, threw on the nearest thing to me which happened to be a dressing gown that looks like a sheep, fluffy, with a sheep head as the hood, and I race to get the door because I thought it was the postman with my stuff from river island or asos.

But when I got to the door there was a guard on the doorstep, and even more mortifying, the guard sitting in the car was a guard I was "special friends" with til I gave him the flick to get back with the OH a few months back.

I'm annoyed the one morning I wouldn't be showered, dressed and presentable, was the morning he had to see me. The days I get dressed up and look serious, I see nobody. They weren't even at the right house either. All that for nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Drivers who nudge their car out too much from a junction onto the main road.

They only do that to bully their way out. "Oh I'm all the way out into the road now, you might as well just let me out" :mad:

It's p0xy being a cyclist when they do this.

As a rule when I'm driving, if someone is hanging out onto the road, I never let them out.

So I went into Ye Olde NDLS yesterday morning to renew my driver's license. It's not actually up until December, but it's no harm to keep well on top of these things. Fifteen-minute wait after my appointment time, not too bad. Forms, photos, etc. all tickety-boo.

jimgoose: So, you'll be keeping my old license then.

Teller: Yes, we're required to shred it.

jg: I see. And the Gardaí aren't the least bit put out by this act of administrative violence?

T: <BLINK>

jg: What do I tell John Law if I'm pulled over and they want to see my license?

T: Oh we'll give you a receipt here now, on NDLS headed paper and everything!

jg: Right. And that'll suffice for the Gardaí by way of a license, right?

T: Umm, probably. Depends on the Garda. You know yourself.

jg: I know it's illegal!

T: <BLINK>, titters from outside the booth.

jg: Alrighty then. So where we're at is, we've carefully engineered a system whereby a Government branch is requiring John F. Citizens such as myself to drive around illegally for up to two weeks, providing a bit of paper which may or may not result in JFC being prosecuted for having no license and/or failing to keep a license on their person while operating a motor-vehicle.

T: <BLINK>, some guy is now guffawing outside the booth.

jg: I see. Well, thank you very much. Take it hawndy noy!

Ireland, eh. :pac::pac::pac:

Is your real name really John F. Citizens :eek: