Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision

• 24-05-2003 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭

I know its pathetic even to admit to watching it - but does anyone look at the Eurovision Song Contest and wonder about the taste of the rest of Europe. It seems to dominated by daft dance routines and bad 80's-style euro-pop - and the worst part is that our continental cousins, of their own free will, vote those acts in with 12 points. Should we pull out on principle - or they the ones with taste and we are the ones living a lie? Perhaps we all need mullets and backing singers?

PS Fair play to the Greek girl on her outfit :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Turkey Won.
    in their wisdom, the people of europe voted for one of the poorest songs.

mickey joe hart was ok, i find it funny that after all the hype of your a star, he wasnt good enough for even a top 5 spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭aodh_rua

It was pretty poor - although our 'expert' Marty Whelan did admit Turkey's entry was similar to Shakira's "Kiss Kiss" - wonder what Holly Valence would have to say.

That aside - how did so many people vote for Austria?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

And the UK were the only ones to get 0 points! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

They still refer to it as a song contest. Why the feck was there a contortionist in one of the acts?
    in their wisdom, the people of europe voted for one of the poorest songs
    agreed. it was pretty poor. not as bad as Austria or Russia though.

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭cartman

i knew well he would do crap.... and Marty Whelan was the best, the comments he was makin were hilarious imo "Thats a nice jumper" haha:D

was ****e only watched the first 3 and the last 8 point things...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

For the first time I did'nt watch it and only tuned in fitfully for the voting, which was as political as ever. The UK can be proud, nil points is a result! :D

Oh yeah, its spread over 2 nights next year... :(

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

The Turkish song is VERY similar to "kiss kiss"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Neil_Sedaka

Ahh the Eurovision, god bless it, somewhere, somehow, someone takes it seriously.

Was Marty drunk? thought the smarmy comments were a bit OTT sometimes.

Dustin said it all, "Mickey Joe Heart, a man with two organs in his name":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by mike65
    The UK can be proud, nil points is a result! :D

They should have joined the euro ;)

Amazing, Germany give Poland 12 points. If Hitler was around today he would do the same, then invade. If Poland is invaded by tomorrow dont be surprised. Anywhy, Its always political and really stupidily politicly, loike yea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Already a debate on this in tv but anyway this is probably going to be the more read one.

There are alot of happy bookies in Ireland tonight.I think that the style that won Ireland the eurovision for all those years has went out of fashion with the mainlanders.While the UK has been trying to get more mainland in the form of pop music,failing also.The problem with these isles is that the mainlanders dont particularly like the style that we have,but if we were to send something that would appeal to them it would be branded a no hoper by the Irish and so nobody would be watching and even less would care if we won.

And of course there is the fact that Mickey was clearly tired of singing that same fecking song for the billionth time.You could really hear the lack of enthusiam in the last few weeks when he was performing on show X the same song that he was obviously sick of hearing.Not that it was a bad song,and he did do it well tonight,but it still fell slightly short of the energy it had back when the Your a Star finals were on.Perhaps they should have given him the right to sing a self written song.

I cant believe that Belgium did so well-according to one of the presenters(wogan or marty cant remember)because Belgium has 4 languages they decided to sing the song in a made up language.In other words they were singing meaningless gibberish.And their former lead"singer"was apparently dropped for neo Nazi connections
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/2781265.stm

Did anybody agree that it was worth watching for the female entrants?Usually it is composed mainly of has beens and drag queens and god knows what else.But it was worth watching for the birds in the French,Turkish,Icelandic,Swedish,Portueguse and a few other acts.Not to mention the girl presenting in the studio and the French vote caller.

I didnt see much of TATU bar a news clip but it sounded pretty bad.There was alot of bad feeling for them in the venue-I presume its old anti russian hostillity.

I was half rooting for the mad Austrian once it was apparent we wouldnt win. Cant believe he did so well.

Did anyone else think that the last vote giving guy looked suspiciously like Des Bishop of dont feed the gondalas fame?Perhaps its on its way back and they were doing an undercover skit thingy.Or perhaps not.....

There are alot of happy bookies in Ireland tonight.I think that the style that won Ireland the eurovision for all those years has went out of fashion with the mainlanders.While the UK has been trying to get more mainland in the form of pop music,failing also.The problem with these isles is that the mainlanders dont particularly like the style that we have,but if we were to send something that would appeal to them it would be branded a no hoper by the Irish and so nobody would be watching and even less would care if we won.

And of course there is the fact that Mickey was clearly tired of singing that same fecking song for the billionth time.You could really hear the lack of enthusiam in the last few weeks when he was performing on show X the same song that he was obviously sick of hearing.Not that it was a bad song,and he did do it well tonight,but it still fell slightly short of the energy it had back when the Your a Star finals were on.Perhaps they should have given him the right to sing a self written song.

