Eurovision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

The criteria for the Eurovision have changed severely since the days when Ireland used to win. We aren't really a very glamorous country by European Standards.

The Eurovision used to be decided by stuffy judges in a room away from the public in a television company. These judges would have been 21 at the youngest and probably ranging in age up to about 40 (people like Louis Walsh, Kerry Katona and Phil Coulter (even though he's older than that)).

Now the Eurovision is decided by girls aged 10 to 25 mainly. These are the people who will bother their arses to get up and vote or to waste their phone credit to vote.

As regards Terry Wogan being Irish? That fat fúck sold out years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I couldn't stop laughing at the Austrian entry. A lovely mix of the Tellytubbie-esque and heavy metal. Fantastic.

Fair play indeed to the Greek singer. You all know why.

I do believe the UK attempt was the most appalling thing I have ever heard. I imagine getting your ears raped with a wire brush is more pleasent.

And I was in stitches over all the smarmy buggers in white suits from the mediterranean countries. Enrique looks half respectable by comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭oneweb

Originally posted by daveirl
    Sorry but what's wrong with Terry Wogan wanting the UK to do well?

I agree. In fairness, he works for the BBC. As a presenter for the station he wasn't gonna refer to his audience as "they or them". He makes eurovision with his witty comments. (the take 'em out and shoot them was a roffle :) )

It is what it's.

Yes, but surely even he could have admitted that the UK entry was really, really bad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

...That would be like the Wizard Of Oz Jumping out from behind the curtain Shouting "TA_DA !"

Appearances Must be Maintained...

Of all the people around the world who could say it was the worst attempt, Terry Wogan was the one who couldn't. My reckoning is that ppl in the UK just want to let the whole thing die a quiet death never to be talked about again, let alone be told that their representatives were soo dire.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Dustaz
    I agree with merc, Theres no-one like Terry :)
    Quote from Terry last night: "The lunatic fringe is still alive in Ireland":D

Certainly in Lifford

Douze points, M. Wogan

all the people around the world who could say it was the worst attempt, Terry Wogan was the one who couldn't.

Terry Wogan The eurovisions very own Minister of Information to providing commentary right up to the very last vote.

"And The United Kingdom Is sweeping all in its path,the other contestant dogs and jeckels are grilling their entrails in hell,No song is greater than ours,long live tony blair...Bertie Ahern,Graham Norton,Zig and Zag can you hear us...Your Boys took one hell of a beating"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Originally posted by daveirl
    Sorry but what's wrong with Terry Wogan wanting the UK to do well?

Ahh no now i didn't mean that and in fairness there is nothing wrong with the UK doing, just shows we are begrudgers when we don't want them to do well. But it was a fairly retarded thing of Terry to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

The UK were blaming Politics when in fact their singer sung like they were anally retentive gorillas lol!

The brits are kicking uo sure ahve a look on http://www.sigames.tk, there is a couple of them complaining !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

From http://www.sigames.tk

http://pub21.ezboard.com/feuroforums99231frm2.showMessage?topicID=918.topic
    The problem is, if we had the UKs top artists doing it, we'd win every year because we're the only European country who have decent proper artists, so we have to enter a load of **** acts or it elludes the point. The other countries poor efforts are probably the best the country has to offer.
    Mike, this is what gets up my nose about the UKs line of presenting. Fair enough, it's a good laugh when Wogans taking the piss out the acts but it's leads to philistines like that guy in quotes saying stuff like he does in all sincerity.

lol, the presenter on Sky News was giggling through the item on the thing.
    Then the bloke interviewing the gal's mother (they were playing back the clip in a splitscreen during the interview) was saying it could be some of the political sentiment going round. Eh, nothing to do with her being well outta keeeeeeeeeeeey and the nervousness inherent in her voice during the whole song? I felt sorry for the bloke that was singing with her. You could just see his face _drop_ when the girl sung the first word. :eek:

God bless mothers. No matter how bad their child performs, they're adamant that they did the best they could. :D

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

Pigman is right, they are sore losers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Originally posted by Calibos
    And the UK were the only ones to get 0 points! :D:D:D

rofl - they're very sore about that. I can't wait to get the Times and see the letters page.

Originally posted by Sarky
    Fair play indeed to the Greek singer. You all know why.

No! I didn't watch it :( got a link? ;)

Originally posted by oneweb
    He makes eurovision with his witty comments.

I thought they were mean, bitter and narky rather than witty. He sounded like a mean drunk tbh.

It drove Terry Wogan to alcoholism.

rofl - I thought so

It drove Terry Wogan to alcoholism.
    lol, it wasn't only him. many of the points callers couldn't stay still or keep their eyes open. The heads on some of them were something. :D

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,425 ✭✭✭mada999

Yes, the sample/riff in the turkish song is exactly the sames as the one used in Valance's "Kiss Kiss". The sample is in fact a traditional turkish melody. I heard it while in Turkey a few years ago. It was huge over there in another song in clubs a stupid dance song with that sample in it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Originally posted by BLITZ_Molloy
    The reason Turkey won is Europe is full of Turkish immigrant workers.

Phone in voting was the most utterly awful idea the organisers ever made. All you get is all the people living abroad voting for their own country; why do you think we got a 12 from the UK?

Phone voting is random ****e but much like Who Wants To Be A Millionaire it generates masses of money. Some people are happy to blow 10 euro voting multiple times.

Ah but you see the cute hoor Mickey Joe knew all this. Isn't that why he sent a lovely poster with his snapshot to every Irish Pub in Europe!

Oh and the Austrian guy is supposedly a comedian. It's Austrian humour, it's not meant to be funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

what i'd like to know why it took soo long for the tele voting for your a star but it only took a few minutes for the eurovision voting???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭[Iramus]

^ Russia werent even allowed to vote. A dury of "highly respected"people voted in their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

the lines for voting are only open for 5 mins to stop multi voting,sureely this is the reason why these crap songs are winning every year now and not the amazing Mickey joe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

Originally posted by woosaysdan
    what i'd like to know why it took soo long for the tele voting for your a star but it only took a few minutes for the eurovision voting???

Well as it turned out the Irish Televoting system didn't work so they had to fail over to a panel of judges to decide the votes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Originally posted by irishbyte
    Awh, poor UK! But in fairness to UK, they were the only country to give Ireland the full 12 points! :)

emmm yopu have hgot a point there irishbyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,720 ✭✭✭Praetorian

It was interesting that the UK gave us 12 points, but in reality it was just Irish people voting in the UK (mostly Northern Ireland) ;)

Terry Wogan annoys me to no end, I mean is the guy Irish or is he an English wannabe?

nah We the English cant get enough of that Misty Oirish Oiees Style that The Likes Of Danial O Donell churns out by the Skip Load,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Drunk pirate

Is there going to be any repeats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by Drunk pirate

*cough* Yeah, next year....

Mike.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Originally posted by Drunk pirate

Not sure if there is going to be any repeats... but if youi check out my post on the broadband forum you can view all the entries online.

broadband required.

Eurovision Vids.

Chief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Drunk pirate

Never would have copped that!

But there must be a repeat!