I cant believe that Belgium did so well-according to one of the presenters(wogan or marty cant remember)because Belgium has 4 languages they decided to sing the song in a made up language.In other words they were singing meaningless gibberish.And their former lead"singer"was apparently dropped for neo Nazi connections
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/2781265.stm

Did anybody agree that it was worth watching for the female entrants?Usually it is composed mainly of has beens and drag queens and god knows what else.But it was worth watching for the birds in the French,Turkish,Icelandic,Swedish,Portueguse and a few other acts.Not to mention the girl presenting in the studio and the French vote caller.

I didnt see much of TATU bar a news clip but it sounded pretty bad.There was alot of bad feeling for them in the venue-I presume its old anti russian hostillity.

I was half rooting for the mad Austrian once it was apparent we wouldnt win. Cant believe he did so well.

And now the news that there will be a qualifying competition and a final?Oh god no.I cant see the diehard fans liking this,seeing as it will throw out the majority of those like the austrian dude,although he,judging by tonights voting,would have got through.Can see this hindering RTE plans for more Your a Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Originally posted by Tusky

True true, and one other thing they could not sing, to save there life brutal,in fact they were all brutal,england hahahhahahahahhahahahahahaha, did not even get one point hahahahahhahahaha:D

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Originally posted by Mac daddy
    True true, and one other thing they could not sing, to save there life brutal,in fact they were all brutal,england hahahhahahahahhahahahahahaha, did not even get one point hahahahahhahahaha:D

Awh, poor UK! But in fairness to UK, they were the only country to give Ireland the full 12 points! :)

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    eh, mebbeh it's just 'coz they were shite? How they scored so well for a 'song contest' I dunno. Probably from all those outrageous claims in the media about them. :rolleyes: Marketing taken to the extreme.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

It's a pretty standard sounding turkish riff, that they used in Kiss Kiss. I really dont think Holly wrote it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

the best bit of the show (i was forced against my will to watch it) was good old Terry suggesting that the presenters should be taken out & shot :D he was the only good thing about the whole show......I don't know why they bother cause its soooo political...terry was able to fortell who was getting 12 points eg all the eastern block countries gave Russia 12 pts just in case the russkis might get a bit pissed & decide to invade their poor country (again)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

The origins of HollyValances rip-off-ery dates back to a 1997 song called 'Simarik' by a Turkish act called Tarkan. As such I'm sure miss Valances camp won't be claiming any sort of copyright infringement against last nights eurovision winners :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 fusionuser

yeah but u all know that the german entry was the best cos well the lyrics are the greatest:

"lets be happy and gay"

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

The Eurovision is a joke. The voting is a load of crap. Greece and Cyprus voting for each other just because...well just because! It's got nothing to do with what songs they think are the best of a bad lot.
    The UK really didn't deserve any points. That song was awful. The singing was totally off key! Anyone notice?! Then again that weirdo from Austria didn't deserve to be up there either.
    Tbh, I thought Mickey-Joe was deserving of a much higher place, if not the top spot. Not a bad song overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

Had great fun taking the piss out of the Brits and the Estonians on #eurovision2003 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

The reason Turkey won is Europe is full of Turkish immigrant workers.

Phone in voting was the most utterly awful idea the organisers ever made. All you get is all the people living abroad voting for their own country; why do you think we got a 12 from the UK?

Phone voting is random ****e but much like Who Wants To Be A Millionaire it generates masses of money. Some people are happy to blow 10 euro voting multiple times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    He was trying to be terry.... and he was ****e. No one can do terry in Eurovision.

In fairness i was super dissapointed with Terry. Ireland had already got points and we weren't doing terribly when Terry said something like "we still have to get one point" meaning the UK.Now the last time i checked he was an irishman so i don't know what sh1te he was on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

That probally explains why Ireland usually do so well then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭drrnwbb

The origins of HollyValances rip-off-ery dates back to a 1997 song called 'Simarik' by a Turkish act called Tarkan. As such I'm sure miss Valances camp won't be claiming any sort of copyright infringement against last nights eurovision winners

yeah, i think i heard this song a few weeks ago when a turkish classmate played it for me. holly valance completely ripped it off.

the start of the the song last night had some similarties to the tarkan song.

just a shame a lot of the artists sung in english. took away something.

dw

Originally posted by Nisara
    In fairness i was super dissapointed with Terry. Ireland had already got points and we weren't doing terribly when Terry said something like "we still have to get one point" meaning the UK.Now the last time i checked he was an irishman so i don't know what sh1te he was on about.

Worst part was that towards the end of the voting (when it was apparent the UK were going to get a big fat zero) Terry started making excuses along the lines that 'this is just a political statement' by europe regarding the UK's involvement in Iraq! Eh sure Tel! I'm sure it had nothing to do with the fact that not only did the UK have a terrible entry but also that its female singer sounded like crow being drowned in a bucket? And of course if a united europe wanted to make an impacting statement against the US/UK alliance in the gulf .... eurovision is the place to do it? :rolleyes:

Anyway I was delighted at the UK not getting anything this year, not because I've anything against the country, but because they always use this show as an excuse to belittle music from the mainland and generally make themselves feel superior over neighbouring countries (as if the UK are the only country sophisticated enough to get the joke!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Anyway I was delighted at the UK not getting anything this year, not because I've anything against the country, but because they always use this show as an excuse to belittle music from the mainland and generally make themselves feel superior over neighbouring countries (as if the UK are the only country sophisticated enough to get the joke!).

Well they have a point surly? Europop is awful. Most music from the continent of any quality is a few electronic acts who would'nt go near the Eurovison (rightly) and classical composers. As for "getting the joke" the UK hav'nt taken the contest seriously for decades wheras here "offical Ireland" still wants Ireland to do well. They think it reflects well on us all! :eek:

Mike.

BBC ones trailer for eurovision had a bunch of Latvians making fun of the British Entry with Terry saying "well If thats what they make of ours,what are we gonna make of theirs?" the trouble was as the Gemini music faded in it was blatently obvious that the latvians not only had it spot on,they were actually SINGING THE BRITISH ENTRY BETTER THAN THE BAND,

Own Goal,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by drrnwbb
    yeah, i think i heard this song a few weeks ago when a turkish classmate played it for me. holly valance completely ripped it off.

Its not really a rip off, its a cover. In fairness to Holly, its the same song with english lyrics and a bit of jazzin up.

Well, he was covering it for the Beeb, an eglish channel. Also, hes been living in England for nigh on 40 years.

I agree with merc, Theres no-one like Terry :)

Originally posted by mike65
    Well they have a point surly? Europop is awful. Most music from the continent of any quality is a few electronic acts who would'nt go near the Eurovison (rightly) and classical composers. As for "getting the joke" the UK hav'nt taken the contest seriously for decades wheras here "offical Ireland" still wants Ireland to do well. They think it reflects well on us all! :eek:

Mike.
    I agree, nearly all entries are terrible and yes it does reflect badly on the musical tastes of anyone who takes the show seriously. Ireland (by which I mean RTE) are probably more guilty than most of getting worked up about this annual snooze-fest. The fact that we've won it more than anyone else is worn as a badge of honour by some people (without a hint of irony either I might add!)

But you can't deny that the UK take particular glee in assuming that all entries (other than themselves of course!) are really 'up' for Eurovision and treating it as a serious contest where as good old Blighty will just send any piece of crap along just to keep up diplomatic relations.

It's a 'they don't get the joke yet' preconception which gets me. But then again who could blame the BEEB for thinking that way if they'd ever watched 5 mins of RTEs coverage over the past decade.

//

BTW there's a lot more to European music than just electronic or classicial. The aforementioned only gets thru more often because for the most part it can negate the language barrier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I watched it for first time in a couple years, thought that a few songs were 'listenable' like the ones from romania/iceland/norway (actually downloaded them after the show !) :)
    Turkish song didnt deserve to win though, feckin politics always ruin that contest despite the abysmal quality of alot of the entries.

The Latvian songs played after the show were wayyy better than the latvian entry :)
    The irish song didnt deserve to win anyway, it was simply not good enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

The criteria for the Eurovision have changed severely since the days when Ireland used to win. We aren't really a very glamorous country by European Standards.

The Eurovision used to be decided by stuffy judges in a room away from the public in a television company. These judges would have been 21 at the youngest and probably ranging in age up to about 40 (people like Louis Walsh, Kerry Katona and Phil Coulter (even though he's older than that)).

Now the Eurovision is decided by girls aged 10 to 25 mainly. These are the people who will bother their arses to get up and vote or to waste their phone credit to vote.

As regards Terry Wogan being Irish? That fat fúck sold out years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I couldn't stop laughing at the Austrian entry. A lovely mix of the Tellytubbie-esque and heavy metal. Fantastic.

Fair play indeed to the Greek singer. You all know why.

I do believe the UK attempt was the most appalling thing I have ever heard. I imagine getting your ears raped with a wire brush is more pleasent.

And I was in stitches over all the smarmy buggers in white suits from the mediterranean countries. Enrique looks half respectable by comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

Originally posted by daveirl
    Sorry but what's wrong with Terry Wogan wanting the UK to do well?

I agree. In fairness, he works for the BBC. As a presenter for the station he wasn't gonna refer to his audience as "they or them". He makes eurovision with his witty comments. (the take 'em out and shoot them was a roffle :) )

It is what it's.

Yes, but surely even he could have admitted that the UK entry was really, really bad...

...That would be like the Wizard Of Oz Jumping out from behind the curtain Shouting "TA_DA !"

Appearances Must be Maintained...

Of all the people around the world who could say it was the worst attempt, Terry Wogan was the one who couldn't. My reckoning is that ppl in the UK just want to let the whole thing die a quiet death never to be talked about again, let alone be told that their representatives were soo dire.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Dustaz
    I agree with merc, Theres no-one like Terry :)
    Quote from Terry last night: "The lunatic fringe is still alive in Ireland":D

Certainly in Lifford

Douze points, M. Wogan

all the people around the world who could say it was the worst attempt, Terry Wogan was the one who couldn't.

Terry Wogan The eurovisions very own Minister of Information to providing commentary right up to the very last vote.

"And The United Kingdom Is sweeping all in its path,the other contestant dogs and jeckels are grilling their entrails in hell,No song is greater than ours,long live tony blair...Bertie Ahern,Graham Norton,Zig and Zag can you hear us...Your Boys took one hell of a beating"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Originally posted by daveirl
    Sorry but what's wrong with Terry Wogan wanting the UK to do well?

Ahh no now i didn't mean that and in fairness there is nothing wrong with the UK doing, just shows we are begrudgers when we don't want them to do well. But it was a fairly retarded thing of Terry to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

The UK were blaming Politics when in fact their singer sung like they were anally retentive gorillas lol!

The brits are kicking uo sure ahve a look on http://www.sigames.tk, there is a couple of them complaining !

From http://www.sigames.tk

http://pub21.ezboard.com/feuroforums99231frm2.showMessage?topicID=918.topic
    The problem is, if we had the UKs top artists doing it, we'd win every year because we're the only European country who have decent proper artists, so we have to enter a load of **** acts or it elludes the point. The other countries poor efforts are probably the best the country has to offer.
    Mike, this is what gets up my nose about the UKs line of presenting. Fair enough, it's a good laugh when Wogans taking the piss out the acts but it's leads to philistines like that guy in quotes saying stuff like he does in all sincerity.

lol, the presenter on Sky News was giggling through the item on the thing.
    Then the bloke interviewing the gal's mother (they were playing back the clip in a splitscreen during the interview) was saying it could be some of the political sentiment going round. Eh, nothing to do with her being well outta keeeeeeeeeeeey and the nervousness inherent in her voice during the whole song? I felt sorry for the bloke that was singing with her. You could just see his face _drop_ when the girl sung the first word. :eek:

God bless mothers. No matter how bad their child performs, they're adamant that they did the best they could. :D

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

Pigman is right, they are sore losers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Originally posted by Calibos
    And the UK were the only ones to get 0 points! :D:D:D

rofl - they're very sore about that. I can't wait to get the Times and see the letters page.

Originally posted by Sarky
    Fair play indeed to the Greek singer. You all know why.

No! I didn't watch it :( got a link? ;)

Originally posted by oneweb
    He makes eurovision with his witty comments.

I thought they were mean, bitter and narky rather than witty. He sounded like a mean drunk tbh.

It drove Terry Wogan to alcoholism.

rofl - I thought so

It drove Terry Wogan to alcoholism.
    lol, it wasn't only him. many of the points callers couldn't stay still or keep their eyes open. The heads on some of them were something. :D

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

Yes, the sample/riff in the turkish song is exactly the sames as the one used in Valance's "Kiss Kiss". The sample is in fact a traditional turkish melody. I heard it while in Turkey a few years ago. It was huge over there in another song in clubs a stupid dance song with that sample in it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Originally posted by BLITZ_Molloy

Phone in voting was the most utterly awful idea the organisers ever made. All you get is all the people living abroad voting for their own country; why do you think we got a 12 from the UK?

Phone voting is random ****e but much like Who Wants To Be A Millionaire it generates masses of money. Some people are happy to blow 10 euro voting multiple times.

Ah but you see the cute hoor Mickey Joe knew all this. Isn't that why he sent a lovely poster with his snapshot to every Irish Pub in Europe!

Oh and the Austrian guy is supposedly a comedian. It's Austrian humour, it's not meant to be funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

what i'd like to know why it took soo long for the tele voting for your a star but it only took a few minutes for the eurovision voting???